Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/22/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
4. The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
5. The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: Power conversion device with grouping components by maintenance cycle period.
Drawings
5. The drawings are objected to because:
Fig. 2 is objected to as it contains blank boxes lacking descriptive labels. The drawings should be amended to include labels showing each boxes function.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 13 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13 recite “the power conversion circuit converts direct current power supplied…”. However, it appears that it should be “the power conversion circuit converts a direct current power supplied…”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claim(s) 1, 3 - 5, 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A); (hereinafter Fujito et al and Fujii et al), Fujito et al cited in IDS.
Regarding claim 1, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses a power conversion device [e.g., -- refer to Figs. 12 - 15 --, power unit 68], comprising: a first electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components [e.g., power unit 68 containing switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, p. 0061 recites “FIG. 12 to FIG. 15 respectively show the power unit 68. As shown in these Figures, the power unit 68 comprises: a base frame 78; a cooler 80; a plurality of semiconductor elements (first to fourth switching elements 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, and first and second diodes 24u, 25u, 24v, 25v, 24w, 25w) constituting four inverters 14 that are mounted in the cooler 80...”]; and a housing [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 5 --, drive control equipment 10 composed of power unit 68 contained within frame 60] accommodating the first electronic component group and the second electronic component group [e.g., power unit 68 accommodates switches corresponding to the first group and second control board 84 corresponding to second group], the housing having an opening [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 13 --, power unit 68 containing through-holes 92, p. 0068 recites “A large number of through-holes 92 for permitting passage of the traveling wind are formed in both side face sections 88b of the shroud (fin-cover) 88.”], wherein at least one of the plurality of electronic components included in the second electronic component group is located adjacent to the opening [e.g., second control boards (84) components next to though-holes 92], the plurality of electronic components included in the second electronic component group include a plurality of low-temperature electronic components to generate heat when energized [e.g., second control boards (84) generate less heat than power semiconductor switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, p. 0071 recites “These second control boards 84 are for example gate control boards that output control signals to the gate amplification boards. As shown in FIG. 14, the power unit 68 is provided with two second control boards 84: these second control boards 84 are respectively freely slidably mounted on two support frames 85b of the base frame 78.”] and a plurality of high-temperature electronic components to generate more heat per unit time when energized than each of the plurality of low-temperature electronic components [e.g., first to fourth switching elements 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w generating more heat per unit time than second control boards 84 supplying control signals to power switches], and at least one of the plurality of low-temperature electronic components and at least one of the plurality of high-temperature electronic components are located adjacent to the opening and are located adjacent to each other [e.g., switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w and control boards 84 located adjacent to through holes 92 and next to each other via support frames 85b].
Fujito et al does not disclose a second electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components each having a shorter maintenance cycle than each of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group.
Fujii et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 7] teaches a second electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components each having a shorter maintenance cycle than each of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a second electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components each having a shorter maintenance cycle than each of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group as suggested by Fujii et al to locate the components with the shortest life near the opening readily accessible in case of replacement needed and thus, improving maintainability.
Regarding claim 3, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses wherein at least one of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group is located adjacent to at least one of the plurality of electronic components included in the second electronic component group in a direction in which the opening extends through [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 15 -- , switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w within power unit 68 located next to control boards 84 in direction of the through holes 92].
Regarding claim 4, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses a first partition member [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 13 --, radiating fins 86] between adjacent electronic components of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group and the plurality of electronic components included in the second electronic component group [e.g., adjacent to section containing the switching elements ( 21u, 21v, 21 w, 22v, 22w, 22u) and section containing the second control boards 84], the first partition member being formed from a plate-like heat conductive material and dividing an internal space of the housing [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 13 --, radiating fins 86 dividing internal space between switches and fin cover 88, p. 0063 recites “The material of the radiating fins 86 is material of high conductivity, such as for example aluminum.”].
