DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 5/27/2026 are persuasive however after further search and consideration, a new reference is cited which teaches the amended limitations. Applicant argues that the previously cited references do not teach the amended claim limitations or newly added claims including the mixing of the air and water occurring outside of the nozzle or the air openings being a continuous slit in the width direction. Examiner agrees that the cited references do not teach these or related limitations in the newly added claims but cites Maier as teaching these limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6, and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoon (KR KR20160141384A, previously made of record on the IDS dated 12/22/2025, see English translation provided for mapping within this action) modified by Chen (CN214400925U, see English translation provided) and Maier (US 5,115,972.)
Regarding claim 1, Yoon meets the claimed, A method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric, wherein, when a non-electroconductive polymer (Yoon [0030] describes non-conductive polymer) is melt-spun from a spinneret (Yoon [0065] and [0068] both describe melt-blown and [0078] describes spinning) and a spun yarn is collected (Yoon [0078] and [0081] describe spinning the free fibers from a radiating unit 3 and accumulating the free fibers to form a non-woven fabric) by a yarn collection device provided below to form a melt blown nonwoven fabric, (Yoon [0081] describes accumulating the fibers on the capture surface 30a) water is sprayed by a spray nozzle onto the spun yarn between the spinneret and the yarn collection device to electretize the melt blown nonwoven fabric, (Yoon [0082] describes spraying a polar solvent on the fibers while they are being radiated to the capturing surface to generate electrostatic charge on the fibers) the spray nozzle includes a plurality of water discharge openings arranged in the width direction (Yoon Figure 1, [0043], [0047] and [0054]-[0055] describe the polar solvent injection unit 10 which has a plurality of spray nozzles for spraying a polar solvent such as water and gas mixture) and a pair of air discharge openings that are opened continuously or intermittently in the width direction (Yoon [0050]-[0052] describe the nozzles 12 sprays both gas and the water/polar solvent.)
Yoon does not explicitly describe the structure of the radiating unit and does not meet the claimed, having a plurality of spinning holes in a width direction.
Analogous in the field of non-woven fabrics, Chen meets the claimed, spinneret having a plurality of spinning holes in a width direction (Chen [0006] describes a spinneret with a plurality of spinneret holes in the x direction.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the radiating unit of Yoon with the spinneret having multiple holes as described in Chen in order to form multiple ultra-fine fibers, see Chen [0033].
Yoon also does not describe openings which are arranged to face one another and does not meet the claimed, and a pair of air discharge openings that are arranged to face each other so as to sandwich the plurality of water discharge openings, and air discharged from the air discharge openings is made to collide outside the spray nozzle with water discharged from the plurality of water discharge openings to spray the water on the spun yar and each of the pair of air discharge openings is formed as one slit continuous in the width direction, and the plurality of water discharge openings are arranged at intervals in the width direction..
Analogous in the field of spraying methods, Maier describes a spraying device and method for coating a substrate and meets the claimed, and a pair of air discharge openings that are arranged to face each other so as to sandwich the plurality of water discharge openings, (Maier col. 3 lines 34-38 describe air nozzles 16 on either size of fluid nozzles 14) and air discharged from the air discharge openings is made to collide outside the spray nozzle with water discharged from the plurality of water discharge openings to spray the water on the spun yarn (Maier col. 3 lines 44-52 describes the air contacts the fluid (water, see col 3 line 31) as the water is coming out of orifice 22) and the plurality of water discharge openings are arranged at intervals in the width direction (Maier col. 3 lines 34-35 describe a plurality of fluid nozzles 14, col. 3 lines 63-68 describes the fluid nozzles 14 as in a line) each of the pair of air discharge openings is formed as one slit continuous in the width direction, and the plurality of water discharge openings are arranged at intervals in the width direction (Maier col. 5 lines 8-14 and 18-22 describe the air nozzles 16 may be a continuous orifice extending along the entire length of the fluid nozzles 14 on either side thereof.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to combine the nozzles of Yoon with the nozzle of Maier having multiple water discharge openings which collide with the air outside the nozzle in order to avoid unnecessary fluid forming a wasteful fog, see col. 3 lines 51-57. It would be further obvious to substitute the nozzles of Yoon with the spray assembly having longer slit air nozzles alongside the water nozzles in order to optimize the atomized fluid spray, see Maier col. 5 lines 12-13 and to achieve the desired coating along the desired width, see Maier col. 3 lines 62-67.
