Response to Amendment
Claims 1-30 are currently pending and have been considered below. Claims 1, 17, 26 and 29 are independent claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims1, 6-17, 19-26, and 28-30 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian(US Publication No. 20230134088 A) in view of Earnshaw(International Publication No. WO 2012/060842 A1) in further view of Reznik(US Publication No. 20120281834 A1) in further view of Norman(US Publication No 2011/0091036 A1).
Regarding Claim 1:
Balasubramanian discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a plurality of transport blocks on a physical sidelink shared channel(Balasubramanian, [0005], The apparatus may be a user equipment (UE). The apparatus may transmit, to the base station, a request for secure sidelink communication with at least one other UE, where the security mode command message is received based on the transmitted request. The apparatus may also receive, from a base station, a security mode command message associated with secure sidelink communication with at least one other UE.);
receiving encrypted configuration data(Balasubramanian,[0083], a security mode complete message (i.e., ‘SecurityModeComplete’ message) to indicate to the base station that its encryption and/or integrity keys have been derived and verified. For instance, the security mode complete message may indicate that a Uu RRC encryption key, a Uu RRC integrity key, a Uu user plane encryption key, and/or a Uu user plane integrity key have been derived and verified. In one instance,);
and decrypting the encrypted configuration data using the secret key(Balasubramania, [0084], the base station may provide parameters for deriving a physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHPHY SLenc) from the base sidelink key (KSL). These parameters may include at least one of a rekeying frequency, a key derivation function (KDF), and/or one or more RRC parameters. [0086], secure sidelink communication between UE-a 704 and UE-b 706. At 770, UE-a 704 may transmit to UE-b 706, or receive from UE-b 706, secure sidelink communication based on the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc). UE-a 704 and UE-b 706 may also verify an authenticity of the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc) based on the secure sidelink communication. ).
Balasubramanian does not disclose:
generating the secret key using the selected bits of the decrypted payload data
Earnshaw discloses:
generating a secret key using the selected bits of the decrypted payload data(Earnshaw, [0018], The HARQ process attempts to decode the combined packet data from multiple transmissions and the HARQ process continues.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order to ensure that cryptographic keys used to protect sidelink configuration information are derived from actual transmitted and received data.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness to key compromise in sidelink wireless communication by ensuring that secret keys are context dependent and tightly bound to the underlying transport block.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
selecting bits of the decrypted payload data based on bit selection criteria
Reznik discloses:
selecting bits of the decrypted payload data based on bit selection criteria (Reznik, [0033], Each transceiver then transforms its received signal into binary (or some other discrete form) sequences in some fashion. [0081], …(e.g., selecting only certain output bits).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Ershaw’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that that cryptographic material is derived from repeatable known portions of the received data at communicating user equipment’s.
The motivation is to enhance interoperability and reliability of secret key generation wireless sidelink communication and by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving devices independently derive identical cryptographic keys.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik do not disclose:
decrypting one or more transport blocks of the plurality of transport blocks to provide decrypted payload data that conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key
Norman discloses:
decrypting one or more transport blocks of the plurality of transport blocks to provide decrypted payload data that conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key(Norman, [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE. [0086], upon receipt of RAND and AUTN the UE first computes the anonymity key AK=f5 (RAND) (or uses AK=000 . . . 0) and retrieves the sequence number SQN=(SQN xOR AK) xOR AK. Next the UE computes XMAC=f1 (SQN∥RAND∥AMF)…the UE sends user authentication reject back to the SN/VLR with an indication of the cause and the UE abandons the procedure. Else, the UE verifies that the received SQN is in the correct range… [0087], the UE computes RES=f2 (RAND) and includes this parameter in a user authentication response back to the SN/VLR…To improve efficiency, RES, CK and IK could also be computed earlier at any time after receiving RAND. [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE. [0090], where SQN has thus been included in the inputs. Now, even if two RANDs are the same, i.e., RAND=RAND′, the fact that SQN always increases (by e.g., one), [0029], he second parameter may comprise or be derived from a concatenation of 0x02, a PLMN_ID, a RAND, an IMPI or IMSI, and the token.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Norman in order to ensure generation of session-specific secret keys based on information already available within the communication exchange.
The motivation is to enhance communication security by deriving secret keys from session-specific information conveyed to UE and to replay attacks and key collision risks by incorporating conveyed payload information into key derivation inputs.
Regarding Claim 6:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman disclose wherein the encrypted configuration data includes:sidelink control information (SCI);physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration information;
sidelink resource pool configuration information; sidelink positioning resource pool configuration information; sidelink bandwidth part configuration information; positioning assistance data; or any combination thereof (Balasubramanian, [0065], A control channel may include information (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI), [0068], FIG. 5 is diagram 500 illustrating an example of time and frequency resources showing reservations for sidelink transmissions. The resources may be included in a sidelink resource pool).
