DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is responsive to amendment filed on 02/11/2026. The Examiner has acknowledged claims 1, 4, 9, and 12 have been amended. Claims 1-14 have been presented for examination and are rejected.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's argument, filed on 02/11/2026 has been entered and carefully considered.
Applicant's arguments filed on February 11th, 2026 with respect rejected to claims 1-14 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been considered, but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by Applicant's amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9-10 and 12-14 are rejected Under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (US 20190245836 hereinafter Erickson) in view of Wang, et al. (CN 111683069 A hereinafter Wang).
With respect to claims 1, 9 and 12, Erickson teaches a method for communication of data between a client and a server over a telecommunication network (Erickson, see FIG. 24), comprising:
sending the encoded data via User Datagram Protocol (UDP) at a transport layer. (Erickson, see paragraph [0015] a transport layer to selectably transport the message using either User Datagram Protocol (UDP) or Transmission Control Protocol (TCP)…Paragraphs [0189, 0199-0203] Data formatted in a TLV format may be encoded as TLV elements of various types… in addition to sending particular entries of varying sizes, data may be transmitted within the fabric using a general message protocol that may incorporate TLV formatting….The GMP 1128 may be used to transmit data via connectionless protocols (e.g., UDP) and/or connection-oriented protocols (e.g., TCP)…).
Although Erickson discloses invention substantially as claimed " encoding the data using tag-length-value (TLV) encoding scheme" (Erickson, see paragraphs [0188-0189], (type-length-value or tag-length-value) TLV formatting may be used to compactly and flexibly encode/decode data. By storing at least, a portion of the transmitted data in TLV, the data may be compactly and flexibly stored/sent along with low encode/decode and memory overhead…)., Erickson nevertheless fails to explicitly discloses TLV encoding scheme at an application layer.
However, Wang discloses TLV encoding scheme at an application layer (Wang, page 2, lines 27-33, the application layer communication protocol on the TCP/IP layer, which can be processed by custom protocol, coding and decoding and bonding, which is a data transmission format of language neutral, the data format main body is the custom protocol of Tag-Length-Value (hereinafter summary TLV)…after transmission using TLV protocol format, the encoder end can freely increase the unnecessary field without causing the error of the decoding end, reducing the coupling performance of the service version upgrade iteration).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Erickson with the teaching of Wang to provide the method for TLV for encoding scheme used for informational elements. Encoding data using the Tag-Length-Value (TLV) scheme at the application layer is high flexibility, extensibility, and efficient parsing without prior schema knowledge.
With respect to claim 4, Erickson-Wang teaches the method, wherein sending the encoded data via UDP comprises sending the encoded data in a data field of a user plane message at the transport layer (Erickson, see paragraph [0015] a transport layer to selectably transport the message using either User Datagram Protocol (UDP) or Transmission Control Protocol (TCP)…Paragraphs [0189, 0199-0203] Data formatted in a TLV format may be encoded as TLV elements of various types… in addition to sending particular entries of varying sizes, data may be transmitted within the fabric using a general message protocol that may incorporate TLV formatting….The GMP 1128 may be used to transmit data via connectionless protocols (e.g., UDP) and/or connection-oriented protocols (e.g., TCP)…).
With respect to claim 7, Erickson-Wang teaches a method, wherein the data to be sent from the server to the client comprises configuration or control data (Erickson, see paragraphs [0396-0399] the application may configure the new device to communicate with the service (e.g., the Nest® service) by sending a request (e.g., a RegisterService request) that contains service configuration information (e.g., Weave™ Service Configuration information). Using the service configuration information, the new device may register with the service (block 1884)…).
With respect to claim 10, Erickson-Wang teaches the client, further configured to: encode data using the TLV encoding scheme; and/or decode data encoded using the TLV encoding scheme (Erickson, see paragraphs [0188-0189], tag-length-value (TLV) formatting may be used to compactly and flexibly encode/decode data. By storing at least, a portion of the transmitted data in TLV, the data may be compactly and flexibly stored/sent along with low encode/decode and memory overhead, …Data formatted in a TLV format may be encoded as TLV elements of various types, such as primitive types and container types. Primitive types include data values in certain formats, such as integers or strings…).
With respect to claim 13, Erickson-Wang teaches the server, further configured to: decode received data encoded using the TLV encoding scheme; and store the decoded data (Erickson, see paragraphs [0188-0189], tag-length-value (TLV) formatting may be used to compactly and flexibly encode/decode data. By storing at least, a portion of the transmitted data in TLV, the data may be compactly and flexibly stored/sent along with low encode/decode and memory overhead, …Data formatted in a TLV format may be encoded as TLV elements of various types, such as primitive types and container types. Primitive types include data values in certain formats, such as integers or strings…).
