DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections – 35 USC 112
2. Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
In claims 1-2, the parenthesis numbers, “(2), (11), (6, 5, 3) and (6)” are indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claim 3, the parenthesis numbers, “(2), (11)” are indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claims 4-5, the parenthesis number, “(2)” is indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claim 6, the parenthesis numbers, “(3,5), (11)” are indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claim 7, the parenthesis numbers, “(12), (4), (11)” are indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claim 8, the parenthesis numbers, “(13), (4), (11)” are indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claims 9-10, the parenthesis numbers, “(12), (10)” are indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claims 11, 15, 17, the parenthesis number, “(11)” is indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claims 12, 16, the parenthesis number, “(1)” is indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
In claim 14, the parenthesis number, “(6)” is indefinite. It is unclear what is meant by the parenthesis numbers, as there is no Figure correlating to the referenced numbers in the claims.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The references disclosed within the information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on August 22, 2024, has been considered and initialed by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-6, 11-13, 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Di Costanzo et al. (WO 2021/156304 A1).
Di Costanzo discloses a three-layered film comprising a core layer, and further comprising two skin layers, where the three-layered film is prepared by cast film coextrusion where each skin layer may comprise at least one additive selected from the group consisting of a matte compound, an anti-blocking agent, a slip agent, an anti-fog agent, an antistatic agent, a blend of polyolefin homopolymers and or copolymers with high-density polyethylene (HDPE) and/or medium-density polyethylene (MDPE), or combinations thereof (page 18, lines 7-20). The multilayer polyolefin film of Di Costanzo are suitable for printing and adhesion to a package or container, it follows that the outer polyolefin layers are inherently sealable (page 1, lines 11-15).
The film of Di Costanzo are typically printed after stretching and laminated to a substrate (page 13, line 27- page 14, line 2), as in claims 1-3, 5-6. In claim 1, the phrase, “recyclable laminate” constitutes a “capable of” limitation and that such a recitation that an element is ‘capable of’ performing a function is not a positive limitation but only requires the ability to so perform.
Concerning claim 4, Di Costanzo does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the sealing layer; however thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claim 11, Di Costanzo does not appear to explicitly teach the density of the polyethylene film, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the laminate is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the laminate discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed density.
Concerning claim 12, Di Costanzo does not appear to explicitly teach the density of the laminate, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the laminate is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the laminate discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed density.
Concerning claim 13, Di Costanzo discloses a cavitated layer comprising 80 to 99% wt. of a polyolefin homopolymer; polybutylene terephthalate (PBT); and a pigment selected from CaCO3 (ex. 3) having a refractive index of at least 1.5 complexed by maleic anhydride functionalized polypropylene (MAH-PP) (claims 6, 9, 10 of Di Costanzo).
Concerning claims 15-16, Di Costanzo does not explicitly disclose the thickness of the sealing layer; however thickness modifications involve a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art and therefore obvious. Gardner v. TEC Systems, Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert, denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 USPQ 232 (1984) See MPEP 2144.04.
Concerning claim 17, Di Costanzo does not appear to explicitly teach the gas permeability of the polyethylene film, however substantially identical materials treated in a substantially identical manner are expected to have substantially identical properties. In the present case the laminate is carried out using material and process conditions which are substantially identical to those disclosed by applicants. Therefore the laminate discussed above would be expected to meet the claimed gas permeability of the polyethylene film.
Conclusion
/LAWRENCE D FERGUSON/Examiner, Art Unit 1781