DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is responsive to the application filed on August 21, 2024. The preliminary amendment, filed on the same date, amended claim 2-9, 12, and 13, cancelled claim 11, and added new claims 14-21. Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are pending examination.
Drawings
The drawings filed on August 21, 2024 are accepted.
Examiner’s Note about the Format of 35 U.S.C. 102/103 Rejections
Generally, limitations of a claim are reproduced identically and followed by examiner’s explanation with citation from prior art in Italic enclosed by a parenthesis, (), for each limitation. In examiner’s explanation, the mapping of the key elements of a limitation to the disclosed elements of prior art is shown by stating the disclosed element immediately followed by the claimed element inside a parenthesis. Specific quotation from prior art is delineated with quotation mark, ““. If primary art fails to teach a limitation or part of the limitation, the limitation or the part of the limitation is placed inside double square brackets, [[ ]], for better understandability, and appropriate secondary art(s) is/are applied later addressing the deficiency of the primary art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20100042675 A1), Fujii, in view of Foottit et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20090025010 A1), hereinafter, Foottit.
Regarding claim 1:
Fujii teaches:
A method for managing a session state, comprising:
receiving a service processing result corresponding to a session service forwarded by a proxy server, wherein the service processing result is forwarded by the proxy server based on a session identifier in the service processing result, the session identifier comprising mapping information between the service processing result and a processing server corresponding to the service processing result (Paragraph 0093 discloses generating result (service processing result) of processing a request. Paragraph 0093 discloses the intelligent proxy server forwards the result to the session management processing module of the session management server (processing server) as stated “the intelligent proxy processing module 211 communicates with the session management processing module 204, thereby notifying a commit processing module 219 of the session management processing module 204 of an identifier for identifying the application server program 203, which has processed the request adopted as the final response, and request contents” ); and
determining session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and updating the session state information to a local cache so as to [[synchronize the session state information to a cache of an associated regional data center through the local cache]] (paragraph 0094 discloses determining session state based on the session identifier and updating session storage database of the session management server as stated “When the commit processing module 219 receives the registration request for registering the session information to the session storage database 225, the commit processing module 219, based on the received identifier, searches records in the buffer table 224, and registers data contained in a searched record to the session storage database 225.” ).
Fujii does not teach synchronize the session state information to a cache of an associated regional data center through the local cache.
Foottit teaches teach synchronize the session state information to a cache of an associated regional data center through the local cache (paragraph 0041 discloses local state store updating global state location store as stated “In step 418, local state store 132 transmits a global location update message to global state location store 190. The message includes an identifier for the user or user device and an indication of the location of the user's session state information (e.g., a network address of the local state store).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to incorporate the teaching Foottit about local state stores updating global state location store. One would be motivated to do that to provide up to date session information to applications from a centralized location for providing service in geographically diverse environment (see paragraph 0003 of Foottit).
As to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Fujii in view of Foottit teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Fujii further teaches wherein, upon determining the session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, the method further comprises: updating the session state information to a pre-constructed message middleware, wherein the message middleware is configured to be used for a service server to query the session state information, the service server being configured to process the session service and generate the service processing result, and report the service processing result to the proxy server (paragraph 0103 discloses query the buffer table for session state information. Paragraph 0106 discloses the session management server reports the result to the intelligent proxy).
As to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Fujii in view of Foottit teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Fujii further teaches wherein the service processing result is a session creation result; and determining the session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and updating the session state information to the local cache, comprises: performing an initialization operation of the session service based on the session creation result, generating first state information, and determining the first state information as the session state information and updating the session state information to the local cache (paragraph 0104 discloses registering session in session storage database. Paragraph 0105 discloses determining session state information. ).
