DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-30 are pending in this application.
Oath/Declaration
The applicant’s oath/declaration has been reviewed by the examiner and is found to conform to the requirements prescribed in 37 C.F.R. 1.63.
Priority
As required by M.P.E.P. 201.14(c), acknowledgement is made of applicant’s claim for priority based on applications filed on 04/28/2022 (PCTCN2022089723).
Drawings
The applicant’s drawings submitted are acceptable for examination purposes.
Information Disclosure Statement
As required by M.P.E.P. 609(C), the applicant’s submissions of the Information Disclosure Statements dated 08/22/2024 is acknowledged by the examiner and the cited references have been considered in the examination of the claims now pending. As required by M.P.E.P 609 C(2), a copy of the PTOL-1449 initialed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-8 and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-18 and 21-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matsumura et al. (US 2025/0219696 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Matsumura teaches an apparatus for wireless communication at a network node, comprising:
a memory; and one or more processors coupled to the memory (base station 10 include memory and processor see Matsumura: Fig.28), the one or more processors configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE) (transmit TRPs to UE see Matsumura: Fig.6A-6B), a codebook subset restriction (CBSR) criterion that is associated with a coherent joint transmission (CJT) by a plurality of transmission reception points (TRPs) (codebook subset restriction (CBSR) parameter relating to precoder see Matsumura: ¶[0076-0078]; ¶[0090]) and that indicates that a plurality of spatial bases, associated with the plurality of TRPs (plurality of CSI based on spatial domain beams “The plurality of CSI may be based on restriction on at least one of a rank indicator (RI), a parameter for the plurality of CSI, a maximum number of non-zero coefficients, a maximum number of spatial domain beams” see Matsumura: ¶[0491]) are to be jointly restricted based at least in part on the plurality of spatial bases having a same directionality (he control section 210 may assume coherent joint transmission using the plurality of transmission/reception points to determine the plurality of CSI see Matsumura: ¶[0493-0494]; Figs.6A-6B same directions to UE; Figs.12-13); and
receive, from the UE, a communication that is based at least in part on the CBSR criterion (the UE can appropriately report CSI for each X TRPs in one CSI report, based on restriction/relationship and UE capability signaling for restrictions see Matsumura: ¶[0198-0199]).
Regarding claim 2, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CBSR criterion, are configured to transmit a CBSR criterion for a CJT that includes a joint codebook for the plurality of TRPs (joint feedback for both TRPs “Note that CSI feedback for transmitting, for one TRP, a CSI report related to both TRPs may be used. Such CSI feedback may be referred to as joint feedback, joint CSI feedback, and the like” see Matsumura: ¶[0073]).
Regarding claim 3, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 2 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the CBSR criterion for the CJT that includes the joint codebook for the plurality of TRPs indicates a number of relations associated with the plurality of TRPs (In a case of the joint feedback, the UE transmits, to TRP #1 or #2, a CSI report for TRP #1 and a CSI report for TRP #2 see Matsumura: ¶[0074]), wherein each relation of the number of relations is associated with two or more spatial bases of the plurality of spatial bases, and wherein the two or more spatial bases are associated with different TRPs of the plurality of TRPs (two more or FD bases are associated with 1st to 4th TRP CSI see Matsumura: Fig.10; ¶0224]).
Regarding claim 4, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CBSR criterion, are configured to transmit a CBSR criterion for a CJT that includes separate codebooks for two or more of the plurality of TRPs (separate feedback “The UE may assume that separate CSI reports related to respective TRPs are transmitted to different TRPs. Such CSI feedback may be referred to as separate feedback, separate CSI feedback, and the like. In the present disclosure” see Matsumura: ¶[0072]; ¶[0107]; ¶[0208]).
Regarding claim 5, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 4 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein a number of coefficients for a spatial basis, of the plurality of spatial bases, is equal to a number of frequency bases for a corresponding TRP of the plurality of TRPs (or example, L=2 SD 2D-DFT vectors are bi and bj. W.sub.2,k(2L×N.sub.3) is a subband complex linear combination (LC) coefficient (combination coefficients) matrix for layer k see Matsumura: ¶[0093];¶[0265]).
Regarding claim 6, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors are further configured to transmit an indication of a maximum average power associated with the plurality of spatial bases (The maximum transmit power means maximum value of transmit power see Matsumura: ¶[0575]).
Regarding claim 9, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CBSR criterion, are configured to transmit a CBSR criterion indicating that the plurality of spatial bases are to be jointly restricted for every polarization combination of a plurality of polarization combinations associated with the TRPs (The control section control, based on the configuration, reporting of channel state information (CSI) part 1 and CSI part 2 for coherent join transmission which include polarization see Matsumura: ¶[0486-0488]; ¶[0491]).
Regarding claim 10, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the one or more processors, to transmit the CBSR criterion, are configured to transmit a CBSR criterion indicating that the plurality of spatial bases are to be jointly restricted for all polarizations of a plurality of polarizations associated with the TRPs (The control section control, based on the configuration, reporting of channel state information (CSI) part 1 and CSI part 2 for coherent join transmission which include polarization see Matsumura: ¶[0486-0488]; ¶[0491]).
Regarding claim 11, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the CJT is associated with a channel state information reference signal resource and the plurality of TRPs are associated with a plurality of port groups (The base station transmits K beamformed CSI-RS ports. Each port is associated with an SD-FD pair. The UE selects L ports from K ports, and reports, as part of PMI (W.sub.1,k), the selected ports to the base station see Matsumura: ¶[0130-0133]).
Regarding claim 12, Matsumura taught the apparatus of claim 1 as described hereinabove. Matsumura further teaches wherein the plurality of TRPs are associated with a plurality of channel state information reference signal resources (For CJT with up to four TRPs in FR1, selection of four TRPs may be semi-static. Thus, the selection and configuration of four CMRs (four CSI-RS resources) for channel measurement may also be semi-static see Matsumura: ¶[0145]).
Regarding claims 13, claim 13 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 13 discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment that performs the same functionalities in the opposite direction of the network node as described hereinabove.
Regarding claims 14, claim 14 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 2 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 15, claim 15 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 3 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 16, claim 16 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 4 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 17, claim 17 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 5 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 18, claim 18 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 6 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 21, claim 21 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 9 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 22, claim 22 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 10 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 23, claim 23 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 11 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 24, claim 24 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 12 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 25, claim 25 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 1 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 25 discloses a method for wireless communication at a network node that performs the same functionalities as described hereinabove.
Regarding claims 26, claim 26 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 2 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 27, claim 27 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 4 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 28, claim 28 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 13 as set forth hereinabove. Claim 28 discloses a method for wireless communication at a user equipment that performs the same functionalities as described hereinabove.
Regarding claims 29, claim 29 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 2 as set forth hereinabove.
Regarding claims 30, claim 30 is rejected for the same reason as the claim 4 as set forth hereinabove.
Conclusion
GUANG W. LI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2478
September 5, 2026
/GUANG W LI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478