DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
Figure 16 shows a deconstructed view of all the structures of the device but contains reference characters that are unreadable due to the quality of the image.
In addition, the image quality of Figure 21 is unreadable.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1:
The recitation of “the device” should read ---the handheld skin cleansing device--- to avoid any antecedent basis issues and keep consistent throughout, in addition to any other limitations of the device, should be amended accordingly.
The recitation of “the tip is applied to skin of a user” should read ---the tip is configured to be applied to a skin of a user---, to avoid positively reciting a user and their skin.
The recitation of “and to close to obstruct fluid communication” should read ---and configured to close to obstruct fluid communication--- to avoid reciting method like steps in a device claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 7:
The recitation of “the pins” should read ---the conductive pins--- to avoid any antecedent basis issues and to be kept consistent throughout.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the handheld body" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, claims 12-20 are rejected upon being dependent from the independent rejected claim.
Claim 21 recites the limitation "the handheld body" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Further, claims 22-23 are rejected upon being dependent from the independent rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 14 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ding (CN 211961892 U).
Regarding claim 11, Ding discloses a handheld skin cleansing device (Ding Fig. 1) comprising:
a first conduit providing fluid communication between a treatment container and a first opening in a tip of the device (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘72’ first conduit with a first opening in the tip ‘20’ connected to pipeline ‘62’ of the device fluidically communicates with the water inlet hole ‘26’ that is connected to the water purifying tank ‘40’ (treatment container));
a second conduit providing fluid communication between a second opening in the tip and a waste container of the device (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘71’ second conduit with a second opening in the tip connected to pipeline ‘61’ that communicates fluidically with the sewage tank ‘30’ (waste container));
a pump housed within the handheld body and in fluid communication with the waste container (Ding Fig. 3; pump ‘54’ within the handheld body ‘11+12’ and is in fluid communication with the waste container ‘30’, [0007-0008]; pump is in fluid communication with the waste container);
the pump configured to form a pressure differential between the waste container and the second opening in the tip so as to direct fluid from the treatment container, to the tip, and into the waste container via the first and second conduits when the tip is applied to skin of a user (Ding [0032]; where the pump ‘54’ creates a pressure difference to direct fluid from the treatment container ‘40’ to the tip ‘20’, and into the waste container ‘40’ via the first and second conduits ’72,71’ respectively when the tip is applied to the skin of a user);
and a pump protection system configured to turn the pump off upon detecting at least one of the following: (i) that fluid in the waste container reaches a predetermined level or (ii) that fluid in the treatment container reaches a predetermined level corresponding with having dispensed enough fluid for the fluid to reach a predetermined level within the waste container (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or tilt of the liquid level, if it reaches too high, the pump ‘54’ stops working to prevent excessive liquid flowing back into the pump ‘54’).
the pump protection system comprising a sensor having three or more conductive pins extending an equal distance into the waste container or the treatment container, respectively, and arranged about a perimeter of an interior of the waste container or the treatment container, respectively (Ding Fig. 3; ‘15’ are conducting sheets/ sensors (with pin shapes) that are equal distance around the perimeter of the interior of the waste container ‘30’ with 4 sets of the 2 pins (three or more conductive pins));
the pins being configured to detect when fluid in the waste container or the treatment container, respectively, contacts at least two of the pins simultaneously (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ with pins in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or detects tilt of the liquid level, additionally wherein when at least one set containing the two pins is contacted simultaneously when the device is tilted, the pump ‘54’ is controlled to prevent excess tilting and liquid backflow into the pump).
Regarding claim 12, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11, wherein the three or more conductive pins extend into the waste container from an upper portion of the waste container towards a lower portion of the waste container (Ding Fig. 3; ‘15’ are conducting sheets/ sensors that have pins that are equal distance around the perimeter of the interior of the waste container ‘30’ with 4 sets of the 2 pins (three or more conductive pins) that come into the container from an upper portion of the waste container ‘30’ towards a lower portion of the waste container);
wherein the distance by which the three or more pins extend into the waste container is configured to place a distal end of each pin at a location corresponding with the predetermined level of fluid (Ding Fig. 3; ‘15’ conducting sheets/sensors with pins extend into the waste container ‘30’ where a distal end of the pin is at a location into the container such that it corresponds with the predetermined level of fluid to detect if the container is full or not, or tilting conditions [0009,0027]);
and wherein detecting contact of the fluid with at least two of the pins simultaneously indicates that the fluid in the waste container has reached the predetermined fluid level (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ with pins in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or detects tilt of the liquid level, additionally wherein when at least one set containing the two pins is contacted simultaneously when the device is tilted – thereby reaching a predetermined fluid level, the pump ‘54’ takes action and is controlled to prevent excess tilting and liquid backflow into the pump).
