DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Independent claims 25 and 26, recites “computer-readable storage medium”. However, a medium by definition comprises of a transitory and non-transitory components. Transitory component of medium encompasses signals and propagation waves and are non-statutory subject matter under U.S.C 101. The specification on paragraph [0205] mentions computer-readable storage medium but fails to exclude the transitory aspects of medium/media
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 102
Claims 1-4, 13-16, 21, 23, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al (US 2021/0152418 A1) hereinafter referred as Abdel ‘418.
Regarding claims 1, 21, and 25 Abdel ‘418 teaches, a communication device ([0009], [0299]-[0307] and Fig. 12, UE 1205) comprising a processor and a memory having computer programs stored thereon([0009], [0299]-[0307] and Fig. 12, UE 1205 comprising processor 1240 and memory 1230 storing code 1235), wherein the processor is configured to:
determine subband configuration information ([0178]-[0179], [0204], the UE identifies or receives on or more configurations for full-duplex communications. This includes identifying specific sub-band resource allocations and guard band configuration); perform uplink data transmission and/or downlink data transmission on a plurality of different subbands according to the subband configuration information ([0005], [0190], [02002] and Fig. 3, UE operating in sub-band full-duplex where the device transmits and receives messages simultaneously using separate frequency resources (different subbands) based on the identified resource configuration);
wherein the subband configuration information comprises indication of at least one piece of following configuration information of the plurality of subbands: a subband size([0007], [0220], [0223], configurations can modify the size of resources used for full-duplex subbands. The transmission hopping configuration indicating sub-band sizes and allows the UE to adjust the bandwidth size of the frequency for UL and DL);
a number of subbands([0187], [0190], [0193], identifying/configuring number of frequency bands or resources); subband frequency domain locations([0220], [0222], [0223] and Fig. 5, the UE receiving configurations from base station that indicate the frequency locations of the subbands); and a gap location configuration ([0179], [0202], [0204] and Fig. 3, the UE identifying a guard band configuration that separates the frequencies used for uplink and downlink resources),
wherein the gap location configuration indicates a gap between a subband for uplink data transmission and an adjacent subband for downlink data transmission in a frequency domain([0127], [0202], [0206] and Fig. 3, the guard band configuration acts as a frequency range that separates the frequency resource used for uplink and downlink transmissions to cancel self interference in the frequency domain).
Regarding claim 2, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein determining the subband configuration information comprises at least one of the following: determining the subband configuration information according to a protocol([0026], [0208], configurations such as the guard band may be implicitly known based on the frequency gap or based on predetermined subcarrier spacing value which reads on UE determining configurations based on an established protocol/standard) ; and
receiving first indication information sent by a network side device([0178], [0180], [0247]-0248] and Fig. UE receiving configuration message from the base station. The UE receives an indication of the transmission hopping configuration, antenna switching configuration or guard band configuration and determines its configuration based on this received indication), and determining the subband configuration information according to the first indication information ([0178], [0180], [0247]-0248] and Fig. UE receiving configuration message from the base station. The UE receives an indication of the transmission hopping configuration, antenna switching configuration or guard band configuration and determines its configuration based on this received indication),
wherein the first indication information comprises the subband configuration information([0042], [0246], [0248] and Fig. 8, the UE receives configuration indication message that indicates guard band size/location, subband hopping patterns for the UE to use for full-duplex communications).
Regarding claims 3 and 15, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein the subband size is a fixed value or a configurable value([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable); or the number of subbands is a fixed value or a configurable value([0187], [0190], [0193], configuring a number of frequency bands); or a gap size and a gap location in the gap location configuration are fixed values or configurable values([0022], [0026], [00203], variable guard band configuration with different guard band size, as well as predetermined values).
Regarding claim 4, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein, the subband size is the configurable value([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable), determining the subband configuration information comprises: determining a bandwidth part (BWP) for the terminal device([0146], [0203], [0228], a UE is configured with and operates over active bandwidth parts(BWPs) and determining subband operation depending of if the resource have an active BWP during a given time interval);
receiving second indication information sent by a network side device, wherein the second indication information indicates a frequency range of subbands on the BWP([0220], [0246]-[0248] and Fig. 8, the UE receives a configuration message(via RRC, MAC-CE or DCI) that controls frequency allocations for uplink and downlink, which reads on indicating a frequency range on the UE’s active BWP); and determining the frequency range as the subband size of each subband according to the second indication information ([0222], [0223], adjusting/determining the bandwidth and frequency ranges based on the configuration pattern).
