DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: In the last two lines of the first page of the claim “shown below” appears to be a typo and has been interpreted as “shown above.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "Z2" in the definition of Z6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For purposes of further examination, “Z2” is being interpreted as “Z6”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22-26, 34-35, and 37-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahashi et al. (US Pub. No. 2019/0341556).
Regarding Claims 22-26 and 34-35: Takahashi et al. teaches a compound of the following structure:
reading on a compound of Formula (I) wherein A is (A1), Xa-c is carbon, and Cc is a straight chain-alkyl substituted aliphatic ring system of nine carbon atoms (Pg. 63).
Regarding Claims 37-38: Takahashi et al. teaches the compound as a fluorescent emitter in an emitting layer which would further comprise a host material (further compound) ([0413] and [0535]).
Regarding Claim 39: Takahashi et al. teaches the emitting layer may comprise a phosphorescent emitter ([0411]-[0412]).
Regarding Claim 40: Takahashi et al. teaches a method of making the compound comprising synthesizing an aromatic amino group in which an aromatic radical is introduced (Pgs. 369-370).
Regarding Claim 41: Takahashi et al. teaches the compound in an electronic device ([0009] and [0481]-[0482]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 27-31, 33, and 36 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Correspondence
/PETER F GODENSCHWAGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767 August 27, 2026