Regarding claim 14, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11, wherein the arrangement of the pins about a perimeter of the interior of the waste container or the treatment container permits the sensor to detect conditions (i) or (ii) regardless of an angle at which the device is tilted (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or tilt of the liquid level (regardless of the tilt angle), if it reaches too high – reaching over the predetermined threshold, the pump ‘54’ stops working to prevent excessive liquid flowing back into the pump ‘54’, Ding Fig. 3; ‘15’ are conducting sheets/ sensors (with pins) that are equal distance around the perimeter of the interior of the waste container ‘30’).
Regarding claim 16, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11, further comprising a pump protection system configured to detect that an angle of the device has exceeded a predetermined threshold and to turn off the pump in response (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or tilt of the liquid level, if it reaches too high (predetermined threshold), the pump ‘54’ stops working to prevent excessive liquid flowing back into the pump ‘54’).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-9 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Lee (WO 2021246681 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ding discloses a handheld skin cleansing device (Ding Fig. 1) comprising:
a first conduit providing fluid communication between a treatment container and a first opening in a tip of the device (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘72’ first conduit with a first opening in the tip ‘20’ connected to pipeline ‘62’ of the device fluidically communicates with the water inlet hole ‘26’ that is connected to the water purifying tank ‘40’ (treatment container));
a second conduit providing fluid communication between a second opening in the tip and a waste container of the device (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘71’ second conduit with a second opening in the tip connected to pipeline ‘61’ that communicates fluidically with the sewage tank ‘30’ (waste container));
the waste container being fixedly attached to a handheld body of the device and having an opening sealed by removable cap (Ding Fig. 2; waste container ‘30’ is fixedly attached to the handheld body ‘11+12’ of the device, Fig.1; where the components are all connected, Fig. 3; where the waste container has an opening ‘31’ sealed by a removable cap ‘32’ to discharge liquid from the waste container);
a pump housed within the handheld body and in fluid communication with the waste container (Ding Fig. 3; pump ‘54’ within the handheld body ‘11+12’ and is in fluid communication with the waste container ‘30’, [0007-0008]; pump is in fluid communication with the waste container);
the pump configured to form a pressure differential between the waste container and the second opening in the tip so as to direct fluid from the treatment container, to the tip, and into the waste container via the first and second conduits when the tip is applied to skin of a user (Ding [0032]; where the pump ‘54’ creates a pressure difference to direct fluid from the treatment container ‘40’ to the tip ‘20’, and into the waste container ‘40’ via the first and second conduits ’72,71’ respectively when the tip is applied to the skin of a user).
Ding fails to disclose a valve configured to permit fluid communication between the waste container and the pump in response to suction forces generated by operation of the pump and to close when there is the absence of forces when the pump is not being operated.
Lee discloses in a similar field of cosmetics and beauty, a pump structure for a cosmetic device comprising:
a valve configured to open to permit fluid communication between the container and the pump in response to suction forces generated by operation of the pump (Lee Fig. 3; ‘13’ is a suction valve that permits fluid communication with a piston member between the container ‘20’ and the pump assembly ‘10’ in response to suction forces generated by operation of the pump, Lee [0071], [0073]; where a suction force is generated by operation of the pump to move the liquid from the container to the tip ‘32’);
and to close to obstruct fluid communication between the container and the pump in the absence of the suction forces when the pump is not being operated (Lee Fig. 3; ‘13’ valve opens and closes the suction port ‘11a’, when in the absence of the suction force, the valve is closed as material from the container need not be pumped and operated out of the device – thereby obstructing the fluid communication between the container ‘20’ and the pump assembly ‘10’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding by including a valve with a piston as taught by Lee between the waste container and pump, since, the valve serves to inflow or block the material contained in the container and seal the housing (Lee [0047]), and the piston serves to help push the material the modified device (Lee [0071]), thereby minimizing the backflow of the material from the waste container.
