DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending in the present application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/24/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 14, this claim is unclear due to its dependence on claim 14. For the purpose of examination, claim 14 has been read as depending on claim 13.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dias et al. (US PGPUB 2009/0018428 A1, hereinafter Dias).
Regarding claim 1, Dias teaches a system for sensing pressure (see Fig. 10, all elements; see also [0115]-[0116], capacitive knitted capacitive transducer shown and described, wherein pressure changes to the system result in changes in capacitance and thus are considered to sense pressure), the system comprising: a pressure sensor (see Fig. 10, pressure transducer 100) comprising: an inner conductive core (102); a conductive layer coaxial with said conductive core (see Fig. 10, conductive layer 104 coaxial with conductive core 102); an insulating layer disposed between said conductive core and said conductive layer (see Fig. 10 and [0115]-[0117], insulating (non-conductive) layer 108 disposed between conductive layer 104 and conductive core 102); and an outer insulating layer coaxial with and disposed on said conductive layer (see Fig. 10 and [0115]-[0117], outer insulating (non-conductive) layer 108 disposed coaxial and disposed on conductive layer 104).
Dias fails to specifically teach a computing device configured to detect a capacitance of said pressure sensor and determine a pressure applied to said pressure sensor based on a change in said capacitance.
However, Dias does teach that pressure transducer is configured such that displacement of the transducer results in changes to the capacitance so as to measure mechanical strain, touch, and displacement (see [0115]-[0116]), and wherein the device may be used for measuring blood pressure (see [0002]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include in the system of Dias a computing device for measuring the capacitance and calibrating the measurement for blood pressure. This would allow for accurate, automated, and continuous determination of pressure utilizing the integrated sensors in a garment.
Regarding claim 2, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that said conductive layer is a conductive yarn (see [0115], discussion of conductive yarn).
Regarding claim 3, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that said conductive layer comprises one of poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiphene) polystyrene sulfonate (PEDOT:PSS), silver, gold, platinum, stainless steel, copper, brass, aluminum, or an alloy thereof (see [0115], use of stainless steel or copper wire used for conductive layer).
Regarding claim 4, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 1.
Dias above fails to specifically teach that the insulating layer comprises one or more of wool, cotton, tencil, TPU, TPE, PU, polyester, and parylene.
However, Dias does teach that the insulating layer comprises a knitted non-conductive yarn (see [0115]-[0116], discussion of knitted non-conductive yarn).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the device of Dias such that the insulating layers comprise one of wool, cotton, tencil, TPU, TPE, PU, polyester, and parylene. This is because as the system is designed for garments, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the use of well-known insulating yarn of wool, cotton, polyester, etc.
Regarding claim 5, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claims 1 and 4.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that the insulating layer is formed as a knitted/weaved fabric or an insulating coating (see [0116], use of knitted fabric for insulating layer discussed).
Regarding claim 6, Dias teaches a system for sensing pressure (see Fig. 12(a)-12(b), all elements; see also [0119], capacitive transducer shown and described, wherein pressure changes to the system result in changes in capacitance and thus are considered to sense pressure), the system comprising: a first layer comprising a first plurality of conductive elements in a first configuration (see annotated Fig. 12(b) below and [0119], first layer including first plurality of conductive elements 122); a second layer comprising a second plurality of conductive elements in a second configuration (see annotated Fig. 12(b) below and [0119], second layer including second plurality of conductive elements 122), wherein said first layer and said second layer are combined to form a plurality of pressure sensors at points of intersection between said first plurality of conductive elements and said second plurality of conductive elements (see Fig. 12(a), annotated Fig. 12(b) below, and [0119], first layer and second layer combine to form a plurality of capacitive transducers (pressure sensors) at the intersection of said first plurality of conductive elements 122 and said second plurality of conductive elements 122 as shown and described).
Dias fails to specifically teach a computing device configured to detect a capacitance of one or more of said plurality of pressures sensors and determine a pressure applied to said one or more of said pressure sensors based on a change in said capacitance.
However, Dias does teach that pressure transducer is configured such that displacement of the transducer results in changes to the capacitance so as to measure mechanical strain, touch, and displacement (see [0005]), and wherein the device may be used for measuring blood pressure (see [0002]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include in the system of Dias a computing device for measuring the capacitance and calibrating the measurement for blood pressure. This would allow for accurate, automated, and continuous determination of pressure utilizing the integrated sensors in a garment.