Regarding claim 2, Yoon does not explicitly describe the ratio of water to the fiber and does not explicitly meet the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein a water/polymer percentage [%] represented by the formula is 300% or more and less than 500%:formula: (Wp/Wf) x 100 (wherein Wp represents a water discharge mass of the spray nozzle in a unit time per unit width, and Wf represents a discharge mass of the non-electroconductive polymer in a unit time per unit width), however, Yoon [0052] describes that the flow rate of the polar solvent (water) may be adjusted in order to adjust the drying rate, particle removal rate, and quality factor of the fibers. Yoon discloses that the flow rate of the water being sprayed is a result-effective variable which affects the quality factor of the performance of the final filter product. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the amount of water being added to the fiber through routine optimization in order to optimize the quality factor of the final product, see Yoon [0052].
Regarding claim 3, Yoon meets the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein a horizontal distance from the spray nozzle to the spun yarn is 50 mm or more and 150 mm or less (Yoon [0057] describes the distance between the fiber and the spray nozzle 11 is less than 150 mm.) In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists, see MPEP §2144.05(I). Additionally, Yoon [0091] also discloses that the distance between the fiber and the spray nozzle is a result effective variable which affects the quality factor and drying rate. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date modify the distance between the nozzle and the fiber through routine optimization in order to optimize the quality factor of the final product, see Yoon [0052].
Regarding claim 4, Yoon meets the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein the spray nozzle is provided only on a transport direction side of the electret melt blown nonwoven fabric collected by the yarn collection device as seen from the spun yarn (Yoon Figure 2 shows the spray nozzle 11 is on the same side of the fabric as the direction the fiber is being transported in as it is collected on the capturing surface 30a as shown by the directional arrow.)
Regarding claim 6, Yoon does not describe the pitch of the water nozzles and does not meet the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein an arrangement pitch of the plurality of water discharge openings in the width direction is 10 mm or less.
Maier describes 1.5 cm spacing between the water nozzles and does not explicitly meet the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein an arrangement pitch of the plurality of water discharge openings in the width direction is 10 mm or less however, Maier beginning at col 3 line 62 describes the spacing of the fluid nozzles is a result-effective variable which is selected to achieve the desired spray fan size for spraying the fluid onto the substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the spacing or pitch of the water nozzles through routine optimization in order to modify the desired spray fan size and width, see Maier col. 3 lines 62-68. See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 8, Yoon does not specify separate air and water nozzles and does not meet the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings are different from the pair of air discharge openings.
Maier meets the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings are different from the pair of air discharge openings (Maier col. 3 lines 34-38 discloses separate air nozzles 16 and fluid nozzles 14.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the sprayer of Yoon with the sprayer of Maier having separate water and air nozzles in order to control contact between the water and the air and prevent a wasteful fog of fluid, see col. 3 lines 44-57.
Regarding claim 9, Yoon does not explicitly specify separate air and water nozzles and does not meet the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings discharges only the water, and the pair of air discharge openings discharges only the air.
Maier meets the claimed, The method for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric according to claim 1, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings discharges only the water, and the pair of air discharge openings discharges only the air. (Maier col. 3 lines 34-38 discloses separate air nozzles 16 and fluid nozzles 14.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the sprayer of Yoon with the sprayer of Maier having separate water and air nozzles in order to control contact between the water and the air and prevent a wasteful fog of fluid, see col. 3 lines 44-57.
Claims 5, 7, and 10-11 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN214400925U, see English translation previously provided) modified by Maier (US 5,115,972.)
