DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This Application is a 371 National Stage Entry of PCT/CN2023/084168 filed on 27 March 2023. Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority to a People’s Republic of China Patent, under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210179789.6 filed on 25 February 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The examiner notes that as of the time of writing this office action, no information disclosure statement (IDS) has been submitted with this Application.
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of claims in the filed Application 18/840,250; Original claims 1-8, are pending in the application. Thus, claims 1-8 represents all the claims currently under consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter, process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter, because they are drawn to; “use of a compound”, (claim 1) and “The use according to”, (claims 2-8), (emphasis added).
A use claim is not considered a method for lack of distinct steps. Additionally, per MPEP § 2173.05(q), “Use” claims that do not purport to claim a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter fail to comply with 35 U.S.C 101. In re Moreton, 288 F.2d 708, 129 USPQ 227, 228 (CCPA 1961), (“one cannot claim a new use per se, because it not among the categories of patentable invention specified in 35 U.S.C § 101”).
Rather, the claims as presented can be drawn to any of these distinct categories of invention, method or composition of matter. Accordingly, Applicant needs to make necessary amendments to overcome this rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112b
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding the instant claims 1-8, the phrases use of (claim 1) and The use (claims 2-8), (emphasis added), are ambiguous describing a compound, and possibly method of use or a composition thereof. The recited “use” claims lack active positive steps. Per the MPEP § 2173.05(q), attempts to claim a process without setting forth any steps involved in the process generally raises an issue of indefiniteness under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Accordingly, Applicant is requested to clearly distinguish a category of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 for each claim.
Claim interpretation: For the purpose of compact prosecution claims 1-8 are considered as being drawn to a compound of formula I or a pharmaceutical composition with the intended use of treating/preventing psoriasis. In the light of the specification and prior art, claims 5-8 are also considered as drawn to a method of treating.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112a
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for treating or alleviating psoriasis comprising administering a therapeutically effective amount of the claimed compound, does not reasonably provide enablement for preventing psoriasis. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims.
To be enabling, the specification of the patent application must teach those skilled in the art how to make and use the full scope of the claimed invention without undue experimentation. In re Wright, 999 F.2d 1557, 1561 (Fd. Cir. 1993). Explaining what is meant by "undue experimentation," the Federal Circuit has stated that:
The test is not merely quantitative, since a considerable amount of experimentation is permissible, if it is merely routine, or if the specification in question provides a reasonable amount of guidance with respect to the direction in which experimentation should proceed to enable the determination of how to practice a desired embodiment of the claimed invention. PPG v. Guardian, 75 F.3d 1558,1564 (Fed. Cir. 1996). As pointed out by the court in In re Angstadt, 537 F.2d 498 at 504 (CCPA 1976), the key word is "undue", not experimentation".
The factors that may be considered in determining whether a disclosure would
require undue experimentation are set forth In re Wands, 8 USPQ2d 1400 (CAFC 1988) at 1404 wherein, citing Ex parte Forman, 230 USPQ 546 (Bd. Apls. 1986) at 547 the court recited eight factors:
1- the nature of the invention,
2- the breadth of the claims,
3- the state of the prior art,
4- the predictability of the art,
5- the relative skill of those in the art,
6- the amount of direction or guidance provided,
7- the presence or absence of working examples and
8- the quantity of experimentation necessary to make or use the invention.
These factors are always applied against the background understanding that scope
of enablement varies inversely with the degree of unpredictability involved. In re Fisher, 57 CCPA 1099, 1108, 427 F.2d 833, 839, 166 USPQ 18, 24 (1970). Undue experimentation is required by one skilled in the art to determine enablement of the instant disclosure as claimed due to the following:
Claim interpretation: The claim interpretation as discussed under 35 U.S.C. 112b above is incorporated herein. Thus, Instant claim 1 is interpreted as drawn to a compound of formula (I) or pharmaceutical composition thereof for treating and /or preventing psoriasis wherein, the compound is a compound of formula (I) as recited.
Regarding the nature of the invention and breath of the claims:
With regards to the nature of invention, the claims are drawn to a compound or a pharmaceutical composition and the intended use. On the breath of the claims: The instant claim 1 is drawn to a compound of formula (I) or a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of formula (I) for treating and /or preventing psoriasis; wherein the psoriasis is psoriasis vulgaris, psoriatic arthritis pustular psoriasis or erythrodermic psoriasis – claim 5.
