DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 6/25/26. Regarding the amendment, claims 1-10 are canceled, claims 11-30 are present for examination.
The amended drawing is accepted and record in file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 26-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hyodo et al. (US 7,388,312 B2).
Regarding claim 26, Hyodo teaches a brushed DC motor comprising:
a housing (103, fig 2);
a stator (135) arranged in the housing and presenting magnetic poles (poles of stator 135); and
a rotor (133) including a rotor hub (fig 4) and a plurality of rotor teeth (30-39) extending radially outward therefrom,
wherein the plurality of rotor teeth (30-39) define a plurality of tooth slots (fig 4), wherein each tooth slot of the plurality of tooth slots includes windings (fig 4), and wherein more than two tooth slots (A1, A2, B1) of the plurality of tooth slots have a differing number of windings (A1 has 7 turns, A2 has 8 turns, B1 has 8 turns, therefore the tooth slot A1 has differing number of winding than the tooth slots A2 and B1).
Regarding claim 27, Hyodo teaches a ratio of the number of rotor teeth (10 rotor teeth) of the plurality of rotor teeth to the number of magnetic poles (4 poles) is not an integer (ratio is 10/4, fig 4).
Regarding claim 28, Hyodo teaches at least two tooth slots (A2 and B1) of the plurality of tooth slots have a same number of windings (fig 4).
Regarding claim 29, Hyodo teaches more than three tooth slots (A1, A2, B1, B2) of the plurality of tooth slots have a differing number of windings (A1 has 7 turns, A2 has 8 turns, B1 has 8 turns, and B2 has 7 turns, therefore the tooth slot A1 and B2 have differing number of winding than the tooth slots A2 and B1).
Regarding claim 30, Hyodo teaches at least two tooth slots (A2 and B1) of the plurality of tooth slots have a same number of windings (fig 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11-25 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the record of prior art by itself or in combination with other references does not show a brushed DC motor, as recited in claim 11, comprising:
a housing having at least one open end and in which a receiving space is formed;
a stator arranged in the receiving space and presenting magnetic poles;
a rotor including a rotor hub and a plurality of rotor teeth extending radially outward therefrom, wherein between each set of adjacent teeth of the plurality of rotor teeth a tooth slot is formed, and wherein the rotor hub is connectable to an output component to output power; and
windings positioned in select tooth slots,
wherein a ratio of the number of rotor teeth of the plurality of rotor teeth to the number of magnetic poles is not an integer, and wherein the windings in a first subset of the select tooth slots comprise a first number of windings, the windings in a second subset of the select tooth slots comprise a second number of windings, and the windings in a third subset of the select tooth slots comprise a third number of windings, wherein none of the first number, second number, or third number is the same.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cros et al. (US 6,891,304 B1) teaches structures of direct current motors or ac commutator (Universal) motors which use a concentrated winding on the rotor with coils wound around the teeth. The number of commutator segments is higher than the number of rotor teeth. Several coils are wound around the same tooth. The terminals of the coils are connected to different segments of the commutator. The parallel paths of the armature winding are perfectly balanced. An equal current distribution through the parallel circuits of the armature is maintained and there is no circulation current between these parallel circuits. The problems related to commutation are reduced because the value of the coil inductances is low. The copper volume of the end-windings, the Joule losses and the axial length of the motor armature are lower than a lap or a wave winding with interlocked coils. Two kinds of structures with a concentrated winding are presented: some with rotor teeth with identical dimensions and some with rotor teeth with different dimensions.
Wakita (US 2022/0352791 A1) teaches a brush motor includes: a rotor core provided in a rotor; s teeth provided in the rotor core; s concentrated-winding coils with electric wires being respectively wound around the teeth; a commutator provided on the rotor in a relatively non-rotatable manner; c commutator pieces provided in the commutator and connected to the coils; p pairs of magnet magnetic poles provided on a stator and arranged to face the teeth; and a brush that is brought into sliding contact with the commutator pieces to supply a current to the coils, in which 0.5<p/s<1 and s<c.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834