DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2, 5 and 7 of copending Application No. 18/840,566 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a method comprising:
processing circuitry configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and emotion information of the listener; and
create a learned model of estimating a quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data (claims 1, 5 and 7).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Krishanan discloses a method wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire any one or more of an expression, a motion, and voice of the speaker as the information on the speaker, and acquire any one or more of the expression, the motion, and the voice of the speaker as the information on the listener (claim 2).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a estimation device comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, and emotion information of a listener); and
input the acquired information as input data to a learned model of predicting a quick response of the listener from a conversation content of the speaker and estimate the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker (claims 1, 5 and 7).
Regarding claim 7, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program for causing a computer to function as the learning device according to claim 1 (claim 7).
Regarding claim 8, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein an estimation program for causing a computer to function as the estimation device according to claim 3 (claim 7).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
The claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. The claims are directed to the abstract idea of determining a quick response, as explained in detail below.
The limitations, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “circuity” nothing in the claim element precludes the steps from practically being performed by mental processing. For example, the language, acquiring speech data of a speaker, information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener, information on the listener, and emotion information of the listener (can be done by a user determining that a user is speaking, obtaining information from the user and determining the user emotions) and creating/predicting a learned model of estimating a quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data (can be done by determining how to respond to the user based on the obtained data). The present claim language under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of mental processing and recites generic computer components, which all falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites additional elements which are recited at a high-level of generality (i.e., as a generic processor performing a generic computer function) such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The claims are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Krishnan et al. (PGPUB 2022/0093101), hereinafter referenced as Krishnan.
Regarding claims 1 and 5, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a method comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker (microphone to capture audio; p. 0060), information on the speaker, conversation data of a listener (dialog of users; p. 0155), information on the listener (information relevant to an ongoing user-to-user conversation; p. 0341-0342), and emotion information of the listener (emotional state of the user(s); p. 0092, 0293, 0306-0318); and
create a learned model of estimating a quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker using the acquired information with a quick response included in the conversation data of the listener as correct answer data (train model for interject with responses such as yes, no, uh huh, mmm and other conversational cues; p. 0036, 0306-0328).
Regarding claims 2 and 4, Krishanan discloses a method wherein the processing circuitry is further configured to acquire any one or more of an expression, a motion, and voice of the speaker as the information on the speaker, and acquire any one or more of the expression, the motion, and the voice of the speaker as the information on the listener (emotional state of the user(s); p. 0092, 0293, 0306-0318).
Regarding claims 3 and 6, Krishanan discloses a learning device and method, hereinafter referenced as a estimation device comprising:
processing circuitry (p. 0081) configured to:
acquire speech data of a speaker (microphone to capture audio; p. 0060), information on the speaker (information relevant to an ongoing user-to-user conversation; p. 0341-0342), and emotion information of a listener (emotional state of the user(s); p. 0092, 0293, 0306-0318); and
input the acquired information as input data to a learned model of predicting a quick response of the listener from a conversation content of the speaker and estimate the quick response of the listener to a conversation of the speaker (train model for interject with responses such as yes, no, uh huh, mmm and other conversational cues; p. 0036, 0149-0150, 0306-0328, 0478).
Regarding claim 7, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein a learning program for causing a computer to function as the learning device according to claim 1 (p. 0527).
Regarding claim 8, Krishanan discloses a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium storing therein an estimation program for causing a computer to function as the estimation device according to claim 3 (p. 0527).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This information has been detailed in the PTO 892 attached (Notice of References Cited).
Jang et al. (PGPUB 2021/0004538) discloses determining users’ mood/emotional state and predict interjections/simple words (p. 0056, 0063, 0072-0075, 0087, 0094).
Sanches (PGPUB 2009/0210232) discloses using conversational cues (p. 0077).
/JAKIEDA R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2657