DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2024, September 27, 2024 and April 22, 2026 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 states that a functional region in which the plurality of defocus regions are arranged in such a manner that the diameters d1 fall within a range of ± 20%, but it is unclear as to what the diameters are within 20% of, i.e., what reference value is d1 compared to, therefore claim 3 is indefinite.
With regard to dependent claim 4, claim 4 is rejected as it depends, directly or indirectly, from dependent claim 3 and therefore inherits all of the deficiencies of the claim from which it depends.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Matsuoka (WO 2021/132079).
With regard to independent claim 1, Matsuoka teaches an eyeglass lens comprising: a base region configured to cause light incident on an object-side surface to exit from an eye-side surface, enter an eye, and converge at a predetermined position A on a retina (paragraph [0025]); and a plurality of defocus regions having a characteristic of causing light to converge at a position B farther from an object side than the position A is (paragraph [0025]), wherein d1/d2 is greater than 2 and less than 3, where d1, which is the diameter of a circle circumscribing a triangle connecting centers of three of the defocus regions closest to each other (wherein d1 has been determined, using the relationship of a circle having an inscribed triangle of a/√3 = R, wherein a is a side of the triangle and R is the radius of the circle, such that d1 = 1.63. See annotated Figure 1 below), is divided by d2, which is the diameter of the defocus regions (paragraph [0093], wherein d2 = 0.6 mm and d1/d2 = 2.71).
With regard to dependent claim 2, Matsuoka teaches al of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyeglass lens wherein the plurality of defocus regions are spaced apart and not adjacent to each other (see annotated Figure 1 above wherein the defocus regions (element 6) are spaced apart).
With regard to dependent claim 5, Matsuoka teaches al of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyeglass lens wherein a surface shape of the plurality of defocus regions is a spherical shape (Figure 2 and paragraph [0055]).
With regard to dependent claim 6, Matsuoka teaches al of the claimed limitations of the instant invention as outlined above with respect to independent claim 1, and further teaches such an eyeglass lens wherein the eyeglass lens is a hyperopia reducing lens (paragraph [0026]).
With regard to independent claim 7, Matsuoka teaches a design method for an eyeglass lens, comprising the steps of: designing a base region configured to cause light incident on an object-side surface to exit from an eye-side surface, enter an eye, and converge at a predetermined position A on a retina (paragraph [0025]); and designing a plurality of defocus regions having a characteristic of causing light to converge at a position B farther from an object side than the position A is (paragraph [0025]), wherein in the step of designing the plurality of defocus regions, the plurality of defocus regions are designed in such a manner that d1/d2 is greater than 2 and less than 3, where d1, which is the diameter of a circle circumscribing a triangle connecting centers of three of the defocus regions closest to each other (wherein d1 has been determined, using the relationship of a circle having an inscribed triangle of a/√3 = R, wherein a is a side of the triangle and R is the radius of the circle, such that d1 = 1.63. See annotated Figure 1 above), is divided by d2, which is the diameter of the defocus regions (paragraph [0093], wherein d2 = 0.6 mm and d1/d2 = 2.71).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Qi et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0273458), Qi (U.S. Patent Publication 2023/0229018) and Chalberg , Jr, et al (U.S. Patent Publication 2022/0011602) all teach eyeglass lenses comprising defocus regions.
/DARRYL J COLLINS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872
10 June 2026