DETAILED ACTION
Claim 24 has been cancelled.
Claim 25 has been added.
Claims 1-13, 18-23, and 25 have been examined.
Responses to Applicant’s remarks have been given.
Priority
The current application is a National Stage entry of PCT/CN2022/096001, International Filing Date: 05/30/2022.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/04/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regards to the Applicant’s arguments regarding that “Visvesha does not disclose or suggest ‘[a] battery encryption circuit, provided in a battery as a component of the battery and comprising an encryption part and a communication part, wherein the encryption part comprises a storage unit and an encryption unit’ as recited in amended claim 1”, the Examiner maintains that Visvesha discloses these aspects of the Applicant’s claimed invention via, inter alia, column 3, lines 28-38, “Each of the one or more secondary batteries and the vehicle controller, upon decrypting the encrypted authentication request, may be further configured to store at least the first random number”, column 6, lines 16-20, “the primary battery 102 may be further configured to communicate with the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 for performing data communication and data verification for executing the authentication of each battery.”, and column 19, lines 35-50, “a battery status (generated by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108) may be encrypted using one or more encryption techniques that are well known in the art without deviating from scope of the disclosure. The one or more encryption techniques may be based on AES, 3DES, Twofish, or the like. In an embodiment, each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 may be configured to generate the battery status based on at least the verification of the first random number and the vehicle identifier and perform the encryption of the battery status to generate the encrypted battery status. The encrypted battery status may be a data packet having a size of 128 bits. The encrypted battery status may be communicated periodically by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 to the primary battery 102 of the electric vehicle 112.”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-13 and 18-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. US 12095920 B2 to Visvesha et al., hereinafter Visvesha.
Regarding claim 1, Visvesha discloses a battery encryption circuit, provided in a battery as a component of the battery and comprising an encryption part and a communication part, wherein the encryption part comprises a storage unit and an encryption unit (column 3, lines 28-38, “Each of the one or more secondary batteries and the vehicle controller, upon decrypting the encrypted authentication request, may be further configured to store at least the first random number”, and column 6, lines 36-42, “The primary battery 102 may be further configured to receive an encrypted battery status from each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted battery status includes at least the first random number, the second random number, and an authentication status associated with each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108.”);
the communication part is configured to send, to the encryption unit, first information stored in the storage unit (column 11, lines 39-53, “Further, in an embodiment, the primary battery 102 may be configured to communicate the encrypted authentication message to the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted authentication message may include at least the first random number, the second random number, and the authentication status. The encrypted authentication message may further include the primary battery identifier of the primary battery 102. The primary battery identifier may be a unique identification number that identifies the primary battery 102 in the electric vehicle 112. The primary battery identifier may be a symbol, a numerical string, an alphabetical string, an alphanumerical string, or any combination thereof that is used to identify the primary battery 102.”);
the encryption unit is configured to generate encryption information based on the first information sent by the storage unit (column 19, lines 35-50, “a battery status (generated by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108) may be encrypted using one or more encryption techniques that are well known in the art without deviating from scope of the disclosure. The one or more encryption techniques may be based on AES, 3DES, Twofish, or the like. In an embodiment, each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 may be configured to generate the battery status based on at least the verification of the first random number and the vehicle identifier and perform the encryption of the battery status to generate the encrypted battery status. The encrypted battery status may be a data packet having a size of 128 bits. The encrypted battery status may be communicated periodically by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 to the primary battery 102 of the electric vehicle 112.”);
and the communication part is further configured to transmit, to a processor electrically connected to the battery encryption circuit, verification information stored in the storage unit, and the encryption information generated by the encryption unit, thereby completing battery verification (column 6, lines 16-20, “the primary battery 102 may be further configured to communicate with the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 for performing data communication and data verification for executing the authentication of each battery.”).
Regarding claim 2, Visvesha discloses wherein the storage unit comprises at least one of a first coulombmeter or a first encryption chip (column 12, lines 60-67, column 12, lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 3, Visvesha discloses wherein the communication part comprises an integrated circuit bus, the storage unit is electrically connected to the encryption unit via the integrated circuit bus, and the storage unit and the encryption unit are electrically connected to the processor via the integrated circuit bus (column 3, lines 5-11, and column 4, lines 21-36).
