DETAILED ACTION
This is a first action on the merits for this regular application filed on 08/22/2024
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Method claim 15 depends from system claim 1. The examiner is unable to determine the metes and bounds of method claim 15 since it is not recited what structure(s) is/are included or not included in claim 15. It is respectfully requested that method claim 15 be rewritten in independent form to include all the structural limitations of system claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hikmet et al. (US 2018/0209609 A1).
Regarding claims 1 and 14-15, Hikmet et al. discloses a light generating system (Fig.3a:300) comprising a first light generating device (Fig.3a:110), a second light generating device (Fig.3a:108), a first diffuser (Fig.3a:104), a second diffuser (Fig.3a:310), a first light mixing chamber (Fig.3a:304) and a second light mixing chamber (unlabeled right part of chamber 304 that is divided by 104); wherein:
the first light generating device (Fig.3a:110) is capable of being configured to generate first device light having a first wavelength in the visible wavelength range; wherein the first light generating device is capable of being configured upstream of the first diffuser and upstream of the second diffuser;
the second light generating device (Fig.3a:310) is capable of being configured to generate second device light having a second wavelength in the UV wavelength range or the violet wavelength range; wherein the second light generating device is capable of being configured downstream of the first diffuser and upstream of the second diffuser;
the first diffuser (Fig.3a:104) and the second diffuser are (Fig.3a:310) (i) transmissive for the first device light and (ii) diffusive [0050] for the first device light;
the second diffuser (Fig.3a:310) is transmissive [0050] for the second device light;
the first diffuser (Fig.3a:104) has a first UV reflection R21 for the second device light [0050];
the second diffuser (Fig.3a:310) has a second UV reflection R22 for the second device light [0050], wherein R21 is larger than R22, wherein 25 % ≤ (R21+R22) ≤ 75% applies; and
the light generating system (Fig.3a:300) is capable of being configured to generate system light comprising one or more of the first (Fig.3a:110) device light and the second device light (Fig.3a:108);
the first light mixing chamber (Fig.3a:304) comprises a first chamber enclosure (unlabeled volume within 304 as shown in Fig.3a), wherein the first chamber enclosure comprises the first diffuser and a first reflector [0042-0043 and 0050], wherein the first light generating device is at least partially enclosed by the first chamber enclosure;
the second light mixing chamber (unlabeled right part of chamber 304 that is divided by 104) comprises a second chamber enclosure (unlabeled volume within 304), wherein the second chamber enclosure comprises the second diffuser and a second reflector [0042-0043 and 0050], wherein the second light generating device (Fig.3a:110) is at least partially enclosed by the second chamber enclosure;
wherein the second light mixing chamber (unlabeled right part of chamber 304 that is divided by 104) is configured downstream of the first light mixing chamber (Fig.3a:304);
a lighting device (Fig.3a:300) selected from the group of a lamp (Fig.3a:108 and 110), a luminaire, and a disinfection device;
a method for one or more of (i) treating air or a surface in a space [0042-0043 and 0050], and (ii) providing light in the space; wherein; and
the space is external from the light generating system [0042-0043 and 0050], and the method comprises providing system light in the space [0042-0043 and 0050].
Regarding claim 2, Hikmet et al. discloses that (R21-R22)>10% applies [0042-0043 and 0050].
Regarding claim 3, Hikmet et al. discloses that 30%≤(R21+R22) <70% applies [0042-0043 and 0050].
Regarding claim 4, Hikmet et al. discloses that 20%≤R21≤60% and 10% [0042-0043 and 0050]
Regarding claim 5, Hikmet et al. discloses that the UV wavelength range is in the wavelength range from 100 to 380 nm [0042-0043 and 0050].
Regarding claim 6, Hikmet et al. discloses that the first light mixing chamber and the second light mixing chamber (Figt.4a:410-412) are stacked.
Regarding claim 7, Hikmet et al. discloses that the second light mixing chamber (unlabeled right part of chamber 304 that is divided by 104) at least partially encloses the first light mixing chamber (Fig.3a:304).
Regarding claim 8, Hikmet et al. discloses that the first light generating device (Fig.3a:110) has first optical axis (unlabeled Y axis), wherein the second light generating device (Fig.3a:108) has a second optical axis (unlabeled Y axis), wherein the first optical axis and the second optical axis have a mutual angle α12 selected from the range of 15-90°[0042-0043 and 0050].
Regarding claim 9, Hikmet et al. discloses that the first light generating device has a first optical axis, wherein the second light generating device has a second optical axis, wherein the first optical axis and the second optical axis have a mutual angle α12 selected from the range of 0-15°.
Regarding claim 10, Hikmet et al. discloses that n1 first light generating devices and n2 second light generating devices, wherein n2the second light generating devices comprise solid-state light sources [0042-0043 and 0050].
Regarding claim 11, Hikmet et al. discloses that n1 first light generating devices and n2 second light generating devices are configured in an array [0042-0043 and 0050], wherein three or more first light generating devices enclose one or more second light generating devices; and wherein n2/n1≤1/3.
Regarding claim 12, Hikmet et al. discloses that the first light generating device is configured to
generate white first device light having a correlated color temperature in a range from 2000
to 8000 K [0042-0043 and 0050] and a color rendering index of at least 80, and wherein the second light generating device is configured second device light having one or more second wavelengths in the UV-B and/or UV-C wavelength ranges.
Regarding claim 13, Hikmet et al. discloses a control system and a sensor, wherein the control system is configured to control the first light generating device and the second light generating device
in dependence of a sensor signal of the sensor [0042-0043 and 0050].
Conclusion
/MONZER R CHORBAJI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799