DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toge et al (US 8,548,294 B2). Toge teaches:
1. An optical fiber tape core wire (Fig. 2) comprising:
a plurality of single-core coated optical fibers (11) that are intermittently connected to or separated from each other in a longitudinal direction and a width direction of the optical fiber tape core while the plurality of single-core coated optical fibers are connected to each other in units of one or two cores (see Fig. 2), wherein when
a is defined as a thickness of a cross-section of a joining portion,
b is defined as an outer diameter of a cross-section of the joining portion,
A is defined as a length of the joining portion in the longitudinal direction, and
B is defined as a length of a separation portion in the longitudinal direction, the optical fiber tape core wire satisfies conditional expressions (1) and (2) below:
10mm < a/b*A < 35mm
a corresponds to b, b corresponds to d and A corresponds to B in Toge
Toge teaches b/d can be 0.1 to 0.9 (Fig. 9) depending on variables d and h (C15 L65 – C16 L15)
B is 80 mm (C8 L66 – C9 L14).
Given the range of values a/b*A can be 8 mm to 72 mm (80*0.1 to 80*0.9)
40 mm < B < 125 mm
B corresponds to A – B in Toge (see Fig. 2), and A – B = 200 mm – 80 mm = 120 mm (C8 L66 – C9 L14).
The ranges are to exactly the same but, in the case where the claimed ranges ''overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art'' a prima facie case of obviousness exists. ln re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
2. ranges are now:
(1) 10mm < a/b*A < 31mm
(2) 40 mm < B < 100 mm
As discussed, Toge teaches a wide range of a/b*A that overlaps with the claimed range. Toge teaches a B of 120 mm, but Toge teaches the values of A and B being “about” 200 mm and “about” 80 mm (C8 L66 – C9 L14).
Given the values of A and B are “about” the disclosed values, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to try close values (such as B being 190mm – 90 mm = 100 mm), since it has been held that “it is obvious to try - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success” is a rationale for arriving at a conclusion of obviousness. In re KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc. Both values are only 10 mm from the “about” values taught therefore a person of ordinary skill the art would find these values predictable and would expect these values to succeed in Toge given the fact that the values of all the variable concerning the sizes disclosed are changeable depending on values of the rest of the variables.
3. A slotless optical cable (Fig. 1) comprising:
the optical fiber tape core wire (11) according claim 1,
a press winding (93) that fixes a plurality of the optical fiber tape core wires (11),
an outer cover (94) that covers the press winding (93),
a tension member (95) installed in the outer cover (94), and
a rip cord (97) for tearing the outer cover (94), the rip cord (97) being installed in the outer cover (94).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach optical fiber tape core wires with various dimension for the intermittent bonding lengths and bonding thickness: US 2003/0118301, US 9995896, US 2020/0064550, US 10882783, US 2021/0053338, US 2021/0116659, US 11360281, US 2022/0252809, US 11415769, US 11536922, US 11828996, US 11860438, US 11886026, US 11927803, US 12353041.
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874