Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted 08/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show “an
insulating member covering a conductor” in claim1 and “plurality of electric motors” in claim19 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet,
and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) damage level determining and determining a degree of deterioration process of mathematic calculations and steps performed by human mind. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because temperature acquiring circuitry represents near data gathering, damage level determining circuitry represents near instructions to apply an exception, determining circuitry near instructions to apply an exception. The recitation of an insulating member covering a conductor represents a field of use for judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons set forth above. These limitations represent well understood, routine, conventional activity. TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1) teaches acquiring the temperature of an insulating member
Claims 2-5 and 9 further limit the judicial exception.
Claim 6-8 further limit the temperature acquiring circuitry which is taught by TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1).
Claims 15-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) damage level determining and determining a degree of deterioration process of mathematic calculations and steps performed by human mind. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because temperature acquiring circuitry represents near data gathering, damage level determining circuitry represents near instructions to apply an exception, determining circuitry near instructions to apply an exception. The recitation of an insulating member covering a conductor represents a field of use for judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons set forth above. These limitations represent well understood, routine, conventional activity. TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1) teaches acquiring the temperature of an insulating member
Claims 17-18 further limit the judicial exception.
Claims 16 and 19 ate further limit the temperature acquiring circuitry which is taught by TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to abstract idea without significantly more without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) damage level determining and determining a degree of deterioration process of mathematic calculations and steps performed by human mind. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because temperature acquiring circuitry represents near data gathering, damage level determining circuitry represents near instructions to apply an exception, determining circuitry near instructions to apply an exception. The recitation of an insulating member covering a conductor represents a field of use for judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons set forth above. These limitations represent well understood, routine, conventional activity. TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1) teaches acquiring the temperature of an insulating member
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7, 9, and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being unpatentable by TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1) (“TOUNOSU”).
Regarding claim 1, TOUNOSU teaches a deterioration determining device, comprising:
temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) to acquire a temperature of an insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) covering a conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]);
damage level determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) to determine, for each target period (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses temperature sensors 22 (22 a, 22 b, . . . , 22 n) are arranged in the axis direction of the intermediate layer 21 in Paragraph [0052])), a damage level based on the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) acquired by the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) and on a relationship between a temperature and a service life of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]) the service life being a time period for which the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) is usable, the damage level indicating an elapsed time within the service life (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]) corresponding to the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) acquired by the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]); and
determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 106 discloses a temperature calculator 106 that calculates and stores the relationship between the strand temperature and the temperature of the sensor unit on the basis of the in-machine predictor 105 in Paragraph [0041]) to determine a degree of deterioration of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) based on a cumulative damage level that is a cumulative value of the damage level determined for each target period (Figures 1-12 item 104 discloses a display FIG. 4 is a graph showing the change over time in thermal conductivity of the insulating layer. Typically, the insulating layer 20 is composed of a mixture material of resin, glass cloth and mica. If the insulating layer 20 is used under a certain temperature environment over the long time, the resin fill factor is reduced, leading to degradation in insulation performance. in Paragraph [0048])
Regarding claim 2, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 1, wherein
the determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 106 discloses a temperature calculator 106 that calculates and stores the relationship between the strand temperature and the temperature of the sensor unit on the basis of the in-machine predictor 105 in Paragraph [0041]) determines the degree of deterioration of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21) based on the damage level determined for each target period after a first use of the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 104 discloses a display FIG. 4 is a graph showing the change over time in thermal conductivity of the insulating layer. Typically, the insulating layer 20 is composed of a mixture material of resin, glass cloth and mica. If the insulating layer 20 is used under a certain temperature environment over the long time, the resin fill factor is reduced, leading to degradation in insulation performance. in Paragraph [0048]).