Regarding claim 3, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 1, wherein the removable cap is configured to be opened to allow the waste fluid to be drained from the waste container through the opening and to introduce a cleaning fluid into the waste container (Ding Fig. 3; where the waste container has an opening ‘31’ sealed by a removable cap ‘32’, that is removable/ configured to be opened to discharge liquid from the waste container and thereby introduce a cleaning fluid into the waste container);
and wherein the valve closes in the absence of the suction forces when the pump is not being operated, thereby allowing the device to be inverted to facilitate the introduction of the cleaning fluid into the waste container through the opening without the cleaning fluid draining into the pump (as modified Lee Fig. 3; ‘13’ valve opens and closes the suction port ‘11a’, when in the absence of the suction force, the valve is closed as material from the container need not be pumped and operated out of the device – thereby obstructing the fluid communication between the container ‘20’ and the pump assembly ‘10’, the modified device helps to prevent backflow of the waste container – thereby when cleaning fluid is introduced into the waste container through the opening ‘31’ by the removable cap ‘32’, the cleaning fluid would not drain into the pump).
Regarding claim 5, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 1, further comprising a pump protection system configured to turn the pump off upon detecting any one or more of the following: (i) that fluid in the waste container reaches a predetermined level, (ii) that fluid in the treatment container reaches a predetermined level corresponding with having dispensed enough fluid for the fluid to reach a predetermined level within the waste container, and (iii) that there is moisture upstream of the pump (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or tilt of the liquid level, if it reaches too high, the pump ‘54’ stops working to prevent excessive liquid flowing back into the pump ‘54’).
Regarding claim 7, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 5, wherein the pump protection system comprises a sensor having three or more conductive pins extending an equal distance into the waste container and arranged about a perimeter of an interior of the waste container (Ding Fig. 3; ‘15’ are conducting sheets/ sensors (with pins) that are equal distance around the perimeter of the interior of the waste container ‘30’ with 4 sets of the 2 pins (three or more conductive pins));
the pins being configured to detect when waste fluid contacts at least two of the pins simultaneously (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ with pins in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or detects tilt of the liquid level, additionally wherein when at least one set containing the two pins is contacted simultaneously when the device is tilted, the pump ‘54’ is controlled to prevent excess tilting and liquid backflow into the pump).
Regarding claim 8, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 1, further comprising a pump protection system configured to detect that an angle of the device has exceeded a predetermined threshold and to turn off the pump in response (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or tilt of the liquid level, if it reaches too high (predetermined threshold), the pump ‘54’ stops working to prevent excessive liquid flowing back into the pump ‘54’).
Regarding claim 9, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 8, wherein the pump protection system comprises a tilt angle sensor (Ding [0009], [0027]; where there are sensing plates/ sensor ‘15’ (tilt angle sensor) in the waste container ‘30’ to detect the water level in the waste container ‘30’ and/ or tilt of the liquid level, if it reaches too high, the pump ‘54’ stops working to prevent excessive liquid flowing back into the pump ‘54’).
Regarding claim 18, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11.
Ding fails to disclose a valve.
Lee discloses in a similar field of cosmetics and beauty, a pump structure for a cosmetic device comprising:
a valve configured to open to permit fluid communication between the container and the pump in response to suction forces generated by operation of the pump (Lee Fig. 3; ‘13’ is a suction valve that permits fluid communication with a piston member between the container ‘20’ and the pump assembly ‘10’ in response to suction forces generated by operation of the pump, Lee [0071], [0073]; where a suction force is generated by operation of the pump to move the liquid from the container to the tip ‘32’);
and to close to obstruct fluid communication between the container and the pump in the absence of the suction forces when the pump is not being operated (Lee Fig. 3; ‘13’ valve opens and closes the suction port ‘11a’, when in the absence of the suction force, the valve is closed as material from the container need not be pumped and operated out of the device – thereby obstructing the fluid communication between the container ‘20’ and the pump assembly ‘10’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding by including a valve with a piston as taught by Lee between the waste container and pump, since, the valve serves to inflow or block the material contained in the container and seal the housing (Lee [0047]), and the piston serves to help push the material the modified device (Lee [0071]), thereby minimizing the backflow of the material from the waste container.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Lee (WO 2021246681 A1) and further in view of Robinson (CN 113058083 A).
