CTNF 18/840,664 CTNF 95573 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claims 1-13 are pending in this application. Priority 02-26 AIA Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 08/22/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Specification 07-29 AIA The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Specification paragraph [0038] last line recites “maximum time period tmax, can also”. The sentence is incomplete or not properly phrased . Appropriate correction is required. Claim Objections 07-29-01 AIA Claim s 1-2, 6-8 and 12 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 line 7, “the circuit breaker” should be --the electronic circuit breaker--. Multiple instances in claim 1 and claims 2, 6-8 and 12 are required. Claim 1 line 9, “to the supply-side terminals” should be --to a supply-side terminals --. Appropriate correction is required. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim s 1, 4-6, 8 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1) and 102(a)(2 ) as being anticipated by Beierschmitt (US 20160202304 A1) . Regarding claim 1 , Beierschmitt teaches a method for operating an electronic circuit breaker ([0020], the circuit breaker unit 112 and the outlets 114, 116 and 118) that couples a load circuit ([0019], outlets 114, 116 and 118 are conventional three-prong power outlets which provide power when a load device is connected) to be protected ([0019], arc fault detection system 100) to a supply circuit ([0019], AC power source 110) and has a mechanical switching element ([0021], trip mechanism 132 may be a relay) and an electronic switching element ([0023], switching elements 146A and 148A are solid state switches) connected in series therewith ([0019], circuit breaker unit 112 and a series of downstream electrical outlets 114, 116 and 118), the method comprising a) switching off the load circuit by the electronic switching element ([0029], parallel arc faults are determined by opening all of the neutral shorting switching elements 146A-C and the load control switching elements 148A-C) ([0030], series arc faults. During these subsequent checks, the load control switching elements 148A-C remain open); b) recording at least two temporally spaced-apart current measurement values for a current flowing through the circuit breaker after the switching off ([0030], upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 … between the outlets 114 and 116. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120); c) recording at least two temporally spaced-apart voltage values of a voltage applied to the supply-side terminals of the circuit breaker, at least one of which after the switching off ([0030], load control switching elements 148A-C remain open … upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 … between the outlets 114 and 116. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120); d) switching the load circuit on again by the electronic switching element, wherein a time period between the switching off and the switching on again is selected such that a load supplied by the load circuit is not damaged by an interruption of the current supply ([0028], The duration of each of the switching states is in the range of 1 ms in this example in order to insure that load operation is not interrupted); and e) calculating a line impedance of a supply line of the supply circuit ([0030], upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 … between the outlets 114 and 116. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120). Regarding claim 4 , Beierschmitt teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the steps b) and c) are performed simultaneously or approximately simultaneously and in each case pairs of current measurement values and voltage values are recorded ([0030], upstream of the outlet 114. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120 … between the outlets 114 and 116. The circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance from the measured voltage and current from the line conductor 120). Regarding claim 5 , Beierschmitt teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein some or all of the calculation steps e) are carried out by means of the electronic circuit breaker ([0030], circuit breaker unit 112 determines whether the calculated impedance). Regarding claim 6 , Beierschmitt teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein some or all of the calculation steps e are carried out by a parent device ([0039], master controller 126 calculates the impedance from the measured current and voltage), wherein the current measurement values and/or voltage values required for the respective calculation are transmitted wirelessly or by wire from the circuit breaker to the parent device ([0034], Communications could occur via wired connections, wireless communication). Regarding claim 8 , Beierschmitt teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein one of the determined voltage values is a present value of the voltage applied to the supply-side terminals of the circuit breaker at the point in time of the switching off ([0026], the load control switching elements 148A-C of all outlets such as the outlets 114, 116 and 118 are momentarily opened) ([0027], The upstream circuit breaker unit 112 measures current and voltage via the current and voltage sensors 128 and 130). Regarding claim 10 , Beierschmitt teaches the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the switching on again takes place no later than 20 