Regarding claim 3, TOUNOSU teaches the system for monitoring temperature of a rotating electric machine (Figures 1-12 item 101) according to claim 1,
wherein the strand (Figures 1-12 item 19) temperature calculator (Figures 1-12 item 106 discloses a temperature calculator 106 that calculates and stores the relationship between the strand temperature and the temperature of the sensor unit on the basis of the in-machine predictor 105 in Paragraph [0041]) calculates a change over time in measured temperature measured by the at least one in-coil temperature sensor (Figures 1-12 item 14 & 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]), and
the strand temperature predictor (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) predicts a change over time in temperature of the strand (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) on the basis of the change over time (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 1, wherein
the temperature and the service life of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]) have a relationship of the service life being shorter for the temperature being higher (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses temperature sensor 22 is increased after a long period of operation, it is determined that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 proceeds in Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 1, wherein
the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) acquires a temperature of the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) and uses the acquired temperature of the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19) as the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses temperature sensor 22 is increased after a long period of operation, it is determined that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 proceeds in Paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 7, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 6, wherein
the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) estimates a resistance value of the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) from a current flowing through the conductor and from a potential of the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 14 discloses upper coil 14 a and the lower coil 14 b each have a strand (conductor) 19 through which current passes, and an insulating layer 20 placed around the strand 19 in Paragraph [0034]) ,estimates the temperature of the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) from the estimated resistance value, and uses the estimated temperature of the conductor as the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 &21).
Regarding claim 9, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 1, wherein
the damage level determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) performs correction (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a temperature sensor 22, and using the result for correction enables prediction on the temperature of the strand 19 with high accuracy in Paragraph [0043]) to increase the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 21 and 20) acquired by the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22) for each target period and determines the damage level based on the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 and 21) after the correction (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a temperature sensor 22, and using the result for correction enables prediction on the temperature of the strand 19 with high accuracy in Paragraph [0043]) and on the relationship between the temperature and the service life of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 15, TOUNOSU teaches a deterioration determining device, comprising:
temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) to acquire a temperature of an insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) covering a conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]);
damage level determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) to perform correction (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a temperature sensor 22, and using the result for correction enables prediction on the temperature of the strand 19 with high accuracy in Paragraph [0043]) to increase the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) acquired by the temperature acquiring circuitry for each target period, and determine, for each target period, a damage level based on the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21) after the correction (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a temperature sensor 22, and using the result for correction enables prediction on the temperature of the strand 19 with high accuracy in Paragraph [0043]) and on a relationship between a temperature and a service life of the insulating member, the service life (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]) being a time period for which the insulating member is usable, the damage level indicating an elapsed time within the service life (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]) corresponding to the temperature of the insulating member acquired by the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]); and
determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 106 discloses a temperature calculator 106 that calculates and stores the relationship between the strand temperature and the temperature of the sensor unit on the basis of the in-machine predictor 105 in Paragraph [0041]) to determine a degree of deterioration of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21) based on the damage level determined for each target period (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]).
Regarding claim 16, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 1, wherein
the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) acquires the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) covering the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) included in a device mounted on a railway vehicle (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a coil temperature of the rotating electric machine mounted on a vehicle in Paragraph [0006 & 0034]).
Regarding claim 17, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 16, wherein
the damage level determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) determines the damage level for each target period with a length (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses temperature; a slot temperature sensor that measures a temperature in at least one slot at a position along a length in Paragraph [0004 & 0034]) changeable in accordance with an operation command for the railway vehicle (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a coil temperature of the rotating electric machine mounted on a vehicle in Paragraph [0006 & 0034]).
