DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters “t1” and “t2” have both been used to designate “thickness” in the specification at Figs. 5a-7 and p. 18 and also to designate “time” in the specification at Fig. 9 and p. 19 and 21.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: AEROSOL GENERATING ARTICLE WITH DELAYED FLAVOUR RELEASE AND METHOD FOR FORMING AEROSOL USING THE SAME.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites a "flavour carrier" having a melting point or glass transition temperature in each of the inner layer and the outer layer, which raises an ambiguity because claim 1 introduces a “first” and “second temperature sensitive carrier”. It is unclear whether the “flavour carrier” of claim 10 refers back to the “first” and “second temperature sensitive carrier” or is introducing a separate carrier. For purposes of this office action, claim 10 is interpreted as each “flavour carrier” referring back to one of the “first” or “second temperature sensitive carrier”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8, 11, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Rees (US 2021/0204594 A1, of record, provided in IDS dated 08/30/2024).
Regarding claim 1, Rees discloses an aerosol generating article for use in an aerosol generating assembly [0002] (which reads on an “aerosol generating article”), which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention:
The article 101 includes a cylindrical rod of aerosolizable material 103 ([0089], Fig. 2) (which reads on an “aerosol substance containing portion”).
The article comprises a filter 109 ([0089], Fig. 2), which as shown in Fig. 2 is spaced apart from the aerosolizable material 103 by a tubular cooling element 107 (which reads on “at least one filter being spaced from the aerosol substance containing portion by a tubular or spacing element”).
The aerosolizable material 103 may have two or more sections 103a, 103b including flavorants which are released upon heating ([0065, 0083-88], Figs. 1-2) (which reads on “at least a first flavour element comprising a first temperature sensitive carrier containing a first flavour; at least a second flavour element comprising a second temperature sensitive carrier containing a second flavour).
The sections 103a, 103b may be configured to provide a multi-modal release of the flavorants, wherein a first flavorant is released initially and then a second flavorant release is staggered after [0043, 0084] (which reads on “wherein the first temperature sensitive carrier is configured to start a release of the first flavour after a first time period upon heating the aerosol generating article during a vaping session and the second temperature sensitive carrier is configured to start a release of the second flavour after a second time period upon heating the aerosol generating article during the same vaping session, and wherein the second time period is delayed from the first time period”). This may be achieved in numerous ways, such as with encapsulation materials having different melting temperatures, encapsulated flavorant compositions with different swelling rates, different ratios of encapsulating/encapsulated material [0044], non-uniform arrangements throughout the aerosol-generating material [0045], individual heating of sections [0065], or encapsulating one flavorant and leaving the other un-encapsulated [0084].
Regarding claim 3, the first and second flavorants may be positioned in different sections of the aerosolizable material [0045] (which reads on “positioned at different locations”) and may have at least similar release temperatures [0044] (which reads on “substantially the same melting point”).
Regarding claim 4, the first and second flavorants may be provided together in a single section [0042] (which reads on “positioned at substantially the same longitudinal location along an air and/or aerosol flowpath of the article”) and may be encapsulated by materials with different melting points [0044] (which reads on “the melting point…of the first temperature sensitive carrier of the first flavour element differs from the melting point…of the second temperature sensitive carrier”).
Regarding claim 5, the first and second flavorants may both be menthol [0083], which reads on the claim language.
Regarding claims 7-8, the encapsulating material may be a wax such as carnauba wax [0048] (which reads on “aliphatic ester-type wax” per claim 7 and “carnauba wax” per claim 8).
Regarding claim 11, one or both of the flavorants may be encapsulated [0042-45], which reads on the claim language.
Regarding claim 13, the first and second flavorants may be located in the sections 103a, 103b of the aerosolizable material 103 [0083-85] (which reads on “wherein at least one of the first or second flavour elements is located in the aerosol substance containing portion”).
Regarding claim 14, Rees discloses a method of generating an aerosol and an aerosol generating article for use in an aerosol generating assembly [0002] (which reads on a “method for forming aerosol in a vaping session with an aerosol generating article”), which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention:
The article 101 includes a cylindrical rod of aerosolizable material 103 ([0089], Fig. 2) (which reads on an “aerosol substance containing portion”).
The article comprises a filter 109 ([0089], Fig. 2), which as shown in Fig. 2 is spaced apart from the aerosolizable material 103 by a tubular cooling element 107 (which reads on “at least a filter being spaced by a tubular element”).
The aerosolizable material 103 may have two or more sections 103a, 103b including flavorants which are released upon heating ([0065, 0083-88], Figs. 1-2) (which reads on “at least a first flavour element comprising a first temperature sensitive carrier containing and at least a second flavour element comprising a second temperature sensitive carrier, wherein the first temperature sensitive carrier comprises a first flavour and the second temperature sensitive carrier comprises a second flavour).
