DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recites, “the carrier board” in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is recommended to replace “the carrier board” with “the at least one carrier board”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 recites, “at least one computing module detachably connected to the at least one carrier board via a standardized interface, the at least one computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor, wherein the least one computing module is exchangeable independently of the at least one carrier board to modify computing performance of the device.” In lines 14-18. It is not clear if “one computing module” is referring back to the “at least one module” mentioned earlier in the claim or a different computing module. Further, it is not clear if “one computing unit” in line 15-16 is referring back to the “one computing unit” mentioned earlier in the claim or a different computing unit. Furthermore, it is not clear if “a processor” recited in line 16 is the same “processor” recited earlier in the claim. This creates indefiniteness to the claim. For the purpose of examination, they are all considered to be different entities.
Claim 21 recites, “The module” in line 1. It is not clear if “the module” is referring back to the “least one module” or “at least one computing module” of claim 13.
Claims 14-24 are rejected under 112(b) as being dependent on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-19 and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanashi et al. (US 20060216965; “Yamanashi” hereinafter) in view of Lucero et al. (US 20210307189 : “Lucero” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Yamanashi discloses a device with exchangeable electronics assemblies of a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one housing (100) configured to at least partially enclose at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (21, 29) of the motor vehicle (circuit board 29 includes an electronic control unit (ECU) 28, par. [0073], also see par. [0002]); at least one front side (15) which is detachably connected to the housing (par. [0077]) and via which the exchangeable electronics assemblies arranged inside the housing can be accessed (par. [0078], figs 1, and 3-4); a rear housing cover (13); and a rear printed circuit board (37) which is aligned transversely to the at least two electronics assemblies and serves to contact the at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (par. [0067], fig. 3); wherein at least one of the exchangeable electronics assemblies includes at least one carrier board (29) with an infrastructure (27), and at least one module (28) with at least one computing unit including a processor (28 is an electronic control unit, par. [0073]), connected to the carrier board (29) (par. [0073]).
Yamanashi does not explicitly disclose at least one computing module detachably connected to the at least one carrier board via a standardized interface, the at least one computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor, wherein the least one computing module is exchangeable independently of the at least one carrier board to modify computing performance of the device.
Lucero teaches an electronic device comprising a computing module (modules 502, 504) detachably connected to a carrier board (506) via a standardized interface (562) (figs 5A-5B), the computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor (“compute module 502 can be a microcontroller unit module (or MCU module), a processor unit module, a microprocessor unit module (or MPU module), etc., among others”, par. [0104]), wherein the computing module is exchangeable independently of the carrier board to modify computing performance of the device (module 502 is detachable and the platform 500 is a modular system, so module 520 is configured to be exchanged or replaced, par. [0102], figs 5A-5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamanashi to incorporate at least one computing module detachably connected to the at least one carrier board via a standardized interface, the at least one computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor, and wherein the least one computing module is exchangeable independently of the at least one carrier board to modify computing performance of the device as suggested by Lucero because such modification make the device modular and could be modified according to an user’s need and requirement.
Regarding claim 14, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Yamanashi) discloses wherein vehicle functions are realized in the module (28 is an ECU, par. [0073], also see par. [0002]).
Regarding claim 15, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Yamanashi) discloses wherein the at least one of the electronics assemblies includes at least one contacting region (23), and/or the rear printed circuit board (37) includes at least one plug connection (43) for receiving a contacting region (23) of the at least one of the electronics assemblies (par. [0067], [0075]).
Regarding claim 16, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Yamanashi) discloses wherein the infrastructure (27) includes at least one unit for data distribution or data monitoring, the at least one unit including: (i) at least one switch and/or (ii) at least one microcontroller and/or (iii) at least one interface and/or (iv) at least one internal connection or interface and/or (v) at least one energy supply and/or (vi) at least one module connector and/or (vii) at least one unit for safety monitoring and/or (viii) at least one unit data security including a firewall and/or (ix) an interface for data acquisition and/or (x) an interface for programming support (par. [0073]).
Regarding claim 17, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Yamanashi) discloses wherein: (i) data of at least one bus system flow via a microcontroller arranged on the carrier board, and/or (ii) the microcontroller is connected for data exchange to at least one switch and/or to at least one module including an associated computing unit (par. [0073]).
Regarding claim 18, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Lucero) discloses
wherein at least one connector (562) is provided between the carrier board and the module (figs 5A-5B).
Yamanashi in view of Lucero does not explicitly disclose the connector is configured a uniform interface.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate a pluggable connection or connector, that is configured a uniform interface, since it was known in the art and a matter of design choice to have the connector that is configured to be a uniform interface. Such modification provides simplified and standardized connector.
