DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to preliminary amendment filed on 8/21/2024, claims 15- 20 are cancelled and claims 21- 26 are added as new claims. Claims 1- 14 and 21- 26 are pending for examinations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 6 which depends upon claim 5, wherein claim 5 states that “COT includes a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer”; while claim 6 states , “based on all or portion of the duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer not being included in the COT”; hence its confusing to understand.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 5, 8, 11- 14, 23- 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (WO 2021163617 A1); see IDS filed on 5/20/2026 page 1 in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0146161 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Freda teaches a method for performing wireless communication by a first device (see [0004] WTRU as a first device), the method comprising:
obtaining sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see [0004] …. The WTRU may receive a set of sidelink DRX parameters that are independent of parameters configured for Uu DRX. The WTRU may receive a scheduled sidelink grant from a network during its Uu active time (i.e., the time when the WTRU actively monitors PDCCH). The WTRU may receive a first DRX configuration associated with Uu and receive a second DRX configuration associated with sidelink DRX…);
obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT);
receiving first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling second SCI and physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within active time (see [0093]… A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer, or have any behavior which modifies its activity behavior as a result of any of: reception of an SCI, whereby the SCI may be an SCI which schedules data and/or an SCI which performs announcement of future scheduled data…; further see [0134].. If a slot falls within a SL active time but outside of a Uu active time: the WTRU may perform PDCCH decoding for SL-RNTI only; the WTRU may perform PSCCH decoding; ……; now refer to [0147]… The SCI itself may have an indicator that further identifies the new activity to be applied. For example, the first or second stage SCI may include an index of the intended activity state. The SCI itself may have an indicator identifying this transmission (i.e. SCI transmission) is an activity state change indication………); and
receiving the second SCI and data through the PSSCH within the active time (see [0102]… The WTRU may receive PSCCH / PSSCH with data intended for / decoded by the WTRU. .; now refer to [0147]… For example, the first or second stage SCI may have an explicit bit indicating the SCI (and potentially associated PSSCH transmission) ….),
wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least one of SL DRX onduration timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, SL DRX retransmission timer, or SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer (see [0092]… activity behavior may comprise one or more timers associated with DRX behavior in Uu DRX or similar, such as: an inactivity timer associated with sidelink transmission; an on duration timer associated with sidelink transmissions; a slot offset; a retransmission timer; a HARQ RTT timer; a DRX short cycle timer. …; further see [0135] WTRU may perform independent maintenance of counters or timers related to SL / UL based on the events associated with each scenario. A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer associated with SL DRX if it receives a PDCCH indicating a new SL transmission or it receives / decodes a SL SCI from PSCCH. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer.),
wherein at least one of time when the SL DRX onduration timer runs, time when the SL DRX inactivity timer runs, or SL DRX HARQ RTT timer runs is included in the active time of the first device (see [0135]… A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer associated with SL DRX if it receives a PDCCH indicating a new SL transmission or it receives / decodes a SL SCI from PSCCH. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer; further see [0102].. The WTRU may determine the activity time on both UL and SL based on the existing drx-lnactivityTimer….), and
wherein the COT is included in the active time of the first device.
Here Freda fails to teach about obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT); and also COT is included in the active time of the first device.
However Sun teaches in [0032]… sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) are required to contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures.; now refer to [0033].. a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT i.e. type 1 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band.. The UE that acquires the COT may be referred to as an initiating UE and may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) indicating COT sharing information (e.g., a length of the initiating UE's transmission, a length of the remaining COT, whether the transmission supports frequency interlacing, and the like).; now in context with [0055 and 0066 and 0096] refer to [0097] regarding ..the initiating UE 602 may support TDM COT sharing within the active transmission. For example, a UE 604 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSFCH to the initiating UE 602. In another example, a UE 606 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to the initiating UE 602. In some examples, the initiating UE 602 may transmit SCI including COT sharing information. The COT sharing information may indicate that other sidelink UEs can share the COT and/or time duration of the COT. In some examples, a monitoring UE may monitor for SCI, detect SCI, read the COT sharing information, and decide to use the COT if the monitoring UE has data to transmit.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Freda to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT); and also COT is included in the active time of the first device; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see Sun [0032].
