DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because they contain foreign language characters, foreign language characters should be replaced. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 2, the limitation “comparing the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data as a result of a comparison of the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data” renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “as a result of a comparison…” appears to be a grammatical fragment. It is unclear what is meant by a step of comparing which includes “a result of a comparison”. It is unclear how the comparing may include its own comparison.
In claim 5, the limitation “comparing the first difference value and the second difference value a result of a comparison of the first difference value and the second difference value” renders the claim indefinite. The phrase “a result of a comparison…” appears to be a grammatical fragment. It is unclear what is meant by a step of comparing which includes “a result of a comparison”. It is unclear how the comparing may include its own comparison.
In claim 5, the limitation “base blood flow data” renders the claim indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by “base blood flow data”, and how such base blood flow data may differ from the first blood flow data. No step of acquiring “base blood flow data” has been previously set forth.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 10-12, and 20-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hettrick et al. (US 2016/0095535; hereinafter Hettrick).
Hettrick shows a method and system for evaluating an outcome of renal denervation ([0019]), comprising: acquiring first blood flow data from a first region in a renal blood vessel after a vasodilator injected into the first region is activated in a second region in the renal blood vessel ([0035], [0039]); and acquiring second blood flow data from the first region after renal denervation is performed with a catheter for denervation ([0037], [0041]).
Hettrick also shows comparing the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data as a result of a comparison of the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data ([0038]-[0042]); wherein the renal denervation is evaluated according to a result of the comparison of the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data ([0038]-[0042]); wherein, if the result of the comparison is lower than a predetermined threshold, re-performing renal denervation is repeated ([0049]); wherein, if the result of the comparison result is lower than a predetermined threshold, re-performing renal denervation is repeated ([0049]); wherein the base blood flow data is acquired before injecting the vasodilator, or between acquiring the first blood flow data and performing the renal denervation ([0035]-[0037]); wherein the second region comprises a renal arteriole or renal capillary ([0046]-[0047]); wherein the vasodilator comprises at least one of dopamine, dobutamine, adenosine, prostacyclin, nitric oxide, bradykinin, papaverine, dipyridamolum, diuretin, theophylline, minoxidil, and isosorbide ([0035]); a display unit configured to display an evaluation result of the evaluation unit ([0033]); an output unit configured to output an audio signal or video signal, according to the evaluation result of the evaluation unit ([0033]);wherein the first blood flow data, the second blood flow data, and the base blood flow data are acquired from blood flow information detected by a detection means disposed on the catheter ([0036]); wherein the blood flow information comprises at least one of blood flow volume, blood flow rate, and blood flow resistance ([0024], [0049], [0114]); wherein the detection means comprises at least one of an ultrasonic sensor, an impedance sensor, and an optical sensor ({0037]); wherein the ultrasonic sensor comprises a Doppler sensor ([0037]); wherein an impedance value is detected by an electrode of the catheter or detected by a separate sensor ([0021]); wherein the catheter comprises a vasodilator injection unit ([0035]-[0036]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrick et al. (US 2016/0095535; hereinafter Hettrick).
Hettrick shows the invention substantially as described in the 102 rejection above.
Hettrick fails to explicitly state wherein base blood flow data or the second blood flow data is acquired when a half-life has elapsed after the vasodilator is injected into the first region.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have obtained the measurements of Hettrick when a half-life has elapsed in order to ensure enough time for the vasodilator to achieve its desired affect on the patient’s blood flow state. It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to select the timing of the measurement after administration of the vasodilator, in order to ensure an accurate measurement according to the type of pharmacological agent provided.
Claim(s) 5-8 and 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hettrick et al. (US 2016/0095535; hereinafter Hettrick) in view of Gillberg et al. (US 2016/0045744; hereinafter Gillberg).
Hettrick shows the invention substantially as described in the 102 rejection above.
Hettrick fails to show calculating a first difference value representing a difference value between the first blood flow data and base blood flow data; calculating a second difference value representing a difference between the second blood flow data and the base blood flow data; and comparing the first difference value and the second difference value a result of a comparison of the first difference value and the second difference value ; wherein an outcome of the renal denervation is evaluated according to a result of the comparison of the first difference value and the second difference value; a first calculation unit configured to calculate a ratio between the first blood flow data input by the first input unit and the second blood flow data input by the second input unit; an evaluation unit configured to evaluate an outcome of renal denervation by comparing a ratio between the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data calculated by the first calculation unit with a first threshold value as an evaluation result; a third input unit configured to input base blood flow data from the first region before injection of the vasodilator; a second calculation unit configured to calculate a ratio between a first difference value and a second difference value, wherein the first difference value comprises a difference value between the first blood flow data and the base blood flow data, and wherein the second difference value comprises a difference value between the second blood flow data and the base blood flow data; an evaluation unit configured to evaluate the outcome of renal denervation by comparing a ratio between the first difference value and the second difference value calculated by the second calculation unit with a second threshold value.
Gillberg discloses systems and methods for evaluating cardiac therapy. Gillberg teaches a first calculation unit configured to calculate a ratio between the first blood flow data input by the first input unit and the second blood flow data input by the second input unit ([0091]-[0092]); an evaluation unit configured to evaluate an outcome of renal denervation by comparing a ratio between the first blood flow data and the second blood flow data calculated by the first calculation unit with a first threshold value as an evaluation result ([0091]-[0092]); a third input unit configured to input base blood flow data from the first region before injection of the vasodilator ([0061], [0080]-[0081]); a second calculation unit configured to calculate a ratio between a first difference value and a second difference value, wherein the first difference value comprises a difference value between the first blood flow data and the base blood flow data, and wherein the second difference value comprises a difference value between the second blood flow data and the base blood flow data ([0091]-[0092]); an evaluation unit configured to evaluate the outcome of renal denervation by comparing a ratio between the first difference value and the second difference value calculated by the second calculation unit with a second threshold value ([0091]-[0092]).
It would have been an obvious design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Hettrick to utilize other suitably equivalent mathematical representations of the diagnostic data, such as the form of a ratio as taught by Gillberg, as a ratio is a known type of mathematical value used in hemodynamic therapy monitoring as described by Gillberg ([0092]), and in order to provide the same end result of comparison of obtained hemodynamic data to baseline data. It is noted that Hettrick teaches determining percentages, and/or another suitable value associated with effective neuromodulation ([0049]).
Furthermore, it is noted that Hettrick teaches calculating various blood flow data comparisons to base data including obtaining differences ([0038]-[0042], [0049]).
It would be within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art to provide suitably equivalent mathematical calculations to compare the obtained data, such as by performing common mathematical operations including taking a first difference between base and first blood flow data a second difference between base and second blood flow data, and to compare those difference values; or obtaining a ratio between obtained values, in order to provide the same end result of obtaining a diagnostically relevant comparison for evaluating an outcome of renal denervation based upon measurement data acquired before and after neuromodulation as desired by Hettrick.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Zhang (US 2013/0072806) teaches hemodynamic flow ratios ([0036]);
Li (US 2007/0149890) teaches hemodynamic flow ratios ([0062], [0069], [0080])
Goodman (US 2014/0276687) teaches obtaining hemodynamic pressure type ratios ([0033]-[0034]).
/JONATHAN CWERN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3797