Regarding claim 5, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses wherein the first partition member has a vent [e.g., through-holes 92 providing passage of traveling wind between radiating fins 86, p. 0068 recites “A large number of through-holes 92 for permitting passage of the traveling wind are formed in both side face sections 88b of the shroud (fin-cover) 88. These through-holes 92 are constituted for example by elongate slots extending in the direction of attachment/detachment of the power unit 68. Also, a plurality of reinforcement ribs 93 extending in the attachment/detachment direction are provided in the side face sections 88b between the through-holes 92.”].
Regarding claim 7, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses a heat insulation member [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 13 --, insulator 300] between adjacent electronic components of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group and the plurality of electronic components included in the second electronic component group [e.g., between switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w and second control boards 84], the heat insulation member dividing an internal space of the housing [e.g., insulator 300 separating spaces between switches 21u - 21w and 22u-22w, p. 0066 recites “Also, an elongate square pillar-shaped insulator 300 is fixed between a plurality of semiconductor elements on the heat-sink face 84b of the cooling block 87; PN input terminals 108, to be later described, are fixed, by for example screwing in, to this insulator. These PN input terminals 108 are connected with a plurality of semiconductor elements (first to fourth switching elements 21u, 22u, 21v, 22v, 21w, 22w). The provision of this insulator 300 ensures that, when any of the semiconductor elements fails, this failed semiconductor element is prevented from damaging other, normal semiconductor elements. Also, fixing of the insulator 300 makes it possible to prevent deformation etc of the PN input terminals 108.”].
Regarding claim 19, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses a power conversion device [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 12 - 15 --, power unit 68], comprising: a power conversion circuit to convert power supplied from a power supply to power to be supplied to a load and output the power resulting from conversion [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 3 --, inverter circuits 14 converting power from power supply 19 to motor 12, p. 0061 recites “…; a plurality of semiconductor elements (first to fourth switching elements 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, and first and second diodes 24u, 25u, 24v, 25v, 24w, 25w) constituting four inverters 14 that are mounted in the cooler 80;…”]; a first electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components different from the power conversion circuit [e.g., second control boards (84), p. 0071 recites “These second control boards 84 are for example gate control boards that output control signals to the gate amplification boards. As shown in FIG. 14, the power unit 68 is provided with two second control boards 84: these second control boards 84 are respectively freely slidably mounted on two support frames 85b of the base frame 78.”]; and a housing accommodating the first electronic component group and the second electronic component group [e.g., power unit 68 accommodates second control board 84 corresponding to the first group and switches corresponding to the second group], the housing [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 5 --, drive control equipment 10 composed of power unit 68 contained within frame 60] having an opening [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 13 --, power unit 68 containing through-holes 92, p. 0068 recites “A large number of through-holes 92 for permitting passage of the traveling wind are formed in both side face sections 88b of the shroud (fin-cover) 88.”], wherein the second electronic component group includes the power conversion circuit [e.g., power unit 68 containing switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w forming an inverter 14, p. 0061 recites “FIG. 12 to FIG. 15 respectively show the power unit 68. As shown in these Figures, the power unit 68 comprises: a base frame 78; a cooler 80; a plurality of semiconductor elements (first to fourth switching elements 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, and first and second diodes 24u, 25u, 24v, 25v, 24w, 25w) constituting four inverters 14 that are mounted in the cooler 80...”], and at least one of the plurality of electronic components included in the second electronic component group is located adjacent to the opening [e.g., switches 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w located adjacent to through holes 92 and next to each other via support frames 85b].
Fujito et al does not disclose a second electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components each having a shorter maintenance cycle than each of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group.
Fujii et al teaches a second electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components each having a shorter maintenance cycle than each of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life. Thus, the maintainability of the fuel cell system can be improved”.].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a second electronic component group including a plurality of electronic components each having a shorter maintenance cycle than each of the plurality of electronic components included in the first electronic component group as suggested by Fujii et al to locate the components with the shortest life near the opening readily accessible in case of replacement needed and thus, improving maintainability.
10. Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A) and Yoshinari et al (US Pub. No. 2022/0216799 A1); (hereinafter Fujito et al, Fujii et al and Yoshinari et al).
Regarding claim 6, Fujito et al discloses the claimed invention except for a blower in the vent in the first partition member.