Regarding Claim 7:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: storing multiple transport blocks, wherein the bit selection criteria include an indication of which of the multiple transport blocks are to be used to provide the selected bits of the decrypted payload data for generating the secret key(Earnshaw, [0002], Access (E- UTRA) radio technology in which multiple simultaneous transport blocks can be used to send data from an E-UTRAN Node B (eNB) to a user equipment (UE) device. To address potential data transmission errors, a Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) scheme is defined in the existing LTE 3 GPP standard which provides a combination of forward error- correcting coding and error detection coding using the HARQ error-control method to detect and correct data transmission errors. With existing HARQ schemes, incorrectly received coded data blocks may be stored in a soft buffer at the UE/receive. [0025], the encoded soft bit values for one or two received transport blocks (depending upon the MIMO mode) are delivered to the DL HARQ entity 143 which coordinates the DL HARQ activity. At the same time, the DL HARQ entity 143 receives additional control signaling information from control signaling block 140, such as the transport block size(s), the number of encoded bit values, the DL HARQ process to associate with the transport block(s), and whether the received data represents a new transmission or a retransmission.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order to ensure that cryptographic keys used to protect sidelink configuration information are derived from actual transmitted and received data.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness to key compromise in sidelink wireless communication by ensuring that secret keys are context dependent and tightly bound to the underlying transport block.
Regarding Claim 8:
The method of claim 7, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: transmitting a capability of the UE to store the multiple transport blocks(Earnshaw, [0020-0021], the number of separate HARQ processes required to manage data transmitted on multiple carriers should be increased. In addition, the size of the HARQ decoding/soft buffer should also be increased to allow for storage of additional data associated with the additional carriers and associated HARQ processes…, UE Category Maximum number Maximum number Total number of Maximum number of DL-SCH of bits of a DL- soft channel bits of supported transport block SCH transport (DL HARQ) layers for spatial bits received block received).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order to ensure that network entities and peer devices can adapt security procedures based on the UE’s buffering processing capabilities.
The motivation is to enhance reliability and security by preventing key derivation failures or inconsistent cryptographic state caused by attempting transport block security operations on UEs that lack sufficient storage capabilities within the system.
Regarding Claim 9:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: receiving an indication of a time at which the secret key is to be used to decrypt the encrypted configuration data(Reznik, [0010], Thus, one might envision that a public-key cryptography system may be constructed by having the communication destination choose p and q in secret and make their product s publicly available, which is then used as an encryption key for some encryption system which cannot be easily decrypted unless p and q are known. An eavesdropper wishing to intercept an encrypted message would likely start by attempting to factor s, which is known to be computationally difficult. Presumably the eavesdropper would either give up or so much time would pass that the secrecy of the message will no longer be an issue).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure temporal synchronization and prevent misuse of cryptographic keys outside an intended validity window
The motivation is to enhance the sidelink communications by ensuring consistent key activation despite transmission delays, buffering of transport blocks.
Regarding Claim 10:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman wherein: the one or more transport blocks include secured layer 3 (L3) payload data; and the selected bits of the decrypted payload data are selected from decrypted L3 payload data(Balasubramanian, [0055], FIG. 3 is a block diagram of a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network. In the DL, IP packets from the EPC 160 may be provided to a controller/processor 375. The controller/processor 375 implements layer 3 and layer 2 functionality. Layer 3 includes a radio resource control (RRC) layer, and layer 2 includes a service data adaptation protocol (SDAP) layer, a packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) layer, a radio link control (RLC) layer, and a medium access control (MAC) layer.).
Regarding Claim 11:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman wherein:the one or more transport blocks include secured layer 2 (L2) payload data; and the selected bits of the decrypted payload data are selected from decrypted L2 payload data(Balasubramanian, [0057], The symbols on each subcarrier, and the reference signal, are recovered and demodulated by determining the most likely signal constellation points transmitted by the base station 310. These soft decisions may be based on channel estimates computed by the channel estimator 358. The soft decisions are then decoded and deinterleaved to recover the data and control signals that were originally transmitted by the base station 310 on the physical channel. The data and control signals are then provided to the controller/processor 359, which implements layer 3 and layer 2 functionality.).
Regarding Claim 12:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman wherein generating the secret key comprises: using the selected bits of the decrypted payload data as the secret key; providing the selected bits of the decrypted payload data to a secret key derivation function; providing the selected bits of the decrypted payload data to a hash function; providing the selected bits of the decrypted payload data as a seed for a pseudo- random number generator; or any combination thereof(Reznik, [0075], The hash values are derived using a universal hash function, such as the following equation:).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure cryptographic suitability of the derived key material.
The motivation is to enhance cryptographic strength by transforming selected payload bits into key with sufficient entropy unpredictability and compatibility with standard encryptions used in wireless communication systems.
Regarding Claim 13:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: generating multiple secret keys using different sets of bits of the selected bits of the decrypted payload data(Balasubramanian, [0055], a base station 310 in communication with a UE 350 in an access network. In the DL, IP packets from the EPC 160 may be provided to a controller/processor 375. The controller/processor 375 implements layer 3).
Regarding Claim 14:
The method of claim 13, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: decrypting the encrypted configuration data using different secret keys of the multiple secret keys based on the encrypted configuration data being received via a unicast transmission, a groupcast transmission, or broadcast transmission(Balasubramanian, [0014], The UEs 402, 404, 406, 408 may each be capable of sidelink transmission in addition to sidelink reception. Thus, UEs 404, 406, 408 are illustrated as transmitting sidelink transmissions 413, 415, 416, 420. The sidelink transmissions 413, 414, 415, 416, 420 may be unicast, broadcast, or multicast to nearby devices.).
Regarding Claim 15:
The method of claim 13, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: decrypting the encrypted configuration data using different secret keys of the multiple secret keys based on the encrypted configuration data including different sidelink resource pool configurations, different sidelink positioning resource pool configurations, or any combination thereof(Balasubramanian, [0065], A control channel may include information (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI), [0068], FIG. 5 is diagram 500 illustrating an example of time and frequency resources showing reservations for sidelink transmissions. The resources may be included in a sidelink resource pool).