Regarding claim 10:
Fujii teaches:
A system for managing a session state, comprising: a service server, a proxy server, a processing server, and a local cache, wherein (Fig. 1 shows app server 331 (service server), intelligent proxy server 202 (proxy server), session management server 340 (processing server), main memory 342 (local cache)))
the service server is configured to process a session service from a first client to a second client, generate a service processing result corresponding to the session service, and report the service processing result to the proxy server (Fig. 1 shows client A and Client B. Paragraph 0093 discloses the app server 203A processes service request from client and generates result (service processing result) of processing a request and send the result to the result analysis processing module of the intelligent proxy server as stated “When the result analysis processing module 214 receives a result of processing of a request from the application server program 203, the result analysis processing module 214 finally determines a response returned to the client computer 201”);
the proxy server is configured to forward the service processing result to the processing server corresponding to the service processing result based on a session identifier in the service processing result, wherein the session identifier comprises mapping information between the service processing result and the processing server corresponding to the service processing result (paragraph 0093 discloses the intelligent proxy server forwards the result to the session management processing module of the session management server as stated “the intelligent proxy processing module 211 communicates with the session management processing module 204, thereby notifying a commit processing module 219 of the session management processing module 204 of an identifier for identifying the application server program 203, which has processed the request adopted as the final response, and request contents” );
the processing server is configured to receive the service processing result corresponding to the session service forwarded by the proxy server, determine session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and update the session state information to the local cache (paragraph 0094 discloses determining session state based on the session identifier and updating session storage database of the session management server as stated “When the commit processing module 219 receives the registration request for registering the session information to the session storage database 225, the commit processing module 219, based on the received identifier, searches records in the buffer table 224, and registers data contained in a searched record to the session storage database 225.” ).
Fujii does not teach the local cache is configured to store and synchronize the session state information to a cache of an associated regional data center.
Foottit teaches teach the local cache is configured to store and synchronize the session state information to a cache of an associated regional data center (paragraph 0041 discloses local state stores updating global state location store as stated “In step 418, local state store 132 transmits a global location update message to global state location store 190. The message includes an identifier for the user or user device and an indication of the location of the user's session state information (e.g., a network address of the local state store). ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to incorporate the teaching Foottit about local state stores updating global state location store. One would be motivated to do that to provide up to date session information to applications from a centralized location for providing service in geographically diverse environment (see paragraph 0003 of Foottit).
Regarding claim 12:
Claim 12 is directed towards a device performing the method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 13 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium comprising one or more computer- executable instructions, wherein the one or more computer-executable instructions, when executed by a computer processor, cause the computer processor to perform the method of claim 1. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 14 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium to perform the method of claim 2. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 15 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium to perform the method of claim 3. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 4 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Foottit and further in view of Kawatani et al. (US PGPUB No. US 20200412814 A1), hereinafter, Kawatani.
As to claim 4, the rejection of claim 3 is incorporated. Fujii in view of Foottit teaches all the limitations of claim 3 as shown above.
Fujii does not teach wherein performing the initialization operation of the session service based on the session creation result further comprises: initializing a session timeout period of the session service based on the session creation result, and storing the session timeout period in the local cache, wherein the session timeout period is configured to detect a session connection state of a client.
Kawatani teaches wherein performing the initialization operation of the session service based on the session creation result further comprises: initializing a session timeout period of the session service based on the session creation result, and storing the session timeout period in the local cache, wherein the session timeout period is configured to detect a session connection state of a client (paragraph 0027 discloses setting the timeout period for a session. Paragraph 0028 discloses storing the timeout period. Paragraph 0034 discloses detecting session state based on the timeout period).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to incorporate the teaching Kawatani about session timeout period. One would be motivated to do that to update session state properly (see paragraph 0010 of Kawatani).
Claim 16 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium to perform the method of claim 4. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 5, 6, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Foottit, further in view of Kawatani and further in view of Zu et al. (Chinses Patent Document No. CN 107517227 A), hereinafter, Zu .
As to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated. Fujii in view of Foottit and Kawatani teaches all the limitations of claim 4 as shown above.
Fujii does not teach wherein, upon performing the initialization operation of the session service based on the session creation result, the method further comprises: in a case that a client heartbeat request forwarded by the proxy server is received within the session timeout period, updating the session timeout period based on current time; and in a case that the client heartbeat request forwarded by the proxy server is not received within the session timeout period, determining that a client corresponding to the session service is in an offline state, updating the session state information in the local cache based on the offline state, and deleting the session timeout period.
Zu teaches :
wherein, upon performing the initialization operation of the session service based on the session creation result, the method further comprises: in a case that a client heartbeat request forwarded by the proxy server is received within the session timeout period, updating the session timeout period based on current time (page 11 discloses maintaining session states by exchanging heartbeat request as stated “step S105, sends a service request carrying the session identification to the server end.