Regarding claim 2, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, wherein the COT is generated by the first device; Sun see [0033].. For example, a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band. After acquiring the COT, the first UE may transmit a sidelink data via a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH), a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH), and/or a physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) to another sidelink UE...
Regarding claim 5, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, wherein the COT includes a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer; Sun [0033].. a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT i.e. type 1 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band.. The UE that acquires the COT may be referred to as an initiating UE and may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) indicating COT sharing information (e.g., a length of the initiating UE's transmission, a length of the remaining COT, whether the transmission supports frequency interlacing, and the like).; now in context with [0055 and 0066 and 0096] refer to [0097] regarding ..the initiating UE 602 may support TDM COT sharing within the active transmission. For example, a UE 604 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSFCH to the initiating UE 602. In another example, a UE 606 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to the initiating UE 602. In some examples, the initiating UE 602 may transmit SCI including COT sharing information. .
Regarding claim 8, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, wherein the SL DRX configuration includes information related to an offset; Freda see [0135].. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer..; further see [0092, 0135- 0136].
Regarding claim 11, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 8, wherein the information related to the offset is configured by a serving base station of the first device or the second device; see Freda see [0135] … A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer..; now see [0091].. Activity behavior may be determined dynamically by the WTRU (e.g. based on measurements on sidelink and/or reception and/or transmission of data from upper layers or peer WTRUs) or it may be configured by the network. The network may configure a set of measured values (e.g. of a sidelink measurement) and the corresponding activity behavior to be applied by the WTRU…; further see [0092].
Regarding claim 12, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 8, wherein the first device is a device performing a sidelink-unlicensed spectrum (SL-U)-based reception operation and a SL DRX operation, or a device performing a SL-U-based transmission operation and the SL DRX operation; Sun teaches in Fig. 6 regarding #UE 606 transmits PSCCH/PSSCH to initiate UE 602 during shared COT 608 i.e. SL-U operation; further see Feda [0134- 0135] states SL DRX and PSCCH decoding i.e. SL-DRX operation.
Regarding claim 13, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, wherein the COT is generated within the active time, based on the COT being generated by a second device; Sun see [0033]… UE that does not acquire the COT, but shares the COT acquired by another UE, may be referred to as a responding UE.; further see claim 5 in context with claim 1; Freda states in [0134- 0135] regarding COT is generated within the active time as we discussed above.
Regarding claim 14, Freda teaches a first device adapted to perform wireless communication, the first device comprising:
at least one transceiver;
at least one processor; and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the first device to perform operations comprising (see [0004] WTRU as a first device):
obtaining sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see [0004] …. The WTRU may receive a set of sidelink DRX parameters that are independent of parameters configured for Uu DRX. The WTRU may receive a scheduled sidelink grant from a network during its Uu active time (i.e., the time when the WTRU actively monitors PDCCH). The WTRU may receive a first DRX configuration associated with Uu and receive a second DRX configuration associated with sidelink DRX…);
obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT);
receiving first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling second SCI and physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within active time (see [0093]… A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer, or have any behavior which modifies its activity behavior as a result of any of: reception of an SCI, whereby the SCI may be an SCI which schedules data and/or an SCI which performs announcement of future scheduled data…; further see [0134].. If a slot falls within a SL active time but outside of a Uu active time: the WTRU may perform PDCCH decoding for SL-RNTI only; the WTRU may perform PSCCH decoding; ……; now refer to [0147]… The SCI itself may have an indicator that further identifies the new activity to be applied. For example, the first or second stage SCI may include an index of the intended activity state. The SCI itself may have an indicator identifying this transmission (i.e. SCI transmission) is an activity state change indication………); and