Regarding Claim 16:
The method of claim 13, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman wherein: the multiple secret keys are generated using different sets of the selected bits of the decrypted payload data(Balasubramanian, [0036], the block code encoder 104 derives a block code with parity bits for error correction at transceiver 200. In at least one preferred embodiment, the synch code encoder 105 produces a code used for synchronizing the CIR estimates between transceiver 100 and 200. The parity bits and synch code bits are multiplexed by the MUX 106 for transmission to transceiver 200.).
Regarding Claim 17:
Balasubramania discloses:
A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE), comprising: encrypting configuration data using the secret key(Balasubramania, [0084], the base station may provide parameters for deriving a physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHPHY SLenc) from the base sidelink key (KSL). These parameters may include at least one of a rekeying frequency, a key derivation function (KDF), and/or one or more RRC parameters. [0086], secure sidelink communication between UE-a 704 and UE-b 706. At 770, UE-a 704 may transmit to UE-b 706, or receive from UE-b 706, secure sidelink communication based on the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc). UE-a 704 and UE-b 706 may also verify an authenticity of the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc) based on the secure sidelink communication. );
and transmitting the encrypted configuration data(Balasubramanian,[0083], a security mode complete message (i.e., ‘SecurityModeComplete’ message) to indicate to the base station that its encryption and/or integrity keys have been derived and verified. For instance, the security mode complete message may indicate that a Uu RRC encryption key, a Uu RRC integrity key, a Uu user plane encryption key, and/or a Uu user plane integrity key have been derived and verified. In one instance,);
Balasubramanian does not disclose:
generating the secret key using the selected bits of the unencrypted payload data
Earnshaw discloses:
generating a secret key using the selected bits of the unencrypted payload data(Earnshaw, [0018], The HARQ process attempts to decode the combined packet data from multiple transmissions and the HARQ process continues.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order to ensure that cryptographic keys used to protect sidelink configuration information are derived from actual transmitted and received data.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness to key compromise in sidelink wireless communication by ensuring that secret keys are context dependent and tightly bound to the underlying transport block.
Balasubramania in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
selecting bits of unencrypted payload data of one or more transport blocks based on bit selection criteria
Reznik discloses:
selecting bits of unencrypted payload data of one or more transport blocks based on bit selection criteria(Reznik, [0033], Each transceiver then transforms its received signal into binary (or some other discrete form) sequences in some fashion. [0081], …(e.g., selecting only certain output bits).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that that cryptographic material is derived from repeatable known portions of the received data at communicating user equipment’s.
The motivation is to enhance interoperability and reliability of secret key generation wireless sidelink communication and by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving devices independently derive identical cryptographic keys.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik do not disclose:
wherein the unencrypted payload data conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key
Norman discloses:
wherein the unencrypted payload data conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key (Norman, [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE, [0086], upon receipt of RAND and AUTN the UE first computes the anonymity key AK=f5 (RAND) (or uses AK=000 . . . 0) and retrieves the sequence number SQN. [0090], KDF(CK∥IK,RAND∥IMPI∥SQN) where SQN has thus been included in the inputs. Now, even if two RANDs are the same, i.e., RAND=RAND, [0029], the second parameter may comprise or be derived from a concatenation of 0x02, a PLMN_ID, a RAND, an IMPI or IMSI, and the token.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Norman in order to ensure generation of session-specific secret keys based on information already available within the communication exchange.
The motivation is to enhance communication security by deriving secret keys from session-specific information conveyed to UE and to replay attacks and key collision risks by incorporating conveyed payload information into key derivation inputs.
Regarding Claim 19:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: transmitting an indication of the bit selection criteria to one or more sidelink devices(Balasubramanian, [0081], Some aspects of the present disclosure may utilize UE-UTRAN (Uu) signaling (e.g., Uu RRC signaling) and Uu keys (e.g., Uu ciphering keys of users) to transmit a common sidelink key. (Balasubramanian, [0097], The indication may be received via an RRC message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE)),.
Regarding Claim 20:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: receiving an indication of the bit selection criteria from a base station(Balasubramanian, [0081], Some aspects of the present disclosure may also provide a UE' s action upon receiving these keys from a base station via certain types of signaling (e.g., RRC, DCI, or MAC-CE signaling).).
Regarding Claim 21:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: encrypting the unencrypted payload data; and transmitting the encrypted payload data in one or more transport blocks to one or more UEs(Balasubramanian, [0096], At 852, UE 802 may receive, from the base station 804, an indication of at least one of a common base key or the RRC encryption key (e.g., indication 856). At 854, base station 804 may transmit, to the UE 802, an indication of at least one of a common base key or a radio resource control (RRC) encryption key (e.g., indication 856), where a physical layer sidelink encryption key is based on at least one of the common base key or the RRC encryption key.).
Regarding Claim 22:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: receiving encrypted payload data in one or more transport blocks from one or more base stations; and decrypting the encrypted payload data of the one or more transport blocks received from the one or more base stations to provide the unencrypted payload data(Balasubramanian, [0056], The transmit (TX) processor 316 and the receive (RX) processor 370 implement layer 1 functionality associated with various signal processing functions. Layer 1, which includes a physical (PHY) layer, may include error detection on the transport channels, forward error correction (FEC) coding/decoding of the transport channels, interleaving, rate matching, mapping onto physical channels, modulation/demodulation of physical channels, and MIMO antenna processing. The TX processor 316 handles mapping to signal constellations based on various modulation schemes).
