DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because it contains the implied phrase “The invention relates to” and also the legal phraseology “comprises”. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Objections
Claims 1-10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, at line 4, should have the word “and” after the semicolon.
Claim 1, at line 8, the phrase “characterized in that” should be replaced with the word “wherein”.
Claims 2-10 objected to due to dependence from claim 1.
The preamble of each of claims 2-7 and 9 starts with the article “A” and should instead start with “The”.
Claim 7, at line 5, recites “an unique” but should instead read “a unique”.
Claim 8, at line 7, should have the word “and” after the semicolon.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a light-emitting source that is configured to emit at least one light signal in claim 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the claim is indefinite as it is unclear what is meant by “a display unit of the at least one light signal”. For examination purposes the claim is considered to simply require a display unit.
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "such as" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Additionally, the term “several” in the claim is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “several” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purposes any prior art teaching of at least two LEDs will be considered to meet the limitations of the claim.
Regarding claim 7, the claim recites “a pair”, of LEDs, and then recites “each pair”. This limitation is indefinite as it is unclear how many pairs are required. For examination purposes the claim is presumed to mean that there are at least two pairs.
Regarding claim 9, the claim recites “one of the pairs”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim or in the claims from which it depends. For examination purposes the claim is presumed to refer to pairs as recited by claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, line 6 recites “thanks to the remote terminal”. It is unclear what this is intended to mean. For examination purposes the claim is considered to mean “responsive to the remote terminal”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2019/0325776).
As to claim 1, Liu discloses a teaching device for electric piano, the teaching device comprising:
a processing unit 110 comprising a casing housing an electronic control module configured to be driven by a remote peripheral terminal (Fig. 3); and
a light-emitting strip 202 being configured to visually guide to at least one note to be played when said strip 202 is mounted on a keyboard of the electronic piano (Figs. 1A-B; paragraph 60);
wherein the strip 202 is flexible and is removable connected to the processing unit 110 by cabling (Fig. 1A).
As to claim 2, Liu discloses the control module having two-way wireless communication between the processing unit 110 and the remote terminal (Fig. 3).
As to claim 3, Liu discloses the processing unit as a tablet device (paragraph 48) and thus is considered to include a WIFI communication antenna as claimed.
As to claim 4, Liu discloses controlling a light emitting source (paragraphs 56-60) and thus inherently includes an interfaced switch as claimed.
As to claim 5, Liu discloses a display unit (Fig. 4).
As to claim 6, Liu discloses a plurality of lights 108 along an extension of the strip 202 (Fig. 1A).
As to claim 7, Liu discloses pairs of lights to visually guide to a unique note (Fig. 2A; paragraph 22, each note has a pair of lights, one blue and one red).
As to claim 8, Liu discloses a set comprising the teaching device 102, the electric piano 106, and a MIDI/USB interface 210 configured to establish two-way communication between the piano 106 and the processing unit 110 (Figs. 1A and 3).
As to claim 9, Liu discloses each key of the keyboard associated with a pair of light emitting diodes (Fig. 2A; paragraph 22, each note has a pair of lights, one blue and one red).
As to claim 10, Liu discloses a method of implementing the teaching set, comprising:
a monitoring step of the teaching device by the remote terminal (Fig. 6, step 608; paragraph 87);
a configuration step of the teaching device by the remote terminal (Fig. 6, step 608; paragraph 94);
a data transmission step from the terminal to the teaching device (Fig. 6, step 608; paragraph 101); and
a visual guiding step to light the keys as claimed (Fig. 6, step 610).
Conclusion
/JONATHAN BRADFORD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763