Regarding claim 5, Chen meets the claimed, An apparatus for manufacturing an electret melt blown nonwoven fabric, comprising: a spinning section of spinning a non-electroconductive polymer, the section having a plurality of spinning holes in a width direction; (Chen [0027] describes a spinneret 10 with a plurality of holes 101 along the x direction) a water spraying section of spraying water to the spun yarn discharged from the spinning section; (Chen [0027] describes spray assembly 30 for spraying water onto the fiber) and a sheet-making section of collecting the spun yarn, (Chen [0025] describes receiving device 20 to form a web) wherein the water spraying section is a spray nozzle including a plurality of water discharge openings arranged in the width direction and a pair of air discharge openings that are opened continuously or intermittently in the width direction (Chen [0026]-[0027] describes the spray assembly 30 includes nozzles 3 arranged along the x direction that spray both water and air) and are arranged to sandwich the plurality of water discharge openings, (Chen Figure 2 showing the nozzles are faced and can spray towards one another) and causing air discharged from the air discharge openings to collide with water discharged from the plurality of water discharge openings (Chen [0026]-[0027] describes the air disperses the water and thereby atomizes the water.)
Chen does not meet the claimed, causing air discharged from the air discharge openings to collide outside the spray nozzle with water or each of the pair of air discharge openings is formed as one slit continuous in the width direction, and the plurality of water discharge openings are arranged at intervals in the width direction.
Analogous in the field of spraying methods, Maier describes a spraying device and method for coating a substrate and meets the claimed, causing air discharged from the air discharge openings to collide outside the spray nozzle with water (Maier col. 3 lines 44-52 describes the air contacts the fluid (water, see col 3 line 31) as the water is coming out of orifice 22) and each of the pair of air discharge openings is formed as one slit continuous in the width direction, and the plurality of water discharge openings are arranged at intervals in the width direction (Maier col. 5 lines 8-14 and 18-22 describe the air nozzles 16 may be a continuous orifice extending along the entire length of the fluid nozzles 14 on either side thereof.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the nozzles of Chen with the nozzle of Maier having multiple water discharge openings which collide with the air outside the nozzle in order to avoid unnecessary fluid forming a wasteful fog, see col. 3 lines 51-57. It would be further obvious to substitute the nozzles of Chen with the spray assembly having longer slit air nozzles alongside the water nozzles in order to optimize the atomized fluid spray, see Maier col. 5 lines 12-13 and to achieve the desired coating along the desired width, see Maier col. 3 lines 62-67.
Regarding claim 7, Chen does not meet the claimed, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein an arrangement pitch of the plurality of water discharge openings in the width direction is 10 mm or less.
Maier describes 1.5 cm spacing between the water nozzles and does not explicitly meet the claimed, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein an arrangement pitch of the plurality of water discharge openings in the width direction is 10 mm or less. however, Maier beginning at col 3 line 62 describes the spacing of the fluid nozzles is a result-effective variable which is selected to achieve the desired spray fan size for spraying the fluid onto the substrate.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to modify the spacing or pitch of the water nozzles through routine optimization in order to modify the desired spray fan size and width, see Maier col. 3 lines 62-68. See MPEP §2144.05(II)(B).
Regarding claim 10, Chen does not meet the claimed, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings are different from the pair of air discharge openings.
Maier meets the claimed, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings are different from the pair of air discharge openings. (Maier col. 3 lines 34-38 discloses separate air nozzles 16 and fluid nozzles 14.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the sprayer of Chen with the sprayer of Maier having separate water and air nozzles in order to control contact between the water and the air and prevent a wasteful fog of fluid, see col. 3 lines 44-57.
Regarding claim 11, Chen does not meet the claimed, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings discharges only the water, and the pair of air discharge openings discharges only the air.
Maier meets the claimed, The apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the plurality of water discharge openings discharges only the water, and the pair of air discharge openings discharges only the air. (Maier col. 3 lines 34-38 discloses separate air nozzles 16 and fluid nozzles 14.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date to substitute the sprayer of Chen with the sprayer of Maier having separate water and air nozzles in order to control contact between the water and the air and prevent a wasteful fog of fluid, see col. 3 lines 44-57.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/V.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1744
/EMMANUEL S LUK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1744