Regarding Claim 23:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman wherein the encrypted configuration data includes: sidelink control information (SCI);physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration information; sidelink resource pool configuration information; sidelink positioning resource pool configuration information; sidelink bandwidth part configuration information; positioning assistance data; or any combination thercof (Balasubramanian, [0065], A control channel may include information (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI), [0068], FIG. 5 is diagram 500 illustrating an example of time and frequency resources showing reservations for sidelink transmissions. The resources may be included in a sidelink resource pool).
Regarding Claim 24:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: generating multiple secret keys using the selected bits of unencrypted payload data; and encrypting the configuration data using different secret keys of the multiple secret keys based on the encrypted configuration data being transmitted via a unicast transmission, a groupeast transmission, or a broadcast transmission (Balasubramanian, [0014], The UEs 402, 404, 406, 408 may each be capable of sidelink transmission in addition to sidelink reception. Thus, UEs 404, 406, 408 are illustrated as transmitting sidelink transmissions 413, 415, 416, 420. The sidelink transmissions 413, 414, 415, 416, 420 may be unicast, broadcast, or multicast to nearby devices.). .
Regarding Claim 25:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman further comprising: generating multiple secret keys using different sets of bits of the selected bits of the unencrypted payload data; encrypting different sidelink resource pools of the configuration data using different secret keys of the multiple secret keys; encrypting different sidelink positioning resource pools of the configuration data using different secret keys of the multiple secret keys; or any combination thereof (Balasubramanian, [0065], A control channel may include information (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI), [0068], FIG. 5 is diagram 500 illustrating an example of time and frequency resources showing reservations for sidelink transmissions. The resources may be included in a sidelink resource pool).
Regarding Claim 26:
Balasubramanian discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory(Balasubramanian, [0058], The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360);
at least one transceiver(Balasubramanian, [0043], The base station may include and/or be referred to as a gNB, Node B, eNB, an access point, a base transceiver station); and at least one processor communicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to(Balasubramanian, [0043], aspects, the apparatus 1302 may include a cellular baseband processor 1304 (also referred to as a modem) coupled to a cellular RF transceiver 1322.): receive, via the at least one transceiver, a plurality of transport blocks on a physical sidelink shared channel l(Balasubramanian, [0005], The apparatus may be a user equipment (UE). The apparatus may transmit, to the base station, a request for secure sidelink communication with at least one other UE, where the security mode command message is received based on the transmitted request. The apparatus may also receive, from a base station, a security mode command message associated with secure sidelink communication with at least one other UE.);
receive, via the at least one transceiver, encrypted configuration data(Balasubramanian,[0083], a security mode complete message (i.e., ‘SecurityModeComplete’ message) to indicate to the base station that its encryption and/or integrity keys have been derived and verified. For instance, the security mode complete message may indicate that a Uu RRC encryption key, a Uu RRC integrity key, a Uu user plane encryption key, and/or a Uu user plane integrity key have been derived and verified. In one instance,);
and decrypt the encrypted configuration data using the secret key(Balasubramania, [0084], the base station may provide parameters for deriving a physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHPHY SLenc) from the base sidelink key (KSL). These parameters may include at least one of a rekeying frequency, a key derivation function (KDF), and/or one or more RRC parameters. [0086], secure sidelink communication between UE-a 704 and UE-b 706. At 770, UE-a 704 may transmit to UE-b 706, or receive from UE-b 706, secure sidelink communication based on the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc). UE-a 704 and UE-b 706 may also verify an authenticity of the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc) based on the secure sidelink communication. ).
Balasubramania does not disclose:
generate the secret key using the selected bits of the decrypted payload data
Earnshaw discloses:
generate the secret key using the selected bits of the decrypted payload data(Earnshaw, [0018], The HARQ process attempts to decode the combined packet data from multiple transmissions and the HARQ process continues.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order to ensure that cryptographic keys used to protect sidelink configuration information are derived from actual transmitted and received data.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness to key compromise in sidelink wireless communication by ensuring that secret keys are context dependent and tightly bound to the underlying transport block.
Balasubramania in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
select bits of the decrypted payload data based on bit selection criteria
Reznik discloses:
select bits of the decrypted payload data based on bit selection criteria(Reznik, [0033], Each transceiver then transforms its received signal into binary (or some other discrete form) sequences in some fashion. [0081], …(e.g., selecting only certain output bits).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that that cryptographic material is derived from repeatable known portions of the received data at communicating user equipment’s.
The motivation is to enhance interoperability and reliability of secret key generation wireless sidelink communication and by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving devices independently derive identical cryptographic keys.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik do not disclose:
decrypt one or more transport blocks of the plurality of transport blocks to provide decrypted payload data that conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key
Norman discloses:
decrypt one or more transport blocks of the plurality of transport blocks to provide decrypted payload data that conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key (Norman, [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE. [0086], upon receipt of RAND and AUTN the UE first computes the anonymity key AK=f5 (RAND) (or uses AK=000 . . . 0) and retrieves the sequence number SQN=(SQN xOR AK) xOR AK. Next the UE computes XMAC=f1 (SQN∥RAND∥AMF)…the UE sends user authentication reject back to the SN/VLR with an indication of the cause and the UE abandons the procedure. Else, the UE verifies that the received SQN is in the correct range… [0087], the UE computes RES=f2 (RAND) and includes this parameter in a user authentication response back to the SN/VLR…To improve efficiency, RES, CK and IK could also be computed earlier at any time after receiving RAND. [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE. [0090], where SQN has thus been included in the inputs. Now, even if two RANDs are the same, i.e., RAND=RAND′, the fact that SQN always increases (by e.g., one), [0029], he second parameter may comprise or be derived from a concatenation of 0x02, a PLMN_ID, a RAND, an IMPI or IMSI, and the token.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Norman in order to ensure generation of session-specific secret keys based on information already available within the communication exchange.