Yoshinari et al [e.g., Fig. 4] teaches a blower in the vent in the first partition member [e.g., cooling fan 17 and intake port 26, p. 0033 recites “As shown in FIG. 3, a first cooling fan 17 is provided at a rear end of and inside the first conversion unit 10. A second cooling fan 37 is provided at a rear end of and inside the second conversion unit 30. The flow of cooling air generated by the first cooling fan 17 and the second cooling fan 37 is shown by arrows in FIG. 3. The cooling air generated by the first cooling fan 17 is sucked in from an intake port 26 provided at a front part of a housing of the first conversion unit 10, flows forward while cooling each component of the first conversion unit 10, and is discharged from an exhaust port 27 provided at a rear part of the housing.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a blower in the vent in the first partition member as suggested by Yoshinari et al to support lowering the internal temperature of the housing while the power conversion device is in operation and generating heat.
11. Claim(s) 8, 9, 15 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A) and Fujito et al_4th Embodiment; (hereinafter Fujito et al_1st Embodiment, Fujii et al and Fujito et al_4th Embodiment).
Regarding claim 8, Fujito et al_1st Embodiment [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses a power conversion circuit to convert power supplied from a power supply to power to be supplied to a load and output the power resulting from conversion [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 3 --, power unit 68 containing inverter circuits 14 to supply power from power source 19 to motor 12, p. 0061 recites “…; a plurality of semiconductor elements (first to fourth switching elements 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, and first and second diodes 24u, 25u, 24v, 25v, 24w, 25w) constituting four inverters 14 that are mounted in the cooler 80;”]; a filter capacitor [e.g., filter capacitors 26 and 27] connected between terminals of the power conversion circuit [e.g., connected between P node and N node], the terminals being near the power supply [e.g., nodes near power source 19]; a control circuit to control a switching element included in the power conversion circuit [e.g., control device 18].
Fujito et al_1st Embodiment does not disclose a contactor between the power conversion circuit and the power supply to open or close an electric path, wherein the power conversion circuit, the filter capacitor, the control circuit, and the contactor are included in the second electronic component group.
Fujito et al_4th Embodiment teaches a contactor [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 33 --, contactors 16 located following the power source 19] between the power conversion circuit and the power supply to open or close an electric path [e.g., contactor 16 connected between power source 19 and inverters 14, p. 0099 recites “In this way, the contactors 16 can be reduced to a single contactor and size reduction of the drive control equipment 10 can thereby be achieved, making it possible to reduce manufacturing costs.”].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a contactor between the power conversion circuit and the power supply to open or close an electric path as suggested by Fujito et al_4th Embodiment to reduce the contactors to a single contactor reducing the overall size of the control equipment as well as making it possible to reduce manufacturing costs.
Fujito et al_4th Embodiment does not teach wherein the power conversion circuit, the filter capacitor, the control circuit, and the contactor are included in the second electronic component group.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with wherein the power conversion circuit, the filter capacitor, the control circuit, and the contactor are included in the second electronic component group as suggested by Fujii et al since such components that generate more amount of heat will requires more often replacements and would be beneficial to maintain such components near the opening of the housing while maintaining components that require less often replacement further in the housing to improve serviceability of the components [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
Regarding claim 9, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses wherein the power conversion circuit, the filter capacitor, and the contactor are located adjacent to the opening [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 24 --, inverter, capacitors 26 and 27, and contactor 16 adjacent to opening when power unit 68 is inserted in frame 60], and the power conversion circuit and the filter capacitor are located adjacent to the contactor [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 26 --, contactors 16 adjacent to power unit 68].
Regarding claim 15, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses wherein the power conversion device comprises a plurality of the power conversion circuits [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 3 -- , power unit 68 containing multiple inverter circuits 14, p. 0061 recites “…; a plurality of semiconductor elements (first to fourth switching elements 20u to 23u, 20v to 23v, 20w to 23w, and first and second diodes 24u, 25u, 24v, 25v, 24w, 25w) constituting four inverters 14 that are mounted in the cooler 80;”], the power conversion device further comprises a switching circuit electrically connecting one of the plurality of power conversion circuits to the load [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 3 --, inverter 14 containing switches 21u - 21w and 22u - 22w connected to motor 12], and the switching circuit is included in the first electronic component group [e.g., semiconductor elements included in the first group].
