DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/21/2024 and 01/12/2026 were filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claims 1-30, the words first, second and third are interpreted as labels to differentiate between components and do not impart any additional structural limitations.
Regarding claims 1-30:
The claim language “differential channel coefficients” recited in claim 1 is vague and the claims do not specify what is meant by “differential”, what the reference is for the difference, or how the differential channel coefficients are determined. Therefore, using broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI), the examiner interprets “differential channel coefficients” recited in claim 1 to include a semi-persistent, partial CSI reporting containing at least one sub-band coefficient (CHEN - Fig. 4 – 410, 415; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)) as “differential channel coefficients” because the semi-persistent, partial CSI reporting transmits the sub-band coefficient(s) at different periods of time (hence differential channel coefficients) in order to help the base station perform a precoding procedure to further optimize data transmission (CHEN - [0116] At 535, the base station 105-b may perform a precoding procedure for the set of beams using the CSI report, as the base station 105-b may have received at 525. For example, the base station 105-b may perform the precoding procedure using the information indicating the PMI and/or the other parameters included in the CSI feedback).
Independent claims 18 and 29-30, also have the similar claim language as presented in claim 1. Thus, examiner applies the same BRI as presented in claim 1. Similarly, examiner applies the same BRIs for their dependent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-10, 12, 16-19, and 23-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (WO2020164122A1, with a publication date 08/20/2020, which has US application US20220109481A1 which the examiner will cite for ease of reference, hereinafter, CHEN).
Regarding claim 1, CHEN discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 1, 5; Abstract - Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. In some systems, a user equipment (UE) may perform channel state information (CSI) measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions received from a base station), comprising:
receiving (Fig. 5) a message that indicates a channel state information report configuration that identifies a quantity of channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station, a condition that the UE or the base station detects, such as a high CQI variation; [0107] At 510, the UE 115-b may perform CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions received from the base station 105-b at 505 via the one or more beams. In some cases, performing CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions may include determining information indicating a RI, a CQI, and/or a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer; [0108] At 515, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b... the CSI feedback configuration may indicate whether partial CSI feedback is enabled for the beam combination codebook. In some cases, the CSI feedback configuration may further indicate a maximum number of sub-bands for partial CSI feedback in a CSI report) to be transmitted by the UE ([0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth. In some cases, the CSI report may include indicators of one or more beam parameters (e.g., amplitude, phase, co-phase, etc.) for respective sub-bands);
generating (Fig. 5 - 525), based at least in part on the channel state information report configuration (Fig. 5 – 505, 515; [0099];), a full channel state information report and one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)),
wherein the full channel state information report (Fig. 3A-B; [0112];) includes at least a set of spatial domain basis functions ([0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)... The active bandwidth may be a full bandwidth (e.g., a full bandwidth of a carrier configured for communication) or a BWP (e.g., a subset of the full carrier bandwidth) over which a UE is configured to communicate with a respective base station. For example, the UE may be configured to communication over a carrier including multiple BWPs, where a single BWP is active for the UE for the carrier at a given time; [0032] a user equipment (UE) may report channel state information (CSI) feedback to a base station for multiple discrete Fourier transform (DFT) beams. The frequency domain of the DFT beams may span a bandwidth part (BWP), which may include one or more sub-bands according to a granularity configured at the UE or the base station. Based on the CSI feedback, the base station may construct a precoding matrix and may precode transmissions over the multiple DFT beams) and a set of channel coefficients associated with the set of spatial domain basis functions (Fig. 4 - 405; [0077] The UE 115-a may measure one or more CSI reference signals from the base station 105-a...The UE 115-a may utilize CSI measurements from the one or more antenna ports to determine one or more coefficients (e.g., a wideband beam amplitude scaling factor, a sub-band beam amplitude scaling factor, a beam combining coefficient, etc.) corresponding to a precoding matrix W and to generate a bit representation of each coefficient. Each coefficient may be associated with a set of possible coefficient values for different beam, polarity, and layer combinations. In general, the UE 115-a may choose the set of beams for which the UE 115-a generates the coefficients and provide feedback based on a beam combination codebook), and
wherein the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled... whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) or partial-band CSI feedback of the active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for a subset of sub-bands of the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) each include a respective set of differential channel coefficients (Fig. 4 – 410, 415; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)); and
transmitting (Fig. 5 – 530) the quantity of channel state information reports ([0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b, and the base station 105-b may receive from the UE 115-b, the CSI report; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting), wherein the quantity of channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook... In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion) comprises the full channel state information report and the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b... the CSI report, as the UE 115-b may have generated at 520. In some cases, the UE 115-b may encode the CSI report, for example, the UE 115-b may separately encode first portion and the second portion of the CSI report; [0092] the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold).
Regarding claim 2, CHEN further discloses:
wherein generating (Fig. 5 - 525) the full channel state information report and the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) comprises:
receiving first signaling and second signaling (Fig. 5 - 505) over a channel for the wireless communication at the UE (Fig. 2, 5; [0105] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a process flow 500 that supports partial-bandwidth feedback for beam combination codebooks... the process flow 500 may implement aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or the wireless communications system 200, as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2), the second signaling being received at the UE subsequent to the first signaling ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (UE is configured with semi-persistent CSI reporting, hence the reference signals are transmitted periodically (e.g., subsequently) so that the UE can transmit the CSI report periodically)); and
generating (Fig. 5 - 525) the full channel state information report based at least in part on the first signaling ([0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook) and a first partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth; [0115] the UE 115-b may encode the CSI report, for example, the UE 115-b may separately encode first portion and the second portion of the CSI report... The UE 115-b may transmit each of the encoded codewords) based at least in part on the second signaling ([0153]; [0109];),
wherein the full channel state information report is transmitted (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting) over a first time occasion and the first partial channel state information report is transmitted over a second time occasion subsequent to the first time occasion ([0092] the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold (hence the UE transmitted the full CSI report in the first time occasion and then the UE transmitted the partial CSI report in the second time occasion due to the MCS exceeding the threshold)).
Regarding claim 6, CHEN further discloses:
receiving another message configuring the UE ([0092] the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station)) with a first one or more resources ([0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources; [0160] the UE may transmit the CSI report to the base station. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the CSI report may be transmitted, and the UE may encode and modulate the bits that indicate the CSI report to transmit the encoded and modulated bits over the identified time-frequency resources) for transmitting (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting) the full channel state information report over the first time occasion and a second one or more resources ([0160];) for transmitting the first partial channel state information report over the second time occasion ([0092] if partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold (hence the UE transmitted the full CSI report in the first time occasion and then the UE transmitted the partial CSI report in the second time occasion due to the MCS exceeding the threshold)).
Regarding claim 7, CHEN further discloses:
receiving a first resource configuration (Fig. 2; Fig. 5 – 515; [0135] The CSI report generator 815 may generate the CSI report based on the CSI feedback configuration; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly) indicating a first periodicity for transmitting a plurality of full channel state information reports ([0138] The CSI report transmission manager 820 may transmit the CSI report to the base station... the CSI report transmission manager 820 may transmit one or more signals 870 including information corresponding to the CSI report using a set of resources (e.g., configured time, frequency, and/or spatial resources); [0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots. The UE may, for example, be configured with a relatively longer periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is unlikely to substantially vary at less than the periodicity, or the UE may be configured with a relatively shorter periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is likely to vary more rapidly), wherein the plurality of full channel state information reports comprises the full channel state information report ([0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots; [0086] In some cases, the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) or partial-band CSI feedback of the active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for a subset of sub-bands of the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)), and
wherein transmitting the full channel state information report over the first time occasion (Fig. 5 – 530; [0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b, and the base station 105-b may receive from the UE 115-b, the CSI report, as the UE 115-b may have generated at 520) is based at least in part on the first resource configuration (Fig. 5 – 515; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly; [0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources; [0160] the UE may transmit the CSI report to the base station. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the CSI report may be transmitted, and the UE may encode and modulate the bits that indicate the CSI report to transmit the encoded and modulated bits over the identified time-frequency resources); and
receiving a second resource configuration (Fig. 5 – 515; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly) indicating a second periodicity for transmitting the one or more partial channel state information reports ([0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots. The UE may, for example, be configured with a relatively longer periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is unlikely to substantially vary at less than the periodicity, or the UE may be configured with a relatively shorter periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is likely to vary more rapidly), wherein transmitting the first partial channel state information report over the second time occasion (Fig. 5 – 530; [0092] if partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold (hence the UE transmitted the full CSI report in the first time occasion and then the UE transmitted the partial CSI report in the second time occasion due to the MCS exceeding the threshold)) is based at least in part on the second resource configuration (Fig. 5 – 515; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration... indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled); [0157]; [0160];), and
wherein a first length of the first periodicity is different from a second length of the second periodicity ([0075] In cases in which the CSI feedback includes partial-bandwidth CSI feedback, the UE 115 may indicate CSI feedback for one or more particular sub-bands (e.g., that the UE 115 and/or the base station may have identified as more relevant and/or that may more rapidly vary) and not indicate CSI feedback for one or more other sub-bands. In this way, the UE 115 may provide the base station 105 the relatively most pertinent CSI feedback information while conserving an amount of signaling overhead by signaling fewer bits than full-band CSI reporting; [0090] The UE may, for example, be configured with a relatively longer periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is unlikely to substantially vary at less than the periodicity, or the UE may be configured with a relatively shorter periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is likely to vary more rapidly (hence the second periodicity transmitting the partial CSI reports is different in length than the first periodicity)).