The motivation is to enhance communication security by deriving secret keys from session-specific information conveyed to UE and to replay attacks and key collision risks by incorporating conveyed payload information into key derivation inputs.
Regarding Claim 28:
The UE of claim 26, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik in further view of Norman wherein the encrypted configuration data includes:sidelink control information (SCI);physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) configuration information; sidelink resource pool configuration information; sidelink positioning resource pool configuration information; sidelink bandwidth part configuration information; positioning assistance data; or any combination thereof(Balasubramanian, [0065], A control channel may include information (e.g., sidelink control information (SCI), [0068], FIG. 5 is diagram 500 illustrating an example of time and frequency resources showing reservations for sidelink transmissions. The resources may be included in a sidelink resource pool).
Regarding Claim 29:
Balasubramanian discloses:
A user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory(Balasubramanian, [0058], The controller/processor 359 can be associated with a memory 360); at least one transceiver(Balasubramanian, [0043], The base station may include and/or be referred to as a gNB, Node B, eNB, an access point, a base transceiver station);
and at least one processor connunicatively coupled to the memory and the at least one transceiver, the at least one processor configured to(Balasubramanian, [0043], aspects, the apparatus 1302 may include a cellular baseband processor 1304 (also referred to as a modem) coupled to a cellular RF transceiver 1322.):
encrypt configuration data using the secret key(Balasubramania, [0084], the base station may provide parameters for deriving a physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHPHY SLenc) from the base sidelink key (KSL). These parameters may include at least one of a rekeying frequency, a key derivation function (KDF), and/or one or more RRC parameters. [0086], secure sidelink communication between UE-a 704 and UE-b 706. At 770, UE-a 704 may transmit to UE-b 706, or receive from UE-b 706, secure sidelink communication based on the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc). UE-a 704 and UE-b 706 may also verify an authenticity of the physical layer sidelink encryption key (KPHY SLenc) based on the secure sidelink communication. ).;
and transmit, via the at least one transceiver, the encrypted configuration data(Balasubramanian,[0083], a security mode complete message (i.e., ‘SecurityModeComplete’ message) to indicate to the base station that its encryption and/or integrity keys have been derived and verified. For instance, the security mode complete message may indicate that a Uu RRC encryption key, a Uu RRC integrity key, a Uu user plane encryption key, and/or a Uu user plane integrity key have been derived and verified. In one instance,)
Balasubramania does not disclose:
generate a secret key using the selected bits of the unencrypted payload data
Earnshaw discloses:
generate the secret key using the selected bits of the unencrypted payload data(Earnshaw, [0018], The HARQ process attempts to decode the combined packet data from multiple transmissions and the HARQ process continues.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order to ensure that cryptographic keys used to protect sidelink configuration information are derived from actual transmitted and received data.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness to key compromise in sidelink wireless communication by ensuring that secret keys are context dependent and tightly bound to the underlying transport block.
Balasubramania in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
select bits of unencrypted payload data of one or more transport blocks based on bit selection criteria
Reznik discloses:
select bits of unencrypted payload data of one or more transport blocks based on bit selection criteria(Reznik, [0033], Each transceiver then transforms its received signal into binary (or some other discrete form) sequences in some fashion. [0081], …(e.g., selecting only certain output bits).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that that cryptographic material is derived from repeatable known portions of the received data at communicating user equipment’s
The motivation is to enhance interoperability and reliability of secret key generation wireless sidelink communication and by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving devices independently derive identical cryptographic keys;
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik do not disclose:
wherein the unecncrypted payload data conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key
Norman discloses:
wherein the unecncrypted payload data conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key (Norman, [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE, [0086], upon receipt of RAND and AUTN the UE first computes the anonymity key AK=f5 (RAND) (or uses AK=000 . . . 0) and retrieves the sequence number SQN. [0090], KDF(CK∥IK,RAND∥IMPI∥SQN) where SQN has thus been included in the inputs. Now, even if two RANDs are the same, i.e., RAND=RAND, [0029], the second parameter may comprise or be derived from a concatenation of 0x02, a PLMN_ID, a RAND, an IMPI or IMSI, and the token.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Norman in order to ensure generation of session-specific secret keys based on information already available within the communication exchange.
The motivation is to enhance communication security by deriving secret keys from session-specific information conveyed to UE and to replay attacks and key collision risks by incorporating conveyed payload information into key derivation inputs.
Claims 2-5, 18 27, 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Balasubramanian(US Publication No. 20230134088 A) in view of Earnshaw(International Publication No. WO 2012/060842 A1) in further view of Reznik(US Publication No. 20120281834 A1) and in further view of Norman(US Publication No 2011/0091036 A1) and in further view of Wang(US Publication No. 20190053128 A1).