receiving the second SCI and data through the PSSCH within the active time (see [0102]… The WTRU may receive PSCCH / PSSCH with data intended for / decoded by the WTRU. .; now refer to [0147]… For example, the first or second stage SCI may have an explicit bit indicating the SCI (and potentially associated PSSCH transmission) ….),
wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least one of SL DRX onduration timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, SL DRX retransmission timer, or SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer (see [0092]… activity behavior may comprise one or more timers associated with DRX behavior in Uu DRX or similar, such as: an inactivity timer associated with sidelink transmission; an on duration timer associated with sidelink transmissions; a slot offset; a retransmission timer; a HARQ RTT timer; a DRX short cycle timer. …; further see [0135] WTRU may perform independent maintenance of counters or timers related to SL / UL based on the events associated with each scenario. A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer associated with SL DRX if it receives a PDCCH indicating a new SL transmission or it receives / decodes a SL SCI from PSCCH. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer.),
wherein at least one of time when the SL DRX onduration timer runs, time when the SL DRX inactivity timer runs, or SL DRX HARQ RTT timer runs is included in the active time of the first device (see [0135]… A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer associated with SL DRX if it receives a PDCCH indicating a new SL transmission or it receives / decodes a SL SCI from PSCCH. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer; further see [0102].. The WTRU may determine the activity time on both UL and SL based on the existing drx-lnactivityTimer….), and
wherein the COT is included in the active time of the first device.
Here Freda fails to teach about obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT); and also COT is included in the active time of the first device.
However Sun teaches in [0032]… sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) are required to contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures.; now refer to [0033].. a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT i.e. type 1 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band.. The UE that acquires the COT may be referred to as an initiating UE and may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) indicating COT sharing information (e.g., a length of the initiating UE's transmission, a length of the remaining COT, whether the transmission supports frequency interlacing, and the like).; now in context with [0055 and 0066 and 0096] refer to [0097] regarding ..the initiating UE 602 may support TDM COT sharing within the active transmission. For example, a UE 604 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSFCH to the initiating UE 602. In another example, a UE 606 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to the initiating UE 602. In some examples, the initiating UE 602 may transmit SCI including COT sharing information. The COT sharing information may indicate that other sidelink UEs can share the COT and/or time duration of the COT. In some examples, a monitoring UE may monitor for SCI, detect SCI, read the COT sharing information, and decide to use the COT if the monitoring UE has data to transmit.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Freda to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT); and also COT is included in the active time of the first device; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see Sun [0032].
Regarding claim 23, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 14, wherein the COT includes a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer; Sun [0033].. a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT i.e. type 1 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band.. The UE that acquires the COT may be referred to as an initiating UE and may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) indicating COT sharing information (e.g., a length of the initiating UE's transmission, a length of the remaining COT, whether the transmission supports frequency interlacing, and the like).; now in context with [0055 and 0066 and 0096] refer to [0097] regarding ..the initiating UE 602 may support TDM COT sharing within the active transmission. For example, a UE 604 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSFCH to the initiating UE 602. In another example, a UE 606 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to the initiating UE 602. In some examples, the initiating UE 602 may transmit SCI including COT sharing information. .