Regarding claim 16, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses a second partition member dividing an internal space of the housing into a first space and a second space [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 13 --, elongate square pillar-shaped insulator 300], the first space being in contact with a surface having the opening [e.g., first space in contact with shroud 88 which contains through holes 92], the second space being a space into which air outside the housing flows [e.g., second space in contact with radiating fins 86 via base frame 78 which intake outside air via through holes 92].
12. Claim(s) 10 - 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A), Fujito et al_4th Embodiment and Wakita (JP 2015107045 A); (hereinafter Fujito et al, Fujii et al, Fujito et al_4th Embodiment and Wakita).
Regarding claim 10, Fujito et al discloses the claimed invention except for a discharge circuit connected in parallel to the filter capacitor, the discharge circuit including a second switch and a discharging resistor connected in series to each other, wherein the discharge circuit is included in the second electronic component group.
Wakita [e.g., Figs. 1 - 4] teaches a discharge circuit [e.g., charge and discharge circuit 3] connected in parallel to the filter capacitor [e.g., connected in parallel with smoothing capacitor 11], the discharge circuit including a second switch [e.g., discharge switch 9] and a discharging resistor connected in series to each other [e.g., connected in series with resistor 6].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a discharge circuit connected in parallel to the filter capacitor, the discharge circuit including a second switch and a discharging resistor connected in series to each other as suggested by Wakita to provide a charging and discharging circuit to limit the inrush current as the contactor is switched is engaged and turned ON.
Wakita does not teach wherein the discharge circuit is included in the second electronic component group.
However, it would have been obvious to modify Fujito et al with wherein the discharge circuit is included in the second electronic component group as suggested by Fujii since such components that generate less amount of heat will often requires less often replacements and would be beneficial to maintain such components further in the housing while maintaining components that require more often replacement closer to the opening to increase serviceability of the components [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
Regarding claim 11, Fujito et al discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the control circuit and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to the opening and are located adjacent to each other.
Wakita [e.g., Figs. 1 - 4] teaches wherein the control circuit and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to each other [e.g., control circuit 10 and discharge circuit 3 adjacent to each other].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with wherein the control circuit and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to each other as suggested by Wakita to provide a charging and discharging circuit to limit the inrush current as the contactor is switched is engaged and turned ON.
Wakita does not teach wherein the control circuit and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to the opening.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with wherein the control circuit and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to the opening as suggested by Fujii since such components that generate less amount of heat will often requires less often replacements and would be beneficial to maintain such components further in the housing while maintaining components that require more often replacement closer to the opening to increase serviceability of the components [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
13. Claim(s) 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A), Fujito et al_4th Embodiment, Wakita (JP 2015107045 A) and Takahashi (US Pub. No. 2019/0103774 A1 US); (hereinafter Fujito et al, Fujii et al, Fujito et al_4th Embodiment, Wakita and Takahashi).
Regarding claim 13, Fujito et al [e.g., Figs. 1 - 30] discloses the power conversion circuit converts direct current power [e.g., -- refer to Fig. 3 --, inverter 14 converting DC power source 19 into AC for motor 12] supplied from the power supply through the filter capacitor [e.g., filter capacitors 16 and 17] to alternating current power to be supplied to the load and outputs the alternating current power resulting from conversion [e.g., supply alternating current to motor 12].
Fujito et al does not disclose a transformer to transform the alternating current power output by the power conversion circuit and an alternating current capacitor electrically connected to an output end of the transformer, and the alternating current capacitor and the transformer are included in the first electronic component group.
Takahashi [e.g., Fig. 3] teaches a transformer to transform the alternating current power output by the power conversion circuit [e.g., transformer Tr] and an alternating current capacitor electrically connected to an output end of the transformer [e.g., AC capacitor Cac].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a transformer to transform the alternating current power output by the power conversion circuit and an alternating current capacitor electrically connected to an output end of the transformer as suggested by Takahashi to increase/decrease the voltage/current level to a desired voltage/current level as commonly understood in the art.
