DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to the Office Action mailed February 23, 2026, applicant submitted an amendment filed on May 1, 2026, in which the applicant amended and requested reconsideration.
Response to Arguments
Applicants argue that the prior art cited fails to teach the claims as amended. Applicants’ arguments are persuasive, but are moot in view of new ground of rejection. It was requested for the double patenting to be held in abeyance and the 101 rejection remains for reasons as set forth below. Furthermore, based on the amendments, the LCD is a generic processor, determining if a user is excited is mental processing and a backchannel response is merely data signaling that a user is engaged, understanding and/or paying attention.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/840,512 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a method comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and emotion information of the listener; and
create a learned model of estimating a quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data.
1. A learning device comprising: processing circuitry configured to: acquire speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and create a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
5. A learning method performed by a learning device, the learning method comprising: acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and creating a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Krishanan discloses a method wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire any one or more of an expression, a motion, and voice of the speaker as the information on the speaker, and acquire any one or more of the expression, the motion, and the voice of the speaker as the information on the listener.
2. The learning device according to claim 1, wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire any one or more of an expression, a motion, and voice of the speaker as the information on the speaker, and acquire any one or more of the expression, the motion, and the voice of the speaker as the information on the listener.
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a estimation device comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, and emotion information of a listener); and
input the acquired information as input data to a learned model of predicting a quick response of the listener from a conversation content of the speaker and estimate the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker.
1. A learning device comprising: processing circuitry configured to: acquire speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and create a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
5. A learning method performed by a learning device, the learning method comprising: acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and creating a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
7. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and creating a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired by the acquisition step with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
Regarding claim 7, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program for causing a computer to function as the learning device according to claim 1.
7. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and creating a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired by the acquisition step with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
Regarding claim 8, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein an estimation program for causing a computer to function as the estimation device according to claim 3.
7. A non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program that causes a computer to execute a process comprising: acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and a classification label of a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener; and creating a learned model of estimating a type of the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the information acquired by the acquisition step with the classification label of the quick response as correct answer data.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a method comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and emotion information of the listener; and
create a learned model of estimating a quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data (claims 1, 5 and 7).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Krishanan discloses a method wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire any one or more of an expression, a motion, and voice of the speaker as the information on the speaker, and acquire any one or more of the expression, the motion, and the voice of the speaker as the information on the listener (claim 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a estimation device comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, and emotion information of a listener); and
input the acquired information as input data to a learned model of predicting a quick response of the listener from a conversation content of the speaker and estimate the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker (claims 1, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program for causing a computer to function as the learning device according to claim 1 (claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein an estimation program for causing a computer to function as the estimation device according to claim 3 (claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to the abstract idea of determining a quick response, as explained in detail below.
The limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “circuity and a LCD” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by mental processing. For example, the language, acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and emotion information of the listener including excitement (can be done by a user determining that a user is speaking, obtaining information from the user and determining the user emotions), creating/predicting a learned model of estimating a backchannel quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a backchannel quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data (can be done by determining how to respond to the user based on the obtained data) and outputting a quick response (can be done by a user outputting data). The present claim language under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of mental processing and recites generic computer components, which all falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements which are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krishnan et al. (PGPUB 2022/0093101), hereinafter referenced as Krishnan in view of Finley et al. (PGPUB 2019/00065464), hereinafter referenced as Finley.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a method comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker (microphone to capture audio; p. 0060), information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener (dialog of users; p. 0155), information on the listener (information relevant to an ongoing user-to-user conversation; p. 0341-0342), and emotion information of the listener (emotional state of the user(s); p. 0092, 0293, 0306-0318);
create a learned model of estimating a backchannel quick response (p. 0040, 0349) of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data (train model for interject with responses such as yes, no, uh huh, mmm and other conversational cues; p. 0036, 0306-0328); and
output the estimated backchannel quick response via a liquid crystal display (LCD) screen (p. 0349-0350). It is noted that Krishanan teaches detecting excitement (p. 0476, 0490, 0502-0503), but does not specifically teach that the emotion includes excitement of the listener.
Finely discloses a method wherein the emotion includes excitement of the listener (p. 0115), to assist with communicating information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill of the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method as described above, to determine current behavioral, psychological and speech styles characteristics of a speaker in a given situation and context by analyzing the speech utterances of the speaker.
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Krishanan discloses a method wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire any one or more of an expression, a motion, and voice of the speaker as the information on the speaker, and acquire any one or more of the expression, the motion, and the voice of the speaker as the information on the listener (emotional state of the user(s); p. 0092, 0293, 0306-0318).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as an estimation device comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker (microphone to capture audio; p. 0060), information on the speaker (information relevant to an ongoing user-to-user conversation; p. 0341-0342), and emotion information of a listener (emotional state of the user(s); p. 0092, 0293, 0306-0318); and
input the acquired information as input data to a learned model of predicting a quick response of the listener from a conversation content of the speaker and estimate the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker (train model for interject with responses such as yes, no, uh huh, mmm and other conversational cues; p. 0036, 0149-0150, 0306-0328, 0478).
Regarding claim 7, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program for causing a computer to function as the learning device according to claim 1 (p. 0527).
Regarding claim 8, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein an estimation program for causing a computer to function as the estimation device according to claim 3 (p. 0527).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Merrill teaches determining emotion responses of a listener.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657