Regarding claim 4, Visvesha discloses wherein the communication part comprises at least one of: a first communication unit, wherein the first communication unit is configured to send, to the encryption unit, the first information stored in the storage unit; or a second communication unit and a third communication unit, wherein the second communication unit is configured to transmit, to the processor, the verification information stored in the storage unit, and the third communication unit is configured to transmit, to the processor, the encryption information generated by the encryption unit (column 6, lines 21-33, and column 7, lines 21-32).
Regarding claim 5, Visvesha discloses wherein: the first information comprises setting battery information, and the verification information comprises first identification information and the setting battery information; the first information comprises setting battery information and first identification information, and the verification information comprises the setting battery information; or the first information comprises setting battery information and first identification information, and the verification information comprises the setting battery information and the first identification information (column 15, lines 31-52).
Regarding claim 6, Visvesha discloses a battery, comprising a battery cell and a protection circuit board, wherein the protection circuit board comprises the battery encryption circuit according to claim 1 (column 5, lines 18-23 and column 12, lines 17-23).
Regarding claim 7, Visvesha discloses a terminal, comprising a processor and a battery, wherein the battery comprises a battery cell and a protection circuit board, and the protection circuit board comprises the battery encryption circuit according to claim 1, wherein the battery encryption circuit of the protective circuit board of the battery is electrically connected to the processor of the terminal (column 12, lines 17-23 and 57-67, and column 13, lines 1-10).
Regarding claim 8, Visvesha teaches a verification method for a battery, wherein the battery comprises a battery cell and a protection circuit board (column 5, lines 18-32 and 39-44, column 12, lines 19-27),
the protection circuit board comprises a battery encryption circuit provided in the battery as a component of the battery and comprising an encryption part and a communication part, and the encryption part comprises a storage unit and an encryption unit (Each of the one or more secondary batteries and the vehicle controller, upon decrypting the encrypted authentication request, may be further configured to store at least the first random number, and column 6, lines 36-42, “The primary battery 102 may be further configured to receive an encrypted battery status from each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted battery status includes at least the first random number, the second random number, and an authentication status associated with each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108.”);
the communication part is configured to send, to the encryption unit, first information stored in the storage unit (Each of the one or more secondary batteries and the vehicle controller, upon decrypting the encrypted authentication request, may be further configured to store at least the first random number, and column 11, lines 39-53, “Further, in an embodiment, the primary battery 102 may be configured to communicate the encrypted authentication message to the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted authentication message may include at least the first random number, the second random number, and the authentication status. The encrypted authentication message may further include the primary battery identifier of the primary battery 102. The primary battery identifier may be a unique identification number that identifies the primary battery 102 in the electric vehicle 112. The primary battery identifier may be a symbol, a numerical string, an alphabetical string, an alphanumerical string, or any combination thereof that is used to identify the primary battery 102.”);
the encryption unit is configured to generate encryption information based on the first information sent by the storage unit (column 19, lines 35-50, “a battery status (generated by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108) may be encrypted using one or more encryption techniques that are well known in the art without deviating from scope of the disclosure. The one or more encryption techniques may be based on AES, 3DES, Twofish, or the like. In an embodiment, each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 may be configured to generate the battery status based on at least the verification of the first random number and the vehicle identifier and perform the encryption of the battery status to generate the encrypted battery status. The encrypted battery status may be a data packet having a size of 128 bits. The encrypted battery status may be communicated periodically by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 to the primary battery 102 of the electric vehicle 112.”);
and the communication part is further configured to transmit, to a processor electrically connected to the battery encryption circuit, verification information stored in the storage unit, and the encryption information generated by the encryption unit, thereby completing battery verification (column 6, lines 16-20, “the primary battery 102 may be further configured to communicate with the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 for performing data communication and data verification for executing the authentication of each battery.”),
wherein the verification method is performed by a verification device for the battery, and comprises:
sending an information request instruction to the battery (column 6, lines 36-42, “The primary battery 102 may be further configured to receive an encrypted battery status from each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted battery status includes at least the first random number, the second random number, and an authentication status associated with each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108.”);
receiving the verification information sent by the storage unit of the battery, and the encryption information sent by the encryption unit (column 11, lines 39-53, “Further, in an embodiment, the primary battery 102 may be configured to communicate the encrypted authentication message to the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted authentication message may include at least the first random number, the second random number, and the authentication status. The encrypted authentication message may further include the primary battery identifier of the primary battery 102. The primary battery identifier may be a unique identification number that identifies the primary battery 102 in the electric vehicle 112. The primary battery identifier may be a symbol, a numerical string, an alphabetical string, an alphanumerical string, or any combination thereof that is used to identify the primary battery 102.”);
and performing verification on the battery based on pre-stored information stored in the verification device, the verification information and the encryption information (column 6, lines 16-20, “the primary battery 102 may be further configured to communicate with the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 for performing data communication and data verification for executing the authentication of each battery.”).