Regarding claim 2, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 1, comprising:
a piston configured to move between a first position and a second position and wherein, in the first position, the piston does not obstruct fluid communication between the waste container and the pump and wherein, in the second position, the piston obstructs fluid communication between the waste container and the pump (Ding Fig. 3; waste container ‘30’, and as modified Lee Fig. 3; ‘15+16’ is a piston that is linked to the valve ‘13’ that moves between 2 positions, not obstructing and obstructing (first and second position respectively) fluid communication between the container ‘20’ and the pump assembly ‘10’, because the piston moves upwards and downwards, when the piston is moved upwards, the piston blocks fluid communication [0072], and vice versa, [0071]; where the valve ‘13’ works with the piston ‘15+16’ by hydraulic linking to control fluid communication).
Modified Ding fails to disclose a biasing member coupled to the piston.
Robinson discloses in a similar field of negative pressure and irrigation, an apparatus wherein:
the valve comprises: a piston configured to move between a first position and a second position (Robinson [0009]; where the valve body has a plunger (piston) with a spring (biasing member) to bias the piston from an open to a closed position – 2 positions);
and wherein, in the first position, the piston does not obstruct fluid communication between the container and the pump and wherein, in the second position, the piston obstructs fluid communication between the container and the pump (Robinson [0008]; in the open position (first) the fluid is drawn, in the second position (closed), the fluid communication is blocked in the sealed space coming from the container, where the pump is the negative pressure source);
and a biasing member coupled to the piston (Robinson [0008]; where the biasing member is attached to the piston);
the biasing member being configured to permit the piston to move to the first position in response to the suction forces generated by operation of the pump, and to bias the piston into the second position in the absence of the suction forces when the pump is not being operated (Robinson [0008]; the negative pressure forces move the piston between the first and the second position (open/closed), [0009]; a spring biases the piston to the closed position (second position), [0008]; where in the closed position, fluid is not drawn into the sealed space, meaning there is an absence of suction forces when the pump is not being operated, because a suction force is needed to open the position and move the piston to create fluid communication).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the skin cleansing device of modified Ding to by including a biasing member coupled to the piston and the valve comprising the piston as taught by Robinson, since combining the negative pressure source with Robinson’s valve, biasing member and piston, allows for the precise control of fluid communication, while reducing manufacturing cost and the mechanical complexity of the mechanism (Robinson [0123]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Lee (WO 2021246681 A1) and further in view of Zhang (CN 112220975 A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 1.
Modified Ding fails to disclose a valve situated in the second conduit.
Zhang discloses in a similar field of endeavor a skin cleaning device comprising:
a valve situated within the second conduit, the valve configured to obstruct the flow of fluid therethrough in a direction towards the tip when a pressure differential across the second conduit is released (Zhang Fig. 6; where ‘8’ is a valve situated in the second conduit ‘32’ that leads to the waste container ‘7’, that is configured to block the flow of fluid in a direction towards the tip, [0042]; where the valve is provided to prevent the backflow of waste water, [0009]; use of negative pressure to direct the fluid through a pressure differential – when suction stops, the pressure differential is released – thereby the valve would then obstruct the fluid, to prevent the backpressure after the pressure differential and prevent backflow of the wastewater to the tip of the device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the skin cleansing device of modified Ding by including a valve in the second conduit of the device as taught by Zhang, since, it would prevent backflow of the wastewater to the tip once the pressure differential is released and a backpressure event happens (Zhang [0009]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Lee (WO 2021246681 A1) and further in view of Magers (WO 2006055006 A1).
Regarding claim 6, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 5, further comprising the pump protection system ().
Modified Ding fails to disclose a hall effect float sensor.
Magers discloses in a similar field of cleaning devices a fluid level detection system wherein:
wherein the system comprises a hall effect float sensor (Magers Fig. 2; ‘30’ is a float with magnet ‘32’ and hall effect sensor ’38,42’, to help determine the fluid level in the container).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the cleansing device of modified Ding by including a hall effect float sensor as taught by Magers with the pump protection system, since, it further helps for the system to determine the fluid level in the container and control the system based on the determination of the fluid level (Magers Summary of the Invention [01- 02]).
Claims 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Lee (WO 2021246681 A1) and further in view of Revenu (FR 2998456 A1).
Regarding claim 10, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 1.
Modified Ding fails to disclose a trap with a tortuous conduit.