With respect to claim 14, Erickson-Wang teaches the server, further configured to: encode data using the TLV encoding scheme, the encoded data for sending from the server via UDP (Erickson, see paragraphs [0199-0203] in addition to sending particular entries of varying sizes, data may be transmitted within the fabric using a general message protocol that may incorporate TLV formatting. An embodiment of a general message protocol (GMP) 1128 is illustrated in FIG. 18. The general message protocol (GMP) 1128 may be used to transmit data within the fabric. The GMP 1128 may be used to transmit data via connectionless protocols (e.g., UDP) and/or connection-oriented protocols (e.g., TCP). The Packet Length field 1130 may be present when the GMP 1128 is transmitted over a TCP connection, but when the GMP 1128 is transmitted over a UDP connection, the message length may be equal to the payload length of the underlying UDP packet obviating the Packet Length field 1130).
Claims 2, 3, 6, 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (US 20190245836 hereinafter Erickson) in view of Wang, et al. (CN 111683069 A hereinafter Wang) further in view of Xu et al. (US 20170332357 hereinafter Xu).
With respect to claims 2 and 11, Erickson-Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the client is a narrow band Internet of Things (NB-IoT) device, and/or the client communicates with the telecommunications network using NB-IoT technology.
However, Xu discloses wherein the client is a narrow band Internet of Things (NB-IoT) device, and/or the client communicates with the telecommunications network using NB-IoT technology (Xu, see paragraph [0035] Narrow-Band IoT (NB-IoT) is a technology being standardized by the 3GPP standards body. This technology is a narrowband radio technology specially designed for the IoT, hence its name. Paragraph [0084, 0087] further discloses NB-IoT and eMTC are being deployed today by network operators around the world).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Erickson-Wang with the teaching of Xu to provide the method for user equipment comprises a narrowband Internet of Things (NB-IoT) device comprising sensors and/or actuators enables automated, real-world monitoring and control across vast or hard-to-reach locations. NB-IoT operates on low-frequency cellular bands, allowing it to easily penetrate dense walls, thick concrete, or underground spaces (e.g., basements or agricultural soil) where traditional Wi-Fi fails.
With respect to claim 3, Erickson-Wang-Xu teaches the method, wherein the NB-IoT device comprises one or more sensors and/or actuators (Xu, see paragraphs [0079-0080] when IoT is augmented with sensors and actuators, the technology becomes an instance of the more general class of cyber-physical systems, which also encompasses technologies such as smart grids, smart homes, intelligent transportation and smart cities. …MTC devices may include devices that are capable of MTC and/or eMTC communications with MTC servers and/or other MTC devices through Public Land Mobile Networks (PLMN), for example. MTC UEs, as well as other types of UEs, may be implemented as IoT devices. Narrow-band IoT (NB-IoT) is a narrowband radio technology specially designed for the IoT, which may have a special focus on indoor coverage, low cost, long battery life and large number of devices. Examples of IoT devices include sensors, meters, location tags, monitors, drones, robots/robotic devices, etc.).
With respect to claim 6, Erickson-Wang-Xu teaches the method, wherein the data to be sent from the client to the server comprises a measurement from the sensor (Erickson, see paragraph [0323]…transfer bulk data files (e.g., sensor data, logs, or update images) between nodes/services in the fabric 1000).
With respect to claim 8, Erickson-Wang teaches the method, wherein the data to be sent from the server to the client comprises an acknowledgment (Erickson, see paragraph in connectionless protocols (e.g., UDP), bulk data may be transferred using a synchronous mode that allows one of the nodes/services (“the driver”) to control a rate at which the transfer proceeds. In certain embodiments, after each message in a synchronous mode bulk data transfer, an acknowledgment may be sent before sending the next message in the bulk data transfer).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Erickson et al. (US 20190245836 hereinafter Erickson) in view of Wang, et al. (CN 111683069 A hereinafter Wang) further in view of Liu et al. (CN 109756872 hereinafter Liu).
With respect to claim 5, Erickson-Wang teaches the method, yet fails to explicitly disclose wherein the sending uses Security Procedures for Battery Efficient Security for Very Low Throughput MTC Devices (BEST).
However, Liu discloses wherein the sending uses Security Procedures for Battery Efficient Security for Very Low Throughput MTC Devices (BEST) (Liu, see page 11, 29-37, the generated NB IoT module embedded PUF CSP in the initialization phase the enterprise application server and stored in the user database of the service platform. NB-IoT module communication frequency of power equipment from a service platform, comprehensively considering factors such as battery life, rational design of the CSP number n, executing algorithm 1 NB-IoT of initialization process, …Page 12, lines 1-12, 29-45, further discloses Battery efficiency Security for very low throughput Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (BEST)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed to combine the teaching of Erickson-Wang with the teaching of Liu the method enables efficiently performs Battery Efficient Security for very low throughput Machine Type Communication (MTC) devices (BEST) with Narrow-band Internet of Things (NB-IoT) end-to-end data processing method based on power efficiency, secure roaming and end-to-end security models. BEST minimizes the amount of extra communication required between the User Equipment (UE) and the network, resulting in smaller payloads that are faster and cheaper to send.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 Notice of References Cited.
06/05/2026
/ELIZABETH KASSA/Examiner, Art Unit 2457
/ARIO ETIENNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2457