DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
The amendment filed on 8/22/2024 has been entered. In the amendment, Applicant amended claims 7, 14 and 17, cancelled claim 15. Currently claims 1-14 and 16-21 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 16, 18 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, ll. 3 from the bottom of the claim: “in at least one circuit unit” should be changed to “in the at least one circuit unit”;
Claim 16, ll. 4: “at least one circuit unit” should be changed to “the at least one circuit unit”;
Claim 18, ll. 3 from the bottom of page 8: “in at least one circuit unit” should be changed to “in the at least one circuit unit”;
Claim 21, ll. 3 from the bottom of the claim: “in at least one circuit unit” should be changed to “in the at least one circuit unit”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yang et al. (US 2021/0335235).
Regarding claim 1, Yang teaches a display substrate (Fig. 4A: inherent substrate on which pixel circuits are disposed; Fig. 5: inherent substrate of electroluminescent display panel), comprising a plurality of circuit units (Fig. 4A: pixel circuit unit), wherein
at least one circuit unit comprises a pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: a data writing circuit 1 and a light-emitting drive circuit 2 connectively form a pixel driving circuit), a sensing circuit (Fig. 4A: initialization circuit 4 and photosensitive drive circuit 5 collectively from a sensing circuit) and a photosensitive device (Fig. 4A: photosensitive device 7), the pixel driving circuit at least comprises a driving transistor (Fig. 4A: first drive transistor DTFT1) and at least one light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: fourth thin film transistor T4);
a first end of the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of T4) is connected to a first power supply line (Fig. 4A: first reference signal terminal VDD), and a second end of the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: lower terminal of T4) is connected to a first end of the driving transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of first drive transistor DTFT1); or the first end of the light emitting control transistor is connected to a second end of the driving transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of T4 is connected to lower terminal of first drive transistor DTFT1 when light-emitting device 3 is turned on, i.e., in time period/light-emitting period t3), and the second end of the light emitting control transistor is connected to a light emitting device (Fig. 4A: lower terminal of T4 is connected to light-emitting device 3 when light-emitting device 3 is turned on, i.e., in time period/light-emitting period t3);
the sensing circuit at least comprises a sensing control transistor (Fig. 4A: fifth thin film transistor T5), a first end of the sensing control transistor is connected with the photosensitive device (Fig. 4A: left terminal of T5 is connected to photosensitive device 7), a second end of the sensing control transistor is connected to a sensing signal line (Fig. 4A: initialization signal terminal Vint), and the light emitting control transistor and the sensing control transistor are different types of transistors (Fig. 4A: T4 is P-type transistor and T5 is P-type transistor); and
in the at least one circuit unit, the light emitting control transistor and the sensing control transistor are connected to a same light emitting signal line (Fig. 4A: second control signal terminal EM2), and the light emitting signal line is configured to provide a light emitting control signal to the pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: EM2=0 corresponds to light-emitting period).
Regarding claim 3, Yang further teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the light emitting control transistor at least comprises a light emitting control gate electrode (Fig. 4A: gate of T4),
the sensing control transistor at least comprises a sensing control gate electrode (Fig. 4A: gate of T5),
the light emitting control gate electrode is directly connected to the light emitting signal line (Fig. 4A: gate of T4 and gate of T5 directly connected to second control signal terminal EM2), and
the sensing control gate electrode is connected to the light emitting signal line through a light emitting connection electrode (Fig. 4A: connection electrode corresponding to to second control signal terminal EM2).
Regarding claim 7, Yang further teaches the display substrate according to claim 1, wherein
the photosensitive device comprises at least a photosensitive first electrode (Fig. 4A: upper electrode of photosensitive device 7), a photosensitive second electrode (Fig. 4A: lower electrode of photosensitive device 7), and a photosensitive layer (Fig. 4A: photosensitive layer associated with PN junction of photosensitive device 7 in view of [0079]) disposed between the photosensitive first electrode and the photosensitive second electrode,
the photosensitive first electrode is connected to a sensing power supply line (Fig. 4A ground-level power supply line directly connected to photosensitive device), and
the photosensitive second electrode is connected to a first electrode of the sensing control transistor (Fig. 4A: lower electrode of photosensitive device 7 connected to left terminal of T5).