Regarding Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman disclose wherein the bit selection criteria include: an indication of one or more selected resource blocks (RBs)carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0050], a resource block (RB) (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) that extends 12 consecutive subcarriers. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs). The number of bits carried by each RE depends on the modulation scheme);
an indication of one or more selected resource block groups (RBGs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected symbol occurrences of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected slots of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw disclose:
an indication of one or more selected windows of one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof
Earnshaw discloses:
an indication of one or more selected windows of one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0042], different carriers may be used to carry different types of traffic with different desired Quality of Services, so it may also be desirable to be able to customize the soft buffer sizes for particular carriers in such a scenario.);
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0027], As used herein when referring to DL-SCH transport blocks carried on the PDSCH and/or to UL-SCH (Uplink Shared CHannel) transport blocks carried on the PUSCH, one TTI can be considered to be equivalent to one subframe, and may also be referred to as one transmission opportunity. In the context of E-UTRA, therefore, one transmission opportunity refers to a transmission unit of time equal to one subframe, which may have a length of 1 ms);
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof(Earnshaw, [0031], the numerator of the fraction accounts for the addition of the transport block CRC, and the -24 in the denominator of the fraction accounts for the 24 code block CRC bits that need to be added to each code block. When a transport block must be segmented into multiple code blocks, each code block can contain a maximum of 6120 information bits and 24 code block CRC bits for a combined maximum code block size of 6144 bits.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order improve security by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving UEs independently derive identical secret keys from known bit positions without transmitting the key itself.
The motivation is to enhance cryptographic robustness and resistance to interception or reply attacks in wireless sidelink communication by limiting secret key derivation to explicitly defined and verifiable subsets of decrypted payload data.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
an indication of one or more selected resource elements (REs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits
Reznik discloses:
an indication of one or more selected resource elements (REs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Reznik, [0033], Each transceiver then transforms its received signal into binary (or some other discrete form) sequences in some fashion. [0042], A description of the perfectly secret key generation from the channel estimation now follows. Both transceivers 100 and 200 derive an estimate of the CIR based on the received radio signal at channel estimation units 101 and 201.);
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits(Reznik, [0045], the case where the transceivers are MIMO equipped, as differences in the number of antennas and antenna patterns may cause the CIR estimates to differ. In such cases, the transceivers 100 and 200 may have to exchange information about their antenna configurations which would then allow them to derive symmetric CIR estimates from their observations.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that secret key derivation is deterministic and synchronized across communicating wireless devices.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness and resistance to replay or injection attacks in wireless sidelink communication by ensuring that secret keys are derived only from well-defined, verifiable data locations and patterns within the received payload.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman disclose:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
Wang discloses:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Wang, [0046], when the rate matching component 308 performs rate matching this means a decoder of the mobile device 104 can use different decoding rates to match the 152 bits. The two-dimensional bitmap of FIG. 4 can be employed by the rate matching component 308 and/or the decoder of the mobile device 104 as the input to the decoder to tell the decoder the decoding rate.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Wang in order to ensure that both communicating devices deterministically and consistently derive identical cryptographic material from the same received data without transmitting the secret key itself.
The motivation is to ensure the secret keys are derived only from well-defined, mutually known bit positions within decrypted payload data using a bitmap based selection mechanism.
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 2, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman and in further view of Wang disclose further comprising: receiving an indication of the bit selection criteria via radio resource control (RRC) signaling(Balasubramanian, [0081], Some aspects of the present disclosure may utilize UE-UTRAN (Uu) signaling (e.g., Uu RRC signaling) and Uu keys (e.g., Uu ciphering keys of users) to transmit a common sidelink key.),
one or more media access control-control elements (MAC-CE), or any combination thereof(Balasubramanian, [0097], The indication may be received via an RRC message, a medium access control (MAC) control element (MAC-CE))
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 3, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman and in further view of Wang disclose wherein: the indication of the bit selection criteria is received from a base station(Balasubramanian, [0081], Some aspects of the present disclosure may also provide a UE' s action upon receiving these keys from a base station via certain types of signaling (e.g., RRC, DCI, or MAC-CE signaling).).
Regarding Claim 5:
The method of claim 3, wherein: Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman and in further view of Wang disclose the indication of the bit selection criteria is received from a sidelink device(Balasubramanian, [0045], in certain aspects, the base station 180 may include a transmission component 199 configured to receive, from a user equipment (UE), a request for secure sidelink communication with at least one other UE. Transmission component 199 may also be configured to transmit, to the UE, a security mode command message associated with the secure sidelink communication with the at least one other UE,).
Regarding Claim 18:
The method of claim 17, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman and in further view of Wang disclose wherein the bit selection criteria include: an indication of one or more selected resource elements (REs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0050], a resource block (RB) (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) that extends 12 consecutive subcarriers. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs). The number of bits carried by each RE depends on the modulation scheme);
an indication of one or more selected resource blocks (RBs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected resource block groups (RBGs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected symbol occurrences of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected slots of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw disclose:
an indication of one or more selected windows of the one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, include the selected bits
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof
Earnshaw discloses:
an indication of one or more selected windows of the one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, include the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0042], different carriers may be used to carry different types of traffic with different desired Quality of Services, so it may also be desirable to be able to customize the soft buffer sizes for particular carriers in such a scenario.);
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0027], As used herein when referring to DL-SCH transport blocks carried on the PDSCH and/or to UL-SCH (Uplink Shared CHannel) transport blocks carried on the PUSCH, one TTI can be considered to be equivalent to one subframe, and may also be referred to as one transmission opportunity. In the context of E-UTRA, therefore, one transmission opportunity refers to a transmission unit of time equal to one subframe, which may have a length of 1 ms);
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof(Earnshaw, [0031], the numerator of the fraction accounts for the addition of the transport block CRC, and the -24 in the denominator of the fraction accounts for the 24 code block CRC bits that need to be added to each code block. When a transport block must be segmented into multiple code blocks, each code block can contain a maximum of 6120 information bits and 24 code block CRC bits for a combined maximum code block size of 6144 bits.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order improve security by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving UEs independently derive identical secret keys from known bit positions without transmitting the key itself.
