DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-7, 9-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent 10,669,701 B2 (hereinafter Hadfield).
Regarding claim 1, Hadfield discloses a self-docking faucet comprising: a faucet body (108); an arm (116) comprising a first end (adjacent faucet body; fig. 1) and a second end (adjacent spray head; fig. 1), wherein the first end of the arm is attached to the faucet body (fig. 1) and the second end of the arm comprises a docking portion comprising a first magnetic component (col. 7, ln. 16-20); a hose (120) extending through and protruding out of the faucet body (fig. 1); an adapter (252) fluidly connected to an end of the hose and configured to receive flow of water from the hose into an adapter flow path (col. 7, ln. 52-58), the adapter comprising a second magnetic component (254), wherein the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are configured to exert an attractive magnetic force on one another to cause the adapter to dock to the docking portion of the arm (col. 7, ln. 13-30); and a spray head (128) fluidly connected to the adapter and configured to receive flow of water from the adapter flow path into a spray head flow path (col. 7, ln. 52-58), wherein a central axis (302) of the spray head flow path is aligned with a central axis of the adapter flow path and with a central axis of the end of the hose (fig. 12).
Regarding claim 2, Hadfield discloses the second magnetic component (254) is disposed between the adapter flow path and a wall of the adapter (fig. 13 shows the mounting location of the magnetic component 254 that is between the flow path and the external surface of the wall of housing 252).
Regarding claim 6, Hadfield discloses the second magnetic component (254) comprises a partial annular shape (the second magnetic component forms a partial annular shape since it is embedded in the annular wall of the housing and thus forms a portion of the inner surface annular wall (270); fig. 3).
Regarding claim 7, Hadfield discloses the partial annular shape of the second magnetic component (254) is disposed against a corresponding annular portion of a wall of the adapter (252) (the second magnetic component forms a partial annular shape since it is embedded in the annular wall of the housing and thus forms a portion of the inner surface annular wall (270); fig. 3).
Regarding claim 9, Hadfield discloses a self-docking faucet comprising: a faucet body (108); an arm (116) comprising a first end (adjacent faucet body; fig. 1) and a second end (adjacent spray head; fig. 1), wherein the first end of the arm is attached to the faucet body (fig. 1) and the second end of the arm comprises a docking portion comprising a first magnetic component (col. 7, ln. 16-20); a hose (120) extending through and protruding out of the body (fig. 1); an adapter (252) fluidly connected to an end of the hose and configured to receive flow of water from the hose (col. 7, ln. 52-58), the adapter comprising a second magnetic component (254), wherein the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are configured to exert an attractive magnetic force on one another to cause the adapter to dock to the docking portion of the arm (col. 7, ln. 13-30); and a spray head (128) fluidly connected to the adapter and configured to receive flow of water from the adapter, wherein the spray head is operably rotatable with respect to the hose (col. 8, ln. 25-26).
Regarding claim 10, Hadfield discloses the spray head (128) is operably rotatable with respect to the adapter (252) (col. 6, ln. 65-col. 7, ln. 11).
Regarding claim 11, Hadfield discloses the adapter (252) is operably rotatable with respect to the hose (col. 6, ln. 65-col. 7, ln. 11; col. 16, ln. 66-col. 17, ln. 7).
Regarding claim 12, Hadfield discloses when the adapter (252) is in a docked position with respect to the docking portion of the arm, the adapter is rotated into a predefined docked orientation (col. 17, ln. 8-14).
Regarding claim 13, Hadfield discloses a self-docking faucet comprising: a faucet body (108); an arm (116) comprising a first end (adjacent faucet body; fig. 1) and a second end (adjacent spray head; fig. 1), wherein the first end of the arm is attached to the faucet body (fig. 1) and the second end of the arm comprises a docking portion comprising a first magnetic component (col. 7, ln. 16-20); a hose (120) extending through and protruding out of the faucet body (fig. 1); an adapter (252) fluidly connected to an end of the hose and configured to receive flow of water from the hose (col. 7, ln. 52-58), the adapter comprising a second magnetic component (254), wherein the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are configured to exert an attractive magnetic force on one another to cause the adapter to dock to the docking portion of the arm (col. 7, ln. 13-30); wherein the adapter (252) comprising a sprayhead attachment portion (310) configured to be removably attachable to a spray head (128).