Because treatment of psoriasis is enabled, the Wands factors are directed to the part of the claim drawn to preventing psoriasis. The claimed invention is directed towards preventing psoriasis with the compound(s) or pharmaceutical composition(s) of compound of formula (I). Applying the broadest reasonable interpretation to ‘preventing psoriasis’, would mean stopping psoriasis from developing, or stop the disease from occurring.
Regarding the state of the art and predictability in the art of lack thereof:
MPEP § 2164.05(a) states that if a publication demonstrates that those of ordinary skill in the art would not find that a particular invention was not enabled after the filing date, the publication would be evidence that the claimed invention was not possible at the time of filing.
Ogawa and Okada, 2020, (Ogawa and Okada, “The current landscape of psoriasis genetics in 2020”, Journal of Dermatological Science, 99 (2020) page 2-8; Published 20 May 2020), here on after, Ogawa, teaches the most common type of psoriasis is psoriasis vulgaris accounting for 90% of the cases and approximation 6-42% of psoriasis patients are also affected by chronic arthritis (psoriatic arthritis), in their lifetime (page 2).
Ogawa teaches psoriasis is a multifactorial genetic disease for which the genetic factors explain 70% of disease susceptibility (page 2). Ogawa discloses information from several databases such as 1000 Genome Project, genome-wide association studies (GWASs) and investigations done for several years that confirm genetic factors account for substantial portion of susceptibility in psoriasis. Importantly, GWASs studies have identified more than 80 loci associated with psoriasis susceptibility and actual developing of the disease. In addition, Ogawa’s review demonstrates genetic heterogeneity among different populations, with psoriasis-associated genetic variants differing across populations (page 3).
On causal factors of psoriasis, Ogawa discloses that in some studies a higher body mass index (BMI)/ obesity is a casual risk factor for psoriasis. Notably, Ogawa states, based on these findings patients can now be advised to lose weight in order to avoid worsening psoriasis (page 4-5).
Notably, Ogawa’s review cites several existing psoriasis treatments and potential drug candidates directed towards treatment of psoriasis or alleviating psoriasis there is nothing reported for preventing onset of psoriasis in an at-risk individual (page 5).
Therefore, prior art teaches psoriasis is a multifactorial, genetically complex disease.
Regarding predictability in the art, Prior art reveals prevention of psoriasis would have been unpredictable in view of the complex and multifactorial nature of the disease large number of genetic loci associated with psoriasis susceptibility and the heterogeneity of genetic risk among populations. In addition, while there are various therapeutic drugs known for treating psoriasis, the art does not establish that such therapeutic activity would predict efficacy in preventing the onset of psoriasis.
Regarding relative skill level, while the relative skill is high, that of an MD or PhD, that factor is outweighed by the unpredictable nature of the art as illustrated in the prior art discussed above. There is no absolute predictability even in view of the seemingly high level of skill in the art. That a compound treats psoriasis does not establish that one or ordinary skill could predict that the compound would prevent psoriasis from occurring in the first place.
Regarding the amount of direction provided, presence or absence of working examples: The specification shows assays and tests with psoriasis mouse models and administration, (Pages 35-39, section 1.4 and 1.5) related to treatment or alleviation of psoriasis. The specification states the compounds in the instant application have good efficacy in treating and alleviating psoriasis. Additionally, ‘by experimental studies’, the compounds in the instant application ‘have shown an improvement in the weight loss of mice’ – ‘furthermore after treatment with the compounds there was significant reduction in psoriasis symptoms in mice’ (Specification page 30).
As discussed previously, loss of excess weight stops psoriasis from worsening or helps alleviate the symptoms, but this would not be an indication that it stops the onset of psoriasis. Moreover, the specification does not disclose any model or data demonstrating that administration of compound of formula (I), or composition thereof, prior to the occurrence of psoriasis in a subject would prevent the occurrence of the disease.
Regarding quantity of experimentation necessary, Because of the unpredictability in the art, one skilled in the art would need to determine whether the compounds in the claimed invention are effective in preventing the onset of psoriasis across a genetically heterogenous population having numerous psoriasis-associated susceptibility loci.