Regarding claim 17, Yang further teaches a display apparatus (Abstract), comprising a display substrate according to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, Yang teaches a driving method of a display substrate (Fig. 4A: inherent substrate on which pixel circuits are disposed; Fig. 5: inherent substrate of electroluminescent display panel), which comprises a plurality of circuit units (Fig. 4A: pixel circuit unit), and at least one circuit unit comprises a pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: a data writing circuit 1 and a light-emitting drive circuit 2 connectively form a pixel driving circuit), a sensing circuit (Fig. 4A: initialization circuit 4 and photosensitive drive circuit 5 collectively from a sensing circuit) and a photosensitive device (Fig. 4A: photosensitive device 7), wherein
the pixel driving circuit at least comprises a driving transistor (Fig. 4A: first drive transistor DTFT1) and at least one light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: fourth thin film transistor T4); wherein
a first end of the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of T4) is connected to a first power supply line (Fig. 4A: first reference signal terminal VDD), and a second end of the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: lower terminal of T4) is connected to a first end of the driving transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of first drive transistor DTFT1); or
the first end of the light emitting control transistor is connected to a second end of the driving transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of T4 is connected to lower terminal of first drive transistor DTFT1 when light-emitting device 3 is turned on, i.e., in time period/light-emitting period t3), and the second end of the light emitting control transistor is connected to a light emitting device (Fig. 4A: lower terminal of T4 is connected to light-emitting device 3 when light-emitting device 3 is turned on, i.e., in time period/light-emitting period t3);
the sensing circuit at least comprises a sensing control transistor (Fig. 4A: fifth thin film transistor T5), wherein a first end of the sensing control transistor is connected with the photosensitive device (Fig. 4A: left terminal of T5 is connected to photosensitive device 7), a second end of the sensing control transistor is connected to a sensing signal line (Fig. 4A: initialization signal terminal Vint), and the light emitting control transistor and the sensing control transistor are different types of transistors (Fig. 4A: T4 is P-type transistor and T5 is P-type transistor);
in the at least one circuit unit, the light emitting control transistor and the sensing control transistor are connected to a same light emitting signal line (Fig. 4A: second control signal terminal EM2), the light emitting signal line is configured to provide a light emitting control signal to the pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: EM2=0 corresponds to light-emitting period); and
the driving method comprises following periods:
in a first sensing period (Fig. 4B: first period t1 and second period t2), controlling, by the light emitting signal line, the sensing circuit to generate a photosensitive current ([0075]-[0079]); and
in a second sensing period (Fig. 4B: third period t3), controlling, by the light emitting signal line, the pixel driving circuit to output a driving current ([0080]-[0081]).
Regarding claim 19, Yang teaches the driving method according to claim 18, wherein the controlling, by the light emitting signal line, the sensing circuit to generate a photosensitive current comprises:
outputting a first signal (Fig. 4B: EM2=1) by the light emitting signal line,
turning off the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: T4 being turned off when EM2=1),
turning on the sensing control transistor (Fig. 4A: T5 being turned on when EM2=1), and
generating a photosensitive current by the sensing circuit ([0079]: “When the photosensitive device 7 is illuminated by ambient incident light, under the excitation of optical quanta, an electron hole pair is generated on a PN junction of the photosensitive device 7, which makes charges on the PN junction capacitor be recombined, resulting in potential decline of the third node C, and makes the recombined charges be stored at two ends of the second capacitor C2. In this case, the gate voltage of the second drive transistor DTFT2 changes due to a change of the potential of the third node C, which thereby makes the drain current of the second drive transistor DTFT2 changes. At the same time, the third thin film transistor T3 that is turned on provides the drain current of the second drive transistor DTFT2 to the reading signal terminal R for export”).
