DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 8 and 13 – 15, and species A. β-1,4, (β-1,3)-galactose; B. GH35; and NCC 5001 (CNCM -5684) in the reply filed on August 3, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 – 9 and 13 – 15 are pending; claim 9 is withdrawn; claims 8 and 13 – 15 have been considered on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on August 22, 2024 and October 9, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains embedded hyperlinks and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Examples include pages 1, 2, 27, 29 and 35.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims are drawn to a method of promoting growth of a “Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganism” in the gut of an infant of young child. These claims are considered genus claims that encompass a wide array of “transitional microorganisms.” The specification fails to set forth a representative number of examples in order to reasonably verify possession of such a potentially enormous number of microorganisms.
The MPEP states that written description for a genus can be achieved by a representative number of species within a broad generic. It is unquestionable that the claims are broad generics, with respect to all Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganisms that might result from a transition from infancy to “young child” or “young child” to adult. Examples of variations include dietary limitations, age, exposure to pathogenic microorganism, and/or initial gut microbiome of the infant or young child. The possible variations of microorganisms are limitless with potentially millions of subspecies or strains of microorganisms. The instant disclosure identifies a single fecal sample wherein five “transitional microorganisms” were cultured with six or four types of glycan (example 2). Moreover, the sample set is limited an extremely small number of potential microorganisms and also an extremely small number of glycan substrates.
The purpose of the written description requirement is to ensure that the inventor had possession, as of the filing date of the application, of the specific subject matter later claimed by them. A patent specification must describe an invention and do so in sufficient detail that one skilled in the art can clearly conclude that the inventor invented the claimed invention. Thus, an applicant complies with the written description requirement "by describing the invention, with all its claimed limitations" and by using "such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, formulas, etc., that set forth the claimed invention." The specification lacks sufficient variety of species of microorganisms to reflect this variance in the genus since the specification does not provide any examples of such a genus of Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganism.” It is noted that the specification fails to specifically define what these transitional microorganisms might even encompass. Accordingly, the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of “Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganism” and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention. Moreover, the specification neither describes the complete structure of a representative number of species, nor describes a representative number of species in terms of partial structure and relevant identifying characteristics. Absent of such teachings and guidance as to the structure and function of these transitional microorganisms, the specification does not describe the claimed genus in such full, clear, concise and exact terms so as to indicate that Applicant had possession of these transitional microorganisms at the time of filing of the present application.
Thus, the written description requirement has not been satisfied.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the enablement requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to enable one skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention.
The specification does not provide clear evidence that the claimed biological material is known and readily available to the public; reproducible; and deposited per the deposit rules under 37 C.F.R 1.801 - 1.809.
Every patent must contain a written description of the invention sufficient to enable a person skilled in the art to which the invention pertains to make and use the invention. Where the invention involves a biological material and words alone cannot sufficiently describe how to make and use the invention in a reproducible manner, access to the biological material may be necessary for the satisfaction of the statutory requirements for patentability under 35 U.S.C. 112. Courts have recognized the necessity and desirability of permitting an applicant for a patent to supplement the written disclosure in an application with a deposit of biological material which is essential to meet some requirement of the statute with respect to the claimed invention. See, e.g., Ajinomoto Co. v. Archer-Daniels-Midland Co., 228 F.3d 1338, 1345-46, 56 USPQ2d 1332, 1337-38 (Fed. Cir. 2000), cert. denied, 121 S.Ct. 1957 (2001) (explaining how deposit may help satisfy enablement requirement); Merck and Co., Inc. v. Chase Chemical Co., 273 F. Supp. 68, 155 USPQ 139 (D. N.J. 1967); In re Argoudelis, 434 F.2d 666, 168 USPQ 99 (CCPA 1970). To facilitate the recognition of deposited biological material in patent applications throughout the world, the Budapest Treaty on the International Recognition of the Deposit of Microorganisms for the Purposes of Patent Procedure was established in 1977, and became operational in 1981. The Treaty requires signatory countries, like the United States, to recognize a deposit with any depository which has been approved by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO).
The deposit rules (37 CFR 1.801 - 1.809) set forth examining procedures and conditions of deposit which must be satisfied in the event a deposit is required. The rules do not address the substantive issue of whether a deposit is required under any particular set of facts. (MPEP 2402).
Since the microorganisms “CNCM I-5683, CNCM I-5684, CNCM I-5685, CNCM I-5686 and CNCM I-5687” are recited in the claims, they are essential to the invention recited in those claims. They must therefore be obtainable by a repeatable method set forth in the specification or otherwise be readily available to the public. If the microorganisms are not so obtainable or available, a deposit of the microorganisms may satisfy the requirements of 35 U.S.C. § 112. The specification does not disclose a repeatable process to obtain the microorganisms and it is not apparent if the microorganisms are readily available to the public. Moreover, because no taxonomic information appears in the specification, it is not clear what the microorganisms actually are.
