DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 16 – 31 are pending.
Claims 16 – 18 and 20 – 31 are rejected.
Claim 19 is objected.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 21, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16 and 30 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furumoto et al. US2013/0143877 A1.
Furumoto et al. teach compound F6-20 (Alectinib) of Production Example 30:
. See, e.g., paragraph [0678].
Furumoto further teaches mesylate salt (methane sulfonate salt) of compound F6-20 is prepared by dissolving compound F6-20 in dimethyl acetamide at 90 °C, adding aqueous solution of mesylic acid, filtering and drying the precipitated crystals, and pulverizing the monomesylate salt using a jet mill (solid form in claim 31). See, e.g., paragraph [0686].
Therefore, the prior art anticipates the instant claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 16 – 18 and 20 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furumoto et al. US2013/0143877 A1 in view of Berge et al., Journal of Pharmaceutical Sciences (1977), 66(1), pp. 1-19 (pub. January 1, 1977).
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art
Furumoto et al. teach compound F6-20 (Alectinib) of Production Example 30:
. See, e.g., paragraph [0678].
Furumoto et al. does not teach the acetate, tartaric acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid (1:1), fumaric acid (1:2) and ethane sulfonate (esylate) salts of compound F6-20.
Berge et al. teach that “[t]he chemical, biological, physical, and economic characteristics of medicinal agents can be manipulated and, hence, often optimized by conversion to a salt form”. See, e.g., pg. 1, 1st paragraph. Berge et al. teach that acetate, tartaric acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid (1:1), fumaric acid (1:2) and ethane sulfonate (esylate) salts are common FDA-approved commercially marketed salts known to be useful for formulation of salts of drugs. See, e.g., pg. 2, Table I.
Berge also teaches that combining a known drug with one of the anions or cations to prepare the salt does not affect the basic therapeutic properties of the drug, but is used to “prolong the release of the active component, thereby eliminating various undesirable drug properties”. See, e.g., pg. 1, 4th paragraph.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue
Compared to claims 16 – 18 and 20 – 31, Furumoto et al. does not specifically teach the acetate, tartaric acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid (1:1), fumaric acid (1:2) and ethane sulfonate (esylate) salts of compound F6-20.
Rationale for a prima face case of obviousness
According to MPEP §2141(III), one of the rationales in the KSR decision states “(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way”. KSR, 550 U.S. at 418, 82 USPQ2d at 1396. Furumoto teaches mesylate salt (methane sulfonate salt) of compound F6-20 is prepared by dissolving compound F6-20 in dimethyl acetamide at 90 °C, adding aqueous solution of mesylic acid, filtering and drying the precipitated crystals, and pulverizing the monomesylate salt using a jet mill (solid form). See, e.g., paragraph [0686]. Berge et al. teach that acetate, tartaric acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid (1:1), fumaric acid (1:2) and ethane sulfonate (esylate) salts are few of the most common FDA-approved commercially marketed salts known to be useful for formulation of salts of drugs. See, e.g., pg. 2, Table I.
Berge et al. also teaches that preparing an anion salt of the known drug does not affect the therapeutic properties of the drug, but rather prolongs the release of the drug and eliminates various undesirable drug properties. Thus, using the teachings of Berge to obtain the solid forms of acetate, tartaric acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid (1:1), fumaric acid (1:2) and ethane sulfonate (esylate) salts of compound F6-20 would be the same as using a known technique in the art for preparing pharmaceutically acceptable salts to improve similar compounds in the same way. Therefore, the PHOSITA would have been motivated to prepare the solid forms of said salts of acetate, tartaric acid, maleic acid, fumaric acid (1:1), fumaric acid (1:2) and ethane sulfonate (esylate) salts in a similar method of preparing the mesylate salt of compound F6-20 as taught by Furumoto et al. in order to improve the pharmaceutical properties of alectinib.
Therefore, the prior art render the instant claims prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
/Sagar Patel/Examiner, Art Unit 1626
/KAMAL A SAEED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1626