Determining if compounds of formula (I) would be therapeutic for numerous psoriasis-associated susceptibility loci would require careful analysis and replicability of composition a compound of formula (I), formulation into a suitable dosage form, relevant assay testing to correlate clinical efficacy, identify off-targets, subjecting to animal trials and subjecting to clinical trials. All this is undue experimentation given the limited guidance and direction provided by applicant. As such the full scope of the claim, insofar as it encompasses preventing psoriasis is not enabled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Regarding 35 U.S.C. 35 102(a)(2): The applied reference has a common inventor with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ye et al., 2021, (WO2021/057785; “IRAK Inhibitor and Preparation Method thereof and use thereof.” Published April 4, 2021, with Priority Date; September 24, 2019), hereon after, Ye.
Regarding instant claim 1, Ye discloses a genus of compounds of formula I – as shown below (Abstract), which is identical to the instant compound of formula (I).
The variables of Ye’s formula I compound; ring A, R1, R2, R3, W, n and m as defined by Ye completely overlap with the instant claim 1 (Summary of invention and claim 1). In addition, Ye’s invention discloses a method for preventing and /or treating diseases and disorders associated with interleukin-1 receptor kinase (IRAK). Ye invention is drawn towards compound suitable for treatment of cancer and inflammatory diseases related to IRAK and more particularly to regulating the function of IRAK-4 (Ye - Technical Field)
Regarding instant claim 2, Ye’s disclosure teaches the claimed compound may be selected from five structures of formula Ia, Ib, Ic, Id and Ie (Ye’s claim 4). The five structures are identical to structures of formula Ia-Ie in instant claim 2.
Regarding instant claim 3 and 4; Ye’s discloses compounds 001 to 292 (Ye’s claim 5) which are identical to compounds 001-292 in the instant application. Further compound 001 as limited in instant claim 4 is disclosed among Ye’s compounds as 001.
Regarding instant claim 5, Ye discloses a method or pharmaceutical composition of the claimed compound for preventing and /or treating diseases or disorders mediated by IRAK (Ye - claims 9 and 10).
Regarding instant claim 6, 7 and 8, Ye teaches a compound of formula I, or a stereoisomer, a racemate, a tautomer, an isotopically labelled compound, a prodrug, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (Ye - claims 8 and 11), and further teaches examples where oral, intravenous and intraperitoneal method were used to in administration of the claimed compounds to mice (Examples 6, 8 and Table 8). Ye further provides examples where the compounds were prepared in solution or suspensions of require concentration for administration (Example 6, procedure).
Accordingly, Ye et al., WO2021/057785 anticipates the instant claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over, Ye et al., 2021, (WO 2021/057785, “IRAK Inhibitor and Preparation Method thereof and use thereof.” Published April 4, 2021; Priority Date - September 24, 2019), hereon after, Ye, in view of Chaudhary et al., 2015, (Chaudhary et al., Recent advances in the discovery of small molecule inhibitors of interleukin-1 receptor-associated kinase 4 (IRAK4) as therapeutic target for inflammation and Oncology Disorders”, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2015, 58, page 96-110; Published on December 5, 2014), hereon after, Chaudhary.
Regarding claims 1-8, the foregoing discussions on the teachings of Ye under 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection above are incorporated herein.
Ye teaches compounds disclosed or pharmaceutical compositions, are IRAK inhibitors suitable for treatment of cancer and inflammatory diseases related to IRAK and more particularly to a compound for regulating a function of IRAK4 ( Ye - Technical Field). Thus, the pharmaceutical compositions of Ye’s claimed compounds are for preparing medicament for preventing and/or treating diseases or disorders mediated by IRAK (Ye - claim 9). Ye further lists certain conditions wherein the disease or disorders are selected from tumors, gout, systemic lupus erythematosus, multiple sclerosis, metabolic syndrome, atherosclerosis, myocardial infection, sepsis, inflammatory bowel disease asthma, rheumatoid arthritis, allergy and the like (Ye - claim 10).
How prior art differs from instant claims. While Ye’s disclosure lists inflammatory IRAK mediated diseases or disorders, Ye does not distinctly mention psoriasis as recited in the instant invention (instant claims 1 and 6).
Chaudhary, 2015, teaches interleukin-1 receptor-associated kinase 4 (IRAK4), a serine/threonine kinase plays a key role in both inflammation and oncology diseases (abstract). In addition, IRAK4 is a key signaling node for transducing the responses of interleukin-1 (IL-1) receptor family and Toll-like receptors (TLR) except of TLR3.