The motivation is to enhance cryptographic robustness and resistance to interception or reply attacks in wireless sidelink communication by limiting secret key derivation to explicitly defined and verifiable subsets of decrypted payload data.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits
Reznik discloses:
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits(Reznik, [0045], the case where the transceivers are MIMO equipped, as differences in the number of antennas and antenna patterns may cause the CIR estimates to differ. In such cases, the transceivers 100 and 200 may have to exchange information about their antenna configurations which would then allow them to derive symmetric CIR estimates from their observations.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that secret key derivation is deterministic and synchronized across communicating wireless devices.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness and resistance to replay or injection attacks in wireless sidelink communication by ensuring that secret keys are derived only from well-defined, verifiable data locations and patterns within the received payload.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman disclose:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
Wang discloses:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Wang, [0046], when the rate matching component 308 performs rate matching this means a decoder of the mobile device 104 can use different decoding rates to match the 152 bits. The two-dimensional bitmap of FIG. 4 can be employed by the rate matching component 308 and/or the decoder of the mobile device 104 as the input to the decoder to tell the decoder the decoding rate.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Wang in order to ensure that both communicating devices deterministically and consistently derive identical cryptographic material from the same received data without transmitting the secret key itself.
The motivation is to ensure the secret keys are derived only from well-defined, mutually known bit positions within decrypted payload data using a bitmap based selection mechanism.
Regarding Claim 27:
The UE of claim 26, Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman and in further view of Wang disclose wherein the bit selection criteria include: an indication of one or more selected resource elements (REs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0050], a resource block (RB) (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) that extends 12 consecutive subcarriers. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs). The number of bits carried by each RE depends on the modulation scheme);
an indication of one or more selected resource blocks (RBs)carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0050], a resource block (RB) (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) that extends 12 consecutive subcarriers. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs). The number of bits carried by each RE depends on the modulation scheme);
an indication of one or more selected resource block groups (RBGs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected symbol occurrences of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected slots of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
Balasubramanian does not disclose:
an indication of one or more selected windows of the one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof
Earnshaw discloses:
an indication of one or more selected windows of the one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0042], different carriers may be used to carry different types of traffic with different desired Quality of Services, so it may also be desirable to be able to customize the soft buffer sizes for particular carriers in such a scenario.);
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0027], As used herein when referring to DL-SCH transport blocks carried on the PDSCH and/or to UL-SCH (Uplink Shared CHannel) transport blocks carried on the PUSCH, one TTI can be considered to be equivalent to one subframe, and may also be referred to as one transmission opportunity. In the context of E-UTRA, therefore, one transmission opportunity refers to a transmission unit of time equal to one subframe, which may have a length of 1 ms);
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof(Earnshaw, [0031], the numerator of the fraction accounts for the addition of the transport block CRC, and the -24 in the denominator of the fraction accounts for the 24 code block CRC bits that need to be added to each code block. When a transport block must be segmented into multiple code blocks, each code block can contain a maximum of 6120 information bits and 24 code block CRC bits for a combined maximum code block size of 6144 bits.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order improve security by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving UEs independently derive identical secret keys from known bit positions without transmitting the key itself.
The motivation is to enhance cryptographic robustness and resistance to interception or reply attacks in wireless sidelink communication by limiting secret key derivation to explicitly defined and verifiable subsets of decrypted payload data.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits
Reznik discloses:
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits(Reznik, [0045], the case where the transceivers are MIMO equipped, as differences in the number of antennas and antenna patterns may cause the CIR estimates to differ. In such cases, the transceivers 100 and 200 may have to exchange information about their antenna configurations which would then allow them to derive symmetric CIR estimates from their observations.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that secret key derivation is deterministic and synchronized across communicating wireless devices.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness and resistance to replay or injection attacks in wireless sidelink communication by ensuring that secret keys are derived only from well-defined, verifiable data locations and patterns within the received payload.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik do not disclose:
Wherein the unencrypted payload data conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key
Norman discloses:
Wherein the unencrypted payload data conveys information to the UE and further serves as a basis for generating a secret key (Norman, [0085], when the SN/VLR initiates an authentication and key agreement, it selects the next AV from the array and sends the parameters RAND and AUTN to the UE, [0086], upon receipt of RAND and AUTN the UE first computes the anonymity key AK=f5 (RAND) (or uses AK=000 . . . 0) and retrieves the sequence number SQN. [0090], KDF(CK∥IK,RAND∥IMPI∥SQN) where SQN has thus been included in the inputs. Now, even if two RANDs are the same, i.e., RAND=RAND, [0029], the second parameter may comprise or be derived from a concatenation of 0x02, a PLMN_ID, a RAND, an IMPI or IMSI, and the token.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Norman in order to ensure generation of session-specific secret keys based on information already available within the communication exchange.
