DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The preliminary amendment filed on August 22, 2024 has been entered. Claims 1-14 are now pending in the application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. The following title is suggested: “Information Processing Device, Information Processing Method, and Information Processing Program for Appending Captions to Event Video Images ” or a title more indicative of the claimed subject matter.
Claim Interpretation
Claim elements in this application that use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Similarly, claim elements that do not use the word “means” (or “step for”) are presumed not to invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) except as otherwise indicated in an Office action.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Acquisition unit in claim 1
Partitioning unit component in claims 1 and 8
Event selection unit in claims 1, 3, 5, and 11
Generation unit in claim 1, 4, 6, and 12
Storage unit in claims 3-6, 11, and 12
Update unit in claims 5, 6, and 12
Training unit in claims 7, 8, 13, and 14
**The units listed above has been interpreted as tied to the structure of a processor as disclosed in the originally filed specification at least at paragraph [0025]**
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the claims are rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
In regards to dependent claim 5, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination provides motivation to teach “further comprising: an update unit that updates the first memory vector stored in the storage unit, wherein the update unit updates the first memory vector using the second memory vector, and the event selection unit uses the updated first memory vector to select a next of the event video images from the candidates” as the references only teach various techniques for video partitioning with action and event classifying and captioning, however the references fail to explicitly disclose the specific process for updating memory vectors based on each other for facilitating event video image selection from a group of images of the partitioned video, in conjunction with the features of claim 4 with which it depends which establishes the second memory vector used for word selection for continuing a generated caption.
In addition, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found in the current references and none that can be inferred from the examiner’s own knowledge with respect to the current limitation.
In regards to dependent claim 6, none of the cited prior art alone or in combination provides motivation to teach “further comprising: an update unit that updates the second memory vector stored in the storage unit, wherein the update unit updates the second memory vector using the first memory vector, and the generation unit selects a next word for the selected event video image using the updated second memory vector” as the references only teach various techniques for video partitioning with action and event classifying and captioning, however the references fail to explicitly disclose the specific process for updating memory vectors based on each other for facilitating event video image selection from a group of images of the partitioned video, in conjunction with the features of claim 4 with which it depends which establishes the second memory vector used for word selection for continuing a generated caption.
In addition, there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation found in the current references and none that can be inferred from the examiner’s own knowledge with respect to the current limitation.
In regards to dependent claim 12, this claim recites limitations similar in scope to claim 6, and thus is objected based on the same rationale as provided above.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xiong (2018 “Move Forward and Tell: A Progressive Generator of Video Descriptions”, hereinafter referenced “Xiong”) in view of Zhao (2017 “Temporal Action Detection with Structured Segment Networks”, hereinafter referenced “Zhao”).
In regards to Claim 1. (Original) Xiong discloses an information processing device (Xiong, Fig. 2) comprising:
-an acquisition unit that acquires a video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. acquisition unit) as the section details a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. a proposed framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall (i.e. indicating acquisition of a video image));
-a partitioning unit that partitions the acquired video image into a plurality of event video images as candidates for appending a caption by partitioning according to events (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. partitioning unit) as the section discloses a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. Here, events refer to those video segments that contain distinctive semantics that need to be conveyed…Therefore, we propose a framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall. In paragraph generation, we first filter out redundant or trivial candidates, so as to get a sequence of important and distinctive events (i.e. paragraph generation for the event sequences of the video segments interpreted as partitions the acquired video image into a plurality of event video images as candidates for appending a caption by partitioning according to events));
-and a generation unit that generates a video image set with captions by employing an appending model for appending a caption to an event represented by the input event video image to append a caption to the selected event video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. generation unit) as the section details a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. Therefore, we propose a framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall. In paragraph generation, we first filter out redundant or trivial candidates, so as to get a sequence of important and distinctive events. We then use this sequence to generate a single descriptive paragraph for the entire video in a progressive manner, taking into account the coherence among sentences (i.e. generated video set for an event with captions employed by the framework)).