Regarding claim 19, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Yamanashi) discloses wherein an interface board is provided as the rear printed circuit board (37), and includes: (i) at least one external connector (13f, 39) (fig. 2) and/or at least one power connector for an energy supply and/or (ii) at least one internal interface for digital signals, and/or (iii) at least one connector for at least one bus system and/or (iv) at least one video connector and/or (v) at least one video interface and/or (vi) at least one bus interface and/or (vii) at least one transceiver and/or (viii) at least one serializer or deserializer.
Regarding claim 21, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Lucero) discloses wherein the module is a plug-in module (module 502 is pluggable, figs 5A-5B, Lucero).
If recited “the module” is considered to be the “at least one computing module”, and not being taught by Yamanashi in view of Lucero as being a plug-in module. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the module of Yamanashi in view of Lucero to have it as a pluggable module, since it was known in the art that having pluggable module allows the module to be easily replaced or swapped when required. Further, Lucero suggests a pluggable module.
Regarding claim 22, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Lucero) discloses wherein the at least one module includes a plurality of modules (52 and 504) (figs 5A-5B).
Yamanashi in view of Lucero does not explicitly disclose the plurality of modules having uniform geometric dimensions and/or uniform interfaces.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have plurality of modules having uniform geometric dimensions and/or uniform interfaces, since such modification appears to be an obvious matter of engineering design choice and thus, while being a difference, does not serve in any way to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the applied prior art. In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 1578, 16 USPQ2d 1934, 1936 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Kuhle, 526 F2d. 553, 555, 188 USPQ 7, 9 (CCPA 1975).
Regarding claim 23, Yamanashi in view of Lucero (relied on Yamanashi) discloses the device according to claim 13, further comprising a further carrier board (29).
Claim(s) 13- 17, 19-20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harris (US 5546273; “Harris” hereinafter) in view of Lucero et al. (US 20210307189 : “Lucero” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 13, Harris discloses a device with exchangeable electronics assemblies of a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one housing (12) (fig. 2) configured to at least partially enclose at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (72) of the motor vehicle (controller housing 12 for an automotive vehicle 18, col. 3: lines 1-18, fig. 1); at least one front side (40) which is detachably connected to the housing (“A hinged plexiglass door 40 is mounted on the front of the housing 12 to limit access to components mounted within the housing”, col. 3: lines 35-48) and via which the exchangeable electronics assemblies arranged inside the housing can be accessed (col. 3: lines 35-48; fig. 2); a rear housing cover (36, fig. 3); and a rear printed circuit board (65) which is aligned transversely to the at least two electronics assemblies (figs. 2-5) and serves to contact the at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (col. 10: lines 12-30); wherein at least one of the exchangeable electronics assemblies includes at least one carrier board (72) with an infrastructure (84), and at least one module with at least one computing unit including a processor, connected to the carrier board (“The components are electrically connected together and electrically connected to the leads 84 to provide both digital communication with the control module and audio signal processing”, col. 9: lines 56- col. 10: lines 1-3; also see col. 10 lines 44-57).
Harris does not explicitly disclose at least one computing module detachably connected to the at least one carrier board via a standardized interface, the at least one computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor, wherein the least one computing module is exchangeable independently of the at least one carrier board to modify computing performance of the device.
Lucero teaches an electronic device comprising a computing module (502) detachably connected to a carrier board (506) via a standardized interface (562) (figs 5A-5B), the computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor (“compute module 502 can be a microcontroller unit module (or MCU module), a processor unit module, a microprocessor unit module (or MPU module), etc., among others”, par. [0104]), wherein the computing module is exchangeable independently of the carrier board to modify computing performance of the device (module 502 is detachable and the platform 500 is a modular system, so module 520 is configured to be exchanged or replaced, par. [0102], figs 5A-5B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamanashi to incorporate at least one computing module detachably connected to the at least one carrier board via a standardized interface, the at least one computing module including at least one computing unit comprising a processor, and wherein the least one computing module is exchangeable independently of the at least one carrier board to modify computing performance of the device as suggested by Lucero because such modification make the device modular and could be modified according to an user’s need and requirement.
Regarding claim 14, Harris in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) discloses wherein vehicle functions are realized in the module (col. 12: lines 29-46).
Regarding claim 15, Harris in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) discloses wherein the at least one of the electronics assemblies includes at least one contacting region (80), and/or the rear printed circuit board includes at least one plug connection (54) for receiving a contacting region of the at least one of the electronics assemblies (fig. 4).
