DETAILED ACTION
1. It is hereby acknowledged that 18/840434 following papers have been received and placed of record in the file: Remark date 09/24/24
2. The present application, file on or after March 16, 2013, is being examiner under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Claim Objections
4. Claims 1-20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 16 discloses , receiving, from a second device, a first report configuration for configuring to perform reporting of first channel state information (CSI)… This statement is considered to be vague. The first and second device can be considered to many types of devices such as a UE to a base station or UE to UE. However to further clarify the specification explains The IAB node (or IAB-DU and IAB-MT) may report information on the one or more simultaneous operation schemes supported by the IAB node to an upper node of the IAB node. Alternatively, the IAB node (or IAB-DU and IAB-MT) may report information on one or more combinations of a
plurality of simultaneous operation schemes supported by the IAB node to an upper
node of the IAB node. (see pages 76-77).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained through the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
6. Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §103 as being unpatentable over You (WO2021162452A1) in view of LIU (WO2021/244540A1) in further view of NPL-3GPP TSG-RAN WG2 Meeting #116bis electronic R2-2201353
Regarding claim 1, You teaches an operation method of a first device, comprising:
receiving, from a second device, a first report configuration; (see You Fig. 26 paragraph [0223] explains…. Referring to FIG. 26 , the IAB node receives first configuration information for configuring resources for the operation of the MT ( S261 ). For example, the MT may be provided with a slot format for at least one slot. The slot format includes a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, and a flexible symbol. In addition, the MT may also receive a DCI format (DCI format 2_5) indicating whether or not a resource set as a soft resource for the DU is available to the DU. The first configuration information includes at least one of information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may separately receive information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may receive the first configuration information according to a combination of a higher layer signal, a physical layer signal, and a higher layer signal and a physical layer signal. For example, the slot format is received through a higher layer signal (including a method of receiving a list of slot formats through an upper layer signal and receiving a DCI format that is a physical layer signal indicating any one slot format from the list) and DCI indicating the availability of soft resources may be received through a physical layer signal…..)
receiving, from the second device for configuring one or more multiplexing modes to the first device; (see Fig.26 You paragraphs [0219], [0224]-[00226] …. The IAB node determines a multiplexing type to be applied to the specific resource according to the type of the first signal to be communicated by the MT in the specific resource and the type of the second signal to be communicated by the DU in the specific resource (S264)…)
generating the first CSI based on the first report configuration and the first MAC CE; (see You paragraph [0223] explains…. Referring to FIG. 26 , the IAB node receives first configuration information for configuring resources for the operation of the MT ( S261 ). For example, the MT may be provided with a slot format for at least one slot. The slot format includes a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, and a flexible symbol. In addition, the MT may also receive a DCI format (DCI format 2_5) indicating whether or not a resource set as a soft resource for the DU is available to the DU. The first configuration information includes at least one of information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may separately receive information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may receive the first configuration information according to a combination of a higher layer signal, a physical layer signal, and a higher layer signal and a physical layer signal. For example, the slot format is received through a higher layer signal (including a method of receiving a list of slot formats through an upper layer signal and receiving a DCI format that is a physical layer signal indicating any one slot format from the list) and DCI indicating the availability of soft resources may be received through a physical layer signal….[0241]-[0242]. Alternatively, in such a resource, the MT may determine its own operation resource as in the DU NA resource. In such a resource, the DU can operate if 'the MT can operate by determining its own operation resource as in the DU NA resource'. Otherwise, the DU is inoperable.)
and transmitting the first CSI to the second device,(see You paragraph [0232], For example, in order for the IAB DU to transmit a specific channel/signal with high power, the DU is a 'multiplex type operating with TDM for all Tx/Rx combinations' or 'DU-Tx in the transmission resource of a specific channel/signal' A multiplexing type operating with TDM' can be applied. Such a channel/signal may include, for example, an SSB/PBCH block (SSB) and a CSI-RS. …[0241],[0242] Alternatively, a no-TDM operation, ie, a simultaneous operation, may be performed according to a type of a first signal that the MT intends to communicate with and a type of a second signal that the DU intends to communicate with in a resource that supports simultaneous operation or is configured. That is, the operation S275-1 and the operation S275-2 may be simultaneously performed.)
You does not explicitly disclose for configuring to perform reporting of first channel state information (CSI) a first medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, for, weherin the first MAC CE indicates at least a first time resource and the first time resource constitutes first csi reference resource(s) configured by the first report configuration
However analogous art LIU [0034]-[0046], and [0128]-[0163] explains the configuration, measurement and reporting a CSI in an IAB node by using CSI-RS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine You with LIU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving efficiency and reducing or avoid interference between two links(See background)
3GPP 2.3 and 2.4 explains a case indication MAC CE….