Regarding claim 8, CHEN further discloses:
the channel state information report configuration ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station, a condition that the UE or the base station detects, such as a high CQI variation) indicates a plurality of resources ([0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources; [0160] the UE may transmit the CSI report to the base station... the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the CSI report may be transmitted) for receiving the first signaling and the second signaling (Fig. 5- 505; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs), and
the plurality of resources are periodic resources or semi-persistent resources ([0099]; [0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots), wherein receiving first signaling and second signaling ([0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs) further comprises:
receiving the first signaling over a first one or more resources of the plurality of resources and the second signaling over a second one or more resources of the plurality of resources ([0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources) based at least in part on the channel state information report configuration ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; (UE is configured with semi-persistent CSI reporting, hence the reference signals are transmitted periodically so that the UE can transmit the CSI report periodically)).
Regarding claims 9 and 26, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the quantity of channel state information reports comprises ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station) a channel state information report group ([0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled), and the quantity of channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting) is identified based at least in part on a channel state information report group size ([0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enable) indicated by the channel state information report configuration ([0099]; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled (e.g., according to a previous configuration)... Additionally or alternatively, the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly).
Regarding claim 10, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the channel state information report configuration ([0099]; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled (e.g., according to a previous configuration)) further indicates for each partial channel state information report included in the channel state information report group to be associated with the full channel state information report (Fig. 4; [0109] for a bandwidth configured with 5 sub-bands (e.g., according to a configured granularity), full-band CSI feedback may include CSI feedback for each of the 5 sub-bands, whereas partial-band CSI feedback may include CSI feedback for a subset of the 5 sub-bands (e.g., one or more indicated sub-bands from the 5 sub-bands); [0104] The payload size table 400 includes a column 405 showing the payload size according to full-band CSI reporting (as similarly shown in FIG. 3), a column 410 showing the payload size according the techniques described herein using CSI reports including coefficients for one sub-band per CSI report (as described, e.g., with reference to FIG. 3A), and a column 415 showing the payload size according the techniques described herein using CSI reports including coefficients for five sub-bands (as described, e.g., with reference to FIG. 3B)... the techniques described herein provide a reduction in the total payload sizes for CSI feedback relative to full-band CSI reporting) or a preceding partial channel state information report, and
generating (Fig. 5 - 525) the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook... The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) is based at least in part on the channel state information report configuration ([0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled (e.g., according to a previous configuration)).
Regarding claim 12, CHEN further discloses:
wherein generating (Fig. 5 - 525) the full channel state information report and the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) comprises:
receiving first signaling and second signaling (Fig. 5 - 505) over a channel for the wireless communication at the UE (Fig. 2, 5; [0105] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a process flow 500 that supports partial-bandwidth feedback for beam combination codebooks... the process flow 500 may implement aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or the wireless communications system 200, as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2), the second signaling being received at the UE subsequent to the first signaling ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (UE is configured with semi-persistent CSI reporting, hence the reference signals are transmitted periodically (e.g., subsequently) so that the UE can transmit the CSI report periodically)); and
generating (Fig. 5 -525) the full channel state information report based at least in part on the second signaling (Fig. 5 - 505) and a first partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0115] the UE 115-b may encode the CSI report, for example, the UE 115-b may separately encode first portion and the second portion of the CSI report... The UE 115-b may transmit each of the encoded codewords) based at least in part on the first signaling (Fig. 5 – 505; [0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook).
Regarding claim 16, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the full channel state information report (Fig. 5 – 530; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) further comprises a set of frequency domain basis functions ([0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)... The active bandwidth may be a full bandwidth (e.g., a full bandwidth of a carrier configured for communication) or a BWP (e.g., a subset of the full carrier bandwidth) over which a UE is configured to communicate with a respective base station. For example, the UE may be configured to communication over a carrier including multiple BWPs, where a single BWP is active for the UE for the carrier at a given time; [0032] a user equipment (UE) may report channel state information (CSI) feedback to a base station for multiple discrete Fourier transform (DFT) beams. The frequency domain of the DFT beams may span a bandwidth part (BWP), which may include one or more sub-bands according to a granularity configured at the UE or the base station. Based on the CSI feedback, the base station may construct a precoding matrix and may precode transmissions over the multiple DFT beams), and
the set of channel coefficients (Fig. 4 - 405; [0084] the CSI report 305-a may include a first portion 310-a and a second portion 315-b. The first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may include... an indication of a number of beams per layer having non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients. The second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a may include PMI value(s) corresponding to beams having a non-zero wideband amplitude coefficient, as indicated in the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a; [0087] According to the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a indicating full-band CSI feedback, the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a may use the indicated number of bits to indicate the determined wideband amplitude scaling factor, sub-band amplitude scaling factor for each sub-band, and/or the beam combining coefficients for each sub-band (e.g., phase or co-phase feedback)) comprises a set of spatial frequency domain channel coefficients ([0084] the CSI report 305-a may include a first portion 310-a and a second portion 315-b. The first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may include... an indication of a number of beams per layer having non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients) associated with the set of spatial domain basis functions and the set of frequency domain basis functions ([0084] first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may include... an indication of a number of beams per layer having non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients; [0086] whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)).
Regarding claim 17, CHEN further discloses:
wherein a position of each differential channel coefficient ([0075] The CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion, where the first portion of the CSI report may indicate whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion of the CSI report... The second portion (e.g., position or place) of the CSI report may provide CSI feedback for one or more identified sub-bands or for the wideband. In cases in which the CSI feedback includes partial-bandwidth CSI feedback, the UE 115 may indicate CSI feedback for one or more particular sub-bands (e.g., that the UE 115 and/or the base station may have identified as more relevant and/or that may more rapidly vary) and not indicate CSI feedback for one or more other sub-bands) of a set of differential channel coefficients corresponds ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)) to a same position or a different position as a respective spatial frequency domain channel coefficient of the set of spatial frequency domain channel coefficients ([0084] the CSI report 305-a may include a first portion 310-a and a second portion 315-b. The first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may include... an indication of a number of beams per layer having non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients. The second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a may include PMI value(s) corresponding to beams having a non-zero wideband amplitude coefficient, as indicated in the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a).