Xiong does not explicitly disclose but Zhao teaches
-an event selection unit that selects the event video image from the partitioned event video image candidates by using a selection model for selecting the event video image from a plurality of input event video images such that a range of an event is neither too broad nor too narrow, with the selection model selecting the event video image using a differentiable function (Zhao, Fig. 2 and “3.3. Activity and Completeness Classifiers” section, page 2917; Reference discloses structured segment network (i.e. event selection unit) which uses Convolutional neural networks for a segmented video as the augmented proposal is divided into starting (orange), course (green), and ending (blue) stages. An additional level of pyramid with two sub-parts is constructed on the course stage. Features from CNNs are pooled within these five parts and concatenated to form the global region representations. The activity classifier and the completeness classifier operate on the region representations to produce activity probability and class conditional completeness probability (i.e. selects the event video image from the partitioned event video image candidates by using a selection model for selecting the event video image from a plurality of input event video images such that a range of an event is neither too broad nor too narrow regarding segmented video window). Section 3.3 discloses both types of classifiers are implemented as linear classifiers on top of high-level features. Given a proposal pi, the activity classifier will produce a vector of normalized responses via a softmax layer (interpreted as with the selection model selecting the event video image using a differentiable function));
Xiong and Zhao are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding video partitioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the progressive generator of video descriptions of Xiong to include the structured segment network features of Zhao in order to provide the user with a system that allows for use of an efficient framework that can generate a coherent paragraphs to describe a given video as taught by Xiong, while incorporating the structured segment network features of Zhao to allow for use of a structured segment network (SSN) with a framework which models the temporal structure of each action instance via a structured
temporal pyramid further having a decomposed discriminative model for classifying actions and determining completeness within a video for improving the activity/event recognition process, applicable to video event processing systems such as those taught in Xiong.
In regards to Claim 2. (Original) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 1.
Xiong does not explicitly disclose but Zhao teaches
-wherein the differentiable function includes a Gumbel-Softmax function (Zhao, “3.3. Activity and Completeness Classifiers” section, page 2917; Reference discloses both types of classifiers are implemented as linear classifiers on top of high-level features. Given a proposal pi, the activity classifier will produce a vector of normalized responses via a softmax layer (interpreted as use of a differentiable function regarding Gumbel-softmax)).
Xiong and Zhao are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding video partitioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the progressive generator of video descriptions of Xiong to include the structured segment network features of Zhao in order to provide the user with a system that allows for use of an efficient framework that can generate a coherent paragraphs to describe a given video as taught by Xiong, while incorporating the structured segment network features of Zhao to allow for use of a structured segment network (SSN) with a framework which models the temporal structure of each action instance via a structured
temporal pyramid further having a decomposed discriminative model for classifying actions and determining completeness within a video for improving the activity/event recognition process, applicable to video event processing systems such as those taught in Xiong.
In regards to Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 1.
Xiong further discloses
-further comprising: a storage unit that stores a feature of an event video image selected in the past from the candidates in a first memory vector, wherein when selecting the event video image, the event selection unit employs the first memory vector to select an event video image indicating a continuation of an event video image selected in the past (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.3. Progressive Event Selection and Captioning” section, page 6; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the framework (i.e. storage unit) with visual and range features of an event video image from a sequence of video images. The section details in this work, we develop a progressive generation framework that couples two recurrent networks, one for event selection and the other for caption generation…Event Selection With all event candidates arranged in the chronological order, denoted as (e1, . . . , eT ), the event selection network begins with the first candidate in the sequence and moves forward gradually as follows: The selection of event candidates in a sequential manner from the video via the formulas (1)(2) illustrating the vectors interpreted as wherein when selecting the event video image, the event selection unit employs the first memory vector to select an event video image indicating a continuation of an event video image selected in the past).
In regards to Claim 4. (Original) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 3.
Xiong further discloses
-wherein: the storage unit stores a feature value of the caption appended to the event video image in a second memory vector; and the generation unit employes the second memory vector to select a word indicating a continuation of an appended caption, and adds the selected word to a caption appended in the past and appends this to the event video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “Caption Generation” section, page 7; Reference discloses the event selection network and the caption generation network work hand in hand with each other when generating a description for a given video. On one hand, the selection of next event candidate depends on what has been said. Particularly, one input to the event selection network is ckt, which is set to the g(kt) , the last latent state of the caption generation network in generating the previous sentence. On the other hand, the caption generation network is invoked only when the event selection network outputs yt = 1, and the generation of the current sentence depends on those that come before. The formulas (3)(4) illustrates the caption generation process regarding the feature values of the captions appended to the event video via memory vectors as the discussion details the production of paragraphs based on what was said previously in conjunction with the video event sequences).
In regards to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 1,
Xiong further discloses
-further comprising: a training unit that trains by propagating a training result learnt by the appending model to the selection model, or that individually trains each of the selection model and the appending model (Xiong, “4. Training” section, page 8; Reference discloses three modules in our framework (i.e. training unit) need to be trained, namely event localization, caption generation, and event selection. In particular, we train the event localization module simply following the procedure presented in [31]. The other two modules, the caption generation network and the event selection network, are trained separately. We first train the caption generation network using the ground-truth event captions. Thereon, we then train the event selection network, which requires the caption generation states as input (i.e. trains by propagating a training result learnt by the appending model to the selection model)).
In regards to Claim 8. (Original) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 7.
