Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1-9, 11-14 and 16-20 in the reply filed on 7/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 21 and 31 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/21/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, “wherein the multilayer film has an oxygen transmission rate of less than cc at standard temperature and pressure (STP)/m²/day/1atm measured in accordance with ASTM D3985 measured at 23°C, 75% relative humidity and a moisture transmission rate of less than at standard temperature and pressure (STP)/m²/day measured in accordance with ASTM F1249 measured at 38°C and 90% relative humidity.” The claim doesn’t recite an actual value for the oxygen transmission rate or the moisture transmission rate (see most recent claim set from 7/21/26).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 11-14 and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamber et al. (US 6,218,024) in view of Canich et al. (US 2018/0251586).
Tamber discloses a barrier layer comprising at least 95 wt% of an ethylene-vinyl
alcohol copolymer, based on the total weight of the barrier layer (see figure 1 and column 2, lines 57-65), a first outer layer (see figure 1, "first outer layer"; see column 2, lines 31-38 which discloses that the entire outer layer can be one polyethylene such as LLDPE), a second outer layer comprising at least 95 wt% linear low density polyethylene (see figure 1, "second outer layer" see column 2, lines 42-47 disclosing that the entirety of the second outer layer can be LLDPE), a first substrate layer disposed between the barrier layer and the first outer layer (see figure 1 and PVDC layer between first outer layer and EVOH layer); and a second substrate layer disposed between the barrier layer and the second outer layer (see figure 1 and PVDC layer between the EVOH layer and the second outer layer). Tamber also discloses that the first and second outer layer can be linear low density polyethylene (column 2, lines 31-47) and linear low density polyethylene is known in the art to contain at least short chain branching.
Tamber does not disclose at least 95 wt% of a branched ethylene copolymer based on the total weight of the first outer layer, the branched ethylene copolymer comprising 50 mol% or more ethylene, 50 mol% or less of a C₆ to C₈ alpha-olefin comonomer, and at least 0.001 mol % of a remnant of a metal hydrocarbyl chain transfer agent, the branched ethylene copolymer having a density in the range of from 0.910 to 0.930 grams per cubic centimeter.
Canich discloses at least 95 wt% of a branched ethylene copolymer based on the total weight of the first outer layer, the branched ethylene copolymer comprising 50 mol% or more ethylene, 50 mol% or less of a C₆ to C₈ alpha-olefin comonomer, and at least 0.001 mol % of a remnant of a metal hydrocarbyl chain transfer agent, the branched ethylene copolymer having a density in the range of from 0.910 to 0.930 grams per cubic centimeter (paragraphs [0033-0036], [0082-0083], [0304-0305], [0317-0321], [0327-0328]) in various articles (paragraphs [0327-0328]) for the purpose of providing improved melt strength over conventional linear polyethylene (paragraph [0317]) as well as improved impact strength (paragraph [0321]).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided at least 95 wt% of a branched ethylene copolymer based on the total weight of the first outer layer, the branched ethylene copolymer comprising 50 mol% or more ethylene, 50 mol% or less of a C₆ to C₈ alpha-olefin comonomer, and at least 0.001 mol % of a remnant of a metal hydrocarbyl chain transfer agent, the branched ethylene copolymer having a density in the range of from 0.910 to 0.930 grams per cubic centimeter in place of the linear low density polyethylene of one or both of the outer layers of Tamber in order to provide improved melt strength and/or impact strength as taught or suggested by Canich.
With regards to claim 1, claim does not recite any values for the oxygen or moisture transmission rates.
Tamber discloses further comprising a first tie layer directly adhered to the first substrate layer and the barrier layer and a second tie layer directly adhered to the second substrate layer and the barrier layer, wherein the first and second outer layers make up at least 50% of the total thickness of the multilayer film, wherein the barrier layer makes up less than 5% of the total thickness of the multilayer film (column 1, lines 9-23, column 2, lines 11-56, column 6, lines 28-45, claims 16-17).
Canich discloses wherein branched ethylene copolymer has a melt index of less than 1.2 g/10 min measured in accordance with ASTM D1238 at 190° C., under a load of 2.16 kg, wherein branched ethylene copolymer has from 0.001 to 10 mol % of the remnant of the metal hydrocarbyl chain transfer agent, wherein the C₆ to C₈ alpha-
olefin comonomer or the branched ethylene copolymer is one or more of 1-hexene
and 1-octene (paragraphs [0033-0036], [0082-0083], [0304-0305], [0317-0321], [0327-0328]).
Claims 16-18 are disclosed in Canich (paragraphs [0033-0036], [0082-0083], [0304-0305], [0317-0321], [0327-0328]). Claim 19 is disclosed by Canich since Canich discloses that crosslinking is only optional (column 3, lines 15-22).
Modified Tamber does not specifically disclose the tensile elongation, dart impact, seal strength and tear strength in both the machine and transverse directions recited in claims 11-14. However, finding the optimum range or value for a result effective variable is obvious and well within the level of one of ordinary skill in the art (MPEP 2144.05). It would have been obvious to have provided applicant’s recited tensile elongation, dart impact, seal strength and tear strength in both the machine and transverse directions in order to provide improved mechanical properties.
Claim 20 recites an intended use and has been given little too no patentable weight since it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations (MPEP 2114(II)).
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamber et al. (US 6,218,024) in view of Canich et al. (US 2018/0251586), as applied to claims 1-7, 11-14 and 16-20 above, and further in view of Grefenstein et al. (US 2018/0079188).
Tamber does not disclose wherein the multilayer film comprises at least 90 wt% polyolefin based on the total weight of the multilayer film, wherein the multilayer film
comprises less than 5 wt% of materials other than polyolefin and ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymers.
Grefenstein discloses wherein the multilayer film comprises at least 90 wt% polyolefin based on the total weight of the multilayer film, wherein the multilayer film
comprises less than 5 wt% of materials other than polyolefin and ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymers (paragraphs [0001-0002], [0009-0010]) for the purpose of providing improved recyclability, rigidity, heat resistance and toughness.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the multilayer film comprises at least 90 wt% polyolefin based on the total weight of the multilayer film, wherein the multilayer film comprises less than 5 wt% of materials other than polyolefin and ethylene-vinyl alcohol copolymers in Tamber in order to provide improved recyclability, rigidity, heat resistance and toughness as taught or suggested by Grefenstein.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
September 2, 2026