Regarding claim 18, CHEN discloses:
A method for wireless communication at a network entity (Fig. 1, 5; Abstract - Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. In some systems, a user equipment (UE) may perform channel state information (CSI) measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions received from a base station; [0068] Devices of the wireless communications system 100 (e.g., base stations 105 or UEs 115) may have a hardware configuration that supports communications over a particular carrier bandwidth, or may be configurable to support communications over one of a set of carrier bandwidths. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may include base stations 105 and/or UEs 115 that support simultaneous communications via carriers associated with more than one different carrier bandwidth), comprising:
outputting (Fig. 5) a message that indicates a channel state information report configuration that identifies a quantity of channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station, a condition that the UE or the base station detects, such as a high CQI variation; [0107] At 510, the UE 115-b may perform CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions received from the base station 105-b at 505 via the one or more beams. In some cases, performing CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions may include determining information indicating a RI, a CQI, and/or a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer; [0108] At 515, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b... the CSI feedback configuration may indicate whether partial CSI feedback is enabled for the beam combination codebook. In some cases, the CSI feedback configuration may further indicate a maximum number of sub-bands for partial CSI feedback in a CSI report) to be transmitted by a user equipment (UE) ([0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth. In some cases, the CSI report may include indicators of one or more beam parameters (e.g., amplitude, phase, co-phase, etc.) for respective sub-bands); and
obtaining the quantity of channel state information reports (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting), wherein the quantity of channel state information reports comprises a full channel state information report (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) that includes at least a set of spatial domain basis functions ([0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)... The active bandwidth may be a full bandwidth (e.g., a full bandwidth of a carrier configured for communication) or a BWP (e.g., a subset of the full carrier bandwidth) over which a UE is configured to communicate with a respective base station. For example, the UE may be configured to communication over a carrier including multiple BWPs, where a single BWP is active for the UE for the carrier at a given time; [0032] a user equipment (UE) may report channel state information (CSI) feedback to a base station for multiple discrete Fourier transform (DFT) beams. The frequency domain of the DFT beams may span a bandwidth part (BWP), which may include one or more sub-bands according to a granularity configured at the UE or the base station. Based on the CSI feedback, the base station may construct a precoding matrix and may precode transmissions over the multiple DFT beams) and a set of channel coefficients associated with the set of spatial domain basis functions (Fig. 4 - 405; [0077] The UE 115-a may measure one or more CSI reference signals from the base station 105-a...The UE 115-a may utilize CSI measurements from the one or more antenna ports to determine one or more coefficients (e.g., a wideband beam amplitude scaling factor, a sub-band beam amplitude scaling factor, a beam combining coefficient, etc.) corresponding to a precoding matrix W and to generate a bit representation of each coefficient. Each coefficient may be associated with a set of possible coefficient values for different beam, polarity, and layer combinations. In general, the UE 115-a may choose the set of beams for which the UE 115-a generates the coefficients and provide feedback based on a beam combination codebook) and one or more partial channel state information reports ([0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes... partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) that each include a respective set of differential channel coefficients (Fig. 4 – 410, 415; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)).
Regarding claim 19, CHEN further discloses:
outputting (Fig. 5 - 505) first signaling and second signaling over a channel for wireless communications with the UE (Fig.2; Fig. 5- 505; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs), the second signaling being output subsequent to the first signaling ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [00106] one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (UE is configured with semi-persistent CSI reporting, hence the reference signals are transmitted periodically (e.g., subsequently) so that the UE can transmit the CSI report periodically)),
wherein the full channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 525) is based at least in part on the first signaling ([0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook) and
a first partial channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 525) of the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth; [0115] the UE 115-b may encode the CSI report, for example, the UE 115-b may separately encode first portion and the second portion of the CSI report... The UE 115-b may transmit each of the encoded codewords) is based at least in part on the second signaling ([0153]; [0109];), and
wherein the full channel state information report is obtained (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting) over a first time occasion and the first partial channel state information report is obtained over a second time occasion subsequent to the first time occasion ([0092] the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold (hence the UE transmitted the full CSI report in the first time occasion and then the UE transmitted the partial CSI report in the second time occasion due to the MCS exceeding the threshold)).
Regarding claim 23, CHEN further discloses:
outputting another message configuring the UE ([0092] the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station)) with a first one or more resources ([0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources; [0160] the UE may transmit the CSI report to the base station. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the CSI report may be transmitted, and the UE may encode and modulate the bits that indicate the CSI report to transmit the encoded and modulated bits over the identified time-frequency resources) for transmitting (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting) the full channel state information report over the first time occasion and a second one or more resources ([0160];) for transmitting the first partial channel state information report over the second time occasion ([0092] if partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold (hence the UE transmitted the full CSI report in the first time occasion and then the UE transmitted the partial CSI report in the second time occasion due to the MCS exceeding the threshold)).
Regarding claim 24, CHEN further discloses:
outputting a first resource configuration (Fig. 2; Fig. 5 – 515; [0135] The CSI report generator 815 may generate the CSI report based on the CSI feedback configuration; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly) indicating a first periodicity for transmitting, by the UE, a plurality of full channel state information reports ([0138] The CSI report transmission manager 820 may transmit the CSI report to the base station... the CSI report transmission manager 820 may transmit one or more signals 870 including information corresponding to the CSI report using a set of resources (e.g., configured time, frequency, and/or spatial resources); [0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots. The UE may, for example, be configured with a relatively longer periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is unlikely to substantially vary at less than the periodicity, or the UE may be configured with a relatively shorter periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is likely to vary more rapidly), wherein the plurality of full channel state information reports comprises the full channel state information report ([0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots; [0086] In some cases, the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) or partial-band CSI feedback of the active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for a subset of sub-bands of the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)), and
wherein obtaining the full channel state information report over the first time occasion (Fig. 5 – 530; [0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b, and the base station 105-b may receive from the UE 115-b, the CSI report, as the UE 115-b may have generated at 520) is based at least in part on the first resource configuration (Fig. 5 – 515; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly; [0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources; [0160] the UE may transmit the CSI report to the base station. For example, the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the CSI report may be transmitted, and the UE may encode and modulate the bits that indicate the CSI report to transmit the encoded and modulated bits over the identified time-frequency resources); and
outputting a second resource configuration (Fig. 5 – 515; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling) indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly) indicating a second periodicity for transmitting, by the UE, the one or more partial channel state information reports ([0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots. The UE may, for example, be configured with a relatively longer periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is unlikely to substantially vary at less than the periodicity, or the UE may be configured with a relatively shorter periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is likely to vary more rapidly), wherein obtaining the first partial channel state information report over the second time occasion (Fig. 5 – 530; [0092] if partial-band CSI feedback is enabled, the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold (hence the UE transmitted the full CSI report in the first time occasion and then the UE transmitted the partial CSI report in the second time occasion due to the MCS exceeding the threshold)) is based at least in part on the second resource configuration (Fig. 5 – 515; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting... the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration... indicating whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled), and
wherein a first length of the first periodicity is different from a second length of the second periodicity ([0075] In cases in which the CSI feedback includes partial-bandwidth CSI feedback, the UE 115 may indicate CSI feedback for one or more particular sub-bands (e.g., that the UE 115 and/or the base station may have identified as more relevant and/or that may more rapidly vary) and not indicate CSI feedback for one or more other sub-bands. In this way, the UE 115 may provide the base station 105 the relatively most pertinent CSI feedback information while conserving an amount of signaling overhead by signaling fewer bits than full-band CSI reporting; [0090] The UE may, for example, be configured with a relatively longer periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is unlikely to substantially vary at less than the periodicity, or the UE may be configured with a relatively shorter periodicity if the value for the CSI report 305-a is likely to vary more rapidly (hence the second periodicity transmitting the partial CSI reports is different in length than the first periodicity)).
Regarding claim 25, CHEN further discloses:
the channel state information report configuration ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station, a condition that the UE or the base station detects, such as a high CQI variation) indicates a plurality of resources ([0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources; [0160] the UE may transmit the CSI report to the base station... the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the CSI report may be transmitted) for receiving the first signaling and the second signaling (Fig. 5- 505; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs), and
the plurality of resources are periodic resources or semi-persistent resources ([0099]; [0090] In the case of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-a to the base station periodically at a certain periodicity (e.g., a number of slots). For example, the UE may be configured with a periodicity selected from the set of {5, 10, 20, 30, 80, 160, 320} slots), wherein outputting first signaling and second signaling ([0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs) further comprises:
outputting the first signaling over a first one or more resources of the plurality of resources and the second signaling over a second one or more resources of the plurality of resources ([0157] the UE may identify time-frequency resources over which the reference signals may be communicated (e.g., from the base station to the UE), and the UE may receive the reference signals over the identified time-frequency resources) based at least in part on the channel state information report configuration ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; (UE is configured with semi-persistent CSI reporting, hence the reference signals are transmitted periodically so that the UE can transmit the CSI report periodically)).