The motivation is to enhance communication security by deriving secret keys from session-specific information conveyed to UE and to replay attacks and key collision risks by incorporating conveyed payload information into key derivation inputs.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik and in further view of Norman do not disclose:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
Wang discloses:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the decrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Wang, [0046], when the rate matching component 308 performs rate matching this means a decoder of the mobile device 104 can use different decoding rates to match the 152 bits. The two-dimensional bitmap of FIG. 4 can be employed by the rate matching component 308 and/or the decoder of the mobile device 104 as the input to the decoder to tell the decoder the decoding rate.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Wang in order to ensure that both communicating devices deterministically and consistently derive identical cryptographic material from the same received data without transmitting the secret key itself.
The motivation is to ensure the secret keys are derived only from well-defined, mutually known bit positions within decrypted payload data using a bitmap based selection mechanism.
Regarding Claim 30:
The UE of claim 29, Balasubramania in view of Earnshaw in view of Reznick in further view of Norman and in further view of Wang disclose wherein the bit selection criteria include:an indication of one or more selected resource elements (REs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits( Balasubramanian, [0050], a resource block (RB) (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) that extends 12 consecutive subcarriers. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs). The number of bits carried by each RE depends on the modulation scheme);
an indication of one or more selected resource blocks (RBs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits( Balasubramanian, [0050], a resource block (RB) (also referred to as physical RBs (PRBs)) that extends 12 consecutive subcarriers. The resource grid is divided into multiple resource elements (REs). The number of bits carried by each RE depends on the modulation scheme);
an indication of one or more selected resource block groups (RBGs) carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
an indication of one or more selected symbol occurrences of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits;
an indication of one or more selected slots of one or more REs, RBs, or RBGs carrying data that, after being decrypted, includes the selected bits(Balasubramanian, [0065], such as information about time and/or frequency resources that are reserved for the data channel transmission. For example, the SCI may indicate a number of TTIs, as well as the RBs that will be occupied by the data transmission);
Balasubramanian does not disclose:
an indication of one or more selected windows of the one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, include the selected bits
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof
Earnshaw discloses:
an indication of one or more selected windows of the one or more transport blocks carrying data that, after being decrypted, include the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0042], different carriers may be used to carry different types of traffic with different desired Quality of Services, so it may also be desirable to be able to customize the soft buffer sizes for particular carriers in such a scenario.);
an indication of one or more start bit and length criteria corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Earnshaw, [0027], As used herein when referring to DL-SCH transport blocks carried on the PDSCH and/or to UL-SCH (Uplink Shared CHannel) transport blocks carried on the PUSCH, one TTI can be considered to be equivalent to one subframe, and may also be referred to as one transmission opportunity. In the context of E-UTRA, therefore, one transmission opportunity refers to a transmission unit of time equal to one subframe, which may have a length of 1 ms);
an indication of which transport blocks of multiple transport blocks are to be used for selection of the selected bits; or any combination thereof(Earnshaw, [0031], the numerator of the fraction accounts for the addition of the transport block CRC, and the -24 in the denominator of the fraction accounts for the 24 code block CRC bits that need to be added to each code block. When a transport block must be segmented into multiple code blocks, each code block can contain a maximum of 6120 information bits and 24 code block CRC bits for a combined maximum code block size of 6144 bits.).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Earnshaw in order improve security by ensuring that both transmitting and receiving UEs independently derive identical secret keys from known bit positions without transmitting the key itself.
The motivation is to enhance cryptographic robustness and resistance to interception or reply attacks in wireless sidelink communication by limiting secret key derivation to explicitly defined and verifiable subsets of decrypted payload data.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw do not disclose:
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the unencrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits
Reznik discloses:
an indication of one or more patterns corresponding to bits of the decrypted payload data that are to be used as the selected bits(Reznik, [0045], the case where the transceivers are MIMO equipped, as differences in the number of antennas and antenna patterns may cause the CIR estimates to differ. In such cases, the transceivers 100 and 200 may have to exchange information about their antenna configurations which would then allow them to derive symmetric CIR estimates from their observations.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Reznik in order to ensure that secret key derivation is deterministic and synchronized across communicating wireless devices.
The motivation is to enhance security robustness and resistance to replay or injection attacks in wireless sidelink communication by ensuring that secret keys are derived only from well-defined, verifiable data locations and patterns within the received payload.
Balasubramanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik do not disclose:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits
Wang discloses:
an indication of a bitmap pattern corresponding to which bits of the unencrypted payload data are to be used as the selected bits(Wang, [0046], when the rate matching component 308 performs rate matching this means a decoder of the mobile device 104 can use different decoding rates to match the 152 bits. The two-dimensional bitmap of FIG. 4 can be employed by the rate matching component 308 and/or the decoder of the mobile device 104 as the input to the decoder to tell the decoder the decoding rate.);
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s secure sidelink communication by enhancing Balasubrmanian in view of Earnshaw in further view of Reznik’s wireless communication techniques to decrypt one or more received transport to ensure that a secret key using selected bit is decrypted as taught by Wang in order to ensure that both communicating devices deterministically and consistently derive identical cryptographic material from the same received data without transmitting the secret key itself.
The motivation is to ensure the secret keys are derived only from well-defined, mutually known bit positions within decrypted payload data using a bitmap based selection mechanism.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAYASA SHAAWAT/
Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433