Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ALI (EP 3107703-of record).
A method of printing a 3-D sample, comprising:
projecting a first image, received by a light engine ([0026], [0137], 62) coupled to
a light source [0027] and a lens from a computer [0049], to create a first photocured layer from photocurable resin sandwiched between a lower surface of a transparent membrane (58, 60-Fig.1a; [0025]), coupled to an actuator (66-Fig.1c, [0030]) and a pivot joint (hinges 74a, 74b, [0032]), and an upper surface of a printing sample (78) secured to a platform (80) coupled to a first vertical stage (52); and then
rotating, by the actuator, a portion of the membrane downward by phi degrees about the pivot joint [0029], while simultaneously translating, by the first vertical stage, the platform downward until none of the membrane contacts the first photocured layer ([0033], [0034], see Figs.1c-1d).
Regarding claim 2, discloses rotating the portion of the membrane upward and translating, by the first vertical stage, the platform upward [0132].
Regarding claim 3, discloses projecting second image from the computer to create a second photocured layer [0036], [0081].
Regarding claim 4, discloses the resin is provided under the membrane and in the container (44) [0025]-[0026].
Regarding claim 5, discloses the membrane (film 60) comprises an upward-extending rim circumscribing a top surface (Figs.1a-1d).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07/20/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues ALI reference does not teach “simultaneously translating”
limitation of claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. ALI discloses the computer executable
instructions cause the build platform (46) to move downward along the build (z) axis by a defined layer thickness following the solidification of the layer of the solidifiable material [0024], [0066], [0067], [0088], Fig.1c-1d. Therefore, ALI teaches rotating about the pivot joint, while simultaneously translating, by the first vertical stage, the platform downward until none of the membrane contacts the first photocured layer (Fig.1c-1d) as claimed.
Applicant argues claim 1 requires rotating the membrane portion downward into the resin, toward the platform.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., rotating the membrane portion downward into the resin, toward the platform) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The instant claim 1 claims “rotating, by the actuator, a portion of the membrane downward by phi degrees about the pivot joint, while simultaneously translating, by the first vertical stage, the platform downward until none of the membrane contacts the first photocured layer” NOT rotating the membrane portion downward into the resin, toward the platform.
Applicant argues ALI does not disclose platform translation continues “until none of the membrane contacts the first photocured layer”.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. ALI discloses the platform downward until none of the membrane contacts the first photocured layer ([0033], [0034], see Figs.1c-1d). Furthermore, ALI discloses the build platform (46) will descend by whatever distance is required to separate the exposed object surface (82) from the film (60) or rigid or semi-rigid solidification substrate (58) if no film is present [0035], [0039].
Applicant argues ALI does not disclose rotation.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. ALI discloses the hinges (74a) and (74b) define an axis of rotation for the solidification substrate assembly (57) [0029].
Applicant argues ALI does not disclose a motor, shaft, actuator, or stage connected to container (44).
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a motor, shaft, actuator, or stage connected to container (44)) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
STELLA YI
Examiner
Art Unit 1742
/STELLA K YI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742