Xiong further discloses
-wherein: the partitioning unit includes a partitioning model that has been trained to partition the event video image from the video image (Xiong, Fig.2; Reference discloses specifically, an LSTM net, serves as a selection module, will pick out a sequence of coherent and semantically independent events, based on appearances, temporal locations of events, as well as their semantic relationships (i.e. picking semantically independent yet coherent events from video image interpreted as a partitioning model that has been trained to partition the event video image from the video image)); and the training unit trains by propagating a training result learnt by the selection model to the partitioning model (Xiong, “4. Training” section, page 8; Reference discloses we first train the caption generation network using the ground-truth event captions. Thereon, we then train the event selection network, which requires the caption generation states as input (i.e. propagating of the training results).
In regards to Claim 9. (Original) Xiong discloses an information processing method (Xiong, Fig. 2) comprising:
-acquiring a video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. acquisition unit) as the section details a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. a proposed framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall (i.e. indicating acquisition of a video image));
-partitioning the acquired video image into a plurality of event video images as candidates for appending a caption by partitioning according to events (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. partitioning unit) as the section discloses a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. Here, events refer to those video segments that contain distinctive semantics that need to be conveyed…Therefore, we propose a framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall. In paragraph generation, we first filter out redundant or trivial candidates, so as to get a sequence of important and distinctive events (i.e. paragraph generation for the event sequences of the video segments interpreted as partitions the acquired video image into a plurality of event video images as candidates for appending a caption by partitioning according to events));
-and generating a video image set with captions by employing an appending model for appending a caption to an event represented by the input event video image to append a caption to the selected event video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. generation unit) as the section details a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. Therefore, we propose a framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall. In paragraph generation, we first filter out redundant or trivial candidates, so as to get a sequence of important and distinctive events. We then use this sequence to generate a single descriptive paragraph for the entire video in a progressive manner, taking into account the coherence among sentences (i.e. generated video set for an event with captions employed by the framework)).
Xiong does not explicitly disclose but Zhao teaches
-selecting the event video image from the partitioned event video image candidates by using a selection model for selecting the event video image from a plurality of input event video images such that a range of an event is neither too broad nor too narrow, with the selection model selecting the event video image using a differentiable function (Zhao, Fig. 2 and “3.3. Activity and Completeness Classifiers” section, page 2917; Reference discloses structured segment network (i.e. event selection unit) which uses Convolutional neural networks for a segmented video as the augmented proposal is divided into starting (orange), course (green), and ending (blue) stages. An additional level of pyramid with two sub-parts is constructed on the course stage. Features from CNNs are pooled within these five parts and concatenated to form the global region representations. The activity classifier and the completeness classifier operate on the region representations to produce activity probability and class conditional completeness probability (i.e. selects the event video image from the partitioned event video image candidates by using a selection model for selecting the event video image from a plurality of input event video images such that a range of an event is neither too broad nor too narrow regarding segmented video window). Section 3.3 discloses both types of classifiers are implemented as linear classifiers on top of high-level features. Given a proposal pi, the activity classifier will produce a vector of normalized responses via a softmax layer (interpreted as with the selection model selecting the event video image using a differentiable function));
Xiong and Zhao are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding video partitioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the progressive generator of video descriptions of Xiong to include the structured segment network features of Zhao in order to provide the user with a system that allows for use of an efficient framework that can generate a coherent paragraphs to describe a given video as taught by Xiong, while incorporating the structured segment network features of Zhao to allow for use of a structured segment network (SSN) with a framework which models the temporal structure of each action instance via a structured
temporal pyramid further having a decomposed discriminative model for classifying actions and determining completeness within a video for improving the activity/event recognition process, applicable to video event processing systems such as those taught in Xiong.
In regards to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) Xiong discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an information processing program that causes processing to be executed by a computer (Xiong, Fig. 2), the processing comprising:
-acquiring a video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. acquisition unit) as the section details a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. a proposed framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall (i.e. indicating acquisition of a video image));
-partitioning the acquired video image into a plurality of event video images as candidates for appending a caption by partitioning according to events (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. partitioning unit) as the section discloses a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. Here, events refer to those video segments that contain distinctive semantics that need to be conveyed…Therefore, we propose a framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall. In paragraph generation, we first filter out redundant or trivial candidates, so as to get a sequence of important and distinctive events (i.e. paragraph generation for the event sequences of the video segments interpreted as partitions the acquired video image into a plurality of event video images as candidates for appending a caption by partitioning according to events));
-and generating a video image set with captions by employing an appending model for appending a caption to an event represented by the input event video image to append a caption to the selected event video image (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.1 Overview” section, page 5; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the system frame work (i.e. generation unit) as the section details a natural video often comprises multiple events that are located sparsely along the temporal range. Therefore, we propose a framework as shown in Figure 2, which generates a descriptive paragraph in two stages, namely event localization and paragraph generation. In event localization, we localize candidate events in the video with a high recall. In paragraph generation, we first filter out redundant or trivial candidates, so as to get a sequence of important and distinctive events. We then use this sequence to generate a single descriptive paragraph for the entire video in a progressive manner, taking into account the coherence among sentences (i.e. generated video set for an event with captions employed by the framework)).
