DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 32-35, 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Keer et al (UIS 2020/085848).
Keer et al discloses discloses the use of of (i) a cytidine deaminase (CDA) substrate drug (5-azacytidine (claim 21) or decitabine) and (ii) cedazuridine in the treatment of cancer (claim 1). The administering is preferably performed in one composition (claim 10). The pharmaceutical compositions may be formulated for sustained or controlled release ([073]), which are both controlled released formulations.
Where selection of one named species from a list of alternatives is all that is required to arrive at the instantly claimed subject matter, that species is anticipated. Ex Parte A., 17 USPQ2d 1716 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1990). See also In re Sivaramakrishnan, 213 USPQ 441 (CCPA 1982). Here, the release profiles is for the active is selected from a list of three alternatives, therefore all combinations of the immediately envisions and the three are considered anticipatory.
The compositions are preferably used in the treatment of leukemia, MDS, AML, CML
(see claims 1-6 or [0048]).
The compositions of the invention may be administered with further chemotherapeutic agents ([065]-[067]), i.a. cisplatin, doxorubicin.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Keer et al (UIS 2020/085848) in view of Sands et al (US 2004/0162263) and Aleksandar et al (2015). Mini-tablets: a contemporary system for oral drug delivery in targeted patient groups. Expert Opinion on Drug Delivery, 12(1), 65–84).
Keer et al is discussed above and further teaches soft and hard gelatin capsules (paragraph 73).
One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that the capsules can be used an be smaller in size, but does not teach the specific components of the mini-capsules instantly claimed.
Sands et al teaches oral formulations of cytidine analogs, such as 5-azacytidine (¶ 12), with dillutents such as lactose monohydrate (¶ 57), retention enhancing excipients such as HPMC (¶ 120), and enteric coatings based on methacrylic acid which release based on a given pH threshold (¶ 97). The tablets are formed with active and filler, then seal coated with HPMC, and sealed with the enteric coating (¶¶ 322-326). The amount of active in the tablets is preferably between 0.1-20wt% of the entire tablet (¶ 41).
Aleksandar et al teaches mini-tablets were a known oral drug delivery system with improved benefits for overcoming therapeutic obstacles and use as multiple units modified release systems (Introduction).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the combined dosage form of Keer et al to include mini-tablets of Aleksandar et al, given their ability to improve multiple units modified release systems. It would then have been obvious to formulate the mini-tablets using known excipients, such as taught by Sands et al and to vary the amount of each excipient based on its disclosed function.
The dosage forms made obvious would be expected to be suitable for treatment of known conditions, such as disclosed by the references.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612