Regarding claim 14, Hadfield discloses the sprayhead attachment portion (310) is configured to fluidly connect to a sprayhead (128) such that water flows from the adapter to the sprayhead when the sprayhead is in the connected position (fig. 11).
Regarding claim 15, Hadfield discloses the sprayhead attachment portion comprises a threaded connection portion (see fig. 11 – threads between elements 202 and 310).
Regarding claim 16, Hadfield discloses a self-docking faucet comprising: a faucet body (108); an arm (116) comprising a first end (adjacent faucet body; fig. 1) and a second end (adjacent spray head; fig. 1), wherein the first end of the arm is attached to the faucet body (fig. 1) and the second end of the arm comprises a docking portion comprising a first magnetic component (col. 7, ln. 16-20); a hose (120) extending through and protruding out of the faucet body (fig. 1); an adapter (252) fluidly connected to an end of the hose and configured to receive flow of water from the hose (col. 7, ln. 52-58), the adapter comprising a second magnetic component (254), wherein the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are configured to exert an attractive magnetic force on one another to pull the adapter toward a docked position with respect to the docking portion of the arm (col. 7, ln. 13-30); a shell (housing 252 is a shell) comprising a recess (portion that receives magnet 254), wherein the recess comprises a tapered sidewall (256) (fig. 3), and wherein the recess is shaped to receive a corresponding portion of the arm when the adapter is in the docked position (fig. 2); and a spray head (128) fluidly connected to the adapter and configured to receive flow of water from the adapter (col. 7, ln. 52-58).
Regarding claim 17, Hadfield discloses the recess comprises one or more rounded corners (fig. 3).
Regarding claim 19, Hadfield discloses the recess extends circumferentially around less than (less than, fig. 3) or equal to 50% (not explicitly disclosed) of the adapter (252).
Regarding claim 20, Hadfield discloses the second magnetic component (254) is disposed behind the recess inside the shell of the adapter (fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5, 8, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hadfield.
Regarding claim 3, Hadfield shows a thickness of the second magnetic component (254) in a direction extending from the adapter flow path toward the wall of the adapter (fig. 3) but is silent as to the specific dimension and thus fails to show it is less than or equal to 4 millimeters. Applicant has not placed criticality on the claimed dimension. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the magnetic component to work equally well within the claimed range due to standard faucet housing wall materials and sizes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to select a thickness less than or equal to 4 millimeters because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Hadfield. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 4, Hadfield shows the second magnetic component has a thickness in a direction extending from the adapter flow path toward the outer wall of the adapter but is silent as to the relative dimension and thus fails to show that it is less than or equal to 25% of a radius of the adapter in the direction extending from the adapter flow path toward the wall of the adapter. Applicant has not placed criticality on the claimed dimension. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the magnetic component to work equally well within the claimed range due to standard faucet housing wall materials and sizes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to select a thickness less than or equal to 25% of a radius of the adapter in the direction extending from the adapter flow path toward the wall of the adapter because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Hadfield. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 5, Hadfield is silent as to the dimensions of the second magnetic component and thus fails to show a length of the second magnetic component is less than or equal to 9 millimeters and a height of the second magnetic component is less than or equal to 22 millimeters. Applicant has not placed criticality on the claimed dimension. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the magnetic component to work equally well within the claimed range due to standard faucet housing wall materials and sizes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to select a thickness a length of the second magnetic component is less than or equal to 9 millimeters and a height of the second magnetic component is less than or equal to 22 millimeters because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Hadfield. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 8, Hadfield is silent as to the attractive force between the components and thus fails to show the attractive magnetic force is greater than or equal to 5 Newtons when the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are in a docked position with respect to one another. Applicant has not placed criticality on the claimed value. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the magnetic components to work equally well within the claimed range due to standard faucet housing wall materials and sizes and strength of users. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to select an attractive magnetic force greater than or equal to 5 Newtons when the first magnetic component and the second magnetic component are in a docked position with respect to one another because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Hadfield. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 18, Hadfield fails to show the recess depth is less than or equal to 4 millimeters. Applicant has not placed criticality on the claimed dimension. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the magnetic component to work equally well within the claimed range due to standard faucet housing wall materials and sizes. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the claimed invention to select a recess depth of less than or equal to 4 millimeters because such a modification would have been considered a mere design consideration which fails to patentably distinguish over the prior art of Hadfield. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US Patent 9,988,796 is directed to the state of the art of magnetic docking sprayhead faucets.
/JANIE M LOEPPKE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754