Regarding claim 27, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the channel state information report configuration ([0099]; [0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled (e.g., according to a previous configuration)) further indicates for each partial channel state information report included in the channel state information report group to be associated with the full channel state information report (Fig. 4; [0109] for a bandwidth configured with 5 sub-bands (e.g., according to a configured granularity), full-band CSI feedback may include CSI feedback for each of the 5 sub-bands, whereas partial-band CSI feedback may include CSI feedback for a subset of the 5 sub-bands (e.g., one or more indicated sub-bands from the 5 sub-bands); [0104] The payload size table 400 includes a column 405 showing the payload size according to full-band CSI reporting (as similarly shown in FIG. 3), a column 410 showing the payload size according the techniques described herein using CSI reports including coefficients for one sub-band per CSI report (as described, e.g., with reference to FIG. 3A), and a column 415 showing the payload size according the techniques described herein using CSI reports including coefficients for five sub-bands (as described, e.g., with reference to FIG. 3B)... the techniques described herein provide a reduction in the total payload sizes for CSI feedback relative to full-band CSI reporting) or a preceding partial channel state information report, and
the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook... The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) are based at least in part on the channel state information report configuration ([0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled (e.g., according to a previous configuration)).
Regarding claim 28, CHEN further discloses:
outputting first signaling and second signaling (Fig. 5 - 505) over a channel for wireless communications with the UE (Fig. 2, 5; [0105] FIG. 5 illustrates an example of a process flow 500 that supports partial-bandwidth feedback for beam combination codebooks... the process flow 500 may implement aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or the wireless communications system 200, as described with reference to FIGS. 1 and 2), the second signaling being output subsequent to the first signaling ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (UE is configured with semi-persistent CSI reporting, hence the reference signals are transmitted periodically (e.g., subsequently) so that the UE can transmit the CSI report periodically)),
wherein the full channel state information report is based at least in part on the second signaling (Fig. 5 – 505, 525) and a first partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0115] the UE 115-b may encode the CSI report, for example, the UE 115-b may separately encode first portion and the second portion of the CSI report... The UE 115-b may transmit each of the encoded codewords) is based at least in part on the first signaling (Fig. 5 – 505; [0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook).
Regarding claim 29, CHEN discloses:
A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (Fig. 1, 5, 9; Abstract - Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. In some systems, a user equipment (UE) may perform channel state information (CSI) measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions received from a base station), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 9);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 9); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Fig. 9; [0144] The device 905 may be an example of or include... or a UE 115... memory 930, and a processor 940; [0150]The processor 940 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 930) to cause the device 905 to perform various functions) to cause the UE to:
receive (Fig. 5) a message that indicates a channel state information report configuration that identifies a quantity of channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station, a condition that the UE or the base station detects, such as a high CQI variation; [0107] At 510, the UE 115-b may perform CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions received from the base station 105-b at 505 via the one or more beams. In some cases, performing CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions may include determining information indicating a RI, a CQI, and/or a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer; [0108] At 515, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b... the CSI feedback configuration may indicate whether partial CSI feedback is enabled for the beam combination codebook. In some cases, the CSI feedback configuration may further indicate a maximum number of sub-bands for partial CSI feedback in a CSI report) to be transmitted by the UE ([0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth. In some cases, the CSI report may include indicators of one or more beam parameters (e.g., amplitude, phase, co-phase, etc.) for respective sub-bands);
generate (Fig. 5 - 525), based at least in part on the channel state information report configuration (Fig. 5 – 505, 515; [0099];), a full channel state information report and one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)),
wherein the full channel state information report (Fig. 3A-B; [0112];) includes at least a set of spatial domain basis functions ([0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)... The active bandwidth may be a full bandwidth (e.g., a full bandwidth of a carrier configured for communication) or a BWP (e.g., a subset of the full carrier bandwidth) over which a UE is configured to communicate with a respective base station. For example, the UE may be configured to communication over a carrier including multiple BWPs, where a single BWP is active for the UE for the carrier at a given time; [0032] a user equipment (UE) may report channel state information (CSI) feedback to a base station for multiple discrete Fourier transform (DFT) beams. The frequency domain of the DFT beams may span a bandwidth part (BWP), which may include one or more sub-bands according to a granularity configured at the UE or the base station. Based on the CSI feedback, the base station may construct a precoding matrix and may precode transmissions over the multiple DFT beams) and a set of channel coefficients associated with the set of spatial domain basis functions (Fig. 4 - 405; [0077] The UE 115-a may measure one or more CSI reference signals from the base station 105-a...The UE 115-a may utilize CSI measurements from the one or more antenna ports to determine one or more coefficients (e.g., a wideband beam amplitude scaling factor, a sub-band beam amplitude scaling factor, a beam combining coefficient, etc.) corresponding to a precoding matrix W and to generate a bit representation of each coefficient. Each coefficient may be associated with a set of possible coefficient values for different beam, polarity, and layer combinations. In general, the UE 115-a may choose the set of beams for which the UE 115-a generates the coefficients and provide feedback based on a beam combination codebook), and
wherein the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled... whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) or partial-band CSI feedback of the active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for a subset of sub-bands of the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) each include a respective set of differential channel coefficients (Fig. 4 – 410, 415; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)); and
transmit (Fig. 5 – 530) the quantity of channel state information reports ([0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b, and the base station 105-b may receive from the UE 115-b, the CSI report; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting), wherein the quantity of channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook... In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion) comprises the full channel state information report and the one or more partial channel state information reports (Fig. 3A; [0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b... the CSI report, as the UE 115-b may have generated at 520. In some cases, the UE 115-b may encode the CSI report, for example, the UE 115-b may separately encode first portion and the second portion of the CSI report; [0092] the UE may be configured with a particular modulation and coding scheme (MCS) for the CSI feedback, and the configured MCS may indicate a code rate to be used. According to the code for the configured MCS, the UE may determine to report full-band CSI feedback based on a code rate for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a not satisfying (e.g., being below or below or equal to) an associated threshold (e.g., a code rate threshold that may be predefined or configured by the base station). If, for example, the code rate for the configured MCS exceeds the associated threshold, the UE may use partial-band CSI feedback until the UE uses a subsequent configuration with a code rate that is below the threshold).
Regarding claim 30, CHEN discloses:
A network entity for wireless communication (Fig. 1, 5, 9; Abstract - Methods, systems, and devices for wireless communications are described. In some systems, a user equipment (UE) may perform channel state information (CSI) measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions received from a base station; [0068] Devices of the wireless communications system 100 (e.g., base stations 105 or UEs 115) may have a hardware configuration that supports communications over a particular carrier bandwidth, or may be configurable to support communications over one of a set of carrier bandwidths. In some examples, the wireless communications system 100 may include base stations 105 and/or UEs 115 that support simultaneous communications via carriers associated with more than one different carrier bandwidth), comprising:
a processor (Fig. 9);
memory coupled with the processor (Fig. 9); and
instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor (Fig. 9; [0144] The device 905 may be an example of or include the components of device 605, device 705... memory 930, and a processor 940; [0150]The processor 940 may be configured to execute computer-readable instructions stored in a memory (e.g., the memory 930) to cause the device 905 to perform various functions) to cause the network entity to:
output a message (Fig. 5) that indicates a channel state information report configuration that identifies a quantity of channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station, a condition that the UE or the base station detects, such as a high CQI variation; [0107] At 510, the UE 115-b may perform CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions received from the base station 105-b at 505 via the one or more beams. In some cases, performing CSI measurements on the one or more reference signal transmissions may include determining information indicating a RI, a CQI, and/or a number of non-zero wideband amplitude coefficients per layer; [0108] At 515, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b... the CSI feedback configuration may indicate whether partial CSI feedback is enabled for the beam combination codebook. In some cases, the CSI feedback configuration may further indicate a maximum number of sub-bands for partial CSI feedback in a CSI report) to be transmitted by a user equipment (UE) ([0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth. In some cases, the CSI report may include indicators of one or more beam parameters (e.g., amplitude, phase, co-phase, etc.) for respective sub-bands); and
obtain the quantity of channel state information reports (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting), wherein the quantity of channel state information reports comprises a full channel state information report (Fig. 3A; [0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of the active bandwidth (full CSI report) or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) that includes at least a set of spatial domain basis functions ([0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)... The active bandwidth may be a full bandwidth (e.g., a full bandwidth of a carrier configured for communication) or a BWP (e.g., a subset of the full carrier bandwidth) over which a UE is configured to communicate with a respective base station. For example, the UE may be configured to communication over a carrier including multiple BWPs, where a single BWP is active for the UE for the carrier at a given time; [0032] a user equipment (UE) may report channel state information (CSI) feedback to a base station for multiple discrete Fourier transform (DFT) beams. The frequency domain of the DFT beams may span a bandwidth part (BWP), which may include one or more sub-bands according to a granularity configured at the UE or the base station. Based on the CSI feedback, the base station may construct a precoding matrix and may precode transmissions over the multiple DFT beams) and a set of channel coefficients associated with the set of spatial domain basis functions (Fig. 4 - 405; [0077] The UE 115-a may measure one or more CSI reference signals from the base station 105-a...The UE 115-a may utilize CSI measurements from the one or more antenna ports to determine one or more coefficients (e.g., a wideband beam amplitude scaling factor, a sub-band beam amplitude scaling factor, a beam combining coefficient, etc.) corresponding to a precoding matrix W and to generate a bit representation of each coefficient. Each coefficient may be associated with a set of possible coefficient values for different beam, polarity, and layer combinations. In general, the UE 115-a may choose the set of beams for which the UE 115-a generates the coefficients and provide feedback based on a beam combination codebook) and one or more partial channel state information reports ([0112] At 525, the UE 115-b may generate the CSI report for a beam combination codebook (e.g., a Type II codebook, such as an NR Type II codebook) for the one or more beams. In some cases, the CSI report may include a first portion and a second portion. The first portion may include an indication of whether the second portion includes... partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth (partial CSI report)) that each include a respective set of differential channel coefficients (Fig. 4 – 410, 415; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-4, 7, 13-14 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of HAO et al. (WO2020151612A1, filed in IDS, hereinafter, HAO).