However, since a deposit has been made under the terms of the Budapest Treaty, then an affidavit or declaration by Applicants, someone associated with the patent owner who is in a position to make such assurances, or a statement by an attorney of record over his/her signature and registration number, stating that the specific strain has been deposited under the Budapest Treaty and that all restrictions imposed by the depositor on the availability to the public of the deposited material will be irrevocably removed upon the granting of a patent, would satisfy the deposit requirements. See 37 C.F.R. § 1.808.
Claims 8 and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 8 and its dependents are drawn to a method of promoting growth of a microorganism, however are rendered indefinite for reciting “Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganism” because the phrase is not adequately defined by the claim language or specification. It is unclear if the transitional microorganism must be a strain of B. longum or whether it can be any other species. Clarification is required.
Claim 8 is further indefinite for referring to “any of Tables 1 to 3” because claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
Claim 13 is indefinite for reciting “recited in in Table 1” because claims are to be complete in themselves. Incorporation by reference to a specific figure or table "is permitted only in exceptional circumstances where there is no practical way to define the invention in words and where it is more concise to incorporate by reference than duplicating a drawing or table into the claim. Incorporation by reference is a necessity doctrine, not for applicant’s convenience." Ex parte Fressola, 27 USPQ2d 1608, 1609 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1993) (citations omitted).
In claim 14, line 2, “the Bifidobacterium longum microorganism” lacks proper antecedent basis. It is unclear if the claim is further defining “a Bifidobacterium longum” or “a Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganism.” Clarification is required. For purposes of examination, the phrase is interpreted as a Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganism.
Claim 15 is indefinite for reciting “an ingredient” because is it unclear of what the glycan substrate the ingredient is.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8 and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a natural phenomenon without significantly more.
Step 1: Yes. The claims are drawn to a method of promoting growth of a microorganism in the gut of an infant or young child, which is a process.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Yes. The claim is drawn to feeding an infant or young child glycan substrates found in food, or feeding infants and young children food, which is a natural phenomenon. The specification indicates that the glycan substrates are found in cereals, grains, seaweed, fungi, legumes fruits and vegetables (Tables 1 – 3) and may be a dietary ingredient, e.g., a raw food (0068 - 0075). In this regard, the claims read on eating any plant or plant product.
Step 2A, Prong 2: No. The claims do not recite any additional elements in the method steps that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The claims recite the method results in growth of a transitional microorganism, wherein the transitional microorganism is further defined by enzyme production or its average nucleotide identity (ANI) however no other steps are recited beyond feeding a plant product to an infant or young child.
Step 2B: No. The claims do not recite any additional elements that amount to more than the judicial exception. The claims recite the method results in growth of a transitional microorganism, wherein the transitional microorganism is further defined by enzyme production or its average nucleotide identity (ANI) however no other steps are recited beyond feeding a plant product to an infant or young child.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 8 and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Casaburi et al. (US 2020/0245667).
Regarding claims 8 and 13 – 15, Casaburi teaches administering weaning foods to infants such as carrots, banana, peaches, pears and cereal (0018, 0027 – 0028, claims). These foods are identified by applicant as containing β-1,4, (β-1,3)-galactose (applicant’s specification, Table 1) and are considered “ingredients” as recited in claim 15.
Although the reference does not teach the method results in promoting growth of Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganisms, wherein the microorganisms encode the claimed CAZymes, or have an ANI of at least 98% with the recited strains, the method steps are the same. Further, Casaburi teaches feeding breast fed infants which are disclosed to have B. longum in their microbiome (0009, 0016, 0047, example 2). In this regard, by practicing the methods of Casaburi, one is inherently promoting growth of the claimed microorganisms.
Claims 8 and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Borowitz (2021).
Regarding claims 8 and 13 – 15, Borowitz teaches administering weaning foods to infants such as carrots (p.3). Carrots are identified by applicant as containing β-1,4, (β-1,3)-galactose (applicant’s specification, Table 1) and are considered “ingredients” as recited in claim 15.
Although the reference does not teach the method results in promoting growth of Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganisms, wherein the microorganisms encode the claimed CAZymes, or have an ANI of at least 98% with the recited strains, the method steps are the same. In this regard, by practicing the methods of Borowitz, one is inherently promoting growth of the claimed microorganisms.
Claims 8 and 13 – 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Brown (2018).
Regarding claims 8 and 13 – 15, Brown teaches administering weaning foods to infants such as carrot, banana, pear and peaches (p.6). These foods are identified by applicant as containing β-1,4, (β-1,3)-galactose (applicant’s specification, Table 1, 0085) and are considered “ingredients” as recited in claim 15.
Although the reference does not teach the method results in promoting growth of Bifidobacterium longum transitional microorganisms, wherein the microorganisms encode the claimed CAZymes, or have an ANI of at least 98% with the recited strains, the method steps are the same. Further, Brown teaches feeding breast fed or formula fed infants (p.1) which are disclosed by applicant to have B. longum in their microbiome (0006, 0028). In this regard, by practicing the methods of Brown, one is inherently promoting growth of the claimed microorganisms.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699