Xiong does not explicitly disclose but Zhao teaches
-selecting the event video image from the partitioned event video image candidates by using a selection model for selecting the event video image from a plurality of input event video images such that a range of an event is neither too broad nor too narrow, with the selection model selecting the event video image using a differentiable function (Zhao, Fig. 2 and “3.3. Activity and Completeness Classifiers” section, page 2917; Reference discloses structured segment network (i.e. event selection unit) which uses Convolutional neural networks for a segmented video as the augmented proposal is divided into starting (orange), course (green), and ending (blue) stages. An additional level of pyramid with two sub-parts is constructed on the course stage. Features from CNNs are pooled within these five parts and concatenated to form the global region representations. The activity classifier and the completeness classifier operate on the region representations to produce activity probability and class conditional completeness probability (i.e. selects the event video image from the partitioned event video image candidates by using a selection model for selecting the event video image from a plurality of input event video images such that a range of an event is neither too broad nor too narrow regarding segmented video window). Section 3.3 discloses both types of classifiers are implemented as linear classifiers on top of high-level features. Given a proposal pi, the activity classifier will produce a vector of normalized responses via a softmax layer (interpreted as with the selection model selecting the event video image using a differentiable function));
Xiong and Zhao are combinable because they are in the same field of endeavor regarding video partitioning. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the progressive generator of video descriptions of Xiong to include the structured segment network features of Zhao in order to provide the user with a system that allows for use of an efficient framework that can generate a coherent paragraphs to describe a given video as taught by Xiong, while incorporating the structured segment network features of Zhao to allow for use of a structured segment network (SSN) with a framework which models the temporal structure of each action instance via a structured
temporal pyramid further having a decomposed discriminative model for classifying actions and determining completeness within a video for improving the activity/event recognition process, applicable to video event processing systems such as those taught in Xiong.
In regards to Claim 11. (New) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 2.
Xiong further discloses
-further comprising: a storage unit that stores a feature of an event video image selected in the past from the candidates in a first memory vector, wherein when selecting the event video image, the event selection unit employs the first memory vector to select an event video image indicating a continuation of an event video image selected in the past (Xiong, Fig. 2 and “3.3. Progressive Event Selection and Captioning” section, page 6; Reference at Fig. 2 illustrates the framework (i.e. storage unit) with visual and range features of an event video image from a sequence of video images. The section details in this work, we develop a progressive generation framework that couples two recurrent networks, one for event selection and the other for caption generation…Event Selection With all event candidates arranged in the chronological order, denoted as (e1, . . . , eT ), the event selection network begins with the first candidate in the sequence and moves forward gradually as follows: The selection of event candidates in a sequential manner from the video via the formulas (1)(2) illustrating the vectors interpreted as wherein when selecting the event video image, the event selection unit employs the first memory vector to select an event video image indicating a continuation of an event video image selected in the past).
In regards to Claim 13. (New) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 2.
Xiong further discloses
-further comprising: a training unit that trains by propagating a training result learnt by the appending model to the selection model, or that individually trains each of the selection model and the appending model (Xiong, “4. Training” section, page 8; Reference discloses three modules in our framework (i.e. training unit) need to be trained, namely event localization, caption generation, and event selection. In particular, we train the event localization module simply following the procedure presented in [31]. The other two modules, the caption generation network and the event selection network, are trained separately. We first train the caption generation network using the ground-truth event captions. Thereon, we then train the event selection network, which requires the caption generation states as input (i.e. trains by propagating a training result learnt by the appending model to the selection model)).
In regards to Claim 14. (New) Xiong in view of Zhao teach the information processing device of claim 3.
Xiong further discloses
-further comprising: a training unit that trains by propagating a training result learnt by the appending model to the selection model, or that individually trains each of the selection model and the appending model (Xiong, “4. Training” section, page 8; Reference discloses three modules in our framework (i.e. training unit) need to be trained, namely event localization, caption generation, and event selection. In particular, we train the event localization module simply following the procedure presented in [31]. The other two modules, the caption generation network and the event selection network, are trained separately. We first train the caption generation network using the ground-truth event captions. Thereon, we then train the event selection network, which requires the caption generation states as input (i.e. trains by propagating a training result learnt by the appending model to the selection model)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: See the Notice of References Cited (PTO-892)
/TERRELL M ROBINSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2614