Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: execution unit, evaluation unit, determination unit, etc… in claims 10 -15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites the limitation "the evaluation criterion" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 – 4, 6, 7, 9 – 13 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kimura et al (JP 2021139390 cited prior art; also published as JP 7040546).
Regarding claims 1 and 10, the Kimura et al. reference discloses a method and system (100) for evaluating safety of a hydrogen station, comprising:
an execution unit (14) that executes a charging operation of the hydrogen station that supplies hydrogen to a hydrogen vehicle using the hydrogen as fuel;
an evaluation unit (15) that evaluates charging safety (i.e., leak detection based a pressure threshold within the system of the hydrogen station based on the charging operation; and
when the charging operation does not match a preset evaluation criterion (i.e., a threshold value; see para. 0027) for charging safety of the hydrogen station, a vent unit (6; decompression valve) that releases the hydrogen charged in the hydrogen station.
Regarding claims 2 and 11, the Kimura et al. reference further discloses a determination unit (i.e., control device 10 and control panel 8) that determines a preset safety evaluation criterion (via sensors 7A – 7C) of the hydrogen station and an operating condition of the hydrogen station during the charging operation. See paragraphs [0016 - 0024].
Regarding claims 3 and 12, wherein the determination unit (10) determines one of the following: an operation command determination for charging the hydrogen to the hydrogen station (see paras. 0015 – 0016) and a driving performance determination of a hydrogen storage module compared to a pre-stored performance of the hydrogen storage module of a hydrogen charger. Hydrogen charging is performed as long as pressure threshold conditions are met.
Regarding claim 4 and 13, wherein the evaluation unit (15) evaluates the charging safety of at least one of the following conditions: a preset temperature, pressure, and hydrogen flow rate of a hydrogen storage module of the hydrogen station, hydrogen leakage from the hydrogen storage module, ambient temperature within the hydrogen storage module, and a hydrogen storage capacity of the hydrogen storage module. Evaluation unit (15) is signaled by hydrogen leakage gas sensors (7A – 7C).
Regarding claim 6, wherein the releasing of the hydrogen charged in the hydrogen station includes determining whether a charging operation condition deviates from a hydrogen storage condition preset in a hydrogen storage module of the hydrogen station. This is based on the threshold value (see para. [0027]).
Regarding claims 7 and 15, wherein the determining of whether the charging operation condition deviates from the hydrogen storage condition includes: determining an upper limit of the hydrogen storage conditions; determining whether the determined upper limit is close to the hydrogen storage condition; and when the determined upper limit is close to the hydrogen storage condition, the hydrogen charged in the hydrogen station is released. This is based on the threshold value (see para. [0027]).
Regarding claim 9, when the charging operation does not match the evaluation criterion, stopping the charging operation. When leakage is detected, it is preferable to stop the output (see para. [0012]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kimura et al. (JP 2021139390) in view of Lerner (11572982).
Regarding clam 16, the Kimura et al. reference discloses a system for evaluating safety of a hydrogen station (see rejection of claim 10), including a control device (10) and control panel (8) with display (16; see para. [0018]). These types of controls in a system typically indicate a processor with memory (i.e., inherent to the system), but Kimura et al. don’t explicitly disclose a processor; and a memory that is electrically connected to the processor and stores at least one code performed by the processor. The Lerner reference discloses another hydrogen dispensing station having a processor and memory (RAM, ROM, etc…) to store coded information and operate the system based on the data acquired through operation (see col. 25, line 50 – col. 26, line 54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to modify the Kimura et al. device to have processor and memory (if not already) as, for example, taught by the Lerner reference, since processors and memory storage are well known, conventional in the art to operate a system based on stored, collected data and it would be obvious to try without unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 8 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: None of the prior art, alone or in combination, teach:
Regarding claim 5, the executing of the charging operation of the hydrogen station includes charging the hydrogen from the hydrogen station based on an abnormal charging operation that is different from conditions of the charging operation to be performed, and the determining includes determining whether the hydrogen is charged from the hydrogen station even when the abnormal charging operation is performed.
Claim 8 depends on claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, wherein the execution unit charges the hydrogen in the hydrogen station based on an abnormal charging operation that is different from conditions of the charging operation to be performed, and the determination unit determines whether the hydrogen is charged in the hydrogen station even when the abnormal charging operation is performed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Donnelly et al. reference (9284178) discloses another hydrogen dispensing system having a computer control with memory and processor (see col. 4, line 55 – col. 5, line 22).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753