Regarding claim 24, Freda teaches a processing device adapted to control a first device to perform wireless communication, the processing device comprising:
at least one processor; and
at least one memory connected to the at least one processor and storing instructions that, based on being executed, cause the at least one processor to perform operations comprising
(see [0004] WTRU as a first device):
obtaining sidelink (SL) discontinuous reception (DRX) configuration (see [0004] …. The WTRU may receive a set of sidelink DRX parameters that are independent of parameters configured for Uu DRX. The WTRU may receive a scheduled sidelink grant from a network during its Uu active time (i.e., the time when the WTRU actively monitors PDCCH). The WTRU may receive a first DRX configuration associated with Uu and receive a second DRX configuration associated with sidelink DRX…);
obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT);
receiving first sidelink control information (SCI) for scheduling second SCI and physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) through physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) within active time (see [0093]… A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer, or have any behavior which modifies its activity behavior as a result of any of: reception of an SCI, whereby the SCI may be an SCI which schedules data and/or an SCI which performs announcement of future scheduled data…; further see [0134].. If a slot falls within a SL active time but outside of a Uu active time: the WTRU may perform PDCCH decoding for SL-RNTI only; the WTRU may perform PSCCH decoding; ……; now refer to [0147]… The SCI itself may have an indicator that further identifies the new activity to be applied. For example, the first or second stage SCI may include an index of the intended activity state. The SCI itself may have an indicator identifying this transmission (i.e. SCI transmission) is an activity state change indication………); and
receiving the second SCI and data through the PSSCH within the active time (see [0102]… The WTRU may receive PSCCH / PSSCH with data intended for / decoded by the WTRU. .; now refer to [0147]… For example, the first or second stage SCI may have an explicit bit indicating the SCI (and potentially associated PSSCH transmission) ….),
wherein the SL DRX configuration includes at least one of SL DRX onduration timer, SL DRX inactivity timer, SL DRX retransmission timer, or SL DRX hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) round trip time (RTT) timer (see [0092]… activity behavior may comprise one or more timers associated with DRX behavior in Uu DRX or similar, such as: an inactivity timer associated with sidelink transmission; an on duration timer associated with sidelink transmissions; a slot offset; a retransmission timer; a HARQ RTT timer; a DRX short cycle timer. …; further see [0135] WTRU may perform independent maintenance of counters or timers related to SL / UL based on the events associated with each scenario. A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer associated with SL DRX if it receives a PDCCH indicating a new SL transmission or it receives / decodes a SL SCI from PSCCH. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer.),
wherein at least one of time when the SL DRX onduration timer runs, time when the SL DRX inactivity timer runs, or SL DRX HARQ RTT timer runs is included in the active time of the first device (see [0135]… A WTRU may reset an inactivity timer associated with SL DRX if it receives a PDCCH indicating a new SL transmission or it receives / decodes a SL SCI from PSCCH. A WTRU may determine its on duration time for SL, defined as a period in which the WTRU decodes SL and / or UL for SL assignments, based on a SL-specific DRX cycle, SL-specific DRX offset, and a SL-specific on duration timer; further see [0102].. The WTRU may determine the activity time on both UL and SL based on the existing drx-lnactivityTimer….), and
wherein the COT is included in the active time of the first device.
Here Freda fails to teach about obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT); and also COT is included in the active time of the first device.
However Sun teaches in [0032]… sidelink user equipment devices (UEs) are required to contend for channel access in the spectrum, for example, via CCA and/or LBT procedures.; now refer to [0033].. a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT i.e. type 1 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band.. The UE that acquires the COT may be referred to as an initiating UE and may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) indicating COT sharing information (e.g., a length of the initiating UE's transmission, a length of the remaining COT, whether the transmission supports frequency interlacing, and the like).; now in context with [0055 and 0066 and 0096] refer to [0097] regarding ..the initiating UE 602 may support TDM COT sharing within the active transmission. For example, a UE 604 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSFCH to the initiating UE 602. In another example, a UE 606 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to the initiating UE 602. In some examples, the initiating UE 602 may transmit SCI including COT sharing information. The COT sharing information may indicate that other sidelink UEs can share the COT and/or time duration of the COT. In some examples, a monitoring UE may monitor for SCI, detect SCI, read the COT sharing information, and decide to use the COT if the monitoring UE has data to transmit.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Sun with the teachings of Freda to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein obtaining channel occupancy time (COT), based on a type 1 listen before talk (LBT); and also COT is included in the active time of the first device; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see Sun [0032].