The method comprises heating an aerosolizable material including an un-encapsulated flavorant and an encapsulated flavorant [0021], and the sections 103a, 103b may be configured to provide a multi-modal release of the flavorants, wherein a first flavorant is released initially and then a second flavorant release is staggered after [0043, 0084] (which reads on “heating the aerosol generating article, wherein the first temperature sensitive carrier releases the first flavour at a first time period of the vaping session, and the second temperature sensitive carrier releases the second flavour at a second time period of the vaping session, wherein the second time period is delayed from the first time period”). This may be achieved in numerous ways, such as with encapsulation materials having different melting temperatures, encapsulated flavorant compositions with different swelling rates, different ratios of encapsulating/encapsulated material [0044], non-uniform arrangements throughout the aerosol-generating material [0045], individual heating of sections [0065], or encapsulating one flavorant and leaving the other un-encapsulated [0084].
Regarding claim 15, the first and second flavorants may be released by encapsulation materials having different melting points [0044], which reads on the claim language.
Regarding claim 16, the encapsuled flavorant may be in the form of beads or a film [0040], which reads on the claim language.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 9-10, 12, and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US 2021/0204594 A1, of record, provided in IDS dated 08/30/2024) as applied to claims 1 and 15, further in view of Batista (WO 2021/053029 A1, of record, provided in IDS dated 08/30/2024)
Regarding claim 2, Rees fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the first and second temperature sensitive carriers are made of material comprising a melting point between 24°C and 140°C”. Rees discloses an encapsulating material which is configured to melt at a particular release temperature [0039], Rees discloses using encapsulating materials with lower/higher melting points to carry out the multi-modal flavorant release [0044], and Rees discloses heating at temperatures of 240 °C, 135 °C, and 160 °C [0064], as well as producing volatiles with temperature between 60 and 250 °C [0146]. Rees also discloses that the encapsulating material may be a gel [0016, 0048].
Batista is directed to a hollow aerosol-generating article with tubular substrate layers (Title), which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. A first tubular aerosol-generating substrate layer may be a gel layer, which allows for optimizing the release of aerosol at lower temperatures (p. 6 l. 6-10). The gel may have a melting point above 50 °C, preferably above 80 °C (p. 4 l. 22-32). The gel layer may also include a flavorant (p. 5 l. 1-2). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Batista’s gel layer could similarly be used to carry out Rees’ multi-modal flavor release by optimizing the release temperature, particularly by using Batista’s gel layer having melting points above 50 °C as Rees’ encapsulating material for the first and second flavorants (which overlaps the claimed range and therefore reads on “wherein the first and second temperature sensitive carriers are made of material comprising a melting point between 24°C and 140°C”; see MPEP 2144.05(I); see also In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Rees by using Batista’s gel layer having melting points above 50 °C as Rees’ encapsulating material for the first and second flavorants, because Rees and Batista are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Batista teaches using the gel layer to optimize the aerosol release temperature which one of ordinary skill in the art is similarly applicable to Rees’ multi-modal flavorant release, and this would involve combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I); see also KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 9, Rees discloses providing the encapsulated flavorant in the form of an encapsulating film (“layer”) applied to the tobacco material and/or a wrapper arranged around the tobacco material, or in a combination of flavor capsules and an encapsulating film [0040]. However, Rees fails to disclose providing multiple flavorants in overlapping films, and thus fails to disclose “wherein the first flavour element and the second flavour element are each formed of different layers, wherein the layers are overlapping”.
