DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Alford et al. (US 2021/0179051).
Regarding independent claim 1, Alford discloses a braking control device for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising: an upper braking unit (132) that electrically outputs a supply pressure according to a braking request amount (see ¶ 0049); and a lower braking unit (170, 172, 174, 176, 170’, 172’, 174’, 176’, 120) that is disposed between the upper braking unit and a plurality of wheel cylinders (HL, HR, VR, VL), individually adjusts the supply pressure with respect to each of the plurality of wheel cylinders (see ¶ 0061), and outputs a wheel pressure (see ¶ 0061); wherein the upper braking unit increases the supply pressure to a demand pressure necessary for executing a sideslip prevention control when the lower braking unit executes the sideslip prevention control (see ¶ 0066).
Regarding claim 4, Alford discloses that when the upper braking unit cannot increase the supply pressure to the demand pressure, the lower braking unit increases the wheel pressure by a deviation between the supply pressure and the demand pressure (see ¶ 0071).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alford et al. (US 2021/0179051), as applied to claim 1, above, and further in view of Ohkubo et al. (US 6,913,326).
Alford does not explicitly disclose that the demand pressure is determined based on a maximum value of necessary pressures required for each of the plurality of wheel cylinders.
Ohkubo teaches a braking control device for a vehicle (see Abstract, FIG. 1) comprising a braking unit (30), wherein the braking unit increases the supply pressure to a demand pressure necessary for executing a sideslip prevention control (see col. 34, lines 31-39), the demand pressure is determined based on a maximum value of necessary pressures required for each of the plurality of wheel cylinders (see col. 34, lines 31-39).
It would have been obvious to set the demand pressure in Alford to the maximum value of necessary pressures required for each of the plurality of wheel cylinders, as taught by Ohkubo, to permit the fluid pressure in any wheel brake cylinder to be controlled to the target value (see e.g. Ohkubo, col. 34, lines 31-39).
Regarding claim 3, Alford discloses that when the upper braking unit cannot increase the supply pressure to the demand pressure, the lower braking unit increases the wheel pressure by a deviation between the supply pressure and the demand pressure (see ¶ 0071).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS J LANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3616
July 23, 2026