Regarding claim 25, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 24, wherein the COT includes a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer; Sun [0033].. a first UE may contend for a COT in the shared radio frequency band for sidelink communication by performing a listen-before-talk (LBT) (e.g., a category 4 (CAT4) LBT i.e. type 1 LBT) in the shared radio frequency band to acquire to a COT in the shared radio frequency band.. The UE that acquires the COT may be referred to as an initiating UE and may transmit sidelink control information (SCI) indicating COT sharing information (e.g., a length of the initiating UE's transmission, a length of the remaining COT, whether the transmission supports frequency interlacing, and the like).; now in context with [0055 and 0066 and 0096] refer to [0097] regarding ..the initiating UE 602 may support TDM COT sharing within the active transmission. For example, a UE 604 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSFCH to the initiating UE 602. In another example, a UE 606 may share the COT 608 of the initiating UE 602 and transmit PSCCH/PSSCH to the initiating UE 602. In some examples, the initiating UE 602 may transmit SCI including COT sharing information. .
Claim(s) 4, 6, 22 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Freda et al. (WO 2021163617 A1); see IDS filed on 5/20/2026 page 1 in view of Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2023/0146161 A1) and in further view of Narasimha et al. (US Pub. No. 2017/0265248 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 1, but Freda fails to state about wherein all or portion of the COT is not included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, and
wherein, based on all or portion of the COT not being included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; however Narasimha states in [0062] about The DRX Active Time refers to the total duration that a UE is awake and monitors for a control channel addressed to the UE. The active time initially has the same duration as the DRX On-Duration (and may be referred to herein as the “initial active time”), but the active time may be extended beyond the end of the DRX On-Duration to include portions of the DRX opportunity time 406 (which may be referred to herein as the “extended active time” or “active time extension”). When the UE detects a control channel, the active time may be extended to allow for further packet transmission or retransmissions of packets. In such cases, the DRX active time is therefore longer than the DRX On-Duration. The active time includes both the initial active time and the extended active time; further see [0061].. in one example the UE performs CCA (preferably in the same time period as the CCA performed by the eNB) during, or just before, each subframe during the initial active time corresponding to the DRX On-Duration 608, during which time the UE is monitoring for (E)PDCCH. If the CCA indicates that the channel is busy (e.g., CCA 602), the UE extends the active time 612 by one subframe. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Narasimha with the teachings of Freda in view of Sun to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein all or portion of the COT is not included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, and wherein, based on all or portion of the COT not being included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see [0009] of Narasimha.
Regarding claim 6, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 5, but Freda fails to state about based on all or portion of the duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer not being included in the COT, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; however Narasimha states in [0062] about The DRX Active Time refers to the total duration that a UE is awake and monitors for a control channel addressed to the UE. The active time initially has the same duration as the DRX On-Duration (and may be referred to herein as the “initial active time”), but the active time may be extended beyond the end of the DRX On-Duration to include portions of the DRX opportunity time 406 (which may be referred to herein as the “extended active time” or “active time extension”). When the UE detects a control channel, the active time may be extended to allow for further packet transmission or retransmissions of packets. In such cases, the DRX active time is therefore longer than the DRX On-Duration. The active time includes both the initial active time and the extended active time; further see [0061].. in one example the UE performs CCA (preferably in the same time period as the CCA performed by the eNB) during, or just before, each subframe during the initial active time corresponding to the DRX On-Duration 608, during which time the UE is monitoring for (E)PDCCH. If the CCA indicates that the channel is busy (e.g., CCA 602), the UE extends the active time 612 by one subframe. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Narasimha with the teachings of Freda in view of Sun to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism based on all or portion of the duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer not being included in the COT, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see [0009] of Narasimha.
