DETAILED ACTION
This is the first action on the merits for application 18/840704. Claims 1-7 are currently pending in this application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by JANSEN (2008/0108442).
Regarding Claim 1, JANSEN teaches A decoupler (20) for mounting to a shaft and engaging an endless drive member (14) in an endless drive arrangement for transmitting power between an engine and an accessory in a vehicle, the decoupler comprising: a decoupler input member (50) and a decoupler output member (22) that is rotatable relative to the decoupler input member (50), wherein the decoupler input member (50) or the decoupler output member (22) is shaped to engage with the endless drive member (14); a wrap spring clutch (71) and an isolation spring (90) that are positioned to transfer torque in series between the decoupler input member (50) and the decoupler output member (22); and a carrier (75) that is positioned to hold an end of the wrap spring clutch (71) and an end of the isolation spring (90) so as to permit torque transfer between the end of the wrap spring clutch (71) and the end of the isolation spring (90), wherein the wrap spring clutch (71) is positioned to transfer torque between the isolation spring (90) and one of the decoupler input member (50) and the decoupler output member (22) and the carrier (75) is supported on a support surface that is fixed to said decoupler output member (22).
Regarding Claim 2, JANSEN teaches wherein said one of the decoupler input member (50) and the decoupler output member (22) is the decoupler input member (50).
Regarding Claim 3, JANSEN teaches further comprising an anti-ramp drive feature (39)(75) that is fixed to the other of the decoupler input member (50) and the decoupler output member (22), and that is positioned to drive the carrier (75) to rotate with the decoupler output member (22) when the decoupler output member overruns the decoupler input member (50).
Regarding Claim 4, JANSEN teaches wherein the decoupler input member (50) is a pulley and the decoupler output member (22) is a hub that is mountable to a shaft of the accessory [0007][0027].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6 is allowed.
The prior art does not teach or suggest a decoupler for mounting to a shaft and engaging an endless drive member in an endless drive arrangement for transmitting power between an engine and at least one accessory in a vehicle, the decoupler comprising:a decoupler input member and a decoupler output member that is rotatable relative to the decoupler input member, wherein either the decoupler input member or the decoupler output member is shaped to engage with the endless drive member; a wrap spring clutch and an isolation spring that are positioned to transfer torque in series between the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member; and a carrier that is positioned to hold an end of the wrap spring clutch and an end of the isolation spring so as to permit torque transfer between the end of the wrap spring clutch and the end of the isolation spring, wherein the wrap spring clutch is positioned to transfer torque between the isolation spring and one of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member and the isolation spring is positioned to transfer torque between the wrap spring clutch and the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member, wherein the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member has a carrier retainer slot that extends circumferentially thereon, an entrance slot that extends at least partially axially at a first end of the carrier retainer slot, and an anti-ramp drive feature at a second end of the carrier retainer slot,wherein the carrier includes a radially inward projection with an anti-ramp drive receiving surface thereon, wherein the carrier is mountable to the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member such that the radially inward projection is insertable along the entrance slot to reach the carrier retainer slot, and is movable along the carrier retainer slot, such that, when the decoupler output member overruns the decoupler input member, the anti-ramp drive feature engages the anti-ramp drive receiving surface to drive the carrier to rotate with the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member in Claim 6.
Claims 5, 7 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior art does not teach or suggest wherein the isolation spring is positioned to transfer torque between the wrap spring clutch and the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member, wherein the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member has a carrier retainer slot that extends circumferentially thereon, an entrance slot that extends at least partially axially at a first end of the carrier retainer slot, and an anti-ramp drive feature at a second end of the carrier retainer slot, wherein the carrier includes a radially inward projection with an anti-ramp drive receiving surface thereon, wherein the carrier is mountable to the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member such that the radially inward projection is insertable along the entrance slot to reach the carrier retainer slot, and is movable along the carrier retainer slot, such that, when the decoupler output member overruns the decoupler input member, the anti-ramp drive feature engages the anti-ramp drive receiving surface to drive the carrier to rotate with the other of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member with the other elements in Claim 5.
The prior art does not teach or suggest wherein said one of the decoupler input member and the decoupler output member is the decoupler input member in Claim 7.
Conclusion
HENRY Y. LIU
Examiner
Art Unit 3654
/HENRY Y LIU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654