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified You with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve potential MAC CEs for PHY layer support based on parameter list from RAN1(See Introduction)
Regarding claim 2, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE indicates the one or more multiplexing modes indicated based on a first signaling before receiving the first MAC CE. (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 3, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the one or more multiplexing modes configured by the first MAC CE are a first multiplexing mode, and the generating of the first CSI comprises: determining a first channel quality indicator (CQI) index in consideration of the first multiplexing mode configured by the first MAC CE; and generating the first CSI including the first CQI index. (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 4, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the one or more multiplexing modes configured by the first MAC CE include at least N multiplexing modes, and the generating of the first CSI comprises: determining at least one CQI index in consideration of at least one multiplexing mode among the N multiplexing modes; and generating the first CSI including the determined at least one CQI index, wherein N is a natural number. (see You page 19 paragraph [0006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 5, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 4, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE indicates the N multiplexing modes configured to the first device among a plurality of multiplexing modes configured based on a first signaling received before receiving the first MAC CE, and further indicates information on a first criterion for determining the at least one multiplexing mode among the N multiplexing modes. (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 6, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE is received before a first time interval from the first CSI reference resource(s) in time domain. (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 7, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, The modified You further teaches wherein the first CSI includes information indicating at least one multiplexing mode considered in generating the first CSI among the one or more multiplexing modes. (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 8, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE indicates a first frequency resource to which the one or more multiplexing modes are applied, and the generating of the first CSI comprises: generating the first CSI in consideration of the one or more multiplexing modes based on a resource overlapping with the first frequency resource among the first CSI reference resource(s). (see 3GPP section 2.3 and 2.4; You… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding UE…LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163])
Regarding claim 9. the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, , as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE indicates a first frequency resource to which the one or more multiplexing modes are applied, and the generating of the first CSI comprises: generating the first CSI in consideration of the one or more multiplexing modes based on a resource overlapping with the first frequency resource and a resource non-overlapping with the first frequency resource among the first CSI reference resource(s). (see 3GPP section 2.3 and 2.4, You… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding UE…LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163])
Regarding claim 10, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first device includes a first transceiver for communication with an upper node of the first device and a second transceiver for communication with a lower node of the first device, and the generating of the first CSI comprises: generating the first CSI using a resource non-overlapping with a resource allocated to the second transceiver among the first CSI reference resource(s). (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 11. the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first report configuration includes downlink (DL) power control configuration information for the first CSI reference resource(s), and the generating of the first CSI comprises: generating the first CSI based on the DL power control configuration information for the first CSI reference resource(s), when a time division multiplexing (TDM) mode is assigned to the first CSI reference resource(s). (see 3GPP section 2.3 and 2.4,see LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163])
Regarding claim 12. the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. You alone does not explicitly disclose these limitations however combined with 3GPP further teaches wherein the first MAC CE includes DL transmit (Tx) power adjustment configuration information for a resource corresponding at least to the first time resource, and the generating of the first CSI comprises: generating the first CSI based on the DL transmit power adjustment configuration information for the resource corresponding at least to the first time resource, when a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) mode is assigned to the first CSI reference resource(s). (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 13, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches further comprising: receiving, from the second device, a second report configuration for configuring to perform reporting of second CSI; receiving, from the second device, a second MAC CE for configuring at least one multiplexing mode to the first device in a second time resource constituting second CSI reference resource(s) determined by at least the second report configuration; comparing multiplexing modes configured for at least one channel measurement resource (CMR) and/or at least one interference measurement resource (IMR) configured by the second report configuration, based on the second report configuration and the second MAC CE; and determining not to perform reporting of the second CSI, when different multiplexing modes are configured for the at least one CMR and/or the at least one IMR. (see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 14, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 1, as described above. The modified You further teaches further comprising: receiving, from the second device, a second report configuration for configuring to perform reporting of second CSI; receiving, from the second device, a second MAC CE for configuring at least one multiplexing mode to the first device in a second time resource constituting second CSI reference resource(s) determined by at least the second report configuration; comparing multiplexing modes configured for at least one CMR and/or at least one IMR configured by the second report configuration, based on the second report configuration and the second MAC CE; generating the second CSI based on the at least one CMR and the at least one IMR in consideration of a multiplexing mode configured for one of the at least one CMR and/or the at least one IMR, when different multiplexing modes are configured for the at least one CMR and/or the at least one IMR; and transmitting the second CSI to the second device. ((see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 15. An operation method of a first device, comprising: transmitting, to a second device, a first report configuration; (see You Fig. 26 paragraph [0223] explains…. Referring to FIG. 26 , the IAB node receives first configuration information for configuring resources for the operation of the MT ( S261 ). For example, the MT may be provided with a slot format for at least one slot. The slot format includes a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, and a flexible symbol. In addition, the MT may also receive a DCI format (DCI format 2_5) indicating whether