Regarding claims 3 and 20, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the first partial channel state information report (Fig. 3A-B; [0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of whether partial-band feedback is enabled for the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a—that is, whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth... or partial-band CSI feedback of the active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for a subset of sub-bands of the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP)) includes a first set of differential channel coefficients ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)) and each differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to a respective channel coefficient ([0086] whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) or partial-band CSI feedback of the active bandwidth (e.g., CSI feedback for a subset of sub-bands of the full radio-frequency spectrum bandwidth or BWP) (the partial CSI report includes a subset of the subband of the full CSI report); [0104] The payload size table 400 includes a column 405 showing the payload size according to full-band CSI reporting (as similarly shown in FIG. 3), a column 410 showing the payload size according the techniques described herein using CSI reports including coefficients for one sub-band per CSI report (as described, e.g., with reference to FIG. 3A), and a column 415 showing the payload size according the techniques described herein using CSI reports including coefficients for five sub-bands (as described, e.g., with reference to FIG. 3B)) of the set of channel coefficients (Fig. 4; Fig. 4 - 405; [0086] the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a may further include an indication of... whether the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a includes full-band CSI feedback of an active bandwidth; [0077] The UE 115-a may measure one or more CSI reference signals from the base station 105-a...The UE 115-a may utilize CSI measurements from the one or more antenna ports to determine one or more coefficients (e.g., a wideband beam amplitude scaling factor, a sub-band beam amplitude scaling factor, a beam combining coefficient, etc.) corresponding to a precoding matrix W and to generate a bit representation of each coefficient. Each coefficient may be associated with a set of possible coefficient values for different beam, polarity, and layer combinations. In general, the UE 115-a may choose the set of beams for which the UE 115-a generates the coefficients and provide feedback based on a beam combination codebook).
CHEN does not explicitly disclose the each differential channel coefficient corresponds to a first channel coefficient difference relative to the respective channel coefficient.
However, HAO discloses each differential channel coefficient (Fig. 7 – 708 coefficients report) corresponds to a first channel coefficient difference relative to a respective channel coefficient (Fig. 7 - 704; [0070] transmitting the first CSI report can include transmitting a partial CSI report... where the partial CSI report can be an update of a portion of a previously-transmitted full CSI report, where the full CSI report includes one or more additional beams and additional corresponding bases (e.g., all beams/bases for the precoder); [0090] For beam-specific basis selection from an intermediate subset, this report can include an update of the intermediate subset (e.g., without including updates for other beams/bases in the full set). A second aperiodic CSI report is sent for coefficient report... if UE receives an aperiodic CSI report configuration for coefficient report only, the UE can report coefficient associated with the most recent CSI report containing beam/basis report in subsequently triggered reports).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the each differential channel coefficient corresponds to the first channel coefficient relative to the respective channel coefficient of CHEN to include the each differential channel coefficient corresponds to the first channel coefficient relative to the respective channel coefficient as taught by HAO in order to reduce overhead when transmitting the CSI reports (HAO - [0090] In the examples described above, a first aperiodic CSI report trigger can be for either of a full CSI report for all beams/bases for the precoder (e.g., which may be carried by PUSCH due to increased payload capacity) or a report of an intermediate subset of beam/basis selection (which can be carried by either PUCCH or PUSCH); [0044] transmit CSI reports for coefficients separately from beam (s) and basis (es) to facilitate reducing overhead in CSI reporting for certain precoders; CHEN – [0004] The amount of feedback generated by and received from the receiving wireless device may increase with the number of beams, layers, and sub-bands over which a beamformed transmission is transmitted. As the amount of feedback increases, the overhead of providing the feedback may result in reduced efficiency or excess latency in the communications for the wireless device; [0005] a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
Regarding claims 4 and 21, CHEN further discloses:
wherein a number of bits used to represent each differential channel coefficient in the first partial channel state information report ([0088] N.sub.max,sub may be 18, and thus the number of bits may be five (5). The number of bits may be a binary indication of an index corresponding to the identified sub-band or wideband. For example, the UE may set the five bits to values of: “00001” to indicate that the CSI feedback is for a first sub-band, “00010” to indicate that the CSI feedback is for a second sub-band) having a non-zero value is less than a number of bits used to represent respective channel coefficients in the full channel state information report ([0075] In cases in which the CSI feedback includes partial-bandwidth CSI feedback, the UE 115 may indicate CSI feedback for one or more particular sub-bands (e.g., that the UE 115 and/or the base station may have identified as more relevant and/or that may more rapidly vary) and not indicate CSI feedback for one or more other sub-bands. In this way, the UE 115 may provide the base station 105 the relatively most pertinent CSI feedback information while conserving an amount of signaling overhead by signaling fewer bits than full-band CSI reporting).
Regarding claim 13, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the first signaling and the second signaling (Fig. 505) comprise a reference signal transmission group ([0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (hence reference signal transmission group)), and wherein transmitting the quantity of channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station) comprises:
transmitting (Fig. 5 – 530) the full channel state information report and the first partial channel state information report ([0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b, and the base station 105-b may receive from the UE 115-b, the CSI report, as the UE 115-b may have generated at 520; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth) for the reference signal transmission group (Fig. 5 – 505; [0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook).
CHEN does not explicitly disclose transmitting the full channel state information report and the first partial channel state information report in a group report.
However, HAO discloses transmitting a full channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 504) and a first partial channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 506) in a group report ([0076] FIG. 5... At 502, a semi-persistent/periodic CSI report trigger 502 can be transmitted to the UE 104. As described, for example, the CSI report trigger 502 may indicate a reporting configuration and/or other reporting parameters (e.g., a set of beams for which to report CSI) , etc. For example, the reporting configuration may specify a first periodicity for transmitting CSI for beams/bases and a second periodicity for transmitting CSI for coefficients only (CSI report trigger transmitting the CSI reports at the first periodicity and the second periodicity, hence a group report). At 504, the UE can transmit a first CSI report including CSI for beams, bases, and coefficients, where a time at which the first CSI report is sent at 504 can be based on the first periodicity. At 506 and 508, the UE can then transmit second and third CSI reports, respectively, for coefficients only, where a time at which the CSI reports are sent at 506, 508 can be based on the second periodicity. In addition, the coefficients can be based on the beams/bases for which CSI is reported at 504).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify transmitting the full channel state information report and the first partial channel state information report of CHEN to include transmitting the full channel state information report and the first partial channel state information report in the group report as taught by HAO in order to reduce overhead when transmitting the CSI reports (HAO - [0090] In the examples described above, a first aperiodic CSI report trigger can be for either of a full CSI report for all beams/bases for the precoder (e.g., which may be carried by PUSCH due to increased payload capacity) or a report of an intermediate subset of beam/basis selection (which can be carried by either PUCCH or PUSCH); [0044] transmit CSI reports for coefficients separately from beam (s) and basis (es) to facilitate reducing overhead in CSI reporting for certain precoders; CHEN – [0004] The amount of feedback generated by and received from the receiving wireless device may increase with the number of beams, layers, and sub-bands over which a beamformed transmission is transmitted. As the amount of feedback increases, the overhead of providing the feedback may result in reduced efficiency or excess latency in the communications for the wireless device; [0005] a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
Regarding claim 14, CHEN further discloses:
wherein the channel state information report configuration ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station) comprises an indication of the reference signal transmission group (Fig. 5 – 505; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (hence reference signal transmission group)), and the quantity of channel state information reports is identified based at least in part on a size of the reference signal transmission group ([0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled (e.g., according to a previous configuration); [0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook).
