DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to the Response to Restriction Requirement of November 10, 2025. By that response, claims 43-62 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Invention I, claims 43-54, in the reply filed on November 10, 2025, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). Claims 55-62 are hereby withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on November 10, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 45, 51 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 45 recites “a first and a second sleeve portions”. However, claim 43, from which this claim depends, already recited a first sleeve portion and a second sleeve portion. It is unclear if this is claiming an additional sleeve portion, or re-statement of the already recited sleeve portions. Correction is required. For examination purposes, this is treated as having been intended as further clarification of the already recited first and second sleeve portions.
Claim 51 requires the plurality of apertures of claim 50. However, claim 50 provides for those apertures in only a single option, which is not required by the claim if one of the other options is met. Therefore, there are situations in which claim 51 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 52 requires the locking mechanism of claim 50. However, claim 50 provides for that locking mechanism in only a single option, which is not required by the claim if one of the other options is met. Therefore, there are situations in which claim 52 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 43-52 and 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schlatterer (US 12,089,884 B2).
Regarding claim 43, Schlatterer teaches a bone fracture fixation device as at fig. 19 for setting a fractured bone (see e.g. fig. 16 to demonstrate usage; see e.g. fig. 19 to demonstrate full ‘sleeve’ configuration; see figs. 8-14 to demonstrate differently sized segments and disclosure to discuss building of differently sized arcs to up to 360 degrees), the device comprising:
a sleeve (assembly of structures 10, as at fig. 19) having measures to fully or essentially fully surround at least a segment of the fractured bone including the fracture, the sleeve comprising:
at least two sleeve portions (the first, choosing two elements 10, together, as a first portion; and the second, choosing the third element 10), wherein a first sleeve portion (two of 10) having measures to surround above 180 degrees about the fractured bone (240 degrees), and a second sleeve portion (the third portion 10, 120 degrees) to thereby fully or essentially fully surround the fractured bone when the device is in use.
The optional limitation is not considered.
Regarding claim 44, the first sleeve portion surrounds more than 210 degrees (240 degrees demonstrated) of the fractured bone when the device is in use. Once a first of the options is met, the other optional limitations are not considered.
Regarding claim 45, as best understood, the first and second sleeve portions surround 360 degrees about the fractured bone when the device is in use as at fig. 19.
Regarding claim 46, the sleeve further comprises a plurality of protrusions see e.g. fig. 9; each portion 10 includes protrusions 20) attached to an inner wall of the sleeve as arranged in fig. 19 to be capable of pressing on the fractured bone and fixing the bone in place when the device is in use. Once a first of the options is met, the other optional limitations are not considered.
Regarding claim 47, the protrusions 20 are characterized by having blunt tips. Once a first of the options is met, the other optional limitations are not considered.
Regarding claim 48, the sleeve of fig. 19 comprises two orifices (out of the page, and into the page, through the middle of the device) through which the fractured bone passes when the device is in use and the protrusions 20 are dispersed in proximity to each of the orifices.
Regarding claim 49, a central portion of the inner wall of the sleeve that is proximal to the fracture is free of protrusions (e.g. portions of the inner wall can be seen to not have protrusions thereon, between protrusions 20).
Regarding claim 50, the sleeve portions comprise an inter-sleeve portion locking mechanism 40 to allow closing the sleeve. Once a first of the options is met, the other optional limitations are not considered.
Regarding claim 51, the claim is considered to further limit a structure not required by any other claim. Therefore the claim is not further evaluated.
Regarding claim 52, locking mechanism is characterized by one or more straps, wires, cerclage or a combination thereof. Once a first of the options is met, the other optional limitations are not considered.
Regarding 54, the two sleeve portions have different lengths (the first encompassing two element 10, the other only a single element 10).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schlatterer in view of Fulmer et al. (US 2008/0262630 A1).
Regarding claim 53, Schlatterer teaches the invention of claim 43, as above.
However, Schlatterer does not teach the claimed film.
Fulmer teaches a bone implant device for repairing a bone fracture (e.g. bone plate 30). Fulmer teaches a film 12 [0029] disposed on faces of the implant. The film includes a drug impregnated into the material (claim 1), the drug including bone growth factors (claim 12). Once a first of the options is met, the other optional limitations are not considered. Fulmer teaches that a wide variety of implant types, shapes, and sizes can be used with the device. [0005]
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to place the Schlatterer implants (sleeve portions – considered analogous to bone plates) into a film of the Fulmer design. Such would have resulted in the inner face (e.g. bone-facing surface) having had the film present thereon. One would have done so in order to provide for a drug-releasing means to be utilized with the Schlatterer implant. (Fulmer, [0005]).
Conclusion
/DAVID W BATES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3799