DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 6, 11-15, 17, 19, and 20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species or inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 3, 2026.
Claims 1-4, 7-10, 16 and 18 are therefore pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim 5 identifies external and internal threads. This is not shown in the drawings.
Claim 10 identifies the connection element includes a plurality of holes through which the fiber material of the container extends. This is not shown in the drawings.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 recites that the connection element is connected to the container by “substance bonding”. What constitutes “substance bonding” is unclear and does not adequately specify the type of bond intended to be claimed.
The Specification gives no guidance as to what comprises “substance bonding” except that it is one type of bonding equivalent to form-fitting. Therefore, the claim is indefinite.
For the purposes of examination, it will be assumed that any known type of bonding including chemical, adhesive, or mechanical bonding or joining will suffice to meet the limitations of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-9, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks (US 2577304) in view of Dayton (US 9452863).
Regarding Claim 1, Brooks discloses a fiber container (6) comprising an opening defined by ledges or shoulders (20). Brooks also discloses a lid (30, 32, 32’) operable to close the opening and a flexible hinge strip (33, 34, 35). The container is made of fiber material and includes a biodegradable or bioinert coating (wax – Col. 3 Lines 42-53) and the lid is connected to the container by the flexible hinge strip (Col. 4 Lines 39-47). The flexible hinge strip is made of fiber material (kraft paper – Col. 4 Lines 35-38). The flexible hinge strip is attached to the lid and the flexible hinge strip is connected to the container.
Brooks does not explicitly disclose the lid is made of biodegradable thermoplastic material.
Dayton discloses a similar re-closable container (100) with a body made of paper pulp with a molded attached closure component (202, 212, 214) that is made of a biodegradable plastic resin (Col. 7 Lines 56-64). Brooks and Dayton are analogous inventions in the art of fiber based container bodies with attached closure mechanisms.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lid of Brooks to be a biodegradable thermoplastic material as taught in Dayton in order to make the entire joined container be compostable (Col. 1 Lines 56-65 and Col. 2 Lines 6-7).
Regarding Claim 2, Brooks discloses the container further includes a connection element (disc 30) in the area of the opening around hole 31, wherein the flexible hinge strip is connected to the container at the connection element. As discussed above, the other component of the lid may be made to be of biodegradable material as discussed in Dayton.
Regarding Claim 3, Brooks discloses the flexible hinge strip is bonded to the lid.
Regarding Claim 7, Brooks discloses the container is wax coated. A person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize and find obvious that carnauba wax and beeswax are typical waxes used to waterproof the interiors of fiber-based containers.
Regarding Claim 8, Dayton discloses the biodegradable thermoplastic material (corn based PLA or similar biodegradable resin) is compostable.
Regarding Claim 9, Brooks discloses the connection element is connected to the container by adhesive bonding (Col. 4 Lines 20-22). Similarly Dayton discloses the polymer connection element is attached by form-fitting and adhesive bonding (Col. 7 Lines 4-10).
Regarding Claim 16, Brooks discloses the flexible hinge strip is connected to the container by adhesive bonding (Col. 4 Lines 48-58).
Regarding Claim 18, as discussed above in Claim 1, Brooks in view of Dayton disclose biodegradable molded fiber container comprising a lid and a body including an opening. Brooks discloses a flexible hinge strip including a main planar upper section and a forming the hinge lateral section. Brooks discloses a connection element at disc 30 and a biodegradable or bioinert coating on the interior of the fiber container body. Dayton discloses a container is molded from biodegradable fiber material which may be substituted for the folded and joined body disclosed in Brooks as the simple substitution of the type of fiber pulp based material.
Dayton discloses a lid made of biodegradable thermoplastic material. Brooks discloses the flexible hinge strip is made of biodegradable fiber material (kraft paper). Dayton discloses the use of connection elements made of biodegradable thermoplastic material. Brooks discloses the connection element is connected to the body of the container and the connection element is connected to the lid by the flexible hinge strip. Brooks discloses the main section of the flexible hinge strip is connected to the lid and the lateral section of the flexible hinge strip is connected to connection element. The flexible hinge strip facilitates opening or closing the lid.
While Brooks does not disclose that the connection element stabilizes the opening, a person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that by bonding the solid disc (30) to the upper mouth of the container as discussed in Col. 4 Lines 20-30, the opening of the container would be reinforced as a consequence. Please also note the construction of Brooks (US 2398405) which discloses an insertable lid connection member in a similar paperboard hinge-flap container.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Brooks (US 2577304) in view of Dayton (US 9452863) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Brooks (US 2465842) – hereinafter Brooks ‘842.
Regarding Claim 4, Modified Brooks discloses the limitations of Claim 1 as discussed above. Modified Brooks does not disclose the at least one flexible hinge strip includes at least one seal section, wherein the at least one seal section is connected to the container, and wherein the at least one seal section is perforated and separated along a perforation when the at least one lid is opened.
Brooks ‘842 discloses a similar fiber container (10) with a flexible hinge strip (14) having at least one seal section (15) wherein the at least one seal section is perforated at 19 and separated along a perforation when the at least one lid (16) is opened as shown in Figures 6 and 7 and discussed in Col. 4 Lines 61-73. Modified Brooks and Brooks ‘842 are analogous inventions in the art of fiber containers having adhesive-film applied hinge lids.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hinge strip of Modified Brooks with the perforations Brooks ‘842 in order to enable tearing the strip along its perforations in addition to providing a graspable tab (21) (Col. 5 Lines 8-15). Please also note that this would also provide a tamper-evidencing feature known in the art as seen in Pinkstone (US 12084242) Elements 343 with tear lines 351 to provide a tamper-evident portion 355.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Modified Brooks as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of West (US 2012/0097632) and Peterson (US 6099975).
Regarding Claim 10, Modified Brooks discloses the limitations of Claim 9 as discussed above. While Dayton discloses the use of a fiber container body and a bonded connection element of biodegradable material, Modified Brooks in view of Dayton does not disclose the at least one connection element includes a connecting wall surrounding the at least one opening and a plurality of holes through which the fiber material of the container extends.
West discloses a molded paper container (100) with a hetero-compositional molded frame (114) used to reinforce the container neck and may be molded inside of, outside of, or with the pulp molded container portion (Paragraph 0030). Similarly, Peterson discloses a molded connection system for embedding a threaded connection member (20) within a molded bottle wherein the connection member includes a plurality of holes (30, 40 and 50). Modified Brooks, West, and Peterson are analogous inventions in the art of bottles, containers, and the manufacture thereof.
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the container of Modified Brooks with the connection element of Peterson and molded within the fiber material as taught by West to further reinforce the molded fiber material (West Paragraph 0020) and to have the connection element be permanently molded within the container that is not susceptible to expansion or contraction forces experienced by the container body and strengthens the container body (Peterson Col. 4 Lines 65-67 and Col. 4 Lines 48-59).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GIDEON R WEINERTH/Examiner, Art Unit 3736