DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chaussade et al. (US 2008/0318011 A1) in view of Tondu et al. (US 2020/0384737 A1)(Tondu) and Leconte (US 2009/0233121 A1).
As to claims 1, 14 and 15, Chaussade teaches a laminate glazing for use in an aircraft cockpit. See paragraph [0004]. Chassaude teaches the following structure as it relates to claim 1:
Claim 1 element
Corresponding Chausade element shown in Figure 1.
First chemically strengthened glass substrate
Pane A; sheet 5
Heating coating on face 2 or 3
Electroconductive film 11
First polymer interlayer
Interlayer 6
Solar control coating on remaining face 2 or 3
Solar protection film applied to pane B (paragraphs [0004] and [0035])
Second chemically strengthened substrate
Pane B; sheet 3
Optional second polymer interlayer
Interlayer 4
Optional third chemically strengthen glass substrate
Pane C; sheet 2
The interlayers are thermoplastic polymers such as TPU or PVB. See paragraph [0043]. Pane A/Sheet 5 is chemically strengthened. See paragraph [0045]. Pane B/sheet 3 is also chemically strengthened. See paragraph [0007].
Chaussade differs from claim 1 in two ways.
First, Chaussade fails to disclose pane C /sheet 2 is chemically strengthened.
Tondu teaches aeronautical glazings comprising three ion exchange strengthened glass sheets. See paragraphs [0037] and [0041].
Therefore, it would been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have used a chemically strengthened glass as the glass of pane C/sheet 2 in Chaussade. The rationale for doing so is selecting a known material (i.e., a chemically strengthened glass) based upon its suitability for its intended purpose (i.e., as a cabin facing glass sheet). See MPEP 2144.07.
Second, Chassaude teaches that a solar control functional coating may be applied to surface 3 (see paragraphs [0004] and [0035]), but Chaussaude fails to disclose the solar control coating comprises “at least one functional silver-based metal layer and at least two dielectric coatings, each dielectric coating comprising at least one dielectric layer, such that each functional silver-based metal layer is arranged between two dielectric coatings.”
Leconte teaches a laminated glazing including a solar radiation reflective layer containing silver layers sandwiched between ZnO dielectric layers. See paragraphs [0025] –[0031] and [0047]-[0049].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have employed the solar radiation reflective layer stack of Leconte as the solar control functional film of Chassaude. The rationale for doing so is that the coating system of Laconte has a high light transmission and is solar radiation and infrared reflective. See the abstract.
As to claims 2 and 3, Leconte teaches n+1 silver layers, where n ≥ 1. See paragraphs [0026]-[0031].
As to claim 4, Leconte teaches the solar control coating allows light to pass while blocking solar radiation. See the abstract. Thus, the property of instant claim 4 flow from the teachings of the prior art. See MPEP 716.02(f).
As to claim 5, Leconte teaches the Si3N4 layers (1) and (2) may be omitted which results in all of the dielectric layers being an oxide. See paragraphs [0046]-[0050].
As to claims 6 and 7, Chassaude teaches the electroconductive layer 11 may be indium tin oxide having a thickness of 50 to 500 nm. See paragraphs [0051].
As to claim 8, Chassaude discloses the electroconductive layer is separated into zones including thicker bands 12. Chassaude fails to disclose the ratio of thicknesses. However, it has been held to have been within the level of ordinary skill in the art to have changed the size of a prior art product. See MPEP 2144.04 IV.
As to claims 9-11, Chassaude teaches the interlayers are formed from thermoplastic polyurethane or polyvinyl butyral. See paragraph [0004] and [0043]-[0044].
As to claim 12, Tondo teaches the outer facing intrerlayer has a thickness of 3 and 12 mm and the inner facing interlayer has a thickness of 0.5 to 5 mm. See paragraphs [0028] and [0032].
As to claim 13, Chassaude teaches the thickness of pane A/sheet 5 is 3 mm and pane B sheet 6 is 5 or 6 mm. See paragraph [0004].
Conclusion
/David Sample/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784