ms, preferably no later than 10 ms, or in particular no later than 2 ms after the switching off ([0028], switching states is in the range of 1 ms). Regarding claim 11 , Beierschmitt teaches an electronic circuit breaker having voltage measuring means (i.e. voltage sensor 130, figs.1-2), current measuring means (i.e. current sensor 128, figs.1-2) and a processing unit (i.e. a trip controller 124, a master controller 126, figs.1-2) that is programmed to perform the method as claimed in claim 1. Regarding claim 12 , Beierschmitt teaches an electrical system comprising one or more circuit breakers ([0020], the circuit breaker unit 112 and the outlets 114, 116 and 118) as claimed in claim 11 and a device ([0021], master controller 126), which can be connected wirelessly or by wire to the circuit breaker or the circuit breakers ([0034], Communications could occur via wired connections, wireless communication), for determining the maximum current increase to be expected in the event of a short circuit in the load circuit ([0027], calculate the resulting circuit's impedance from the measured current and voltage from the current and voltage sensors 128 and 130). Regarding claim 13 , Beierschmitt teaches the electrical system as claimed in claim 12, which is configured in such a way that the method for determining the maximum current increase to be expected in the event of the short circuit in the load circuit is initiated by the device ([0022], detected current on the line conductor 120 to the master controller 126) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 2-3, 7 and 9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding claim 2 , Beierschmitt (US 20160202304 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Beierschmitt does not teach, wherein f) the circuit breaker is put into a safety mode if the line impedance undershoots a threshold value and/or the maximum current increase to be expected in the event of a short circuit in the load circuit exceeds a short circuit switching capacity of the circuit breaker or a threshold value derived from the short circuit switching capacity. Prior art Luebke (US 20190128942 A1), Heller (US 4568872 A), Gasperi (US 20060066321 A1) and Kennedy (US 20170256934 A1) are considered to be the closest prior art. However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “ the circuit breaker is put into a safety mode if the line impedance undershoots a threshold value and/or the maximum current increase to be expected in the event of a short circuit in the load circuit exceeds a short circuit switching capacity of the circuit breaker or a threshold value derived from the short circuit switching capacity. ” Regarding claim 3 , Beierschmitt (US 20160202304 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Beierschmitt does not teach, wherein g) it is determined from the voltage values and the current measurement values whether the supply circuit has a capacitive component. Prior art Luebke (US 20190128942 A1), Heller (US 4568872 A), Gasperi (US 20060066321 A1) and Kennedy (US 20170256934 A1) are considered to be the closest prior art. However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “ it is determined from the voltage values and the current measurement values whether the supply circuit has a capacitive component. ” Regarding claim 7 , Beierschmitt (US 20160202304 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Beierschmitt does not teach, wherein the switching off takes place if the present value of the current flowing through the circuit breaker exceeds a threshold value, corresponds to a peak value of the current. Prior art Luebke (US 20190128942 A1), Heller (US 4568872 A), Gasperi (US 20060066321 A1) and Kennedy (US 20170256934 A1) are considered to be the closest prior art. However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “ the switching off takes place if the present value of the current flowing through the circuit breaker exceeds a threshold value, corresponds to a peak value of the current. ” Regarding claim 9 , Beierschmitt (US 20160202304 A1) teaches the method as claimed in claim 1. Beierschmitt does not teach, wherein the switching off takes place during a switching-on procedure of a load with a high switch-on current. Prior art Luebke (US 20190128942 A1), Heller (US 4568872 A), Gasperi (US 20060066321 A1) and Kennedy (US 20170256934 A1) are considered to be the closest prior art. However, none of the prior art, taken singly or in combination, teach “ wherein the switching off takes place during a switching-on procedure of a load with a high switch-on current. ” Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SREEYA SREEVATSA whose telephone number is (571)272-8304. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8am-5pm ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thienvu V Tran can be reached at (571) 270-1276. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /SREEYA SREEVATSA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838 03/25/2026 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 2 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 3 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 4 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 5 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 6 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 7 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 8 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 9 Art Unit: 2838 Application/Control Number: 18/840,664 Page 10 Art Unit: 2838