Detailed Action
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application No. 2017/0127692 to Annema et al. in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,191,281 to Foreman et al.
Referring to claim 1, Foreman et al. discloses a meat processing apparatus comprising, a first robot arm – at 522, having a tool – at 524-527, including a scraper – at 524,526, at a tip portion – see figures 5a-5h, and a meat separator – at 530-536, disposed separately from the first robot arm – at 522 – see figures 5a-5h, and configured to be inserted into a cut in a workpiece – see figures 5a-5h and column 25 lines 8-54, and move vertically relative to the workpiece – see via item 534 in figures 5a-5h, with the workpiece being at least partially received in the meat separator – at 530-536, to pull, without cutting, a meat part off the workpiece – see figures 5a-5h and column 25 lines 8-54. Foreman et al. does not disclose the meat separator is inserted into a cut in the workpiece that is widened by the scraper. Annema et al. does disclose a scraper – at 35,36, and a meat separator – at 40,41, and the meat separator – at 40,41, is inserted into a cut – at 18,20, in the workpiece that is widened by the scraper – at 35,36 – see figures 1-13 and paragraphs [0170]-[0187]. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Foreman et al. and add the scraper widens the cut for insertion of the meat separator as disclosed by Annema et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the meat separator properly engages the workpiece to facilitate improved engagement with the workpiece to improve the scraping operation as desired.
Referring to claim 2, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. further discloses the tool is a multitool including a cutter – see ultrasonic knife detailed in column 25 lines 8-54 of Foreman et al., for making an incision in the workpiece with the cut widened by the scraper – at 524,526 – see figures 5a-5h and column 25 lines 8-54 of Foreman et al.
Referring to claim 6, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. further discloses the first robot arm – at 522, has 6 or more axes – see figures 5a-5h of Foreman et al.
Referring to claim 7, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. further discloses a meat processing system comprising, a conveyance line for conveying the workpiece – see at 25* and 60 of Foreman et al. and – see at 504 of Annema et al., at least one processing station for processing the workpiece conveyed by the conveyance line – see at 30 of Foreman et al. and at 520 of Annema et al., and the meat processing apparatus according to claim 1 – see rejection of claim 1 detailed earlier in this paragraph of this office action.
Referring to claim 8, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. further discloses the meat separator – at 530-536, extends along a direction crossing a longitudinal direction of the workpiece – see at 530-536 in figure 5f of Foreman et al.
Referring to claim 9, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. further discloses a holding member – at 38, positioned opposite the meat separator – at 40,41 – see figures 1-13 of Annema et al., the holding member – at 137, being switchable between a retracted position retracted from the meat separator – see figures 2-3 of Annema et al., and a holding position, in proximity to the meat separator – see figure 4 of Annema et al., for holding the workpiece into which the meat separator is inserted – see figures 6-8 of Annema et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Foreman et al. and add the scraper widens the cut for insertion of the meat separator as disclosed by Annema et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the meat separator properly engages the workpiece to facilitate improved engagement with the workpiece to improve the scraping operation as desired.
Referring to claim 10, Foreman et al. a modified by Annema et al. further discloses the meat separator – at 40,41, includes a recess – for receiving the workpiece – see figures 6-8 of Annema et al., corresponding to an outer shape of the workpiece on a side of the meat separator – at 40,41, facing the holding member – at 38 – see figures 6-8 of Annema et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Foreman et al. and add the scraper widens the cut for insertion of the meat separator as disclosed by Annema et al., so as to yield the predictable result of ensuring the meat separator properly engages the workpiece to facilitate improved engagement with the workpiece to improve the scraping operation as desired.
Claim(s) 3-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 11,785,956 to Jacobs et al.
Referring to claim 3, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. does not disclose a second robot arm disposed separately from the first robot arm and having a clamp part at a tip portion for holding the workpiece, wherein the first robot arm is configured to process the workpiece held by the clamp part using the tool. Jacobs et al. does disclose a second robot arm – at 20-22, disposed separately from the first robot arm – at 24 – see figure 4, and having a clamp part – at 23, at a tip portion for holding the workpiece – see figure 4, wherein the first robot arm – at 24, is configured to process the workpiece held by the clamp part – at 23, using the tool – see figure 4. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. and add the second robot arm with clamping part as disclosed by Jacobs et al., so as to yield the predictable result of better securing the animal carcass to facilitate more accurate cutting and processing of the carcass as desired.
Referring to claim 4, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. and Jacobs et al. further discloses the second robot arm – at 20-22 of Jacobs et al., is configured to move the workpiece – see figure 4 of Jacobs et al., while the meat separator – at 530-536 of Foreman et al. and – at 40-41 of Annema et al., is inserted into the cut is fixed to pull off the meat part – see figures 5a-5f of Foreman et al. and figures 1-13 of Annema et al. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to take the device of Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. and add the second robot arm with clamping part as disclosed by Jacobs et al. to move the carcass when using the meat separator of Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al., so as to yield the predictable result of better securing the animal carcass to facilitate more accurate cutting and processing of the carcass as desired.
Referring to claim 5, Foreman et al. as modified by Annema et al. and Jacobs et al. further discloses he tool is configured to cut the meat part pulled off to separate the meat part from the workpiece – see ultrasonic knife detailed in column 25 lines 8-54 of Foreman et al. and – see at 50 in figure 11 of Annema et al.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s claim amendments and remarks/arguments dated 12-17-25 obviates the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejections of claims 1-10 detailed in the last office action dated 10-20-25. However, applicant’s claim amendments dated 12-17-25 necessitates the new grounds of rejection detailed earlier in paragraph 2 of this office action.
Conclusion
/DAVID J PARSLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3643