Claims 5, 15, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN in view of HAO and in further view of Hindy et al. (US 20230344485 A1, hereinafter, HINDY).
Regarding claim 5, CHEN further discloses:
receiving third signaling over the channel for the wireless communication at the UE ([0111] In some cases, the UE 115-b may identify a trigger for transmitting the CSI report to the base station 105-b (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station 105-b and/or a condition that the UE 115-b or the base station 105-b detects, such as a high CQI variation));
generating a second partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0098] In some cases, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the wideband in one instance and not in subsequent instances (e.g., this feedback may not substantially change in subsequent instances for a low-tier UE). Similarly, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the one or more sub-bands in one instance and not in subsequent instances),
wherein the second partial channel state information report includes a second set of differential channel coefficients ([0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)) and each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients ([0093]); and
transmitting the second partial channel state information report over a third time ([0111]; [0098] In some cases, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the wideband in one instance and not in subsequent instances (e.g., this feedback may not substantially change in subsequent instances for a low-tier UE). Similarly, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the one or more sub-bands in one instance and not in subsequent instances).
CHEN does not explicitly disclose:
the third signaling being received subsequent to the second signaling;
the second partial channel state information report is based at least in part on the third signaling;
wherein the each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to a second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients; and
the third time occasion is transmitted subsequent to the second time occasion.
However, HAO discloses a third signaling (Fig. 7 - 710) being received subsequent to a second signaling (Fig. 7 - 706);
a second partial channel state information report is based at least in part on the third signaling (Fig. 7 – 712);
wherein each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to a second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of an initial set of differential channel coefficients [0091] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a signaling timeline 700 for reporting aperiodic CSI... At 710, a third aperiodic CSI report trigger can be transmitted to the UE 104. As described, for example, the third CSI report trigger 710 may indicate a reporting configuration and/or other reporting parameters for reporting CSI for coefficients only, which may include an indication of resources to use for transmitting CSI for the coefficients. At 712, the UE can then transmit a third CSI report for coefficients only based on the third trigger. In addition, the coefficients can be based on the beams/bases for which CSI is reported at 704 where the third CSI report trigger 710 can represent an implicit indicator to report CSI for coefficients related to the beams/bases for which CSI is previously reported); and
a third time occasion (Fig. 7 - 712) is transmitted subsequent to a second time occasion (Fig. 7 - 708).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the third signaling, the second partial channel state information report, each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients and the third time occasion of CHEN to include the third signaling being received subsequent to the second signaling, the second partial channel state information report is based at least in part on the third signaling, wherein the each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to the second channel coefficient difference relative to the respective differential channel coefficient of the initial set of differential channel coefficients and
the third time occasion is transmitted subsequent to the second time occasion, respectively, as taught by HAO in order to reduce overhead when transmitting the CSI reports (HAO - [0090] In the examples described above, a first aperiodic CSI report trigger can be for either of a full CSI report for all beams/bases for the precoder (e.g., which may be carried by PUSCH due to increased payload capacity) or a report of an intermediate subset of beam/basis selection (which can be carried by either PUCCH or PUSCH); [0044] transmit CSI reports for coefficients separately from beam (s) and basis (es) to facilitate reducing overhead in CSI reporting for certain precoders; CHEN – [0004] The amount of feedback generated by and received from the receiving wireless device may increase with the number of beams, layers, and sub-bands over which a beamformed transmission is transmitted. As the amount of feedback increases, the overhead of providing the feedback may result in reduced efficiency or excess latency in the communications for the wireless device; [0005] a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
CHEN and HAO do not explicitly disclose the second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients.
However, HINDY discloses a second channel coefficient difference to a differential channel coefficient of a first set of differential channel coefficients ([0121] In certain embodiments, sub-band (“SB”) CQI values for each CQI sub-band index w may be reported in a similar manner (e.g., reporting sub-band differential CQI values... for full-rank transmission... to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+2... a sub-band differential CQI values... to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, CSI report 2(t*−1)+1, or both; [0131] a reported CQI value may correspond to precoding matrices (e.g., codebooks) for different layers in more than one CSI report. A sequence of the reports may be generated so that one report may be combined only with one previous report... A sequence of the reports may be generated so that one report may be combined only with one previous report... given a sequence of CSI reports, if only the following CSI report combination pairs are allowed (1,2), (2,3), (1,4), (2,5), (3,6) then we can see that either CSI report 2 or CSI report 3 may be combined with only one previous report (e.g., CSI report 1 and CSI report 2, respectively)... a UE first searches for a precoding matrix of a given CSI report assuming that report is combined with only a previous CSI report in the list and optimizes its corresponding precoding vectors accordingly; [0200] In one embodiment, at least one channel state information report in the set of channel state information reports comprises... at least one bitmap that indicates beams with non-zero coefficients included in the at least one channel state information report... values corresponding to at least one channel quality indicator of the plurality of channel quality indicators are computed in a differential manner with respect to values corresponding to another channel quality indicator in the plurality of channel quality indicators (the values of the channel quality indicator is calculated based on the channel coefficients), and the at least one channel quality indicator that is computed in a differential manner is configured with a channel quality indicator format indicator corresponding to a differential channel quality indicator format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of the initial set of differential channel coefficients and the first set of differential channel coefficients of CHEN and HAO to include the second channel coefficient difference relative to the respective differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients as taught by HINDY in order to further optimize the CSI report by using the data of the previous transmitted CSI report and thus improve transmission accuracy while also keeping the CSI reporting overhead to a minimum (HINDY - [0131]; [0065] smart techniques for CSI feedback reporting may be used such that different reports corresponding to different transmission configurations are jointly designed to reduce the overall CSI feedback overhead for multi-TRP and/or panel transmission; CHEN - [0005] the described techniques provide for reducing feedback overhead of channel state information (CSI) reporting. For example, a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
Regarding claim 15, CHEN further discloses:
receiving third signaling over the channel for the wireless communication at the UE ([0111] In some cases, the UE 115-b may identify a trigger for transmitting the CSI report to the base station 105-b (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station 105-b and/or a condition that the UE 115-b or the base station 105-b detects, such as a high CQI variation)); and
generating a second partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; ([0098] In some cases, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the wideband in one instance and not in subsequent instances (e.g., this feedback may not substantially change in subsequent instances for a low-tier UE). Similarly, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the one or more sub-bands in one instance and not in subsequent instances),
wherein the full channel state information report, the first partial channel state information report, and the second partial channel state information report ([0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth; [0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b); [0098]; [0099];) are transmitted (Fig. 5 – 530; [0115] At 530, the UE 115-b may transmit to the base station 105-b, and the base station 105-b may receive from the UE 115-b, the CSI report, as the UE 115-b may have generated at 520) for the reference signal transmission group (Fig. 5 – 505; [0106] At 505, the base station 105-b may transmit to the UE 115-b, and the UE 115-b may receive from the base station 105-b, one or more reference signals via one or more respective transmit-receive beam pairs (hence reference signal transmission group); [0153] the UE may perform CSI measurements on one or more reference signal transmissions from a base station via one or more beams... To perform the CSI measurements, the UE may then measure CQI associated with each of the reference signals for their respective beams; [0109] At 520, the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback for each one or more sub-bands of an active bandwidth or partial CSI feedback for the active bandwidth... the UE 115-b may determine whether to generate the CSI report including full CSI feedback or partial CSI feedback based on a variation between a wideband CQI measurement and one or more sub-band CQI measurements and/or a variation between a wideband value for the beam combination codebook one or more sub-band values for the beam combination codebook).
CHEN does not explicitly disclose:
the third signaling being received prior to the first signaling and the second signaling,
the second partial channel state information report is based on at least in part of the third signaling,
the full channel state information report, the first partial channel state information report, and the second partial channel state information report are transmitted in the group report; and
wherein a number of bits included in the first partial channel state information report is greater than a number of bits included in the second partial channel state information report.