Regarding claim 9, Visvesha teaches wherein the encryption information is determined by encrypting first information based on first configuration information preset in the encryption unit (column 17, lines 8-30);
and the performing the verification on the battery comprises: obtaining decryption information by decrypting the encryption information based on preset second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is preset and corresponds to the first configuration information (column 17, lines 34-47);
and performing the verification on the battery based on the decryption information, the verification information and the pre-stored information (column 19, lines 58-67, column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 10, Visvesha teaches wherein the performing the verification on the battery based on the decryption information, the verification information and the pre-stored information comprises: verifying a source of the battery based on the decryption information, the verification information and the pre-stored information, thereby determining whether the source of the battery is reliable (column 17, lines 34-47, column 19, lines 58-67, and column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 11, Visvesha teaches wherein the first information comprises setting battery information, the verification information comprises first identification information and the setting battery information, and the pre-stored information comprises second identification information (column 15, lines 31-52);
and the verifying the source of the battery comprises: determining the source of the battery is reliable in response to that the decryption information matches the setting battery information of the verification information, and the second identification information of the pre-stored information matches the first identification information of the verification information (column 17, lines 34-47, column 19, lines 58-67, and column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 12, Visvesha teaches wherein the first information comprises setting battery information and first identification information, the verification information comprises the setting battery information, and the pre-stored information comprises second identification information; and the verifying the source of the battery comprises: determining the source of the battery is reliable in response to that the decryption information comprises information matching the setting battery information of the verification information, and comprises information matching the second identification information of the pre-stored information (column 15, lines 31-52, column 17, lines 34-47, column 19, lines 58-67, and column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 13, Visvesha teaches wherein the first information comprises setting battery information and first identification information, the verification information comprises the setting battery information and the first identification information, and the pre-stored information comprises second identification information; and the verifying the source of the battery comprises: determining the source of the battery is reliable in response to that the decryption information comprises information matching the setting battery information of the verification information, and at least one of the decryption information or the verification information comprises information matching the second identification information of the pre-stored information (column 15, lines 31-52, column 17, lines 34-47, column 19, lines 58-67, and column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 18, Visvesha discloses a verification device for a battery, wherein the battery comprises a battery cell and a protection circuit board (column 5, lines 18-32 and 39-44, column 12, lines 19-27),
the protection circuit board comprises a battery encryption circuit provided in the battery as a component of the battery and comprising an encryption part and a communication part, and the encryption part comprises a storage unit and an encryption unit (Each of the one or more secondary batteries and the vehicle controller, upon decrypting the encrypted authentication request, may be further configured to store at least the first random number, and column 6, lines 36-42, “The primary battery 102 may be further configured to receive an encrypted battery status from each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted battery status includes at least the first random number, the second random number, and an authentication status associated with each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108.”);
the communication part is configured to send, to the encryption unit, first information stored in the storage unit (Each of the one or more secondary batteries and the vehicle controller, upon decrypting the encrypted authentication request, may be further configured to store at least the first random number, and column 11, lines 39-53, “Further, in an embodiment, the primary battery 102 may be configured to communicate the encrypted authentication message to the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted authentication message may include at least the first random number, the second random number, and the authentication status. The encrypted authentication message may further include the primary battery identifier of the primary battery 102. The primary battery identifier may be a unique identification number that identifies the primary battery 102 in the electric vehicle 112. The primary battery identifier may be a symbol, a numerical string, an alphabetical string, an alphanumerical string, or any combination thereof that is used to identify the primary battery 102.”);
the encryption unit is configured to generate encryption information based on the first information sent by the storage unit (column 19, lines 35-50, “a battery status (generated by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108) may be encrypted using one or more encryption techniques that are well known in the art without deviating from scope of the disclosure. The one or more encryption techniques may be based on AES, 3DES, Twofish, or the like. In an embodiment, each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 may be configured to generate the battery status based on at least the verification of the first random number and the vehicle identifier and perform the encryption of the battery status to generate the encrypted battery status. The encrypted battery status may be a data packet having a size of 128 bits. The encrypted battery status may be communicated periodically by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 to the primary battery 102 of the electric vehicle 112.”);