Regarding claim 20, Yang teaches the driving method according to claim 18, wherein the controlling, by the light emitting signal line, the pixel driving circuit to output a driving current comprises:
outputting a second signal (Fig. 4B: EM2=0 in period t3) by the light emitting signal line,
turning off the sensing control transistor (Fig. 4A: T5 being turned off when EM2=0), turning on the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: T4 being turned on when EM2=0), and
outputting a driving current by the pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: driving current provided by first drive transistor DTFT1 in light-emitting period t3).
Regarding claim 21, Yang teaches a preparation method (Fig. 4A: preparation method for resulting in a display panel including pixel circuits each of which illustrated in the figure) for a display substrate (Fig. 4A: inherent substrate on which pixel circuits are disposed; Fig. 5: inherent substrate of electroluminescent display panel) comprising a plurality of circuit units (Fig. 4A: pixel circuit unit), the method comprising:
forming a pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: a data writing circuit 1 and a light-emitting drive circuit 2 connectively form a pixel driving circuit), a sensing circuit (Fig. 4A: initialization circuit 4 and photosensitive drive circuit 5 collectively from a sensing circuit) and a photosensitive device (Fig. 4A: photosensitive device 7)in at least one circuit unit; wherein
the pixel driving circuit at least comprises a driving transistor (Fig. 4A: first drive transistor DTFT1) and at least one light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: fourth thin film transistor T4); wherein
a first end of the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of T4) is connected to a first power supply line (Fig. 4A: first reference signal terminal VDD), and a second end of the light emitting control transistor (Fig. 4A: lower terminal of T4) is connected to a first end of the driving transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of first drive transistor DTFT1); or
the first end of the light emitting control transistor is connected to a second end of the driving transistor (Fig. 4A: upper terminal of T4 is connected to lower terminal of first drive transistor DTFT1 when light-emitting device 3 is turned on, i.e., in time period/light-emitting period t3), and the second end of the light emitting control transistor is connected to a light emitting device (Fig. 4A: lower terminal of T4 is connected to light-emitting device 3 when light-emitting device 3 is turned on, i.e., in time period/light-emitting period t3);
the sensing circuit at least comprises a sensing control transistor (Fig. 4A: fifth thin film transistor T5), wherein a first end of the sensing control transistor is connected with the photosensitive device (Fig. 4A: left terminal of T5 is connected to photosensitive device 7), a second end of the sensing control transistor is connected to a sensing signal line (Fig. 4A: initialization signal terminal Vint), and the light emitting control transistor and the sensing control transistor are different types of transistors (Fig. 4A: T4 is P-type transistor and T5 is P-type transistor);
in the at least one circuit unit, the light emitting control transistor and the sensing control transistor are connected to a same light emitting signal line (Fig. 4A: second control signal terminal EM2), the light emitting signal line is configured to provide a light emitting control signal to the pixel driving circuit (Fig. 4A: EM2=0 corresponds to light-emitting period).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4-6 and 8-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 16 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the objection(s) set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claim 2: specific semiconductor materials used for the light emitting control transistor and sensing control transistor;
Claim 4: specific arrangement of some electrodes and lines of the display substrate in different conductive layers;
Claim 8: specific arrangement of some electrodes and layers on first semiconductor layer and second semiconductor layer
Claim 16: inclusion of specifically shaped sensing power supply connection line in the at least one circuit unit
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0335238 by Song et al. teaches in Fig. 4 a pixel unit including a photosensitive element D1, the arrangement of which related to light-emitting element D2 is different from this instant application, however.
US 2020/0410918 by Gai et al., teaches in Fig. 6 a pixel unit including a photosensitive element D, the arrangement of which related to light-emitting element L is different from this instant application, however.
US 2020/0035151 by Feng et al., teaches in Fig. 4 a pixel unit including a photosensitive element PD, the arrangement of which related to the light-emitting element is different from this instant application, however.
US 2015/0220186 by Tan et al., teaches in Fig. 2 a pixel unit including a photosensitive element D2, the arrangement of which related to the light-emitting element D1 is different from this instant application, however.
/XUEMEI ZHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2629