Regarding claim 18, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 17, wherein
the damage level determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) determines the damage level for each target period with a length changeable in accordance with an operating state of the device (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses sensor data on such physical quantities representing an operating state is used to predict in detail an in-machine temperature by the in-machine temperature predictor 105 in Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 19, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 17, wherein
the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) acquires the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) covering the conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) included in each of a plurality (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses plurality of in-coil temperature sensors in Paragraph [0040]) of electric motors mounted on the railway vehicle to generate propulsion for the railway vehicle (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a coil temperature of the rotating electric machine mounted on a vehicle in Paragraph [0006 & 0034])., and
the damage level determining circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) determines the damage level for each target period with a length changeable based on whether an electric motor of the plurality (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses plurality of in-coil temperature sensors in Paragraph [0040]) of electric motors has an abnormality (Figures 1-12 item 101 discloses sensor and predictor can obtained operating state of the rotating electric machine 101 or motor equivalent to applicant’s motor item 19 in Paragraph [0042]).
Regarding claim 20, TOUNOSU teaches a deterioration determining method, comprising:
acquiring a temperature (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) of an insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) covering a conductor (Figures 1-12 item 19 discloses strand (conductor) 19 in Paragraph [0034-0035]);
determining, for each target period, a damage level (Figures 1-12 item 105 discloses a machine temperature predictor 105 using a physical model in the early stage of operation, it is conceivable that the degradation of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0049]) based on the acquired temperature (Figures 1-12 item 22) of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21 discloses measuring temperature of the intermediate layer 21and the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0034-0035]) and on a relationship between a temperature of the insulating member and a service life being a time period for which the insulating member is usable, the damage level indicating an elapsed time within the service life (Figures 1-12 item temperature sensor 22 to estimate a degradation condition and the life of the insulating layer 20 in Paragraph [0036]) corresponding to the acquired temperature of the insulating member; and
determining a degree of deterioration (Figures 1-12 item 106 discloses a temperature calculator 106 that calculates and stores the relationship between the strand temperature and the temperature of the sensor unit on the basis of the in-machine predictor 105 in Paragraph [0041]) of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21) based on a cumulative damage level that is a cumulative value of the damage level determined for each target period (Figures 1-12 item 104 discloses a display FIG. 4 is a graph showing the change over time in thermal conductivity of the insulating layer. Typically, the insulating layer 20 is composed of a mixture material of resin, glass cloth and mica. If the insulating layer 20 is used under a certain temperature environment over the long time, the resin fill factor is reduced, leading to degradation in insulation performance. in Paragraph [0048])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1) In view of Colby et al. (US 20090284204 A1),
Regarding claim 4, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 3.
TOUNOSU does not explicitly teach wherein the target period is shorter than the thermal time constant of the conductor.
However, Colby teaches wherein the target period is shorter than the thermal time constant of the conductor. (Figures 1-3 item discloses using a large thermal or smaller than the motor's thermal time constant in Paragraph [0094]).
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify detecting a temperature rise of a rotating electric machine in TOUNOSU, by substituting a rotor varying time constant used for estimator by Colby to provide a rotor time constant can be estimated through the use a model or calculation in Paragraph [0013]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TOUNOSU et al. (US 20200144896 A1) In view of NOZAWA et al. (US 20160155278 A1).
Regarding claim 8, TOUNOSU teaches the deterioration determining device according to claim 6, wherein the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-12 item 22 discloses a an in-coil temperature sensor 22 in Paragraph [0034]) calculates of temperatures of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21) acquired at different timings and uses the value as the temperature of the insulating member (Figures 1-12 item 20 & 21).
TOUNOSU does not explicitly teach wherein the temperature acquiring circuitry calculates a moving average value of temperatures;
However, NOZAWA teaches wherein the temperature acquiring circuitry (Figures 1-3 item 47 discloses a temperature sensor 47 that measures the temperatures in Paragraph [0089]), calculates a moving average value of temperatures (Figures 1-3 item 47 discloses a temperature sensor 47 is handled as an average temperature of the material 31 to 36 in Paragraph [0089]);
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify detecting a temperature rise of a rotating electric machine in TOUNOSU, by substituting a temperature sensor with an average calculator by NOZAWA to provide an estimated value of the heat stress in the machine or motor in Paragraph [0089]).
Conclusion
/BRENT J ANDREWS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/NEEL D SHAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858