Regarding claims 13 and 26, Abdel ‘418 teaches, a method for data transmission, performed by a network side device ([0057], [0066], [0379] and Figs. 22-23, a method for wireless communication performed at a network-side device), comprising:
determining subband configuration information ([0178]-[0179], [0204], the UE identifies or receives on or more configurations for full-duplex communications. This includes identifying specific sub-band resource allocations and guard band configuration);
wherein the subband configuration information indicates at least one piece of following configuration information of a plurality of subbands: a subband size ([0007], [0220], [0223], configurations can modify the size of resources used for full-duplex subbands. The transmission hopping configuration indicating sub-band sizes and allows the UE to adjust the bandwidth size of the frequency for UL and DL); a number of subbands ([0187], [0190], [0193], identifying/configuring number of frequency bands or resources); subband frequency domain locations ([0220], [0222], [0223] and Fig. 5, the UE receiving configurations from base station that indicate the frequency locations of the subbands); and
a gap location configuration([0179], [0202], [0204] and Fig. 3, the UE identifying a guard band configuration that separates the frequencies used for uplink and downlink resources), wherein the gap location configuration indicates a gap between a subband for uplink data transmission and an adjacent subband for downlink data transmission in a frequency domain([0127], [0202], [0206] and Fig. 3, the guard band configuration acts as a frequency range that separates the frequency resource used for uplink and downlink transmissions to cancel self interference in the frequency domain).
Regarding claim 14, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein determining the subband configuration information comprises: sending first indication information to a terminal device ([0178], [0180], [0247]-0248] and Fig. UE receiving configuration message from the base station. The UE receives an indication of the transmission hopping configuration, antenna switching configuration or guard band configuration and determines its configuration based on this received indication), wherein the first indication information comprises the subband configuration information ([0042], [0246], [0248] and Fig. 8, the UE receives configuration indication message that indicates guard band size/location, subband hopping patterns for the UE to use for full-duplex communications).
Regarding claim 16, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein the subband size is the configurable value, the method comprises: sending second indication information to a terminal device([0220], [0246]-[0248] and Fig. 8, the UE receives a configuration message(via RRC, MAC-CE or DCI) that controls frequency allocations for uplink and downlink, which reads on indicating a frequency range on the UE’s active BWP), wherein the second indication information indicates a frequency range of subbands on a BWP for the terminal device([0222], [0223], adjusting/determining the bandwidth and frequency ranges based on the configuration pattern).
Regarding claim 23, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, a communication device comprising a processor and a memory having computer programs stored thereon, wherein when the computer programs are executed by the processor ([0308]-[0310], base station 105(device 1305/1405) comprising processor and memory for storing program), the device is caused to implement the method of claim 13( see claim 13 rejection).
Claim Rejections – 35 USC§ 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdel ‘418 in view of Yi et al(US 2020/0274750 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein the subband size is the configurable value([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable), determining the subband configuration information comprises:
determining a system bandwidth([0144], [0149], [0179], determining a system bandwidth based on association).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, determining a corresponding subband size according to a correspondence between the system bandwidth and the subband size.
Yi ‘750 teaches, determining a corresponding subband size according to a correspondence between the system bandwidth and the subband size ([0115], [0119], the size of the sub-band may be determined based on the system bandwidth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Yi ‘750, since such modification would provide a sub-band configuration and an initial access procedure in a case of wideband operation in an NR, as suggested by Yi ‘750([0008]).
Regarding claim 6, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein the subband size is the configurable value([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable), determining the subband configuration information comprises: determining a system operating frequency range([0163], [0164], [0206], determining operating frequencies (e.g. UHF from 300 MHZ-30GHz, SHF from 3GHz to 30 GHz)).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, determining a corresponding subband size according to a correspondence between the system operating frequency range and the subband size.
Yi ‘750 teaches, determining a corresponding subband size according to a correspondence between the system operating frequency range and the subband size([0116], [0119], a sub-band configuration may be defined per frequency range or per frequency band(e.g. for frequency band overlapping with LTE a specific subband size may be 20 Mhz or 100Mhz)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Yi ‘750, since such modification would provide a sub-band configuration and an initial access procedure in a case of wideband operation in an NR, as suggested by Yi ‘750([0008]).
Claims 7, 9-11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abdel ‘418 in view of Huang et al(US 2023/0040978 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein the number of subbands is the configurable value ([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable), determining the subband configuration information comprises: determining a system bandwidth ([0163], [0164], [0206], determining operating frequencies (e.g. UHF from 300 MHZ-30GHz, SHF from 3GHz to 30 GHz)).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, determining a corresponding subband size according to the number of subbands and the system bandwidth.
Huang ‘978 teaches, determining a corresponding subband size according to the number of subbands and the system bandwidth ([0268], [0292], mathematical determination of the subband size using the number quantity of subbands and the total allocation of bandwidth/frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘978, since such modification would provide a communication method and apparatus, to improve the transmission gain of an uplink signal, as suggested by Huang ‘978([0008]).
Regarding claim 9, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, herein the number of subbands is the configurable value ([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable), determining the subband configuration information comprises: determining a BWP for the terminal device([0163], [0164], [0206], determining operating frequencies (e.g. UHF from 300 MHZ-30GHz, SHF from 3GHz to 30 GHz)).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, receiving third indication information sent by a network side device, wherein the third indication information indicates a number of the plurality of subbands on the BWP; and determining the number indicated by the third indication information as the number of subbands.
