CTNF 18/840,730 CTNF 89309 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claim 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 depends on claim 1, wherein claim 14 recites, in part: “wherein generating the new value of the EUI for the next association is performed during disassociation between the non-AP station and the AP station” However, claim 1 recites, in part: “ while being associated with an AP station, generating a new value of the EUI of the non-AP station ” The claim is unclear because it appears to contradict the parent wherein the parent claim requires that the generating is performed during association, while the child claims that the generating is done during disassociation. Claim 16 recites, in part: “wherein the last generated new value is generated when performing disassociation of the non-AP station from the AP station.” Again, the claim 16 depends on claim 15, which depends on claim 1, which recites that the value is generated when the STA is associated. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 13-15, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Mestanov et al. (US 2016/0302058 A1) . Regarding claims 1, 18, and 19, the disclosure of Mestanov teaches: a wireless communciation device comprising at least one microprocessor configured for carrying out a method, wherein the method steps are stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium; the method comprising: changing a value of an Extended Unique Identifier, EUI (par.[0001] discloses a MAC address, “A method and a first node, such as the wireless device, for updating a MAC address of the first node as well as a method and a second node, such as the wireless access node, for managing an update of a MAC address of the first node are disclosed.”) , of a non-access point, non-AP, station (par.[0001] describes a Station (STA)/Wireless Device which is a non-access point non-AP, station) , the method comprising at the non-AP station: while being associated with an AP station (par.[0037] which describes establishing a connection between the STA-110 and the AP-120, par.[0040]) , generating a new value of the EUI of the non-AP station by using an EUI-generating function shared with the AP station (fig.3 at element 303 the STA sends a request to update/change its MAC address, at 304 the AP receives the request, and at 305 the AP generates an updated MAC for the STA to utilize. Additionally, the a first node, par.[0065] which is a STA, is capable of generating a new MAC address, and sending the new address to the AP, element 404-405 Par.[0130] “Hence, a WLAN STA may be able to change its MAC address to e.g. a seemingly random one in order to improve user privacy, while at the same time the WLAN itself can keep providing user context enabled functionality.”) ; and using the new value of the EUI when next associating with the AP station (par.[0078] which recites, in part, “the request may in some examples indicate to the wireless access node that the current MAC address will be used when re-connecting, e.g. establishing a connection to the wireless access node after being disconnected therefrom, at a later stage”). Regarding claim 2, Mestanov discloses: determining whether the non-AP station locally stores an EUI value in association with the AP station, and in the affirmative, using the stored EUI value to associate with the AP station (par.[0103] describes the AP and STA negotiating and/or configuring a MAC which is usable at a later point in time, i.e. an updated MAC) , otherwise using a default EUI value to associate with the AP station (par.[0103] and fig.5 describe prior to updating a MAC, the UE must authenticate using a default MAC or previously known MAC, par.[0012 – 0014, 0104 – 0109]) . Regarding claim 3, Mestanov discloses: wherein the default EUI value is a random MAC address obtained through Randomized and Changing procedure (par.[0130] wherein the MAC addresses are random, and the AP/Network can create a correspondence between old/default MAC address and new/updated MAC address) . Regarding claim 4, Mestanov discloses: performing a further next association with the AP station using a value of the EUI of the non-AP station different from a value of the EUI generated using the EUI-generating function shared with the AP station (par.[0012 – 0014] describes changing a first MAC to a second MAC via a request response process. Wherein a further next association, in the interim, the STA may again change its MAC to a new MAC in the interim between the next association and the further next association) . Regarding claim 5, Mestanov discloses: disassociating from the AP station before using the new value of the EUI to next associate with the AP station. (Par.[0078] which recites, in part, “the request may in some examples indicate to the wireless access node that the current MAC address will be used when re-connecting, e.g. establishing a connection to the wireless access node after being disconnected therefrom, at a later stage”). Regarding claims 8 and 20, the disclosure of Mestanov teaches: a method for changing a value of an Extended Unique Identifier, EUI (par.[0001] discloses a MAC address, “A method and a first node, such as the wireless device, for updating a MAC address of the first node as well as a method and a second node, such as the wireless access node, for managing an update of a MAC address of the first node are disclosed.”) , of a non-access point, non-AP, station (par.[0001] describes a Station (STA)/Wireless Device which is a non-access point non-AP, station) , the method comprising at the AP station: generating a new value of the EUI of a non-AP station by using an EUI-generating function shared with the AP station (fig.3 at element 303 the STA sends a request to update/change its MAC address, at 304 the AP receives the request, and at 305 the AP generates an updated MAC for the STA to utilize. Additionally, the a first node, par.[0065] which is a STA, is capable of generating a new MAC address, and sending the new address to the AP, element 404-405 Par.[0130] “Hence, a WLAN STA may be able to change its MAC address to e.g. a seemingly random one in order to improve user privacy, while at the same time the WLAN itself can keep providing user context enabled functionality.”) ; and using the new value of the EUI when next associating with the AP station (par.