DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. What range of values fall within the term substantially? 89? 89.5? 85? What are the bounds of the term.
The remaining claims are rejected due to dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Downham (US 3549070).
Regarding claim 1, Downham discloses a blowoff nozzle that blows out air to a film being conveyed, the blowoff nozzle comprising:
a blowoff portion formed as an opening through which the air is blown out (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2, “opening”);
and a flow passage member (2) provided near the blowoff portion inside the blowoff nozzle (1), the flow passage member (2) forming together with an inner wall surface (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2) of the blowoff nozzle around the blowoff portion (Examiner’ s Annotated Figure 2), a flow passage (3, 4) of the air (The member forms a flow passage around the blowoff portion) from a downstream side in a film conveyance direction to the blowoff portion (The member extends from the downstream side to the blow off portion) and a flow passage of the air from an upstream side in the film conveyance direction to the blowoff portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2), the flow passages being substantially parallel to a virtual plane that is parallel to an opening surface of the blowoff portion and that passes through the opening surface of the blowoff portion (As best understood, Figure 2, the passages run substantially parallel to the inner wall of the blowout nozzle).
Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 2, Downham discloses the blowoff nozzle according to claim 1 wherein the flow passage member (2) includes an opening portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2) from which the air is blown out and which is formed in a surface facing the blowoff portion (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Downham discloses the blowoff nozzle according to claim 2 wherein the blowoff portion and the opening portion overlap at least partially in a plan view in which the blowoff nozzle is viewed from a film running surface (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2, In looking into the nozzle from a plan view the opening portion and blow off portion overlap).
Regarding claim 4, Downham discloses the blowoff nozzle according to claim 2 wherein the opening portion is inside the blowoff portion in a plan view in which the blowoff nozzle is viewed from a film running surface (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2, In looking into the nozzle from a plan view the opening portion will be within the edges of the blowoff portion).
Regarding claim 5, Downham discloses the blowoff nozzle according to claim 2 wherein a center line of the blowoff portion and a center line of the opening portion overlap in a cross-sectional view in which the blowoff nozzle is viewed in a film width direction (Examiner’s Annotated Figure 2).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
CHRISTOPHER R. DANDRIDGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3752
/CHRISTOPHER R DANDRIDGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752