DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyai et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0371975).
Regarding Claims 1-3: Miyai et al. teaches a phosphor coated with aluminum oxide (abstract, [0004], [0007], Fig. 1).
The Office realizes that all of the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference(s). However, the reference(s) teaches all of the claimed ingredients in the claimed amounts made by a substantially similar process. The original specification does not identify a feature that results in the claimed effect or physical property outside of the presence of the claimed components in the claimed amount. Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. the claimed 1H-NMR spectrum, ratio of S4/BG4, and the aluminum oxide being amorphous would naturally arise and be achieved by a composition with all the claimed ingredients. "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. See MPEP § 2112.01. If it is the applicant’s position that this would not be the case: (1) evidence would need to be provided to support the applicant’s position; and (2) it would be the Office’s position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties with only the claimed ingredients.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyai et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0371975) in view of Miyagawa et al. (US Pub. No. 2015/0144978).
Miyai et al. teaches the phosphor of claim 1 as set forth above.
Miyai et al. is silent as to the BET surface area of the phosphor. However, Miyagawa et al. teaches phosphors having a BET surface area of 1-10 m2/g ([0036], [0056]) Miyai et al. and Miyagawa et al. are analogous art because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely phosphors for light emitting elements. At the time of the invention a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to utilize the BET surface area of Miyagawa et al. in the phosphors of Miyai et al. and would have been motivated to do so because Miyagawa et al. suggests that such a surface area is suitable for phosphors for light emitting elements leading one of ordinary skill in the art to have a reasonable expectation of success in employing phosphors with such a surface area.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyai et al. (US Pub. No. 2021/0371975).
Miyai et al. teaches the phosphor of claim 1 as set forth above. Miyai et al. teaches the aluminum in 0.86-0.98 mass % (8600-9800 ppm) ([0009]).
Miyai et al. does not teach the claimed range of 10000 to 100000 ppm. However, a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges and the prior art ranges do not overlap but are close enough that one skilled in the art would have expected them to have the same properties (see MPEP 2144.05). In the present case, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have expected phosphors with 9800 and 10000 ppm aluminum to have the same properties.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is allowed.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 August 13, 2026