[0078] which recites, in part, “the request may in some examples indicate to the wireless access node that the current MAC address will be used when re-connecting, e.g. establishing a connection to the wireless access node after being disconnected therefrom, at a later stage”). Regarding claim 12, Mestanov discloses: disassociating the non-AP station before receiving, from the non-AP station, a request to associate again using the new value of the EUI (par.[0046 and 0052] wherein the request for new MAC address includes an indication that the STA will use the new MAC address at a later stage. Wherein a later stage in par.[0074] is described as at least a one of a disconnection and reconnection) . Regarding claim 13, Mestanov discloses: wherein disassociating is made based on a current value of the EUI of the non-AP station different from the new value of the EUI (par.[0046] “the request message instructs the wireless access node 120 to send a MAC address to the wireless device 110, which MAC address is to be used at a later stage.” Par.[0052]) . Regarding claim 14, Mestanov discloses: wherein generating the new value of the EUI for the next association is performed during disassociation between the non-AP station and the AP station (par.[0014] which recites, in part, “In this manner, the first and second nodes achieve a common understanding of which MAC address, i.e. the second MAC address, the first node will be identified by at a later stage .”. par.[0074] describes later stage as at least a disconnection and re-connection) . Regarding claim 15, the disclosure of Mestanov teaches: while the non-AP station is associated with the AP station, generating a plurality of successive new values of the EUI for the non-AP station by using the shared EUI-generating function; wherein a last generated new value of the EUI is used when performing the next association (fig.3 the element 305 – 306 wherein the MAC address can be generated based upon a request, and may be performed successively. Additionally, the STA may send a request indicating that the MAC should be used at a later stage, see par.[0014] which recites, in part, “In this manner, the first and second nodes achieve a common understanding of which MAC address, i.e. the second MAC address, the first node will be identified by at a later stage.”. par.[0074] describes later stage as at least a disconnection and re-connection) . Regarding claim 16, Mestanov discloses: wherein the last generated new value is generated when performing disassociation of the non-AP station from the AP station (par.[0014] which recites, in part, “In this manner, the first and second nodes achieve a common understanding of which MAC address, i.e. the second MAC address, the first node will be identified by at a later stage .”. par.[0074] describes later stage as at least a disconnection and re-connection) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 6-7 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mestanov as applied to the independent claims, in view of Hawkes (US 2023/0098093 A1) . Regarding claim 6, Mestanov discloses: otherwise using a default EUI value as discussed above with reference to claim 2, but does not disclose: comprising at the non-AP station: receiving a beacon frame from an AP station; searching, in a local registry, for an EUI value associated with a BSSID of the AP station; and sending a management request to the AP station using a found EUI value associated with the BSSID. In an analogous art, the disclosure of Hawkes teaches: comprising at the non-AP station: receiving a beacon frame from an AP station (par.[0176] which recites, in part, “At 1506, the AP 1502 broadcasts a beacon including the temporary MAC address D1.”) ; searching, in a local registry, for an EUI value associated with a BSSID of the AP station (par.[0178] which recites, in part, “the STA 1504 may attempt to authenticate the AP 1502 as being associated with the ESS to which the STA 1504 previously was associated.” Interpreted as searching a local registry implicit as the station can identify previous association with ESS, which is an extended service set of BSS) ; and sending a management request to the AP station using a found EUI value associated with the BSSID (par.[0179] describes the sending of the probe request) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the teachings discussed in Mestanov with the disclosure of Hawkes. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a method associating a STA with a WAP in an extended service set. Regarding claim 7, Mestanov and Hawkes discloses: while not being associated with an AP station (fig.14 element 1412 the UE is not yet associated with an AP and sends a probe request) , sending one or more management requests to one or more respective AP stations (fig.14 the aforecited probe requests are sent by the STA to the AP) ; receiving a management response from one of the respective AP stations (fig.14 element 1414 the STA receives the probe response) ; searching, in a local registry, for an EUI value associated with a BSSID of the responding AP station (par.[0261] describes receiving a probe response and identifying based on an identifier whether the STA has ever been associated with the AP, par.[0177 – 0178] describe this as well) ; and sending a further management request to associate with the responding AP station, wherein the further management request includes a found EUI value associated with the BSSID (fig.14 element 1432 the UE sends the probe request with found temporary MAC) ; otherwise includes a default EUI value (Mestanov: par.[0103] and fig.5 describe prior to updating a MAC, the UE must authenticate using a default MAC or previously known MAC, par.[0012 – 0014, 0104 – 0109]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9-11 and 17 , is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mestanov as applied to the independent claims, in view of Edney (US 2007/0118748 A1) . Regarding claim 9, the disclosure of Mestanov substantially discloses the claimed invention, it may not disclose: receiving, from a non-AP station, a management request signaling a value of an EUI of the non-AP station; searching for the signaled EUI value within EUI values locally stored at the AP station and obtaining a unique local identifier associated with the locally-stored EUI value matching the signaled EUI value. In an analogous art, the disclosure of Edney teaches: receiving, from a non-AP station, a management request signaling a value of an EUI of the non-AP station; searching for the signaled EUI value within EUI values locally stored at the AP station and obtaining a unique local identifier associated with the locally-stored EUI value matching the signaled EUI value (par.