or not a resource set as a soft resource for the DU is available to the DU. The first configuration information includes at least one of information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may separately receive information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may receive the first configuration information according to a combination of a higher layer signal, a physical layer signal, and a higher layer signal and a physical layer signal. For example, the slot format is received through a higher layer signal (including a method of receiving a list of slot formats through an upper layer signal and receiving a DCI format that is a physical layer signal indicating any one slot format from the list) and DCI indicating the availability of soft resources may be received through a physical layer signal…..) transmitting, to the second device, a first medium access control (MAC) control element (CE) for configuring one or more multiplexing modes to the first device; and receiving, from the second device, the first CSI generated based on the first report configuration and the first MAC CE, (see You Fig. 26 paragraph [0223] explains…. Referring to FIG. 26 , the IAB node receives first configuration information for configuring resources for the operation of the MT ( S261 ). For example, the MT may be provided with a slot format for at least one slot. The slot format includes a downlink symbol, an uplink symbol, and a flexible symbol. In addition, the MT may also receive a DCI format (DCI format 2_5) indicating whether or not a resource set as a soft resource for the DU is available to the DU. The first configuration information includes at least one of information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may separately receive information indicating the slot format and the DCI format. The MT may receive the first configuration information according to a combination of a higher layer signal, a physical layer signal, and a higher layer signal and a physical layer signal. For example, the slot format is received through a higher layer signal (including a method of receiving a list of slot formats through an upper layer signal and receiving a DCI format that is a physical layer signal indicating any one slot format from the list) and DCI indicating the availability of soft resources may be received through a physical layer signal…..) wherein the first MAC CE indicates at least a first time resource, and the first time resource constitutes first CSI reference resource(s) configured by the first report configuration. ,(see You paragraph [0232], For example, in order for the IAB DU to transmit a specific channel/signal with high power, the DU is a 'multiplex type operating with TDM for all Tx/Rx combinations' or 'DU-Tx in the transmission resource of a specific channel/signal' A multiplexing type operating with TDM' can be applied. Such a channel/signal may include, for example, an SSB/PBCH block (SSB) and a CSI-RS. …[0241],[0242] Alternatively, a no-TDM operation, ie, a simultaneous operation, may be performed according to a type of a first signal that the MT intends to communicate with and a type of a second signal that the DU intends to communicate with in a resource that supports simultaneous operation or is configured. That is, the operation S275-1 and the operation S275-2 may be simultaneously performed.)
You does not explicitly disclose for configuring to perform reporting of first channel state information (CSI) a frist medium access control, MAC, control element, CE, for, weherin the first MAC CE indicates at least a first time resource and the first time resource constitutes first csi reference resource(s) configured by the first report configuration
However analogous art LIU [0034]-[0046], and [0128]-[0163] explains which discloses the configuration, measurement and reporting a CSI in an IAB node by using CSI-RS)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine You with LIU. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improving efficiency and reducing or avoid interference between two links(See background)
3GPP 2.3 and 2.4 explains a case indication MAC CE….
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to combine the modified You with 3GPP. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification before the effective filling data of the claimed invention to improve potential MAC CEs for PHY layer support based on parameter list from RAN1(See Introduction)
Regarding claim 16, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 15, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the one or more multiplexing modes configured by the first MAC CE are a first multiplexing mode, and the first CSI includes a first channel quality indicator (CQI) index determined in consideration of the first multiplexing mode configured by the first MAC CE. (see You page 19 of print out paragraph [0006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 17, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 15, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the one or more multiplexing modes configured by the first MAC CE include at least N multiplexing modes, and the first CSI includes at least one CQI index determined in consideration of at least one multiplexing mode among the N multiplexing modes, N being a natural number. ((see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 18, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 17, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE indicates the N multiplexing modes configured to the first device among a plurality of multiplexing modes configured based on a first signaling received before receiving the first MAC CE, and further indicates information on a first criterion for determining the at least one multiplexing mode among the N multiplexing modes. ((see You page 19 paragraph [006]… Tx/Rx combinations of the IAB node as described above is referred to as a multiplex type of the IAB node…… …LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163]… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding)
Regarding claim 19, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 15, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the second device includes a first transceiver for communication with an upper node of the second device and a second transceiver for communication with a lower node of the second device, and the first CSI is generated using a resource non-overlapping with a resource allocated to the second transceiver among the first CSI reference resource(s). (see 3GPP section 2.3 and 2.4, You… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding UE…LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163])
Regarding claim 20, the modified You taught the operation method according to claim 15, as described above. The modified You further teaches wherein the first MAC CE includes downlink (DL) transmit (Tx) power adjustment configuration information for a resource corresponding at least to the first time resource, and the first CSI is generated based on the DL transmit power adjustment configuration information for the resource corresponding at least to the first time resource, when a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) mode is assigned to the first CSI reference resource(s). (see 3GPP section 2.3 and 2.4, You… In the BFR process, different beams set by the network (beams can be expressed as CSI-RS ports or SSB (synchronization signal block) indexes, etc.) are measured, and the best beam is selected for the corresponding UE…see LIU paragraph [0128]-[0163])
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Gerald Smarth whose telephone number is (571) 270-1923. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Thursday 6am-4:30pm ET. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Joseph Avellino can be reached on 571-272-7784. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/GERALD A SMARTH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478