In this embodiment, the service request comprising: a data operation request and the heartbeat request. wherein the data operation request is a data read request by the client, writing the file subscription operation request, such as service providing distributed lock, the distributed message notification and so on; the heartbeat request refers to: maintain periodic heartbeat between the client terminal and the server terminal, updating the session validity duration of heartbeat request, namely, the heartbeat.”); and
in a case that the client heartbeat request forwarded by the proxy server is not received within the session timeout period, determining that a client corresponding to the session service is in an offline state, updating the session state information in the local cache based on the offline state, and deleting the session timeout period (page 11 discloses updating the session as expired if heartbeat is not received in session expiration time as stated “It can be understood that, provided after the corresponding overtime time information in the client end and the server end after the current client terminal and server can be updated by sending heartbeat maintenance session validity period, that is, by receiving the heartbeat to update local session validity period, if the heartbeat is not received in the session expiration time of this end, then driving the session expired.”. page 16 discloses modifying timeout information as stated “In this embodiment, obtaining the current server corresponding to the overtime information of the session according to the session timeout information, can adopt the following method: extracting the timeout information of the session to the obtained from step S502-1, increasing the value of the timeout information, and increase the timeout information as the current server corresponding to the overtime information of the session.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to incorporate the teaching Zu about updating session and timeout information based on the heartbeat request reception . One would be motivated to do that to maintain session consistency (see page of Zu as stated “The invention relates to communication technology field, specifically claims a method for realizing session consistency for a distributed system, a method for session management method of distributed consistency system and a proxy server for participating in conversations; this invention further claims a session for conforming device for distributed system, a device for distributed system consistency of session management device, a proxy server participating in the session.”).
As to claim 6, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated. Fujii in view of Foottit and Kawatani teaches all the limitations of claim 5 as shown above.
Fujii does not teach wherein the service processing result is a session end result; and determining the session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and updating the session state information to the local cache, comprises: generating second state information based on the session end result, and determining the second state information as the session state information and updating the session state information to the local cache.
Foottit teaches wherein the service processing result is a session end result; and determining the session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and updating the session state information to the local cache, comprises: generating second state information based on the session end result, and determining the second state information as the session state information and updating the session state information to the local cache (paragraph 0041 discloses local state store updating global state location store).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to incorporate the teaching Foottit about local state stores updating global state location store. One would be motivated to do that to provide up to date session information to applications from a centralized location for providing service in geographically diverse environment (see paragraph 0003 of Foottit).
Claim 17 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium to perform the method of claim 5. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 18 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium to perform the method of claim 6. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 8 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujii in view of Foottit and further in view of Thakare et al. (US Patent No. US 11575758 B1), hereinafter, Thakare.
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated. Fujii in view of Foottit teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above.
Fujii does not teach wherein the service processing result is a streaming media connection result; and determining the session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and updating the session state information to the local cache, comprises: generating third state information based on the streaming media connection result, and determining the third state information as the session state information and updating the session state information to the local cache.
Thakare teaches wherein the service processing result is a streaming media connection result; and determining the session state information of the session service based on the service processing result, and updating the session state information to the local cache, comprises: generating third state information based on the streaming media connection result, and determining the third state information as the session state information and updating the session state information to the local cache (Col. 3, lines 4-14, discloses streaming session. Col. 7, lines 53-64, discloses updating session and generating new session state as stated “Accordingly, the computer system 110 causes the execution of the function to terminate and determines that the session has ended. For example, the session application 130 removes the updated session data 134B corresponding to the session identifier 132 and can update the session state to indicate that the state is terminated (show as updated session state 136C). As needed, the content application 150 can determine the updated session state 136C and stop outputting the content data 116. Also as needed, a dynamic group directive 174 can be sent to one or more devices of the terminated device group 174 receive to, for instance, released components.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Fujii to incorporate the teaching Thakare about updating streaming session and generating new session state. One would be motivated to do that to stop outputting content for terminated session (see Col. 7, lines 53-64, of Thakare).
Claim 20 is directed towards a non-transitory storage medium to perform the method of claim 8. Accordingly, it is rejected under similar rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 9, 19, and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
May 6, 2026
/KAMAL M HOSSAIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444