However, HAO discloses:
a third signaling (Fig. 5 – 502; [0076] FIG. 5... At 502, a semi-persistent/periodic CSI report trigger 502 can be transmitted to the UE 104... At 504, the UE can transmit a first CSI report... be based on the first periodicity... the CSI reports are sent at 506, 508 can be based on the second periodicity) being received prior to a first signaling and a second signaling (Fig. 5 -504, 506; [0007] The method includes receiving a channel state information (CSI) report trigger triggering a reporting configuration for transmitting a CSI report, wherein the reporting configuration indicates a first periodicity for reporting CSI for at least one or more beams and corresponding compression bases and a second periodicity for reporting CSI for a coefficient quantization, receiving a first CSI-reference signal (CSI-RS) transmission, performing a CSI measurement based on the first CSI-RS, transmitting, based on the first periodicity, a first CSI report for at least the one or more beams and corresponding compression bases, receiving a second CSI-RS transmission, performing a second CSI measurement based on the second CSI-RS, and transmitting, based on the second periodicity, a second CSI report for the coefficient quantization for the one or more beams (hence the first and second CSI-RS (e.g., first and second signals) are received after the CSI report trigger (e.g., third signaling))),
a second partial channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 508) is based on at least in part of the third signaling (Fig. 5 - 502),
a full channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 504), a first partial channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 506), and the second partial channel state information report (Fig. 5 - 508) are transmitted in a group report ([0076] FIG. 5... At 502, a semi-persistent/periodic CSI report trigger 502 can be transmitted to the UE 104. As described, for example, the CSI report trigger 502 may indicate a reporting configuration and/or other reporting parameters (e.g., a set of beams for which to report CSI) , etc. For example, the reporting configuration may specify a first periodicity for transmitting CSI for beams/bases and a second periodicity for transmitting CSI for coefficients only (CSI report trigger 502 triggers the transmitting of the CSI reports at the first periodicity and the second periodicity and the third periodicity, hence a group report). At 504, the UE can transmit a first CSI report including CSI for beams, bases, and coefficients, where a time at which the first CSI report is sent at 504 can be based on the first periodicity. At 506 and 508, the UE can then transmit second and third CSI reports, respectively, for coefficients only, where a time at which the CSI reports are sent at 506, 508 can be based on the second periodicity. In addition, the coefficients can be based on the beams/bases for which CSI is reported at 504); and
wherein a first number of bits included in the first partial channel state information report and a second number of bits included in the second partial channel state information report ([0090] In the examples described above, a first aperiodic CSI report trigger can be for either of a full CSI report for all beams/bases for the precoder (e.g., which may be carried by PUSCH due to increased payload capacity) or a report of an intermediate subset of beam/basis selection (which can be carried by either PUCCH or PUSCH); [0044] transmit CSI reports for coefficients separately from beam (s) and basis (es) to facilitate reducing overhead in CSI reporting for certain precoders; [0121] Information and signals may be represented ... For example, data, instructions, commands, information, signals, bits, symbols, and chips that may be referenced throughout the above description).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the third signaling, the second partial channel state information report, the transmission of full channel state information report, the first partial channel state information report, and the second partial channel state information report of CHEN to include the third signaling being received prior to the first signaling and the second signaling, the second partial channel state information report is based on at least in part of the third signaling, the full channel state information report, the first partial channel state information report are transmitted in the group report, and the first number of bits included in the first partial channel state information report and the second number of bits included in the second partial channel state information report as taught by HAO in order to reduce overhead when transmitting the CSI reports (HAO - [0090] In the examples described above, a first aperiodic CSI report trigger can be for either of a full CSI report for all beams/bases for the precoder (e.g., which may be carried by PUSCH due to increased payload capacity) or a report of an intermediate subset of beam/basis selection (which can be carried by either PUCCH or PUSCH); [0044] transmit CSI reports for coefficients separately from beam (s) and basis (es) to facilitate reducing overhead in CSI reporting for certain precoders; CHEN – [0004] The amount of feedback generated by and received from the receiving wireless device may increase with the number of beams, layers, and sub-bands over which a beamformed transmission is transmitted. As the amount of feedback increases, the overhead of providing the feedback may result in reduced efficiency or excess latency in the communications for the wireless device; [0005] a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
CHEN and HAO do explicitly disclose the first number of bits in the first partial channel state information report is greater than the second number of bits in the second partial channel state information report.
However, HINDY discloses a first number of bits in a first channel state information report is greater than a second number of bits in a second partial channel state information report ([0098] In various embodiments, one or more elements or features from different embodiments may be combined (e.g., CSI measurement, feedback generation, and/or reporting) which may reduce overall CSI feedback overhead; [0131] A sequence of the reports may be generated so that one report may be combined only with one previous report... given a sequence of CSI reports, if only the following CSI report combination pairs are allowed (1,2), (2,3), (1,4), (2,5), (3,6) then we can see that either CSI report 2 or CSI report 3 may be combined with only one previous report (e.g., CSI report 1 and CSI report 2, respectively)... a UE first searches for a precoding matrix of a given CSI report assuming that report is combined with only a previous CSI report in the list and optimizes its corresponding precoding vectors accordingly (CSI report 3 is used to further optimize its corresponding precoding vectors that was previously combined with CSI report 2; hence the combined CSI report (1,2) has more overhead (e.g., more bits) than the combined CSI report (2,3) overhead); [0200] In one embodiment, at least one channel state information report in the set of channel state information reports comprises... at least one bitmap that indicates beams with non-zero coefficients included in the at least one channel state information report... values corresponding to at least one channel quality indicator of the plurality of channel quality indicators are computed in a differential manner with respect to values corresponding to another channel quality indicator in the plurality of channel quality indicators, and the at least one channel quality indicator that is computed in a differential manner is configured with a channel quality indicator format indicator corresponding to a differential channel quality indicator format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the first number of bits and second first number of bits of CHEN and HAO to include the first number of bits is greater than the second number of bits as taught by HINDY in order to reduce the CSI reporting overhead (HINDY - [0098] In various embodiments, one or more elements or features from different embodiments may be combined (e.g., CSI measurement, feedback generation, and/or reporting) which may reduce overall CSI feedback overhead; [0131]; CHEN - [0005] the described techniques provide for reducing feedback overhead of channel state information (CSI) reporting. For example, a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
Regarding claim 22, CHEN further discloses:
outputting third signaling over the channel for the wireless communications with the UE ([0111] In some cases, the UE 115-b may identify a trigger for transmitting the CSI report to the base station 105-b (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station 105-b and/or a condition that the UE 115-b or the base station 105-b detects, such as a high CQI variation)); and
obtaining a second partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports ([0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting; [0098] In some cases, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the wideband in one instance and not in subsequent instances (e.g., this feedback may not substantially change in subsequent instances for a low-tier UE). Similarly, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the one or more sub-bands in one instance and not in subsequent instances),
wherein the second partial channel state information report includes a second set of differential channel coefficients ([0093] FIG. 3A, a UE may provide to a base station CSI feedback for a partial bandwidth with multiple sub-band coefficients per corresponding CSI report 305 (e.g., a CSI report 305-b)) and each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients ([0093])); and
wherein the second partial channel state information report is obtained over a third time occasion [0111]; [0098] In some cases, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the wideband in one instance and not in subsequent instances (e.g., this feedback may not substantially change in subsequent instances for a low-tier UE). Similarly, the UE may provide CSI feedback for the one or more sub-bands in one instance and not in subsequent instances).
CHEN does not explicitly disclose:
the third signaling being output subsequent to the second signaling;
the second partial channel state information report is based at least in part on the third signaling;
wherein the each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to a second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients; and
the third occasion is obtained subsequent to the second time occasion.