Regarding claim 22, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 14, but Freda fails to state about wherein all or portion of the COT is not included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, and
wherein, based on all or portion of the COT not being included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; however Narasimha states in [0062] about The DRX Active Time refers to the total duration that a UE is awake and monitors for a control channel addressed to the UE. The active time initially has the same duration as the DRX On-Duration (and may be referred to herein as the “initial active time”), but the active time may be extended beyond the end of the DRX On-Duration to include portions of the DRX opportunity time 406 (which may be referred to herein as the “extended active time” or “active time extension”). When the UE detects a control channel, the active time may be extended to allow for further packet transmission or retransmissions of packets. In such cases, the DRX active time is therefore longer than the DRX On-Duration. The active time includes both the initial active time and the extended active time; further see [0061].. in one example the UE performs CCA (preferably in the same time period as the CCA performed by the eNB) during, or just before, each subframe during the initial active time corresponding to the DRX On-Duration 608, during which time the UE is monitoring for (E)PDCCH. If the CCA indicates that the channel is busy (e.g., CCA 602), the UE extends the active time 612 by one subframe. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Narasimha with the teachings of Freda in view of Sun to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein all or portion of the COT is not included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, and wherein, based on all or portion of the COT not being included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see [0009] of Narasimha.
Regarding claim 26, Freda in view of Sun teaches as per claim 24, but Freda fails to state about wherein all or portion of the COT is not included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, and
wherein, based on all or portion of the COT not being included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; however Narasimha states in [0062] about The DRX Active Time refers to the total duration that a UE is awake and monitors for a control channel addressed to the UE. The active time initially has the same duration as the DRX On-Duration (and may be referred to herein as the “initial active time”), but the active time may be extended beyond the end of the DRX On-Duration to include portions of the DRX opportunity time 406 (which may be referred to herein as the “extended active time” or “active time extension”). When the UE detects a control channel, the active time may be extended to allow for further packet transmission or retransmissions of packets. In such cases, the DRX active time is therefore longer than the DRX On-Duration. The active time includes both the initial active time and the extended active time; further see [0061].. in one example the UE performs CCA (preferably in the same time period as the CCA performed by the eNB) during, or just before, each subframe during the initial active time corresponding to the DRX On-Duration 608, during which time the UE is monitoring for (E)PDCCH. If the CCA indicates that the channel is busy (e.g., CCA 602), the UE extends the active time 612 by one subframe. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Narasimha with the teachings of Freda in view of Sun to make system more reliable. Having a mechanism wherein all or portion of the COT is not included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, and wherein, based on all or portion of the COT not being included in a duration related to the SL DRX onduration timer, the first device operates in active state within the COT outside of the duration of the SL DRX onduration timer; more reliable way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system; see [0009] of Narasimha.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 form for considered prior arts for record.
Reference Wang et al. (US Pub. No. 2025/0008558 A1) teaches about It is anticipated that for NR in unlicensed bands (NR-U), a similar gap to accommodate for the radio turnaround time will be allowed. For example, this will enable the transmission of PUCCH carrying UCI feedback as well as PUSCH carrying data and possible UCI within the same transmit opportunity (TXOP) acquired by the initiating gNB without the UE performing clear channel assessment before PUSCH/PUCCH transmission as long as the gap between DL and UL transmission is less than or equal to 16 μs. Operation in this manner is typically called “COT sharing.” An example of COT sharing is illustrated in FIG. 1.; see [0030].
Reference Terry et al. (US Pub. NO. 2022/0039016 A1) teaches about [0407] In another example, there may be a method to address the DRX inefficiencies caused by LBT operation by dynamically adapting DRX procedures. When the UE wakes each DRX cycle the DRX configuration may be dynamically adjusted according to LBT operation. For example, the DRX On Duration, In Activity or DRX cycles may be periodically adjusted. This may be each DRX cycle.
[0408] Before transmission the NB determines Clear Channel Assessment (CCA) and selects a Channel Access Priority Class (CAPC). For the CAPC a Maximum Channel Occupancy Time (MCOT) and Contention Window Size (CWS) is selected. Transmissions can occur during the MCOT period, while during the CCA and CWS periods transmission cannot occur. Since transmission timing may be dynamically adjusted, the UE DRX operation may be dynamically adjusted to better match transmission opportunities determined by the NB.
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479