and the communication part is further configured to transmit, to a processor electrically connected to the battery encryption circuit, verification information stored in the storage unit, and the encryption information generated by the encryption unit, thereby completing battery verification (column 6, lines 16-20, “the primary battery 102 may be further configured to communicate with the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 for performing data communication and data verification for executing the authentication of each battery.”),
wherein the verification device comprises: a processor (column 13, lines 1-8, “processor 202”);
and a memory storing an instruction executable by the processor (column 13, lines 14-18, and column 14, lines 39-42, “The memory 206 may include suitable logic, circuitry, interfaces, and/or code, executable by the circuitry, that may be configured to store one or more instructions that are executed by the processor 202 and the authentication engine 204 to perform their operations”);
wherein the processor is configured to:
send an information request instruction to the battery (column 11, lines 39-53, “Further, in an embodiment, the primary battery 102 may be configured to communicate the encrypted authentication message to the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 via the CAN bus 114. The encrypted authentication message may include at least the first random number, the second random number, and the authentication status. The encrypted authentication message may further include the primary battery identifier of the primary battery 102. The primary battery identifier may be a unique identification number that identifies the primary battery 102 in the electric vehicle 112. The primary battery identifier may be a symbol, a numerical string, an alphabetical string, an alphanumerical string, or any combination thereof that is used to identify the primary battery 102.”);
receive the verification information sent by the storage unit of the battery, and the encryption information sent by the encryption unit of the battery (column 19, lines 35-50, “a battery status (generated by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108) may be encrypted using one or more encryption techniques that are well known in the art without deviating from scope of the disclosure. The one or more encryption techniques may be based on AES, 3DES, Twofish, or the like. In an embodiment, each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 may be configured to generate the battery status based on at least the verification of the first random number and the vehicle identifier and perform the encryption of the battery status to generate the encrypted battery status. The encrypted battery status may be a data packet having a size of 128 bits. The encrypted battery status may be communicated periodically by each of the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 to the primary battery 102 of the electric vehicle 112.”);
and perform verification on the battery based on pre-stored information stored in the verification device, the verification information and the encryption information (column 6, lines 16-20, “the primary battery 102 may be further configured to communicate with the secondary batteries 104, 106, and 108 and the vehicle controller 110 for performing data communication and data verification for executing the authentication of each battery.”).
Regarding claim 19, Visvesha discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an instruction that (column 27, lines 42-45, “non-transitory computer readable media having instructions stored thereon”, column 28, lines 27-32, “non-transitory computer readable mediums that may provide data that enables the computer system 800 to implement the offline battery authentication methods”, and column 29, lines 56-60, “a non-transitory computer readable medium having stored thereon, computer executable instructions, which when executed by a computer, cause the computer to execute operations for the offline battery authentication.”), when executed by a processor of a verification device for a battery, causes the verification device to perform the verification method for the battery according to claim 8 (column 6, lines 16-20).
Regarding claim 20, Visvesha discloses wherein the encryption unit comprises at least one of a second coulombmeter or a second encryption chip (column 12, lines 60-67, column 12, lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 21, Visvesha teaches the verification method according to claim 9, wherein the performing the verification on the battery based on the decryption information, the verification information and the pre-stored information comprises: verifying a quality of the battery based on setting battery information of the decryption information or setting battery information of the verification information, thereby determining whether the battery is qualified (column 17, lines 34-47, column 19, lines 58-67, and column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 22, Visvesha discloses wherein the encryption information is determined by encrypting first information based on first configuration information preset in the encryption unit (column 17, lines 8-30);
and the processor is further configured to: obtain decryption information by decrypting the encryption information based on second configuration information, wherein the second configuration information is preset and corresponds to the first configuration information (column 17, lines 34-47);
and perform the verification on the battery based on the decryption information, the verification information and the pre-stored information (column 19, lines 58-67, column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 23, Visvesha discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: verify a source of the battery based on the decryption information, the verification information and the pre-stored information, thereby determining whether the source of the battery is reliable (column 17, lines 34-47, column 19, lines 58-67, and column 20, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 24, Visvesha discloses wherein the first information comprises setting battery information, the verification information comprises first identification information and the setting battery information, and the pre-stored information comprises second identification information; and the processor is further configured to: determine the source of the battery is reliable in response to determining that the decryption information matches the setting battery information of the verification information, and the second identification information of the pre-stored information matches the first identification information of the verification information (column 15, lines 31-52).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The references cited on form PTO-892 are cited to further show the state of the art with respect to battery verification.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMIAH L AVERY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2431