[0038] The STA 20 shall send a message to the AP indicating an intent to use a new AMID value and containing the Commit Value and using the AMID as its identifying MAC address (Source MAC Address). [0039] The AP 10 shall confirm that the proposed AMID value is not currently in use. If it is in use, the AP 10 may indicate this to the STA 20 and take no further action. If it is not in use, the AP 10 shall store the new AMID in the table and reply to the STA 20 indicating the value of Inactivity Time for the AMID…….. [0041] When the STA 20 no longer wishes to use the AMID value, it shall send a message to inform the AP 10 and shall include in the message the value of "Commit key". The AP 10 shall compute the hash value of Commit key and AMID and confirm a match with the previously stored Commit value and, if matching, shall remove the AMID from its AMID table. Note: the use of the Commit value prevents another STA from "stealing" the AMID by forging a disconnect message.”. As can be seen, the AP and STA both store the AMID with the commit value which is a unique identifier). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disclosures of Mestanov for modifying the MAC address with the storage as discussed in Edney. The motivation/suggestion would have been to provide a mechanism for identifying which MAC belongs to which STA. Regarding claim 10, the disclosure of Edney teaches: updating a current value of the EUI of the non-AP station locally associated with the unique local identifier, with the generated new value of the EUI (par.[0038] “The STA 20 shall send a message to the AP indicating an intent to use a new AMID value and containing the Commit Value and using the AMID as its identifying MAC address (Source MAC Address). [0039] The AP 10 shall confirm that the proposed AMID value is not currently in use. If it is in use, the AP 10 may indicate this to the STA 20 and take no further action. If it is not in use, the AP 10 shall store the new AMID in the table and reply to the STA 20 indicating the value of Inactivity Time for the AMID.”) . Regarding claim 11, the disclosure of Edney teaches: locally associating the generated new value of the EUI with a unique local identifier (see “The STA 20 shall generate a random value called a "Commit Key" and shall store this value. [0037] The STA 20 shall compute a value called "Commit Value" by hashing together the selected AMID and Commit key using a cryptographic algorithm known publicly such as SHA-256 (Secure Hash Signature Standard (SHS) FIPS PUB 180-2.). [0038] The STA 20 shall send a message to the AP indicating an intent to use a new AMID value and containing the Commit Value and using the AMID as its identifying MAC address (Source MAC Address). [0039] The AP 10 shall confirm that the proposed AMID value is not currently in use. If it is in use, the AP 10 may indicate this to the STA 20 and take no further action. If it is not in use, the AP 10 shall store the new AMID in the table and reply to the STA 20 indicating the value of Inactivity Time for the AMID…….. [0041] When the STA 20 no longer wishes to use the AMID value, it shall send a message to inform the AP 10 and shall include in the message the value of "Commit key". The AP 10 shall compute the hash value of Commit key and AMID and confirm a match with the previously stored Commit value and, if matching, shall remove the AMID from its AMID table. Note: the use of the Commit value prevents another STA from "stealing" the AMID by forging a disconnect message.”. As can be seen, the AP and STA both store the AMID with the commit value which is a unique identifier) . Regarding claim 17, the disclosure of Mestanov substantially discloses the claimed invention, it may not disclose: generating the new value of the EUI includes calculating the new value of the EUI by using a shared secret and a current value of a shared parameter as inputs of the shared EUI-generating function. In an analogous art, the disclosure of Edney teaches: generating the new value of the EUI includes calculating the new value of the EUI by using a shared secret and a current value of a shared parameter as inputs of the shared EUI-generating function (par.[0036] which recites, in part, “The STA 20 shall generate a random value called a "Commit Key" and shall store this value. [0037] The STA 20 shall compute a value called "Commit Value" by hashing together the selected AMID and Commit key using a cryptographic algorithm known publicly such as SHA-256 (Secure Hash Signature Standard (SHS) FIPS PUB 180-2.).”) . It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to combine the disclosures of Mestanov with the disclosure of Edney. The motivation/suggestion would have been to allow each of the devices of the network to predictably decipher and/or create a MAC address with some level of reliability. As is known the temporary address is different from a physical hardware address and provides some anonymity to the STA while transmitting on the network . Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Lee et al. (WO 2016/114843 A2) “Wi-Fi Privacy in a Wireless Station Using Media Access Control Address Randomization” Elliott (US 2015/0063205 A1) “Mobile Station and Method for Anonymous Media Access Control Addressing” Chen et al. (US 2017/0201930 A1) “Service Processing Method and Apparatus” Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAMAAL HENSON whose telephone number is (571)272-5339. The examiner can normally be reached M-Thu: 7:30 am - 6:30 pm. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Derrick Ferris can be reached at (571)272-3123. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. JAMAAL HENSON Primary Examiner Art Unit 2411 /JAMAAL HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 2 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 3 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 4 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 5 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 6 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 7 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 8 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 9 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 10 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 11 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 12 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 13 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 14 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 15 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 16 Art Unit: 2411 Application/Control Number: 18/840,730 Page 17 Art Unit: 2411