DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
In this case, the term “connection means” of claim 1 has taken as an invocation of 112 f. The corresponding structure from Applicant’s specification could be bolts, rivets, threaded studs or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 12, 16, 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Nakayama et al. (USP 4538079).
Regarding claim 1, Nakayama et al. discloses a flywheel comprising
a plurality of discs (fig.2, 14) arranged in a stack, including at least first and second end discs (seen in fig.2) at either end of the stack, each of the plurality of discs including a plurality of disc apertures (seen in figures) therethrough,
first and second plate members (fig.2, interpreted as 21 and the flange portion of 16) disposed at opposing ends of the stack, one or both of the first and second plate members including a plurality of plate apertures (top portion of apertures that are lined up with the apertures in the disc and receive fastener/spacer 15) therethrough for alignment with a corresponding series of disc apertures through the stack, in which one or both of the plate members includes one or more recesses (fig.2, recesses for 24) which are disposed on a disc-facing side thereof and the one of more recesses include a disc-facing surface positioned adjacent to one or more of the plurality of plate apertures (seen in fig.2; the recesses are countersunk on the disc facing side of plate 21 and thus have disc facing surface), and
connection means (15) for clamping the first and second plate members together about the stack of discs, the connection means extending through each of the plurality of disc apertures, in which a spacer or space-filling means (24) is provided along a length of the or each connection means within the stack between the or each connection means and the respective series of disc apertures for supporting an external sidewall of the connection means, the spacer or space-filling means extending from a position within the stack into the one or more recesses of one of the plate members (as seen in fig.2, the spacer extends along a length or rather at least a portion of the connection means within the stack and into the recess).
Regarding claim 2, Nakayama discloses a flywheel as claimed in claim 1, in which the spacer or space-filling means is in the form of a sleeve fitted around the connection means (fig.2, it’s a washer/sleeve type element).
Regarding claim 4, Nakayama discloses a flywheel as claimed in claim 2, in which the sleeve is rigid (sleeves could be interpreted as rigid as they are a solid structure).
Regarding claim 12, Nakayama discloses a flywheel as claimed in any preceding claim 1, in which the connection means includes one or more bolts or threaded studs (15) including a sidewall with an outer surface, and in which a cross section of each bolt or threaded stud is constant (the bolts have a side wall, see fig.2, the cross section is constant).
Regarding claim 16, Nakayama discloses a flywheel assembly comprising one or more flywheels as claimed in any preceding claim 1, the or each flywheel being mounted on or to a drive assembly for facilitating rotation of the or each flywheel for storing energy in or deploying energy from at least one of the flywheels (as described in the background of the disclosure).
Regarding claim 23, Nakayama discloses a flywheel as claimed in claim 1, in which at least one of the plurality of the plate apertures has a minimum width at a first position in one or both of the first and second plate members, at least one of the one or more recesses is disposed at a second position in the one or both of the first and second plate members, wherein the second position is adjacent to the first position, and wherein the second position is closer to the stack of discs than the first position (readily seen in fig.2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakayama et al. (USP 4538079) in view of Ridley (USP 6250608).
Regarding claim 13, Nakayama fails to disclose flywheel as claimed in claim 12, in which each bolt or threaded stud is hollow.
Ridley teaches and/or suggests the use of a threaded hollow bolt or sleeve (50). Note this solves the same problem of securely fastening elements together.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have simply substituted the bolt utilized in Nakayama with a hollow bolt as taught/suggested in Ridley as doing so would provide the same predictable result of securely fastening the elements together. This would also have the added benefit of providing a lighter fastener in weight.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 11, 15, 17, 18, 21, 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 8 is allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 12, 13, 16, 23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Regarding the 103, there is no explicit reason why the bolts couldn’t be simply substituted as they perform the same functionality. Arguments regarding the claim interpretation are not persuasive as the recitation is written in 112 f format and meets the three prong test and in addition the elements recited by Applicant in the arguments pertain to the prior art not their invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
USP 4538079 is of particular relevance because it could be readily used to teach the aspect of a counter sunk recess in a plate member which has a spacer therein.
GB 520513 A also shows the use of a spacer means or key 3 which is also disposed in counter sunk regions of plate members (see fig.1). This reference in particular may be applicable to a lot of claims dependent on any changes in scope made.
JP 2005102460 A is relevant to using a set material around a bolt.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/THOMAS C DIAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617