However, HAO discloses a third signaling (Fig. 3; Fig. 7 - 710) being output subsequent to a second signaling (Fig. 7 - 706);
a second partial channel state information report is based at least in part on the third signaling (Fig. 7 – 712);
wherein each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to a second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of an initial set of differential channel coefficients [0091] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of a signaling timeline 700 for reporting aperiodic CSI... At 710, a third aperiodic CSI report trigger can be transmitted to the UE 104. As described, for example, the third CSI report trigger 710 may indicate a reporting configuration and/or other reporting parameters for reporting CSI for coefficients only, which may include an indication of resources to use for transmitting CSI for the coefficients. At 712, the UE can then transmit a third CSI report for coefficients only based on the third trigger. In addition, the coefficients can be based on the beams/bases for which CSI is reported at 704 where the third CSI report trigger 710 can represent an implicit indicator to report CSI for coefficients related to the beams/bases for which CSI is previously reported); and
a third time occasion (Fig. 7 - 712) is obtained subsequent to a second time occasion (Fig. 7 - 708).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the third signaling, the second partial channel state information report, each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients and the third time occasion of CHEN to include the third signaling being output subsequent to the second signaling, the second partial channel state information report is based at least in part on the third signaling, wherein the each differential channel coefficient of the second set of differential channel coefficients corresponds to the second channel coefficient difference relative to the respective differential channel coefficient of the initial set of differential channel coefficients and
the third time occasion is obtained subsequent to the second time occasion, respectively, as taught by HAO in order to reduce overhead when transmitting the CSI reports (HAO - [0090] In the examples described above, a first aperiodic CSI report trigger can be for either of a full CSI report for all beams/bases for the precoder (e.g., which may be carried by PUSCH due to increased payload capacity) or a report of an intermediate subset of beam/basis selection (which can be carried by either PUCCH or PUSCH); [0044] transmit CSI reports for coefficients separately from beam (s) and basis (es) to facilitate reducing overhead in CSI reporting for certain precoders; CHEN – [0004] The amount of feedback generated by and received from the receiving wireless device may increase with the number of beams, layers, and sub-bands over which a beamformed transmission is transmitted. As the amount of feedback increases, the overhead of providing the feedback may result in reduced efficiency or excess latency in the communications for the wireless device; [0005] a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
CHEN and HAO do not explicitly disclose the second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients.
However, HINDY discloses a second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of a first set of differential channel coefficients ([0121] In certain embodiments, sub-band (“SB”) CQI values for each CQI sub-band index w may be reported in a similar manner (e.g., reporting sub-band differential CQI values... for full-rank transmission... to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+2... a sub-band differential CQI values... to be reported in CSI report 2(t−1)+1, CSI report 2(t*−1)+1, or both; [0131] a reported CQI value may correspond to precoding matrices (e.g., codebooks) for different layers in more than one CSI report. A sequence of the reports may be generated so that one report may be combined only with one previous report... A sequence of the reports may be generated so that one report may be combined only with one previous report... given a sequence of CSI reports, if only the following CSI report combination pairs are allowed (1,2), (2,3), (1,4), (2,5), (3,6) then we can see that either CSI report 2 or CSI report 3 may be combined with only one previous report (e.g., CSI report 1 and CSI report 2, respectively)... a UE first searches for a precoding matrix of a given CSI report assuming that report is combined with only a previous CSI report in the list and optimizes its corresponding precoding vectors accordingly; [0200] In one embodiment, at least one channel state information report in the set of channel state information reports comprises... at least one bitmap that indicates beams with non-zero coefficients included in the at least one channel state information report... values corresponding to at least one channel quality indicator of the plurality of channel quality indicators are computed in a differential manner with respect to values corresponding to another channel quality indicator in the plurality of channel quality indicators (the values of the channel quality indicator is calculated based on the channel coefficients), and the at least one channel quality indicator that is computed in a differential manner is configured with a channel quality indicator format indicator corresponding to a differential channel quality indicator format).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify the second channel coefficient difference relative to a respective differential channel coefficient of the initial set of differential channel coefficients and the first set of differential channel coefficients of CHEN and HAO to include the second channel coefficient difference relative to the respective differential channel coefficient of the first set of differential channel coefficients as taught by HINDY in order to further optimize the CSI report by using the data of the previous transmitted CSI report and thus improve transmission accuracy while also keeping the CSI reporting overhead to a minimum (HINDY - [0131]; [0065] smart techniques for CSI feedback reporting may be used such that different reports corresponding to different transmission configurations are jointly designed to reduce the overall CSI feedback overhead for multi-TRP and/or panel transmission; CHEN - [0005] the described techniques provide for reducing feedback overhead of channel state information (CSI) reporting. For example, a user equipment (UE) may implement partial-band CSI reporting to reduce an amount of overhead for reporting CSI feedback while maintaining a relatively high level of performance).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CHEN.
Regarding claim 11, CHEN further discloses:
a channel state information report of the channel state information report group ([0091] In some cases of semi-persistent CSI reporting, the UE may autonomously determine whether full-band CSI feedback or partial-band CSI feedback is enabled);
transmitting the full channel state information report or the partial channel state information report (Fig. 5 – 530; [0099] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting... In the case of aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the CSI report 305-b without a defined periodicity, for example, based on the occurrence of a trigger (e.g., a request for aperiodic CSI from the base station);
CHEN does not explicitly disclose:
receiving another message indicating a position of the channel state information report to be retransmitted by the UE, wherein the position corresponds to a first position associated with the full channel state information report or a second position associated with a partial channel state information report of the one or more partial channel state information reports; and
retransmitting the full channel state information report or the partial channel state information report based at least in part on the position.
However, CHEN further discloses the wireless communication at the UE may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully by implementing a HARQ feedback. Furthermore, the UE may support same-slot HARQ feedback in order to provide a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot ([0059] The MAC layer may also use hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to provide retransmission at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency; [0060] In some cases, UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. HARQ feedback is one technique of increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. HARQ may include a combination of error detection (e.g., using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC)), forward error correction (FEC), and retransmission (e.g., automatic repeat request (ARQ)). HARQ may improve throughput at the MAC layer in poor radio conditions (e.g., signal-to-noise conditions). In some cases, a wireless device may support same-slot HARQ feedback, where the device may provide HARQ feedback in a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot. In other cases, the device may provide HARQ feedback in a subsequent slot, or according to some other time interval). Thus, CHEN further discloses:
receiving another message indicating a position of a data to be retransmitted by the UE ([0080] the UE 115-a may be configured (e.g., by a base station 105, such as the base station 105-a) with a sub-band size via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC or MAC signaling); [0059] The MAC layer may also use hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) to provide retransmission at the MAC layer to improve link efficiency; [0060] In some cases, UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. HARQ feedback is one technique of increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125. HARQ may include a combination of error detection (e.g., using a cyclic redundancy check (CRC)), forward error correction (FEC), and retransmission (e.g., automatic repeat request (ARQ)). HARQ may improve throughput at the MAC layer in poor radio conditions (e.g., signal-to-noise conditions)), wherein the position corresponds to a first position associated with the data ([0060] a wireless device may support same-slot HARQ feedback, where the device may provide HARQ feedback in a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot. In other cases, the device may provide HARQ feedback in a subsequent slot, or according to some other time interval); and
retransmitting the data based at least in part on the position ([0060] UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data... HARQ may include... retransmission (e.g., automatic repeat request (ARQ))... a wireless device may support same-slot HARQ feedback, where the device may provide HARQ feedback in a specific slot for data received in a previous symbol in the slot; [0091] the base station may transmit to the UE a CSI feedback configuration (e.g., via higher layer signaling, such as RRC signaling or MAC control element (CE) signaling)... which may trigger the UE to enable the indicated CSI reporting scheme accordingly).
Although CHEN does not explicitly disclose implementing the HARQ feedback with the transmission of the channel state information, it is understood that the CSI report transmission is a type of data transmission ([0089] the UE may be configured for semi-persistent and/or aperiodic CSI reporting. In the cases of semi-persistent and aperiodic CSI reporting, the UE may transmit the first portion 310-a of the CSI report 305-a using a control channel (e.g., a PUCCH, such as a long PUCCH) and transmit the second portion 315-a of the CSI report 305-a using a shared channel (e.g., a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH)), and therefore, the implementation of retransmission of the CSI report using the same-slot HARQ feedback would improve the likelihood of the CSI report being received successfully ([0060];).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention was filed to modify transmitting the full channel state information report or the partial channel state information report of CHEN to include receiving the another message indicating the position of the data to be retransmitted by the UE, the position corresponds to the first position associated with the data, and retransmitting the data based at least in part on the position, wherein the full channel state information report or the partial channel state information report are associated with the data in order to implement retransmission of the CSI reports and thereby increase the likelihood that the CSI reports are received successfully in the wireless communication (CHEN – [0060] UEs 115 and base stations 105 may support retransmissions of data to increase the likelihood that data is received successfully. HARQ feedback is one technique of increasing the likelihood that data is received correctly over a communication link 125).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. PTO-892 form.
SUN et al. (US 20250279808 A1) teaches a third CSI report comprising only the combination coefficient PMI reporting component W2 as to not exceed the configured maximum number of bits. The third CSI report is transmitted during a third CSI reporting opportunity.
/THERESA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418