Revenu discloses a cosmetic device comprising:
a trap having a tortuous conduit extending between a first opening and a second opening, the first opening being in fluid communication with an interior of the treatment container and the second opening being in fluid communication with an area outside of the treatment container (Revenu Figs. 4-5; ‘43’ is a tortuous conduit of the trap ‘25’, where the conduit has a first opening ’49,61’ with fluid communication into the treatment container ‘17’ and a second opening ‘67’ with fluid communication outside of the treatment container ‘17’, [0025]; where the conduit with the trap is used to slow the material down from the treatment container).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of modified Ding by including a trap with a tortuous conduit as taught by Revanu, since, it would allow for the material traveling through the treatment container to the conduit to have a slower flow and be more controlled (Revanu [0025]).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Clayburn (WO 2021150211 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11.
Ding fails to disclose conductive pins extending into the treatment container.
Clayburn discloses in a similar field of endeavor of fluid sensing within a container a capacitive fluid level sensing system wherein:
the three or more conductive pins extend into the treatment container from an upper portion of the treatment container towards a lower portion of the treatment container (Clayburn [0018,0019] and Fig. 1; ‘152,140,144’ conductive pins in the container ‘108’ from an upper portion of the container towards a lower portion of the container);
wherein the distance by which the three or more pins extend into the treatment container is configured to place a distal end of each pin at a location corresponding with having dispensed enough fluid for the fluid to reach a predetermined level within the waste container (Clayburn [0018,0019] and Fig.1; where distal end of the pins are at a predetermined level of fluid within the container and are connected to a controller ‘128’ to drive the system to update the water level within the container to a boundary (predetermined level));
and wherein detecting a lack of contact of the fluid with at least two of the pins simultaneously indicates that the fluid in the treatment container has reached a predetermined level corresponding with having dispensed enough fluid for the fluid to reach a predetermined level within the waste container (Clayburn [0020]; whereby detecting a lack of contact with pins ‘140,144’, the system will then be controlled to update the water level accordingly to a boundary level (predetermined level)).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device with the waste container and treatment container logic of Ding to include another set of pins downwardly facing into the treatment container and control logic with detection of water levels as taught by Clayburn, since, it would provide measurement and control to the treatment container for when liquid in the treatment container has fallen below or above a predetermined level (Clayburn [0018-0020]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Boone (WO 2010022396 A2).
Regarding claim 15, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11, comprising the pump protection system (Ding [0009,0027]).
Ding is silent to preventing the pump from being turned back on until detecting that the waste container has been opened, detached, or emptied.
Boone discloses in a similar field of endeavor a skin treatment device wherein:
the pump is configured to prevent the pump from being turned back on until detecting that the waste container has been opened, detached, or otherwise emptied (Boone [111]; where the pump is configured to be disabled when the collection reservoir is full, so that fluid does not overflow, Table A; where the container is then emptied, to be able to further use the device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding to include pump logic of preventing the pump from being turned on when the waste container is full as taught by Boone, since, it would allow for a fail-safe mechanism such that the fluid in the waste container would not overflow when the device is being used (Boone [111]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Van Diepen (US 9504360 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 16, comprising the pump protection system (Ding [0009,0027]).
Ding fails to disclose a separate tilt angle sensor other than the conductive pins.
Van Diepen discloses a dispenser device comprising:
a tilt angle sensor (Van Diepen [0005-0008,0025]; use of an inclination sensor (tilt angle sensor) to perform control actions in the pump assembly).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding to include a tilt angle sensor as taught by Van Diepen, since, incorporating the sensor enables detection of container tilt and dynamic control of the pump based on the detected orientation (Van Diepen [0025]), thereby optimizing operational control and preventing fluid overflow or mis-dispensing caused by excessive tipping.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Zhang (CN 112220975 A).
Regarding claim 19, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11.
Ding fails to disclose a valve situated in the second conduit.
Zhang discloses in a similar field of endeavor a skin cleaning device comprising:
a valve situated within the second conduit, the valve configured to obstruct the flow of fluid therethrough in a direction towards the tip when a pressure differential across the second conduit is released (Zhang Fig. 6; where ‘8’ is a valve situated in the second conduit ‘32’ that leads to the waste container ‘7’, that is configured to block the flow of fluid in a direction towards the tip, [0042]; where the valve is provided to prevent the backflow of waste water, [0009]; use of negative pressure to direct the fluid through a pressure differential – when suction stops, the pressure differential is released – thereby the valve would then obstruct the fluid, to prevent the backpressure after the pressure differential and prevent backflow of the wastewater to the tip of the device).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the skin cleansing device of Ding by including a valve in the second conduit of the device as taught by Zhang, since, it would prevent backflow of the wastewater to the tip once the pressure differential is released and a backpressure event happens (Zhang [0009]).