Regarding IRAK4 signaling in inflammation, Chaudhary, states that aberrant TLR and /or IL-1 family receptors signaling are associated with several inflammatory conditions including rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease, systemic lupus erythematosus, psoriasis, gout, among others; in addition, Chaudhary teaches pharmacological inhibition of IRAK4 kinases potently reduces the LPS induced TNF production response in female Lewis rats, reduces arthritis and inflammation and inhibits psoriatic responses in imiquimod induced mouse psoriasis (page 98). Chaudhary adds, a potent and selective IRAK4 inhibitor would be useful for autoimmune diseases such as rheumatoid arthritis, psoriasis, inflammatory bowel disease and gout (page 106).
Per MPEP § 2143 (I)(A) and (D), a prima facie case of obviousness exists for combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results; additionally, a prima facie case of obviousness exists for applying a known technique to a known method or product ready for improvement to yield predictable results.
Ye teaches methods of preparation of the claimed compounds and exhibits assays that show the compounds are IRAK inhibitors. Ye teaches treatment of IRAK mediated diseases and disorders and includes inflammatory diseases such as inflammatory bowel disease, rheumatoid arthritis but does not mention psoriasis. Chaudhary teaches pharmacological inhibition of IRAK4 kinases potently reduces the LPS induced TNF production response in female Lewis rats and inhibits psoriatic responses in imiquimod induced mouse psoriasis. Chaudhary also teaches a potent and selective IRAK4 inhibitor would be useful for treatment of autoimmune diseases such as inflammatory bowel syndrome, rheumatoid arthritis and psoriasis.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the compounds in the claimed Ye’s invention and combine with Chaudhary’s teachings and arrive at the instant claimed invention i.e., for treatment of psoriasis, with reasonable expectation of success.
One would have been motivated to do so because the claimed compound(s) show inhibition of cytokine TNF-α in LPS-induced Balb/c female mice, assay testing by Ye. In addition, psoriasis signaling is known to be through the same pathways as other inflammatory conditions as taught in prior art by Chaudhary. Accordingly, one would be motivated to further claim the IRAK4 inhibitor compounds for treatment of psoriasis. A skilled artisan in the art would reasonably expect to arrive at the same invention presently claimed for the reasons taught in prior art.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,617,770 B2, hereon after, ‘770, in view of Chaudhary et al., 2015, (Chaudhary et al., Recent advances in the discovery of small molecule inhibitors of interleukin-1 receptor-associated kinase 4 (IRAK4) as therapeutic target for inflammation and Oncology Disorders”, Journal of Medicinal Chemistry, 2015, 58, page 96-110; Published on December 5, 2014), hereon after, Chaudhary.
Regarding instant claims 1-, Claims 1-3 and 7-16 IN ‘770 are drawn to a genus compound of formula I, or a stereoisomer, a racemate, a tautomer or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (claim 1), (shown below), with limitations that recite definitions of terms (claims 2), and of radicals / variables as applied to ring A, W, R1, R2 and R3 and R, (claims 3 and 7-16).
Instant claim 1 is drawn to an identical genus compound of formula (I) or pharmaceutical composition, for treating and/or preventing psoriasis; wherein the compound of formula (I) is as shown above or a stereoisomer, a tautomer, an isotopically labelled compound, a prodrug or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof. The definitions provided for the instant genus compound overlap completely with the those defined for variables in Patent ‘770. Additionally, the exemplified embodiments in ‘770 read on the instant application. ‘770 discloses a compound of formula I, or stereoisomer, the racemate, tautomer, isotopically labeled compound, prodrug or pharmaceutically acceptable salt or pharmaceutical composition. Notably, the genus compound of formula I in Patent ‘770 and embodiments clearly anticipate instant invention claim 1.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12,617,770 B2
Claim 1
Claim 1
Claim 3 – compound 001
Claim 5 – compound 001
Claim 3 – compound 242
Claim 5 -compound 242
In addition, compounds claimed in ‘770 or pharmaceutical compositions, are IRAK inhibitors suitable for treatment of cancer and inflammatory diseases related to IRAK and more particularly to a compound for regulating a function of IRAK4 (‘770 – Technical Field Col 1). Chaudhary, 2015, teaches IRAK4 plays a key role in both inflammation and oncology diseases and the immune pathways that are associated with several inflammatory conditions including rheumatoid arthritis, inflammatory bowel disease, and psoriasis, among others.