Batista is directed to a hollow aerosol-generating article with tubular substrate layers (Title), which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. Batista teaches that its tubular substrate layers advantageously provide more even heating and airflow as opposed to heating purely from the inside or outside (p. 1 l. 13-p. 2 l. 12). The article 12 may include a first tubular aerosol-forming substrate layer 38 with a nicotine and flavor substrate, surrounded by a second layer 40 with a tobacco substrate (p. 24 l. 36-p. 25 l. 9, Fig. 1). Two separate airflows may be adjusted to control nicotine and/or flavor production (p. 25 l. 7-9), and the layers 38, 40 may have different melting points to release their contents at different times (p. 5 l. 20-28). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Batista’s two substrate layers 38, 40 could be incorporated into Rees’ article as an additional means for carrying out Rees’ multi-modal flavorant release, particularly by using flavorants in both substrate layers 38, 40 (which reads on “wherein the first flavour element and the second flavour element are each formed of different layers, wherein the layers are overlapping”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Rees’ encapsulating film by instead providing two tubular substrate layers 38, 40 as taught by Batista, each layer 38, 40 including a flavorant to provide Rees’ multi-modal flavorant release, because Rees and Batista are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Batista teaches using the hollow tubular layer structure for improved heating and airflow, Batista teaches controlling the release of aerosol from the layers 38, 40 which one of ordinary skill in the art is similarly applicable to Rees’ multi-modal flavorant release, and this would involve combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I); see also KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 10, Batista teaches that the layers 38, 40 may have different melting points to release their contents at different times (p. 5 l. 20-28), and it would be similarly obvious to apply this teaching in modified Rees, for the same reasons as set forth immediately above in the discussion of claim 9. Batista teaches that the first (i.e., inner) layer may have the lower melting point (p. 5 l. 29-30), but it would also be obvious to provide the second (i.e., outer) layer with the lower melting point (which reads on “wherein the layers comprise at least one outer layer and at least one inner layer, wherein the outer layer comprises a flavour carrier having a lower melting point, or respectively lower glass transition temperature than the flavour carrier of the inner layer”), because Batista generally teaches different melting points for controlled aerosol release (p. 5 l. 20-28), Rees also teaches controlling the multi-modal flavorant release via melting point [0044], and thus the selection of which layer should have the lower melting point is a matter of simple design choice, with either option being obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 12 and 17, modified Rees discloses the article of claim 9 as set forth above, wherein Rees’ encapsulating film is modified by instead providing Batista’s two tubular substrate layers 38, 40.
Rees discloses that the encapsulated flavorant may be in the form of an encapsulating film applied to a wrapper arranged around the tobacco material [0040] (which reads on “wherein the first flavour element and/or the second flavour element are formed of a film coated on a non-meltable element” per claim 12 and “wherein the non-meltable element is…a paper wrapper” per claim 17). It would be similarly obvious to apply Batista’s tubular substrate layers 38, 40 to Rees’ wrapper arranged around the tobacco material, for the same reasons as set forth above in the discussion of claim 9, which reads on the claim language.
Regarding claim 18, Rees discloses the method of claim 15 as set forth above, but fails to explicitly disclose “wherein the first and second temperature sensitive carriers release the first and second flavours at different melting points, wherein the melting points are between 24°C and 140°C”. Rees discloses an encapsulating material which is configured to melt at a particular release temperature [0039], Rees discloses using encapsulating materials with lower/higher melting points to carry out the multi-modal flavorant release [0044], and Rees discloses heating at temperatures of 240 °C, 135 °C, and 160 °C [0064], as well as producing volatiles with temperature between 60 and 250 °C [0146]. Rees also discloses that the encapsulating material may be a gel [0016, 0048].
Batista is directed to a hollow aerosol-generating article with tubular substrate layers (Title), which is in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention. A first tubular aerosol-generating substrate layer may be a gel layer, which allows for optimizing the release of aerosol at lower temperatures (p. 6 l. 6-10). The gel may have a melting point above 50 °C, preferably above 80 °C (p. 4 l. 22-32). The gel layer may also include a flavorant (p. 5 l. 1-2). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that Batista’s gel layer could similarly be used to carry out Rees’ multi-modal flavor release by optimizing the release temperature, particularly by using two of Batista’s gel layers having different melting points above 50 °C as Rees’ encapsulating material for the first and second flavorants in order to provide an initial flavor release and a delayed flavor release (which overlaps the claimed range and therefore reads on “wherein the first and second temperature sensitive carriers release the first and second flavours at different melting points, wherein the melting points are between 24°C and 140°C”; see MPEP 2144.05(I); see also In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Rees by using two of Batista’s gel layers having different melting points above 50 °C as Rees’ encapsulating material for the first and second flavorants, because Rees and Batista are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Batista teaches using the gel layer to optimize the aerosol release temperature which one of ordinary skill in the art is similarly applicable to Rees’ multi-modal flavorant release, and this would involve combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. See MPEP 2143(I); see also KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rees (US 2021/0204594 A1, of record, provided in IDS dated 08/30/2024) as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Rees discloses that the sections 103a, 103b may have different compositions [0085, 0087-88], discloses a menthol flavorant [0015, 0046-47, 0083, 0156-57], and discloses a laundry list of other suitable flavorants such as licorice [0073]. Rees fails to specifically disclose an article 101 using two different flavorants as claimed, but it would be obvious to use two different flavorants such as menthol and licorice in a single article 101 (which reads on “wherein the first flavour element and the second flavour element comprise different flavouring agents”) in view of Rees’ disclosure regarding the differing compositions and various flavorants.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Karles (US 2008/0302376 A1) discloses a smoking article with controlled flavor release via first and second time-release flavorants (Title), which may be released by a temperature increase ([0016], claim 2), which is considered particularly relevant at least to claims 1 and 14.
/MICHAEL PATRICK MULLEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1747
/SEDEF E PAQUETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749