Claims 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of Revanu (FR 2998456 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 11.
Ding fails to disclose a trap having a tortuous conduit.
Revenu discloses a cosmetic device comprising:
a trap having a tortuous conduit extending between a first opening and a second opening, the first opening being in fluid communication with an interior of the treatment container and the second opening being in fluid communication with an area outside of the treatment container (Revenu Figs. 4-5; ‘43’ is a tortuous conduit of the trap ‘25’, where the conduit has a first opening ’49,61’ with fluid communication into the treatment container ‘17’ and a second opening ‘67’ with fluid communication outside of the treatment container ‘17’, [0025]; where the conduit with the trap is used to slow the material down from the treatment container).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding by including a trap with a tortuous conduit as taught by Revanu, since, it would allow for the material traveling through the treatment container to the conduit to have a slower flow and be more controlled (Revanu [0025]).
Regarding claim 21, Ding discloses a handheld skin cleansing device (Ding Figure 1) comprising:
a first conduit providing fluid communication between a treatment container and a first opening in a tip of the device (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘72’ first conduit with a first opening in the tip ‘20’ connected to pipeline ‘62’ of the device fluidically communicates with the water inlet hole ‘26’ that is connected to the water purifying tank ‘40’ (treatment container));
a second conduit providing fluid communication between a second opening in the tip and a waste container of the device (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘71’ second conduit with a second opening in the tip connected to pipeline ‘61’ that communicates fluidically with the sewage tank ‘30’ (waste container));
a pump housed within the handheld body and in fluid communication with the waste container (Ding Fig. 3; pump ‘54’ within the handheld body ‘11+12’ and is in fluid communication with the waste container ‘30’, [0007-0008]; pump is in fluid communication with the waste container);
the pump configured to form a pressure differential between the waste container and the second opening in the tip so as to direct fluid from the treatment container, to the tip, and into the waste container via the first and second conduits when the tip is applied to skin of a user (Ding [0032]; where the pump ‘54’ creates a pressure difference to direct fluid from the treatment container ‘40’ to the tip ‘20’, and into the waste container ‘40’ via the first and second conduits ’72,71’ respectively when the tip is applied to the skin of a user).
Ding fails to disclose a trap having a tortuous conduit.
Revenu discloses a cosmetic device comprising:
a trap having a tortuous conduit extending between a first opening and a second opening, the first opening being in fluid communication with an interior of the treatment container and the second opening being in fluid communication with an area outside of the treatment container (Revenu Figs. 4-5; ‘43’ is a tortuous conduit of the trap ‘25’, where the conduit has a first opening ’49,61’ with fluid communication into the treatment container ‘17’ and a second opening ‘67’ with fluid communication outside of the treatment container ‘17’, [0025]; where the conduit with the trap is used to slow the material down from the treatment container).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding by including a trap with a tortuous conduit as taught by Revanu, since, it would allow for the material traveling through the treatment container to the conduit to have a slower flow and be more controlled (Revanu [0025]).
Regarding claim 22, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 21, wherein the area outside of the treatment container is a hollow interior portion of the handheld body (Ding Fig. 2; area outside of treatment container ‘40’ is a hollow interior portion of the handheld body ‘11+12’).
Regarding claim 23, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 21, wherein the trap comprises a planar body, and wherein the tortuous conduit comprises a hollow channel extending within the planar body in a planar direction (Revanu Figs 4-5; where the trap ‘25’ has a planar body at the top of the device, wherein the tortuous conduit ‘43’ has a hollow channel within the conduit to receive the treatment material that extends within the planar body of the trap ‘25’ in a planar direction).
Claims 24-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ding (CN 211961892 U) in view of David (US 20140135798 A1).
