DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Noguchi (JP2007037271, hereinafter Noguchi).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi discloses a film structure comprising: a substrate (14); a buffer film containing ZrO2 (page 6, paragraph 7 of the provided machine translation) and formed on the substrate (14); and a piezoelectric film made from a nitride (2, page 10, first paragraph) formed on the buffer film, wherein the substrate is a Si substrate (page 6, paragraph 6), and a polarization direction of the piezoelectric film is preferentially oriented perpendicularly to the substrate (page 5, paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 2, a metal film (lower electrode 3) is formed on the buffer film.
Regarding claim 3, the metal film is a Pt film (page 7, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 6, Noguchi discloses the use of AlN (page 10, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, the Si substrate is a Si(100). See page 10, last paragraph.
Regarding claim 10, the electronic device is anticipated by Noguchi.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 10, 13-15 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murai (US20020123158, hereinafter Murai) in view of Noguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Murai discloses a film structure comprising: a substrate (1); a buffer
film containing ZrO₂ (6, paragraph [0085]) and formed on the substrate; and a piezoelectric film
(9) formed on the buffer film (6), wherein the substrate is a Si substrate (paragraph [0080]), and
a polarization direction of the piezoelectric film is preferentially oriented perpendicularly to the
substrate (paragraph [0005]). Murai fails to disclose the piezoelectric layer comprising a nitride. Noguchi discloses the use aluminum nitride as the piezoelectric film instead of a PZT layer. Selection from among known, suitable materials has long been held to be within the skill expected of the routineer and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The specific material is a lead-free piezoelectric material with excellent piezoelectric characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to use aluminum nitride piezoelectric layer since it provides excellent piezoelectric characteristics and it is known to be a lead-free alternative piezoelectric material.
Regarding claim 2, a metal film (8, 71) is formed on the buffer film.
Regarding claim 3, the metal film is a Pt film (71) or titanium (8).
Regarding claim 6, Noguchi discloses the use of aluminum nitride (page 10, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 10, the electronic device is anticipated by Murai.
Regarding claim 13-15, Fig. 3F discloses the hollow portion (10), the electrodes sandwiching the piezoelectric layer and the electrode area being smaller than the cavity.
Regarding claims 17, Murai discloses forming a silicon oxide layer (5) on the substrate.
6. Claims 1-4, 6, 8 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over are Kijima et al. (US20200357978, hereinafter Kijima) in view of Noguchi.
Regarding claim 1, Kijima discloses a film structure comprising: a substrate (11); a buffer film containing ZrO₂ (12, paragraph [0082]) and formed on the substrate; and a piezoelectric film (15) formed on the buffer film (12), wherein the substrate is a Si substrate (paragraph [0082]), and a polarization direction of the piezoelectric film is preferentially oriented perpendicularly to the substrate (paragraph [0144]). Kijima fails to disclose the piezoelectric layer comprising a nitride. Noguchi discloses the use aluminum nitride as the piezoelectric film as an alternative to a PZT layer or a BT layer. Selection from among known, suitable materials has long been held to be within the skill expected of the routineer and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The specific aluminum nitride material is a lead-free piezoelectric material with excellent piezoelectric characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to use aluminum nitride piezoelectric layer since it provides excellent piezoelectric characteristics and it is known to be a lead-free alternative piezoelectric material.
Regarding claim 2, a metal film (13) is formed on the buffer film.
Regarding claim 3, the metal film is a Pt film.
Regarding claim 4, an SRO film (14a) formed on the metal film.
Regarding claim 6, Noguchi discloses the use of aluminum nitride (page 10, first paragraph).
Regarding claim 8, the silicon substrate is a Si (100) (abstract).
Regarding claim 10, the electronic device is disclosed by Kijima.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi or Murai or Kijima.
Regarding claim 7, Noguchi discloses the invention as explained above, but fail to explicitly disclose the use of aluminum nitride doped with Sc to form the piezoelectric layer.
Selection from among known, suitable materials has long been held to be within the skill expected of the routineer and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Aluminum nitride doped with scandium is an old and well known material with increased dielectric constant and uniform crystal growth. In addition, the specific material is a lead-free piezoelectric material with excellent piezoelectric characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with
ordinary skill in the before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a scandium
doped-aluminum nitride piezoelectric layer since it provides excellent piezoelectric characteristics.
Regarding claim 9, Murai and Noguchi disclose the invention as explained above, but fail to explicitly disclose the silicon substrate made form Si(111) film. Selection from among known, suitable materials has long been held to be within the skill expected of the routineer and therefore obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. The orientation of the silicon substrate can be chosen depending on the desired orientation of the piezoelectric layer and the buffer layer in order to obtain the desired vibration characteristics of the device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a substrate made from Si(111) film as necessitated by the specific requirements of the particular application.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11, 12, 18 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4 and 6-19 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837