DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JP 2017-014078 (Fujikura).
JP 2017-014078 (Fujikura) teaches a multi-core optical fiber / preform (1 / 1P) with a plurality of cores (10 / 10P) surrounded by a cladding (20 / 20P) (¶23). The fiber / preform is manufactured by forming through holes (20H) with a large diameter end (22) and a smaller diameter end (21) (see Figures 1-6 and ¶23-44).
Fujikura anticipates claims 1, 3, 4, and 5.
Claims 6, 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2020/0369555 (Amma).
US 2020/0369555 (Amma) teaches an optical fiber preform with clad rod (11) having holes (12) with a glass rod (14) inserted therein. The holes have a change in diameter from one end to the other and are sealed on both ends (see Fig 7). The worded welded is a process limitation which does not structurally define the claim over Amma. Amma anticipates claims 6, 8, and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2020/0369555 (Amma) in view of JP 2017-014078 (Fujikura).
As to claim 7, Amma teaches the preform of claim 6 as discussed above. Amma teaches the rods can be inserted in either the 12b or 12a side of the body (¶137). Amma however fails to teach the diameter as increasing in a stepwise manner.
Fujikura teaches a multi-core optical fiber / preform (1 / 1P) with a plurality of cores (10 / 10P) surrounded by a cladding (20 / 20P) (¶23). The fiber / preform is manufactured by forming through holes (20H) with a large diameter end (22) and a smaller diameter end (21) (see Figures 1-6 and ¶23-44). Fujikura teaches the smaller diameter end allows for one to maintain the position of the rod (¶¶7,9,32).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filings date of the claimed invention to have formed the side of Amma furthest from the insertion point with a smaller diameter end in a stepwise manner as taught in Fujikura to prevent movement of the rod.
Conclusion
/FRANK J VINEIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781