Regarding claim 16, Harris in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) discloses wherein the infrastructure (84) includes at least one unit for data distribution or data monitoring, the at least one unit including: (i) at least oneswitch and/or (ii) at least one microcontroller and/or (iii) at least one interface (col. 9: lines 55-67 and col.10: lines 1-32; also see col. 11-12) and/or (iv) at least one internal connection or interface and/or (v) at least one energy supply and/or (vi) at least one module connector and/or (vii) at least one unit for safety monitoring and/or (viii) at least one unit data security including a firewall and/or (ix) an interface for data acquisition and/or (x) an interface for programming support (col. 9: lines 55-67 and col.10: lines 1-32; also see col. 11-12).
Regarding claim 17, Harris in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) discloses wherein: (i) data of at least one bus system flow via a microcontroller arranged on the carrier board, and/or (ii) the microcontroller is connected for data exchange to at least one switch and/or to at least one module including an associated computing unit (col. 9-12).
Regarding claim 19, Harris in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) discloses wherein an interface board is provided as the rear printed circuit board, and includes: (i) at least one external connector and/or at least one power connector for an energy supply (col. 9-12) and/or (ii) at least one internal interface for digital signals (col. 9-12), and/or (iii) at least one connector for at least one bus system and/or (iv) at least one video connector and/or (v) at least one video interface and/or (vi) at least one bus interface and/or (vii) at least one transceiver and/or (viii) at least one serializer or deserializer.
Regarding claim 20, Harris discloses in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) wherein at least parts of an energy supply are arranged on the rear printed circuit board or on the interface board (col. 10: lines 33-39).
Regarding claim 24, Harris in view of Lucero (relied on Harris) discloses wherein the energy supply includes at least one voltage converter and/or filters and/or reverse polarity protection (col. 10: lines 33-44)
Claim(s) 20 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamanashi in view of Lucero as applied to claim 13, and in further view of Harris (US 5546273; “Harris” hereinafter).
Regarding claim 20, Yamanashi in view of Lucero discloses the device as claimed in claim 13.
Yamanashi in view of Lucero does not explicitly disclose wherein at least parts of an energy supply are arranged on the rear printed circuit board or on the interface board.
Harris teaches a device with exchangeable electronics assemblies of a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one housing (12) (fig. 2) configured to at least partially enclose at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (72) of the motor vehicle (controller housing 12 for an automotive vehicle 18, col. 3: lines 1-18, fig. 1); at least one front side (40) which is detachably connected to the housing (“A hinged plexiglass door 40 is mounted on the front of the housing 12 to limit access to components mounted within the housing”, col. 3: lines 35-48) and via which the exchangeable electronics assemblies arranged inside the housing can be accessed (col. 3: lines 35-48; fig. 2); a rear housing cover (36, fig. 3); and a rear printed circuit board (65) which is aligned transversely to the at least two electronics assemblies (figs. 2-5) and serves to contact the at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (col. 10: lines 12-30); wherein at least parts of an energy supply are arranged on the rear printed circuit board or on the interface board (col. 10: lines 33-39).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamanashi in view of Lucero to have at least parts of an energy supply are arranged on the rear printed circuit board or on the interface board as taught by Harris because such modification helps to supply power to the rear board or device in order to perform proper operation of the device
Regarding claim 24, Yamanashi in view of Lucero discloses the device as claimed in claim 13.
Yamanashi in view of Lucero does not explicitly disclose wherein at least parts of an energy supply are arranged on the rear printed circuit board or on the interface board.
Harris teaches a device with exchangeable electronics assemblies of a motor vehicle, comprising: at least one housing (12) (fig. 2) configured to at least partially enclose at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (72) of the motor vehicle (controller housing 12 for an automotive vehicle 18, col. 3: lines 1-18, fig. 1); at least one front side (40) which is detachably connected to the housing (“A hinged plexiglass door 40 is mounted on the front of the housing 12 to limit access to components mounted within the housing”, col. 3: lines 35-48) and via which the exchangeable electronics assemblies arranged inside the housing can be accessed (col. 3: lines 35-48; fig. 2); a rear housing cover (36, fig. 3); and a rear printed circuit board (65) which is aligned transversely to the at least two electronics assemblies (figs. 2-5) and serves to contact the at least two exchangeable electronics assemblies (col. 10: lines 12-30); wherein the energy supply includes at least one voltage converter and/or filters and/or reverse polarity protection (col. 10: lines 33-44)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Yamanashi in view of Lucero to have Harris discloses wherein the energy supply includes at least one voltage converter and/or filters and/or reverse polarity protection as taught by Harris because such modification helps to improve the signal-to-noise ratio and reduce supply "hash" (col. 10: lines 33-44).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 13-24 have been considered but are moot; whereas new rejections have been presented to read on the amended claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the form 892.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAGAR SHRESTHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841