Regarding claim 24, Ding discloses a handheld skin cleansing device (Ding Fig. 1) comprising:
a tip comprising: an outer surface and a first opening through which a treatment fluid is delivered to the outer surface (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘72’ first conduit with a first opening in the tip ‘20’ (outer surface is the outer side of the tip portion that contains the flat edge with the first and second openings) connected to pipeline ‘62’ of the device fluidically communicates with the water inlet hole ‘26’ that is connected to the water purifying tank ‘40’ (treatment container));
a second opening through which the treatment fluid is withdrawn from the outer surface (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘71’ second conduit with a second opening in the tip ‘20’ connected to pipeline ‘61’ that communicates fluidically with the sewage tank ‘30’ (waste container));
and a body portion having a distal end on which the tip is situated or integrally formed (Ding Fig. 2; ‘11+12’ is the body portion and at the distal end there is the tip ‘20’) the body portion comprising:
a pump configured to deliver and withdraw the treatment fluid to and from the outer surface, respectively (Ding Fig. 3; pump ‘54’ within the handheld body ‘11+12’ and is in fluid communication with the waste container ‘30’ and the treatment container ‘40’ to withdraw treatment fluid to the outer surface of the tip ‘20’ to then be delivered to the user).
Ding is silent to a light source for therapeutic purposes.
David discloses in a similar field of endeavor a facial cosmetic device comprising:
a light source at a distal end of the body portion, the light source configured to emit light towards a user’s skin proximate the outer surface, wherein operation of the light source is selectively controllable via an interface on the main body portion (David Fig. 3; ‘107’ is three light sources at the distal end of the body portion of the handheld device that emit light towards a user’s skin proximate the outer surface of the tip ‘113’, [0045]; where the light sources are controlled by the button ‘130’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding to include light sources and a button to control the light sources as taught by David, since, the light sources act further as a facial cleansing mechanism, providing benefits like anti-bacterial or anti-microbial effects and emitting UV wavelengths towards the user (David [0047]).
Regarding claim 25, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 24, wherein the light source is configured to emit light in a wavelength configured to provide a therapeutic, anti-bacterial, or other treatment effect (David [0047]; where the light sources ‘107’ act as a cleaning mechanism using UV wavelengths to reduce bacteria).
Regarding claim 26, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 25, further comprising a second light source, and wherein the first light source is configured to emit light in a first wavelength, and wherein the second light source is configured to emit light in a second wavelength (David Fig. 3; light sources ‘107’, there are three, so a first and a second light source, [0027-0028, 0045]; where the light sources can be one or more wavelengths of color and be selected via a button).
Regarding claim 27, Ding discloses a tip for a handheld skin cleansing device, the tip comprising: an outer surface; a first opening through which a treatment fluid is delivered to the outer surface (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘72’ first conduit with a first opening in the tip ‘20’ (outer surface is the outer side of the tip portion that contains the flat edge with the first and second openings) connected to pipeline ‘62’ of the device fluidically communicates with the water inlet hole ‘26’ that is connected to the water purifying tank ‘40’ (treatment container));
a second opening through which the treatment fluid is withdrawn from the outer surface (Ding Figs. 2,6; ‘71’ second conduit with a second opening in the tip ‘20’ connected to pipeline ‘61’ that communicates fluidically with the sewage tank ‘30’ (waste container)).
Ding is silent to a light source for therapeutic purposes.
David discloses in a similar field of endeavor a facial cosmetic device comprising:
a light source configured to emit light towards a user’s skin proximate the outer surface, wherein operation of the light source is selectively controllable via an interface on the main body portion (David Fig. 3; ‘107’ is three light sources at the distal end of the body portion of the handheld device that emit light towards a user’s skin proximate the outer surface of the tip ‘113’, [0045]; where the light sources are controlled by the button ‘130’).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the handheld skin cleansing device of Ding to include light sources and a button to control the light sources as taught by David, since, the light sources act further as a facial cleansing mechanism, providing benefits like anti-bacterial or anti-microbial effects and emitting UV wavelengths towards the user (David [0047]).
Regarding claim 28, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 27, wherein the light source is configured to emit light in a wavelength configured to provide a therapeutic, anti-bacterial, or other treatment effect (David [0047]; where the light sources ‘107’ act as a cleaning mechanism using UV wavelengths to reduce bacteria)
Regarding claim 29, modified Ding further discloses the handheld skin cleansing device of claim 28, further comprising a second light source, and wherein the first light source is configured to emit light in a first wavelength, and wherein the second light source is configured to emit light in a second wavelength (David Fig. 3; light sources ‘107’, there are three, so a first and a second light source, [0027-0028, 0045]; where the light sources can be one or more wavelengths of color and be selected via a button).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lego (WO2015150101A1): alternate conductive pins.
Pahno (CA2098994C): alternate sensing system for predetermined levels of liquid within a container.
/AISLINN M JONES/Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785