DETAILED ACTION
This communication is a first office action on the merits. Claims 1-20, as filed are currently pending and have been considered below.
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention and Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 January 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Applicant’s usage of the phrase “geometric component” in claims 1, 2, 5, 7-9, 12 and 13 is considered vague and unclear. While Applicant provides examples of geometric components in the disclosure it is unclear what else could or could not be considered a geometric component. The remaining claims not explicitly mentioned here depend from at least claim 1 and inherit these issues under 112.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gahleitner (US 2019/0255761).
Regarding claim 1, Gahleitner discloses an apparatus comprising:
a first side (22) extending across a width of the strap;
a second side (22) opposite the first side and extending across the width of the strap; and
a thickness (21) extending between the first and second sides,
wherein the first side is embossed and includes a base surface (30) and a raised pattern (32) extending from the base surface,
wherein the raised pattern defines multiple cells (Fig. 3 as annotated shows an outline of a single cell that is repeated throughout the base surface), and
wherein a first one of the cells is defined by a first perimeter component (Fig. 3 as outlined below) of the raised pattern and a first geometric component (raised interstitial surfaces surrounding recesses 28) of the raised pattern positioned within the first perimeter component so part of the base surface extends between the first perimeter component and the first geometric component.
Figure 3 of Gahleitner as annotated
Regarding claim 2, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the first perimeter component surrounds the first geometric component (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 3, Gahleitner further discloses wherein a second one of the cells is defined by a second perimeter component of the raised pattern, wherein the first and second cells are adjacent, and wherein a segment of the raised pattern is shared by the first perimeter component and the second perimeter component (Fig. 3 as annotated above).
Regarding claim 4, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the raised pattern includes a tessellation, and wherein the first perimeter component is part of the tessellation (the pattern as shown in Fig. 3 is considered a tessellation).
Regarding claim 5, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the shape of the first geometric component is unique from the shape of any portion of the tessellation (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 6, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the first perimeter component is hexagonal (Fig. 3 as annotated above).
Regarding claim 7, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the part of the base surface that extends between the first perimeter component and the first geometric component surrounds the first geometric component (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 8, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the first geometric component intersects the first perimeter component (the raised surfaces surrounding the recesses 28 intersects with the perimeters as shown in Fig. 3 as annotated above).
Regarding claim 9, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the first geometric component is a non-linear path (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 10, Gahleitner further discloses wherein ends of the non-linear path intersect the first perimeter component (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 11, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the shape of each of the cells is the same (Fig. 3 as annotated above).
Regarding claim 12, Gahleitner further discloses wherein a geometric component is included in each of a group of the cells (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 13, Gahleitner further discloses wherein a geometric component is included in each of the cells (Fig. 3 as shown).
Regarding claim 14, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the strap comprises polypropylene (Paragraph 46).
Regarding claim 17, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the strap is coiled in a roll (40).
Regarding claim 18, Gahleitner further discloses wherein the second side is embossed (Fig. 2 shows embossing of both sides).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gahleitner as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Tajika et al. (US 2007/0014971).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Gahleitner discloses the invention except for wherein the strap has a width in a range from 2 mm to 25 mm and a thickness in a range from 0.40 mm to 0.60 mm.
Tajika et al. teach wherein embossed straps have a width of 5mm and a width of 0.45 mm (Paragraph 23, line 5).
From this teaching of Tajika et al., it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the invention to apply these dimensions to the band of Gahleitner. It has been held that wherein the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. Furthermore, the selected dimensions would be sufficient for binding objects with optimal strength and pliability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See Form 892.
/M.S.L/Examiner, Art Unit 3677
/JASON W SAN/ SPE, Art Unit 3677