Regarding claim 7, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that at least one of said first plurality of conductive elements and said second plurality of conductive elements is insulated by an insulating layer (see Fig. 12(a)-12(b) and [0119], insulating layer 124).
Regarding claim 8, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that said computing device (power and detection signal connections) is connected to said plurality of pressure sensors via one or more of heat taking connectors, crimping boards, embroidered boards, low melt soldering, ultrasonic welding, z-axis, and embedded electronics (see [0006], use of embedded connections for power and signal transmission discussed).
Regarding claim 9, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
Furtehrmore, Dias teaches that said plurality of pressure sensors is incorporated into one of an insole, a shoe, a mat, a blanket, a bed sheet, a mattress, and/or a garment (see [0001], transducers incorporated into garments).
Regarding claim 10, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
Dias above fails to specifically teach that said plurality of pressure sensors is incorporated into one or more straps of a backpack and/or a back portion of a backpack.
However, Dias does teach that the pressure sensors (capacitive transducers) may be incorporated into garments including gloves, mitts, socks, trousers, and pants (see [0140]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system of Dias such that the pressure sensors were incorporated into any garment or wearable including backpack straps. This would allow for backpack to be provide with incorporated transducers so as to measure strain/pressure with high signal to noise ratio as described by Dias (see [0140]).
Regarding claim 11, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
Dias fails to specifically teach that said computing system is configured to display a heat map depicting a distribution of determined pressures or pressure measurement values across said plurality of pressure sensors.
However, Dias does teach a distribution of capacitive transducers (see Fig. 12(a)-12(b), distribution of capacitive transducers 120).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system of Dias such that heat maps of the determined pressure measurement values across the sensors. This is because one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize the ability of the distribution of sensors to the measurement of the spatial distribution of pressure, thereby increasing the precision of the system.
Regarding claim 12, Dias above teaches all of the limitations of claim 6.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that a dielectric layer is positioned between said first layer and said second layer (see [0119], use of non-conducting layer 124, wherein non-conducting is interpreted as dielectric).
Regarding claim 13, Dias teaches a method of assembling a pressure sensing device (see Fig. 12(a)-12(b), all elements; see also [0119], capacitive transducer assembled as shown and described, wherein pressure changes to the system result in changes in capacitance and thus are considered to sense pressure), the method comprising: providing a first layer comprising a first plurality of conductive elements in a first configuration (see annotated Fig. 12(b) below and [0119], first layer including first plurality of conductive elements 122); providing a second layer comprising a second plurality of conductive elements in a second configuration (see annotated Fig. 12(b) below and [0119], second layer including second plurality of conductive elements 122), combining said first layer and said second layer are combined to form a plurality of pressure sensors at points of intersection between said first plurality of conductive elements and said second plurality of conductive elements (see Fig. 12(a), annotated Fig. 12(b) below, and [0119], first layer and second layer combine to form a plurality of capacitive transducers (pressure sensors) at the intersection of said first plurality of conductive elements 122 and said second plurality of conductive elements 122 as shown and described); measuring changes in capacitance at one more of said pressure sensors (see [0020] and [0119], capacitive transducers measured as described).
Dias fails to specifically teach determining a pressure applied to said one or more pressure sensors based on said changes in capacitance.
However, Dias does teach that pressure transducer is configured such that displacement of the transducer results in changes to the capacitance so as to measure mechanical strain, touch, and displacement (see [0005]), and wherein the device may be used for measuring blood pressure (see [0002]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include in the system of Dias a computing device for measuring the capacitance and calibrating the measurement for blood pressure. This would allow for accurate, automated, and continuous determination of pressure utilizing the integrated sensors in a garment.
Regarding claim 14, Dias teaches all of the limitations of claim 13.
Furthermore, Dias teaches positioning a dielectric layer between said first layer and said second layer (see [0119], positioning of non-conducting layer 124, wherein non-conducting is interpreted as dielectric).
Regarding claim 15, Dias teaches all of the limitations of claim 13 and 14.
Furthermore, Dias teaches that at least one of the first plurality of conductive elements and the second plurality of conductive elements is insulated by an insulating layer (see Fig. 12(a)-12(b) and [0119], first plurality of conductive elements 122 and the second plurality of conductive elements 122 is insulated by an insulating layer 124).
Conclusion
/NATHANIEL T WOODWARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855