Huang ‘978 teaches, receiving third indication information sent by a network side device, wherein the third indication information indicates a number of the plurality of subbands on the BWP; and determining the number indicated by the third indication information as the number of subbands ([0268], [0292], mathematical determination of the subband size using the number quantity of subbands and the total allocation of bandwidth/frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘978, since such modification would provide a communication method and apparatus, to improve the transmission gain of an uplink signal, as suggested by Huang ‘978([0008]).
Regarding claim 10, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein determining the subband configuration information comprises: determining a BWP for the terminal device ([0146], [0203], [0228], a UE is configured with and operates over active bandwidth parts (BWPs) and determining subband operation depending of if the resource have an active BWP during a given time interval).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, determining the subband frequency domain location of each subband according to a location of the BWP, the subband size, the number of subbands, and a preset rule.
Huang ‘978 teaches, determining the subband frequency domain location of each subband according to a location of the BWP, the subband size, the number of subbands, and a preset rule ([0281], [0292], [0306], [0314]-[0319], using all four of the variables to determine the subband frequency domain locations. Using first frequency domain starting position which is defined as a specific PRB with the BWP (e.g. subcarrier 0 of PRB0 in the BWP). Terminal device determining sub-bands according to the first frequency-domain starting position, the sub-band width and the quantity of sub-bands. Using mathematical formulas and predefined allocation rules(e.g. the preset rule where the frequency domain starting position of any sub-band is determined according to predetermined formula)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘978, since such modification would provide a communication method and apparatus, to improve the transmission gain of an uplink signal, as suggested by Huang ‘978([0008]).
Regarding claim 11, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein determining the subband configuration information comprises: determining a BWP for the terminal device ([0146], [0203], [0228], a UE is configured with and operates over active bandwidth parts (BWPs) and determining subband operation depending of if the resource have an active BWP during a given time interval).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, determining a reference point; receiving fourth indication information sent by a network side device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates an offset of each subband relative to the reference point; and determining the subband frequency domain location of each subband according to a location of the BWP, the reference point, the offset of each subband relative to the reference point, and the subband size.
Huang ‘978 teaches, determining a reference point([0262], [0310], [0311], establishing a first frequency starting position which acts as the reference point for all subsequent subband calculations); receiving fourth indication information sent by a network side device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates an offset of each subband relative to the reference point([0281], [0282], [0286], deriving offset from network indicated parameter); and determining the subband frequency domain location of each subband according to a location of the BWP, the reference point, the offset of each subband relative to the reference point, and the subband size([0281], [0282], [0286], Using first frequency domain starting position which is defined as a specific PRB with the BWP (e.g. subcarrier 0 of PRB0 in the BWP). Terminal device determining sub-bands according to the first frequency-domain starting position, the sub-band width and the quantity of sub-bands. Using mathematical formulas and predefined allocation rules(e.g. the preset rule where the frequency domain starting position of any sub-band is determined according to predetermined formula), and the offset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘978, since such modification would provide a communication method and apparatus, to improve the transmission gain of an uplink signal, as suggested by Huang ‘978([0008]).
Regarding claim 18, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, Abdel ‘418 further teaches, wherein the number of subbands is the configurable value, the method comprises ([0007], [0220]-[0223] the size of the subband is configurable).
Abdel ‘418 does not explicitly teach, sending third indication information to a terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates a number of the plurality of subbands on a BWP for the terminal device.
Huang ‘978 teaches, sending third indication information to a terminal device, wherein the third indication information indicates a number of the plurality of subbands on a BWP for the terminal device ([0268], [0292], mathematical determination of the subband size using the number quantity of subbands and the total allocation of bandwidth/frequency).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘978, since such modification would provide a communication method and apparatus, to improve the transmission gain of an uplink signal, as suggested by Huang ‘978([0008]).
Regarding claim 19, Abdel ‘418 teaches all the claim limitations, sending fourth indication information to a terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates an offset of each subband relative to a reference point.
Huang ‘978 teaches, sending fourth indication information to a terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates an offset of each subband relative to a reference point. ([0281], [0282], [0286], Using first frequency domain starting position which is defined as a specific PRB with the BWP (e.g. subcarrier 0 of PRB0 in the BWP). Terminal device determining sub-bands according to the first frequency-domain starting position, the sub-band width and the quantity of sub-bands. Using mathematical formulas and predefined allocation rules(e.g. the preset rule where the frequency domain starting position of any sub-band is determined according to predetermined formula), and the offset).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the communication system of Abdel ‘418, by incorporating the teaching of Huang ‘978, since such modification would provide a communication method and apparatus, to improve the transmission gain of an uplink signal, as suggested by Huang ‘978([0008]).
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, which can be found: http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; or (3) EFS WEB. Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
/AWET HAILE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474