DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/840,193 filed on 08/21/2024. Claims 1-19 are pending; claims 1-10 have been amended; claims 11-19 are added.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding the term "part"; “portion” in the various claims, applicant does not have provide any specification definition of the phrase in the specification. Therefore, the phrase should be given its ordinary meaning, which is "a section or portion of a whole structure".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Grauss (DE 102019118500 A1)
Grauss discloses:
Claim 1: A multi-piston disengagement system (17; Fig.1) for a braking device (1, Fig.1) of a motor vehicle (¶[0037]), having an annular housing (4,6,22),
the annular housing (4,6,22) comprising a main axis (H), the main axis (H) defining an axial direction (AR), the annular housing (4,6,22) comprising a plurality of housing portions (sections of 22/see annotated Fig below), a plurality of pressure chambers (24a) that can be filled or are filled with a fluid (¶[0045]) and a flow channel (33),
a one of the plurality of pressure chambers (24a) being arranged in each housing portion (sections of 22), the pressure chambers (24a) being fluidically connected to one another by means of the flow channel (33; Fig.3a-3b) (¶[0052]),
comprising a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (18,19), a one of the plurality of housing portions (sections of 22) being associated with (e.g. the term “associated with” does not have any definition in the specification. The term is given its ordinary meaning as link, relate to. In this case, as portion of 22 is section of housing body of either 18, and 19. Thereof, sections of 22 are related to 18,19.) each actuation assembly (18,19), each actuation assembly comprising a piston unit having a piston (23),
the piston (23) being arranged in the pressure chamber (24, 24b) so as to be movable in the axial direction and, upon application of a hydraulic pressure, being able to carry out an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the brake device (¶[0045],[0047]),
wherein the annular housing (4,6,22) is formed in two parts in the axial direction with a main housing (22,6-as 22, 6 is main structural carrier for the piston assemblies) and a housing cover (4-as 4 has cup-shaped outer body acts as cover that encloses the brake components.).
Claim 2: The multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the housing portions (sections of 22) and the flow channel (33. As channel 33 within 22) are arranged in or on the main housing (6,22) (¶[0044]-[0045]).
Claim 3: The multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the flow channel (33) is arranged in a separating plane of the main housing (22, 6) and the housing cover (4) (as 33 are part of 22 and 22 are arranged coaxially with respect to main axis H, see ¶[0011]).
Claim 4: The multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the flow channel (33) is annular and is arranged to be1 coaxial to the main axis (¶[0011]: “the piston housing sections and/or the pistons are arranged on a common pitch circle around the main axis”, this means they share the same rotational axis or coaxial to the main axis H) .
Claim 5: The multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the main housing (22, 6) comprises a plurality of axial bores (34a. As 34a is part of 22), wherein the axial bores (34a in Fig.3a-3b) fluidically connect the flow channel (33) to the pressure chambers (24a).
Claim 9: The multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the main housing (22, 6) and the housing cover (4) are connected to one another in a form-fitting 1 (¶[0039] “the housing cover 6 is screwed to the front of the housing section 4.” Note: the specification does not have definition of “form-fitting manner”. Thereof, the term is given their ordinary meaning as is a geometric connection where two mating parts physically interlock. In this case, screw connection relies on shape engagement between mating thread profiles. Thus screw connection constitutes a form fitting connection under BRI)
Claim 10: A braking device (1,Fig.1) for a transmission assembly of a motor vehicle having a brake device (11) and having the multi-piston disengagement system (17; Fig.1) according to claim 1, wherein the multi-piston disengagement system (17) forms an activator device for actuating the brake device (11) (¶[0043]).
Claim 11: A multi-piston disengagement system (17; Fig.1) for a vehicle braking device (1), comprising: an annular housing (4, 6, 22) formed from a main housing (6,22) and a housing cover (4), the annular housing (4, 6, 22) comprising:
a main axis (H) defining an axial direction (AR); a plurality of housing portions (sections of 22/see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 1 above);
a plurality of pressure chambers (24a), each one arranged in a respective one of the plurality of housing portions (sections of 22) and arranged to be filled with a fluid (¶[0045]); and
a flow channel (33) fluidically connecting the plurality of pressure chambers (24a);
a plurality of hydraulic actuation assemblies (18,19), each comprising a piston (23): arranged in a respective one of the plurality of pressure chambers (24a) and axially movable therein (¶[0045]); and
arranged to displace in an actuation stroke for introducing an actuation force into the vehicle braking device (1) when a hydraulic pressure is applied to the fluid (¶[0045],[0047]).