Takahashi does not teach the alternating current capacitor and the transformer are included in the first electronic component group.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with the alternating current capacitor and the transformer are included in the first electronic component group since such components that generate more amount of heat will require often replacements and would be beneficial to maintain such components near the opening of the housing while maintaining components that require less often replacement further in the housing to improve serviceability of the components [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
13. Claim(s) 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A), Fujito et al_4th Embodiment and Toyoda (US Pub. No. 2017/0149276 A1); (hereinafter Fujito et al, Fujii et al, Fujito et al_4th Embodiment and Toyoda).
Regarding claim 17, Fujito et al discloses the claimed invention except for a first switch electrically connected to the contactor and the power conversion circuit and a reactor electrically connected to the first switch and to the power conversion circuit and accommodated in the second space.
Toyoda [e.g., Fig. 1] teaches a first switch [e.g., converter 5] electrically connected to the contactor and the power conversion circuit [e.g., connected to electromagnetic contactor 2 and inverter 9], and a reactor [e.g., reactor 4] electrically connected to the first switch and to the power conversion circuit [e.g., reactor 4 connected to converter 5 and inverter 9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a first switch electrically connected to the contactor and the power conversion circuit and a reactor electrically connected to the first switch as suggested by Toyoda to control an electric conduction path while providing overcurrent protection to the circuit to minimize serviceability.
Toyoda does not teach accommodated in the second space.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with accommodated in the second space since such components that generate more amount of heat will require often replacements and would be beneficial to maintain such components near the opening of the housing while maintaining components that require less often replacement further in the housing to improve serviceability of the components [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
14. Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fujito et al (US Pub. No. 2014/0345492 A1) in view of Fujii et al (JP 2015191712A), Fujito et al_4th Embodiment and Takahashi (US Pub. No. 2019/0103774 A1 US); (hereinafter Fujito et al, Fujii et al, Fujito et al_4th Embodiment and Takahashi et al).
Regarding claim 18, Fujito et al discloses the claimed invention except for a transformer accommodated in the second space to transform alternating current power output by the power conversion circuit.
Takahashi [e.g., Fig. 3] teaches a transformer [e.g., transformer Tr] to transform alternating current power output by the power conversion circuit.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with a transformer to transform alternating current power output by the power conversion circuit as suggested by Takahashi to increase/decrease the voltage level to a desired voltage level as commonly understood in the art.
Takahashi does not teach accommodated in the second space.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Fujito et al with accommodated in the second space since such components that generate more amount of heat will require often replacements and would be beneficial to maintain such components near the opening of the housing while maintaining components that require less often replacement further in the housing to improve serviceability of the components [e.g., p. 0013 recites “In such a configuration, the component can be easily replaced through the opening since the component with the shortest component life is located closest to the opening. Furthermore, when replacing a part having a longer component life, the part having the shortest component life is also replaced at the same time, which makes it easier to access a part having a longer component life.”].
Examiner’s Note
15. Examiner has cited particular columns, paragraphs and line numbers in the references applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figure may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art disclosed by the Examiner.
16. In the case of amending the claimed invention, Applicant is respectfully requested to indicate the portion(s) of the specification which dictate(s) the structure relied on for proper interpretation and also to verify and ascertain the metes and bounds of the claimed invention.
Allowable Subject Matter
17. Claim 12 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 12 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “…, the charging resistor is included in the second electronic component group, the control circuit, the charging resistor, and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to the opening, and the control circuit and the charging resistor are located adjacent to the discharge circuit, and the first switch and the discharge circuit are located adjacent to each other in a direction in which the opening extends through.”
The primary reason for the indication of the allowability of claim 14 is the inclusion therein, in combination as currently claimed as a whole, of the limitation of “…, and the power conversion device further comprises a heat insulation member located between the transformer and the power conversion circuit and dividing an internal space of the housing.”.
Conclusion
/ULARISLAO CORDOVA/Examiner, Art Unit 2838
/FRED E FINCH III/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838