Thus, while the claims are not exactly identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. The instant application is drawn to compound of formula (I) that completely overlaps with the genus compound in ‘770 and the exemplified embodiments in ‘770, read on to the instant claim. In addition, ‘770 is drawn towards inhibitors of IRAK4. IRAK4 is associated with inflammatory pathways that drive psoriasis hence the instant application is drawn to a species of similar pathways as claimed in ‘770.
Accordingly, claims 1-3 and 7-16 anticipate instant claim 1 alone or in view of Chaudhary.
Regarding instant claim 2, Claim 4 in Patent ‘770 is drawn to, wherein compound of formula (I) is a compounds of formula Ia, formula Ib, formula Ic, formula Id, or formula Ie. The disclosed compounds Ia-Ie are identical to instant application compounds Ia – Ie as recited in instant claim 2. Thus claim 4 in ‘770 and instant claim 2 are not patentably distinct from each other, as such, claim 4 in ‘770 clearly anticipates instant claim 2.
Regarding instant claim 3-4, Claim 5 in ‘770 discloses a compound selected from a group consisting of structures 001 – 290. Claim 18 and 19 in ‘770 are further drawn to limitations of compound I, a compound which is illustrated as embodiment or structure 001. Instant claim 3 recites the compound of formula I is selected from a group of structures recited and shown as compounds 001-292. Instant claim 4 recites, wherein the compound of formula I is compound 001. Therefore, while the claims are exactly identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. As such claims 5, 18 and 19 in ‘770 anticipate instant claims 3 and 4.
Regarding instant claims 5, Claim 1 in ‘770 is drawn to a compound of formula I or a stereoisomer, a racemate, a tautomer or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof; claim 6 in ‘770 is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound of claim 1 in ‘770; while claim 20 in ‘770 is drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising the compound of claim 18 in ‘770. Instant application is drawn to a method of treating psoriasis as recited (See Claim Interpretation above) – instant claim 5.
‘770 discloses claimed compounds are IRAK inhibitors that could be used for treatment of inflammatory diseases related to IRAK and more particularly for regulating function of IRAK-4. Chaudhary teaches IRAK4 plays a key role in both inflammation and the immune pathways that are associated with inflammatory conditions related to psoriasis. Thus, while the claims are not identical they are directed to a use that is treated through same pathway and same inhibitory target and therefore are not patentably distinct from each other. Claims 1, 6 and 20 anticipate and render obvious instant claim 5.
Regarding instant claim 6-8, Claims 1, 6 and 20 in ‘770 as discussed above are drawn to a compound of formula I or a stereoisomer, a racemate, a tautomer or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt and pharmaceutical compositions of the claimed compound. The disclosure further recites invention provides a compound of formula I or stereoisomer, a racemate a tautomer, an isotopically labeled compound, a prodrug, or pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (Summary of invention – ‘770). Instant application is drawn to use wherein the compound of formula (I), or a stereoisomer, a racemate, a tautomer, an isotopically labelled compound, a prodrug, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt administered orally, parenterally or other routes of administration (instant claim 6); wherein is preferably administered orally (instant claim 7) and wherein the dosage form of oral administration is a tablet, film, sugar-coated tablet, granule, pill, powder, emulsion, suspension or solution (instant claim 8).
While the claims are not identical, claim 1, 6 and 20 in ‘770 render obvious the instant claims 6-8, alone or in view of the specification in ‘770 which discloses the administration of pharmaceutical composition of the claimed compounds orally or intravenously and prepared as a solution or a suspension. ‘770 further discloses claimed compounds are IRAK inhibitors that could be used for treatment of inflammatory diseases related to IRAK and more particularly to compound(s) for regulating function of IRAK-4. Furthermore, Chaudhary teaches IRAK4 plays a key role in both inflammation and the immune pathways that are associated with inflammatory conditions related to psoriasis.
Therefore, while the claims 1, 6 and 20 in ‘770 are not identical to instant claims 6-8, they are not patentably distinct from each. Accordingly, claims 1, 6 and 20 anticipate or render obvious instant claim 6-8 alone, or in view of ‘770 specification or further in view of Chaudhary.
Conclusion
Claims 1-8 are rejected. No claim is found allowed.
Communication
/P.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1627
/Kortney L. Klinkel/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1627