Claim 12: The multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein the plurality of housing portions (sections of 22) and the flow channel (33) are arranged in or on the main housing (6, 22) (¶0044]-[0045]).
Claim 13: The multi-piston disengagement system of claim 12 further comprising a separating plane arranged between the main housing (6,22) and the housing cover (4), wherein the flow channel is arranged in the separating plane (as 33 are part of 22 and 22 are arranged coaxially with respect to main axis H, see ¶[0011])..
Claim 14: The multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein the flow channel (33) is annular and arranged concentric or coaxial to the main axis (¶[0011]: “the piston housing sections and/or the pistons are arranged on a common pitch circle around the main axis”, this means they share the same rotational axis or coaxial to the main axis H) .
Claim 15: The multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein: the main housing (22,6) comprises a plurality of axial bores (34a. As 34a is part of 22); and each one of the plurality of axial bores (34a; Fig.3a-3b) fluidically connects the flow channel (33) to a one of the plurality of pressure chambers (24a).
Claim 19: The multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11, wherein the main housing (6,22) and the housing cover (4) are connected together in a form-fitting 1(¶[0039] “the housing cover 6 is screwed to the front of the housing section 4.” Note: the specification does not have definition of “form-fitting manner”. Thereof, the term is given their ordinary meaning as is a geometric connection where two mating parts physically interlock. In this case, screw connection relies on shape engagement between mating thread profiles. Thus screw connection constitutes a form fitting connection under BRI)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-8, 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grauss (DE 102019118500 A1) in view of HIRATA (US 20190353160 A1)
Claim 6: Grauss discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 1, wherein the multi-piston disengagement system (1; Fig.1) comprises at least one channel seal (see annotated fig below) for sealing the flow channel (33).
Grauss does not disclose wherein the at least one channel seal is at least one O-ring or at least one sealing plate.
HIRATA teaches a seal member (16; Fig.1) is replaced with self-seal packing such as a gasket, a mechanical seal, a piston ring, and an O-ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace seal member of Grauss with gasket, O-ring as taught by HIRATA as obvious matter of design choice. Since O-ring, gasket are well known in hydraulic cylinder assemblies for providing reliable fluid sealing, reducing leaking, simplifying assembly and improve durability.
Claim 7: Grauss as modified by HIRATA discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 6, wherein the main housing (6, 22) 1 comprises at least one annular groove (groove is where the seal is inserted) 1 or coaxial with the main axis (H), wherein the at least one O-ring (as taught by HIRATA) is arranged in the at least one annular groove (groove is where the seal is inserted).
Claim 8: Grauss as modified by HIRATA discloses the multi-piston disengagement system according to claim 6, wherein the at least one sealing plate (e.g. gasket as taught by HIRATA) is arranged between the main housing (6,22) and the housing cover (4).
Claim 16: Grauss discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 11 further comprising a channel seal (see annotated Fig below rejection of claim 6) for sealing the flow channel (33).
Grauss does not disclose wherein the channel seal is an o-ring or a sealing plate.
HIRATA teaches a seal member (16; Fig.1) is replaced with self-seal packing such as a gasket, a mechanical seal, a piston ring, and an O-ring.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace seal member of Grauss with gasket, O-ring as taught by HIRATA as obvious matter of design choice. Since O-ring, gasket are well known in hydraulic cylinder assemblies for providing reliable fluid sealing, reducing leaking, simplifying assembly and improve durability
Claim 17: Grauss as modified by HIRATA discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 16, wherein: the main housing (6,22) 1 comprises an annular groove (groove is where the seal is inserted); the annular groove (groove is where the seal is inserted) 1 coaxial with the main axis (H); and the channel seal is the O-ring (as taught by HIRATA) arranged in the annular groove (groove is where the seal is inserted) .
Claim 18: Grauss as modified by HIRATA discloses the multi-piston disengagement system of claim 16, wherein the channel seal is the sealing plate (e.g. gasket as taught by HIRATA) arranged between the main housing (6,22) and the housing cover (4).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Drennen (US 20060151260 A1) discloses brake apparatus with housing having bore.
Sailer (US 20130000573 A1) discloses housing 7 and piston.
Conclusion
/LILLIAN T NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3655A
1 The strikeout limitation is “or” limitation; thus the prior art does not require to satisfy the strikeout limitation to be applicable.